DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This communication is in response to the filing of Application 18/490,021 by ZHANG for “SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR INDICATING TCI STATES UNDER MULTI-TRP OPERATION”, filed on 10/19/2023.
Claims 1-20 are now pending. The independent claims are 1 and 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHOU et al. (US20220225314A1), hereinafter ZHOU.
Regarding claim 1, ZHOU teaches A wireless communication method, comprising: receiving, by a wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, a first message including a control element that selectively includes a field having an indicator or a field having an index; (ZHOU, Fig. 4, step 410, paragraphs 61-62, teach receiving, by UE 120 (i.e. wireless communication device) from BS 110 (i.e. wireless communication node), signaling 410 (i.e. a first message) including a medium access control (MAC) control element (i.e. including a control element) for configuring an association of channels/reference signals with a TCI state (i.e. that selectively includes a field having an indicator or a field having an index).)
and determining, by the wireless communication device, a configured operative status of each of one or more Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states (ZHOU, Fig. 4, step 420, paragraph 75, teach the UE 120 configuring association between channel/reference signals and TCI state (i.e. determining configured operative status of each of one or more TCI states).) for a downlink communication, according to the control element. (ZHOU, Fig. 4, step 430, paragraph 75, teach downlink communications according to the control element.)
Regarding claim 2, ZHOU teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the downlink communication includes at least one of a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) reception, a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) reception, a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) reception, a Semi-Persistent (SP) Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS), a Semi-Persistent (SP) Channel State Information Interference Measurement (CSI-IM), or an aperiodic Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS). (ZHOU, paragraph 64 teaches the downlink communication including a PDCCH, PDSCH, CSI-RS, CSI-IM, or CSI-RS.)
Regarding claim 3, ZHOU teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising identifying, by the wireless communication device, the control element from the first message based on at least one of a Medium Access Control (MAC) subheader or an Extended Logic Channel Indicator (eLCID). (ZHOU, Fig. 4, step 410, paragraphs 61-62, teach the signaling 410 (i.e. a first message) including a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (i.e. MAC subheader).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (US20220225314A1), hereinafter ZHOU, in view of ZHANG et al. (US20240064725A1), hereinafter ZHANG.
Regarding claim 4, although ZHOU teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 1 above, ZHOU does not describe wherein the control element includes a first field indicating an identity of a Serving Cell to which the control element applies.
ZHANG in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the control element includes a first field indicating an identity of a Serving Cell to which the control element applies. (ZHANG, Fig. 6A, paragraph 37, teach a MAC CE 600a comprising a serving cell ID (i.e. identity of a Serving Cell to which the control element applied).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure a control element including a first field indicating an identity of a Serving Cell to which the control element applies. The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 5, although ZHOU teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 1 above, ZHOU does not describe wherein the control element includes a second field indicating a Bandwidth Part Indicator (BWP ID).
ZHANG in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the control element includes a second field indicating a Bandwidth Part Indicator (BWP ID). (ZHANG, Fig. 6A, paragraph 37, teach a MAC CE 600a comprising a bandwidth part (BWP) ID 606.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure the control element as including a second field indicating a Bandwidth Part Indicator (BWP ID). The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 6, although ZHOU teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 1 above, ZHOU does not describe wherein the control element includes one or more third fields respectively indicating the operative statuses of the TCI states.
ZHANG in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the control element includes one or more third fields respectively indicating the operative statuses of the TCI states. (ZHANG, Fig. 6B, paragraph 41, teach one or more fields respectively indicating TCI N-1 (i.e. operative statuses of the TCI states).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure the control element includes one or more third fields respectively indicating the operative statuses of the TCI states. The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 7, ZHOU in view of ZHANG teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the one or more third fields form a bitmap. (ZHANG, Fig. 7A, paragraph 38, teach fields comprising mapping the TCI states (i.e. forming a bitmap).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure the one or more third fields as forming a bitmap. The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 8, ZHOU in view of ZHANG teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the one or more third fields form one or more codepoints. (ZHANG, Figs. 7A-7B, paragraphs 38-39, teach one or more fields forming codepoints.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure one or more third fields form one or more codepoints. The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 9, although ZHOU teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 1 above, ZHOU does not describe wherein the control element selectively includes a fourth field indicating a Control Resource Set Pool Indicator (CORESET Pool ID).
ZHANG in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the control element selectively includes a fourth field indicating a Control Resource Set Pool Indicator (CORESET Pool ID). (ZHANG, paragraphs 40, 49, teach the CE selectively including CORESET Pool IDs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure a fourth field indicating a Control Resource Set Pool Indicator (CORESET Pool ID). The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 10, although ZHOU teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 1 above, ZHOU does not describe wherein the control element selectively includes a fifth field having an index indicating a single non-serving cell information unit with which a subset of the one or more TCI states, being activated, can be associated.
ZHANG in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the control element selectively includes a fifth field having an index indicating a single non-serving cell information unit with which a subset of the one or more TCI states, being activated, can be associated. (ZHANG, Fig. 6C, paragraph 43, teach fields indexing TRP IDs (i.e. non-serving cell information).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure the control element selectively as including a fifth field having an index indicating a single non-serving cell information unit with which a subset of the one or more TCI states, being activated, can be associated. The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 11, ZHOU in view of ZHANG teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the single non-serving cell information unit can be associated with a cell configured with a different Physical Cell Indicator (PCI) from a serving cell. (ZHANG, Fig. 6C, paragraph 43, teach fields indexing TRP IDs, wherein the TRP ID field corresponds to PCI from a non-serving cell ID 624.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure the single non-serving cell information unit can be associated with a cell configured with a different Physical Cell Indicator (PCI) from a serving cell. The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 12, ZHOU in view of ZHANG teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising receiving, by the wireless communication device, second message including a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (ZHANG, paragraph 40, teach receiving RRC signaling.) that configures the single non-serving cell information unit, (ZHANG, paragraph 49, teach receiving RRC signaling configuring the TRP index.)
wherein the single non-serving cell information unit can be specific to a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) of an RRC Information Element (IE). (ZHOU, paragraphs 54, teach receiving a downlink beam specific to a SSB of an RRC IE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure receiving, by the wireless communication device, second message including a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling that configures the single non-serving cell information unit, wherein the single non-serving cell information unit can be specific to a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) of an RRC Information Element (IE). The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 13, ZHOU in view of ZHANG teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the index further indicates a PCI additional to a PCI of a serving cell and associated with the single non-serving cell information unit. (ZHANG, Fig. 6C, paragraph 43, teach fields indexing TRP IDs, wherein the TRP ID field corresponds to PCI from a non-serving cell ID 624.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure the index further indicates a PCI additional to a PCI of a serving cell and associated with the single non-serving cell information unit. The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 14, ZHOU in view of ZHANG teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the fifth field can be present in the control element when the non-serving cell information unit can be configured with the index, and wherein the fifth field can be specific to the configured index in the non-serving cell information unit. (ZHANG, Fig. 6C, paragraph 43, teach fields indexing TRP IDs, wherein the TRP ID field corresponds to PCI from a non-serving cell ID 624.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure the fifth field can be present in the control element when the non-serving cell information unit can be configured with the index, and wherein the fifth field can be specific to the configured index in the non-serving cell information unit. The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 15, ZHOU in view of ZHANG teaches the method of claim 12, wherein a number of the activated TCI states associated with the non-serving cell information unit corresponds to the additional PCI, and depends on User Equipment (UE) capability of the wireless communication device. (ZHANG, paragraphs 17-18, teach the TCI states corresponding to indications of supporting band or band group (i.e. capabilities).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure a number of the activated TCI states associated with the non-serving cell information unit corresponds to the additional PCI, and depends on User Equipment (UE) capability of the wireless communication device. The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 16, ZHOU in view of ZHANG teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the UE is capable of supporting inter-cell multi transmission and reception point (MTRP) operation, in response to the UE reporting the UE capability associated with a maximum number. (ZHANG, paragraph 22, teach the UE supporting and connecting through massive MIMO functionality.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure the UE as capable of supporting inter-cell multi transmission and reception point (MTRP) operation, in response to the UE reporting the UE capability associated with a maximum number. The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 17, ZHOU in view of ZHANG teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the UE is not capable of supporting inter-cell multi transmission and reception point (MTRP) operation, in response to the UE forgoing reporting the UE capability associated with a maximum number. (ZHANG, paragraph 23, teach the UE transmitting corresponding credential information to associate with a specific base station.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of ZHOU to configure the UE as not capable of supporting inter-cell multi transmission and reception point (MTRP) operation, in response to the UE forgoing reporting the UE capability associated with a maximum number. The motivation would be to support the provisioning of multiple TCI states with an indication of their correspondence (ZHANG, paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 18, ZHOU teaches A wireless communication method, comprising: sending, by a wireless communication node to a wireless communication device, a first message including a control element; (ZHOU, Fig. 4, step 410, paragraphs 61-62, teach sending, by BS 110 (i.e. wireless communication node) to a UE 120 (i.e. wireless communication device), signaling 410 (i.e. a first message) including a medium access control (MAC) control element (i.e. including a control element) for configuring an association of channels/reference signals with a TCI state (i.e. that selectively includes a field having an indicator or a field having an index).)
and sending, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication device, a downlink communication; (ZHOU, Fig. 4, step 430, paragraph 75, teach downlink communications according to the control element.)
wherein the control element can be used by the wireless communication device to determine a configured operative status of each of one or more Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states for the downlink communication. (ZHOU, Fig. 4, step 420, paragraph 75, teach the UE 120 configuring association between channel/reference signals and TCI state (i.e. determining configured operative status of each of one or more TCI states).)
Regarding claim 19, ZHOU teaches A wireless communication device, comprising: at least one processor configured to: (ZHOU, Fig. 2, paragraph 30, UE 120 (i.e. wireless communication device) comprising processor 280).)
receive, via a receiver from a wireless communication node, a first message including a control element that selectively includes a field having an indicator or a field having an index; (ZHOU, Fig. 4, step 410, paragraphs 61-62, teach receiving, by the UE 120 (i.e. the wireless communication device) from BS 110 (i.e. wireless communication node), signaling 410 (i.e. a first message) including a medium access control (MAC) control element (i.e. including a control element) for configuring an association of channels/reference signals with a TCI state (i.e. that selectively includes a field having an indicator or a field having an index).)
and determine a configured operative status of each of one or more Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states (ZHOU, Fig. 4, step 420, paragraph 75, teach the UE 120 configuring association between channel/reference signals and TCI state (i.e. determining configured operative status of each of one or more TCI states).) for a downlink communication, according to the control element. (ZHOU, Fig. 4, step 430, paragraph 75, teach downlink communications according to the control element.)
Regarding claim 20, ZHOU teaches A wireless communication node, comprising: at least one processor configured to: (ZHOU, Fig. 2, paragraph 30, base station 130 (i.e. wireless communication node) comprising processor 240).)
send, via a transmitter to a wireless communication device, a first message including a control element; (ZHOU, Fig. 4, step 410, paragraphs 61-62, teach sending, by the BS 110 (i.e. the wireless communication node) to a UE 120 (i.e. wireless communication device), signaling 410 (i.e. a first message) including a medium access control (MAC) control element (i.e. including a control element) for configuring an association of channels/reference signals with a TCI state (i.e. that selectively includes a field having an indicator or a field having an index).)
and send, via the transmitter to the wireless communication device, a downlink communication, (ZHOU, Fig. 4, step 430, paragraph 75, teach downlink communications according to the control element.)
wherein the control element can be used by the wireless communication device to determine a configured operative status of each of one or more Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states for the downlink communication. (ZHOU, Fig. 4, step 420, paragraph 75, teach the UE 120 configuring association between channel/reference signals and TCI state (i.e. determining configured operative status of each of one or more TCI states).)
Conclusion
/WALLI Z BUTT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2412