DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 was filed in this application after a decision by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, but before the filing of a Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit or the commencement of a civil action. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the appeal has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114 and prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on 07/31/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims 1 ,9, 17 and 19 have been amended. The Double Patenting rejection is maintained until indicating allowable subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,843,839.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least one examined application claim is not patentable distinct from the reference claims(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heitlinger (US 2016/0373794) in view of Flanagan (US 2019/0230395).
Regarding claim 1, Heitlinger discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by the streaming service executing on a computer system comprising one or more computing devices from a client device that is separate from the streaming service, a request for authorization to stream a program, the request for authorization comprising client device metadata (receiving by a streaming server, a request for a content stream from an end user device, the request includes the end user device identifiers; see at least paragraphs 0023 and 0027);
determining, by the streaming service based on the first client device metadata and blackout metadata associated with the program, that the client device is not authorized to stream the program (determining, by the server, if blackout rules associated with the device identifier applies wherein content providers create blackout configuration to define blackout rules and a schedule for when the rules apply to their content streams; see at least paragraphs 0027-0029 and 0035-0036); and
sending, by the streaming service to the client device, slate information that identifies a slate image to be presented by the client device in lieu of the program (the server enforces blackout rules and alters the content stream and send URL that can be used to retrieve alternate content in place of blocked out content, wherein the alternate content can be any of a moving slate, a blacked out screen, error message, other live or linear streaming assed or some other video on-demand asset; see at least paragraph 0030).
Heitlinger discloses the streaming service, but is not clear bout the slate image is not streamed to the client device.
Flanagan discloses similar invention and discloses that that alternative content may be accessed via a packet switched protocol or a non-packet switched protocol, such as a quadrature amplitude modulation based protocol; see at least paragraphs 0043 and 0067.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heitlinger by the teachings of Flanagan by having the above limitations so to be able to manage blackout restrictions; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 2, Heitlinger in view of Flanagan disclose the method of claim 1 further comprising:
prior to receiving the request for authorization, receiving, by the streaming service from the client device, an initial request for authorization to stream the program, the initial request for authorization comprising the client device metadata (the claim does not distinguish between the two requests, therefore, they can be interpreted to be subsequent requests for a content stream using the same process as explained in the rejection of claim 1);
determining, by the streaming service based on the client device metadata and the blackout metadata associated with the program, that the client device is authorized to stream the program (Heitlinger; if the rules don’t apply; see at least Fig. 2); and
sending, by the streaming service to the client device, information that indicates that the client device is authorized to stream the program (Heitlinger; passing the requested content to requesting end user device unchanged; see at least Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Heitlinger in view of Flanagan disclose the method of claim 2 further comprising:
subsequent to the initial request for authorization to stream the program and prior to the request for authorization to stream the program, receiving, by the stream service, updated blackout metadata associated with the program, the updated blackout metadata comprising information that indicates that the client device is not authorized to stream the program (Heitlinger; content providers can create and modify blackout rules and schedule for when to enforce the rules; see at least paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 4, Heitlinger in view of Flanagan disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the slate image comprises a single static bitmapped graphic image (Heitlinger; a moving slate, a blacked out screen, error message, other live or linear streaming assed or some other video on-demand asset; see at least paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 5, Heitlinger in view of Flanagan disclose the method of claim 2 further comprising:
subsequent to receiving the request for authorization to stream the program, receiving, by the streaming service, updated blackout metadata associated with the program (Heitlinger; content providers can create and modify blackout rules and schedule for when to enforce the rules; see at least paragraph 0037);
receiving, by the streaming service from the client device, a subsequent request for authorization to stream the program, the subsequent request comprising the client device metadata (see at least the rejection of claim 1);
determining, based on the client device metadata and the updated blackout metadata associated with the program, that the client device is authorized to stream the program (see at least the rejection of claim 1); and
sending, by the streaming service to the client device, information that indicates that the client device is authorized to stream the program (see at least the rejection of claim 2).
Regarding claim 6, Heitlinger in view of Flanagan disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the client device metadata comprises device location information of a geographic location of the client device, and wherein determining, based on the client device metadata and the blackout metadata associated with the program, that the client device is not authorized to stream the program comprises determining that the geographic location of the client device is identified in the blackout metadata as a geographic location in which the program is not authorized to be streamed (Heitlinger; see at least paragraphs 0027-0028 and 0050).
Regarding claim 7, Heitlinger in view of Flanagan disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the client device metadata comprises a device type of the client device, and wherein determining, based on the client device metadata and the blackout metadata associated with the program, that the client device is not authorized to stream the program comprises determining that the device type is identified in the blackout metadata as a device type to which the program is not authorized to be streamed (Heitlinger; see at least paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 8, Heitlinger in view of Flanagan disclose the method of claim 1 further comprising:
receiving, by the streaming service, the blackout metadata that indicates that the program is restricted (see at least the rejection of claim 1); and
updating a manifest associated with the program to include a restriction marker based on the blackout metadata (Heitlinger; content providers can create and modify blackout rules and schedule for when to enforce the rules; see at least paragraph 0037).
Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 7.
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claims 1 and 3.
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Conclusion
/YASSIN ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426