Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-25 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Rejection to claims 1-25 under 35 USC 103 have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1, 10, 17 & 25. However, after further consideration, new grounds of rejections to claims 1-4, 8, 10-13, 16-19, 21, 24 & 25 under 35 USC 102 and to claims 5-7, 9, 14, 15, 20, 22 & 23 under 35 USC 103 have been made based on new references Huang et al. (US 2025/0113263)(herein after “Huang2”) and LU et al. (WO 2024/026803)(herein after “LU”) and Xu et al. (2021/0029597)(herein after “Xu”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 5/27/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-25 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 3/18/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections to claims 1-4, 8, 10-13, 16-19, 21, 24 & 25 under 35 USC 102 and to claims 5-7, 9, 14, 15, 20, 22 & 23 under 35 USC 103 have been made based on new reference Huang et al. (US 2025/0113263)(herein after “Huang2”) and LU et al. (WO 2024/026803)(herein after “LU”) and Xu et al. (2021/0029597)(herein after “Xu”).
Regarding claims 1, 10, 17 & 25, applicant submits that amendments to these claims traverse the rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 3/18/2026. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejection of claims 1, 10, 17 & 25 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 3/18/2026. However, after further consideration, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections of claims 1, 10, 17 & 25 under 35 USC 102 based on new reference Huang2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, 17 & 25 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejections do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claims 2-9, 11-16 & 18-24, applicant submits that these claims traverse the rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 3/18/2026 due to amendments and arguments made for claims 1, 10 & 17 and due to their dependency on claims 1, 10 or 17. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejections of claims 2-9, 11-16 & 18-24 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 3/18/2026. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections of claims 2-4, 8, 11-13, 16, 18, 19, 21 & 24 under 35 USC 102 and claims 5-7, 9, 14, 15, 20, 22 & 23 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Huang2 and Lu and Xu.
Claim Interpretation
Several of the claims in the present application recite Markush groups in the format of “at least one of A, B or C” (see MPEP §2117). For the purpose of this review, the examiner is interpreting these Markush claims as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B, C, A&B, A&C, B&C, or A&B&C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 10-13, 16-19, 21, 24 & 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2025/0113263)(herein after “Huang2”).
Regarding claims 1 & 25, Huang2 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first centralized unit (CU) (Fig 6B and [0047] discloses a first donor CU1 (i.e. an apparatus) that is part of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) mobile termination (MT) migration (i.e. wireless communication).), and a method for wireless communication at a first CU ([0005] discloses a method for migrating IAB nodes (wireless communication). Fig 6B and [0047] discloses that first donor CU1 may be part of the migration.), wherein the apparatus is comprising:
at least one memory comprising instructions (Fig 2, [0032] & [0038] disclose that memory module 216 may store instructions that can be executed by processor module 210/214 to implement the embodiments of the disclosed inventions.); and
one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions (Fig 2, [0032] & [0038] disclose processors 210/214 may execute the instructions of memory module 216.), to cause the first CU to, and where the method comprises to:
receive, from a second CU having a connection to an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) mobile termination (IAB-MT), a first identifier of the IAB-MT and a second identifier of a third CU (Fig 6B & [0050] disclose CU1 (i.e. first donor CU) receiving from CU2 (i.e. a second donor CU), that has a connection to IAB-MT through the dotted line in fig 6B, assistance information that includes identity of the IAB-MT (i.e. first identifier) and identity (i.e. second identifier) of a target donor CU (i.e. a third CU, namely CU3).),
wherein the first CU is a donor CU for an IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU) (Fig 6B & [0047] discloses that CU1 is a donor CU for IAB-DU that is part of the mobile IAB node.), and
wherein the first identifier is an identifier of the IAB-MT exchanged between the second CU and the third CU (Fig 6B & [0051] disclose that CU2 may send first assistance information to CU3 including identity of IAB-MT. Thus, the first identifier is an identifier of IAB-MT that has been exchanged between CU2 and CU3.); and
transmit, directly to the third CU based on the second identifier, a request to perform a migration of traffic of the IAB-DU via the third CU, wherein the request includes the first identifier (Fig 6B & [0056] discloses that CU1 may send an F1 transport migration request to CU3 for migration of traffic of IAB-DU in the mobile IAB node via CU3 (i.e. the solid line in fig 6B) that includes the identity of the IAB-MT (i.e. first identifier).) and
the IAB-MT and IAB-DU are co-located in an IAB node (Fig 6B & [0047] disclose that the IAB-MT and IAB-DU are co-located within the Mobile IAB node.).
Regarding claim 2, Huang2 discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to communicate with the IAB node, via a topology of the second CU (Fig 6A & [0046] disclose a mobile IAB-DU may maintain F1 connection with Donor CU1 so that F1-C/U traffic between Donor CU1 (i.e. the first CU) and mobile IAB-DU (i.e. the IAB node) may be transmitted through donor DU2 (i.e. through the topology of Donor CU2 acting as the second CU.).
Regarding claim 3, Huang2 discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to receive, from the third CU, an acknowledgment of the request (Fig 6B & [0057] disclose that CU1 receives a response message (i.e. an acknowledgment of the F1 transport migration request) from CU3.).
Regarding claim 4, Huang2 discloses wherein the first identifier is established in preparation of a prior migration of the IAB-MT from the first CU to the second CU (Fig 6A & [0046] disclose a prior migration of IAB-MT from CU1 to CU2. Fig 8 & [0079]-[0080] disclose that CU1 may receive a message with assistance information that includes an indication for an F1 transport migration and identity of the MT of the IAB entity (i.e. the IAB-MT). Thus disclosed is that the IAB-MT identity may be established and sent to CU1 along with an indication for an F1 transport migration in preparation for migration of IAB-MT from CU1 to CU2 prior to migration of IAB-MT from CU2 to CU3.).
Regarding claim 8, Huang2 discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to receive, from at least one of the second CU or the third CU, at least one of: an ID of a target cell of the migration (Fig 6B & [0050] disclose CU2 sending assistance information to CU1 including an identity of a target donor CU (i.e. CU3) for a migration of IAB-MT from CU2 to CU3.); or user location information (ULI) of the IAB-MT (optional).
Regarding claim 10, Huang2 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a second centralized unit (CU) (Fig 6B and [0047] discloses a second donor CU2 (i.e. an apparatus) that is part of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) mobile termination (MT) migration (i.e. wireless communication).), comprising:
at least one memory comprising instructions (Fig 2, [0032] & [0038] disclose that memory module 216 may store instructions that can be executed by processor module 210/214 to implement the embodiments of the disclosed inventions.); and
one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions (Fig 2, [0032] & [0038] disclose processors 210/214 may execute the instructions of memory module 216.); to cause the second CU to:
establish a connection for traffic of an IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU) of an IAB node via the second CU, wherein the IAB DU has a connection to a first CU that is a donor CU for the IAB-DU (Fig 6A & [0046] discloses a connection established for traffic from an IAB-DU of a mobile IAB node via Donor CU2 (i.e. a second CU), wherein the IAB-DU of the mobile IAB node has an F1 connection to Donor CU1 (i.e. a first CU), which is a donor CU of the IAB-DU.);
exchange, with a third CU, a first identifier of an IAB mobile termination (IAB-MT) in preparation of a migration of the IAB-MT from the second CU to the third CU, and wherein the first identifier is an identifier of the IAB-MT exchanged between the second CU and the third CU (Fig 6B and [0049] & [0051] disclose that CU2 may send first assistance information to CU3 including identity of IAB-MT (i.e. a first identifier of IAB-MT) in order to perform (i.e. in preparation of) migration of IAB-MT from CU2 to CU3. Thus, the first identifier is an identifier of IAB-MT that has been exchanged between CU2 and CU3 in preparation of the migration of IAB-MT from CU2 to CU3.),
wherein the IAB-MT and IAB-DU are co-located in an IAB node (Fig 6B & [0047] disclose that the IAB-MT and IAB-DU are co-located within the Mobile IAB node.);
provide the first identifier to the first CU that enables the first CU to communicate with the third CU regarding migration of traffic of the IAB-DU (Fig 6B & [0050] disclose CU2 (i.e. second donor CU) sending to CU1 (i.e. a first donor CU) assistance information that includes identity of the IAB-MT (i.e. first identifier) so that CU1 can initiate an F1 transport migration procedure (i.e. communicate with) to CU3 (i.e. a third CU).).
Regarding claim 11, Huang2 discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the second CU to release transport of the traffic of the IAB-DU via a topology of the second CU (Fig 6B & [0049] discloses IAB-MT (and thus integrated and co-located IAB-DU) disconnects with source donor DU (i.e. CU2 releases transport of traffic of the IAB-DU via the topology of CU2 as shown by the dotted line in fig 6B).).
Regarding claim 12, Huang2 discloses wherein the first identifier is allocated between the second CU and the third CU in preparation of the migration (Fig 6B & [0051] discloses that CU2 may send first assistance information to CU3 via a handover request message (i.e. in preparation for migration) including identity of the mobile IAB-MT (i.e. first identifier). Thus, the identity of IAB-MT is allocated between CU2 and CU3 in preparation for migration.).
Regarding claim 13, Huang2 discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the second CU to provide an identifier of the first CU to the third CU (Fig 6B & [0051] discloses that CU2 (i.e. the second CU) may send first assistance information to CU3 (i.e. the third CU) including identity of the donor CU which serves the mobile IAB-DU (i.e. identity of CU1 which is the first CU).).
Regarding claim 16, Huang2 in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the second CU to provide, to the first CU, at least one of: an ID of a target cell of the migration (Fig 6B & [005o] disclose that CU2 may send assistance information to CU1 including an identity of a target donor CU (i.e. CU3) of the migration of IAB-MT form CU2 to CU3.); or user location information (ULI) of the IAB-MT (optional).
Regarding claim 17, Huang2 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a third centralized unit (CU) (Fig 6B and [0047] discloses a third donor CU3 (i.e. an apparatus) that is part of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) mobile termination (MT) migration (i.e. wireless communication).), comprising:
at least one memory comprising instructions (Fig 2, [0032] & [0038] disclose that memory module 216 may store instructions that can be executed by processor module 210/214 to implement the embodiments of the disclosed inventions.); and
one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions (Fig 2, [0032] & [0038] disclose processors 210/214 may execute the instructions of memory module 216.) to cause the third CU to:
exchange, with a second CU, a first identifier of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) mobile termination (IAB-MT), in preparation of a migration of the IAB-MT from the second CU to the third CU, wherein the first identifier is an identifier of the IAB-MT exchanged between the second CU and the third CU (Fig 6B and [0049] & [0051] disclose that CU2 may send first assistance information to CU3 including identity of IAB-MT (i.e. a first identifier of IAB-MT) in order to perform (i.e. in preparation of) migration of IAB-MT from CU2 to CU3.),
receive, directly from a first CU that is a donor CU for an IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU), a request to migrate traffic of the IAB-DU to the third CU, wherein the request includes the first identifier (Fig 6B & [0056] discloses that CU1 may send an F1 transport migration request to CU3 for migration of traffic of IAB-DU in the mobile IAB node that includes the identity of the IAB-MT (i.e. first identifier).) and
the IAB-MT and IAB-DU are co-located in an IAB node (Fig 6B & [0047] disclose that the IAB-MT and IAB-DU are co-located within the Mobile IAB node.), and
Regarding claim 18, Huang2 in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 17.
Huang2 fails to discloses wherein the first identifier is allocated between the first CU and the second CU in preparation of a previous migration (Fig 6A & [0046] disclose a prior migration of IAB-MT from CU1 to CU2. Fig 8 & [0079]-[0080] disclose that CU1 may receive a message with assistance information that includes an indication for an F1 transport migration and identity of the MT of the IAB entity (i.e. the IAB-MT). Thus disclosed is that the IAB-MT identity may be established and sent to CU1 along with an indication for an F1 transport migration in preparation for migration of IAB-MT from CU1 to CU2 prior to migration of IAB-MT from CU2 to CU3.).
Regarding claim 19, Huang2 in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 17.
Huang2 discloses wherein the first identifier is allocated between the second CU and the third CU in preparation of the migration (Fig 6B and [0049] & [0051] disclose that CU2 may send first assistance information to CU3 including identity of IAB-MT (i.e. a first identifier of IAB-MT) in order to perform (i.e. in preparation of) migration of IAB-MT from CU2 to CU3. Thus, the first identifier is an identifier of IAB-MT that has been allocated between CU2 and CU3 in preparation of the migration of IAB-MT from CU2 to CU3.).
Regarding claim 21, Huang2 in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 17.
Huang2 discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the third CU to receive an identifier of the first CU from the second CU, prior to receiving the request from the first CU (Fig 6B & [0051] discloses that CU2 (i.e. the second CU) may send first assistance information to CU3 (i.e. the third CU) including identity of the donor CU which serves the mobile IAB-DU (i.e. identity of CU1 which is the first CU), prior to CU1 initiating the F1 transport migration procedure to CU3 (i.e. prior to CU3 receiving the request).).
Regarding claim 24, Huang2 discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the third CU to provide, to the first CU, at least one of: an ID of a target cell of the migration (Fig 6B & [0051] disclose CU3 sending second assistance information to CU1 including an identity of a target donor CU of the IAB-MT (i.e. CU3) for a migration of IAB-MT from CU2 to CU3.); or user location information (ULI) of the IAB-MT (optional).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2025/0113263)(herein after “Huang2”) in view of Xu et al. (US 2021/0029597)(herein after “Xu”).
Regarding claim 5, Huang2 discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Huang2 fails to disclose, but Xu teaches wherein the request also includes an identifier of the second CU ([0033]-[0036] discloses a target based station receiving a handover request message from a core network element connected with the target base station that includes a source base station identifier for identifying the source base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 1, as disclosed by Huang2, wherein the request also includes an identifier of the second CU, as taught by Xu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a first centralized unit (e.g. a first CU) send an IAB-MT migration request to a target centralized unit (e.g. a third CU) that includes an identifier of a source centralized unit (e.g. a second CU) in order for the target centralized unit to prepare for the migration of IAB-MT from the source centralized unit to the target centralized unit by identifying the source centralized unit based on the identifier of the source centralized unit.
Regarding claim 20, Huang2 discloses the apparatus of claim 17.
Huang2 fails to disclose but Xu teaches wherein the request also includes an identifier of the second CU ([0033]-[0036] discloses a target based station receiving a handover request message from a core network element connected with the target base station that includes a source base station identifier for identifying the source base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 17, as disclosed by Huang2, wherein the request also includes an identifier of the second CU, as taught by Xu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a target centralized unit (e.g. a third CU) receive an IAB-MT migration request from a first centralized unit (e.g. a first CU) that includes an identifier of a source centralized unit (e.g. a second CU) in order for the target centralized unit to prepare for the migration of IAB-MT from the source centralized unit to the target centralized unit by identifying the source centralized unit based on the identifier of the source centralized unit.
Claims 6, 7, 14, 15, 22 & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2025/0113263)(herein after “Huang2”), as applied to claims 1, 10 & 17, in view of Lu et al. (WO 2024/026803)(herein after “Lu”).
Regarding claim 6, Huang2 discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
Huang2 discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to receive, from at least one of the second CU or the third CU (Fig 6B & [0050] disclose that CU1 (i.e. first CU) may receive information from CU2 (i.e. second CU).).
Huang2 fails to disclose but Lu teaches wherein the receiving is at least one of a tracking area identity (TAI) or type allocation code (TAC) associated with the migration (Fig 11 & [0103] discloses an XnAP message received by a donor-CU1 from a donor-CU3, associated with migration of an IAB-MT to donor-CU3, that indicates the configuration of a PCI of a serving cell of an IAB node including a TAC code (e.g. TAC=B).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 1, as disclosed by Huang2, wherein the receiving is at least one of a tracking area identity (TAI) or type allocation code (TAC) associated with the migration, as taught by Lu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a first centralized unit receive an XnAP message from a target centralized unit, associated with an IAB-MT migration to the target centralized unit, that includes a TAC code indicating location information of the IAB-MT and the target centralized unit in order for the first centralized unit to update the tracking area of the IAB-MT when the IAB-MT has migrated to a new tracking area served by the target centralized unit.
Regarding claim 7, Huang2 in view of Lu discloses the apparatus of claim 6.
Huang2 fails to disclose but Lu teaches wherein at least one of the TAI or TAC is associated with a target cell of the migration of the connection of the IAB-MT from the second CU to the third CU (Fig 11 & [0101]-[0103] discloses an IAB-MT node moving from donor-CU1 to donor-CU2 and them moving from donor-CU2 to donor-CU3 (i.e. a target cell), wherein the XnAP message received by donor-CU1 from donor-CU3 includes a PCI configuration with a TAC code for donor-CU3.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 6, as disclosed by Huang2 in view of Lu, wherein at least one of the TAI or TAC is associated with a target cell of the migration of the connection of the IAB-MT from the second CU to the third CU, as taught by Lu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a first centralized unit receive an XnAP message from a target centralized unit, associated with an IAB-MT migration to the target centralized unit, that includes a TAC code indicating location information of the target centralized unit in order for the first centralized unit to update the tracking area of the IAB-MT when the IAB-MT has migrated to a new tracking area served by donor-CU3.
Regarding claim 14, Huang2 discloses the apparatus of claim 10.
Huang2 discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the second CU to provide information to the first CU associated with a second migration of a connection of the IAB-MT from the second CU to the third CU (Figs 6A & 6B and [0046] & [0050] discloses CU2 sending assistance information to CU1 during a migration of IAB-MT from CU2 to CU3 (i.e. a second migration) after the IAB-MT has migrated from CU1 to CU2 (i.e. a first migration).).
Huang2 fails to disclose but Lu teaches wherein the information provided by the second CU to the first CU is at least one of a tracking area identity (TAI) or type allocation code (TAC) (Fig 11 & [0103] discloses an XnAP message received by a donor-CU1 from a donor-CU3, associated with migration of an IAB-MT to donor-CU3, that indicates the configuration of a PCI of a serving cell of an IAB node including a TAC code (e.g. TAC=B).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the second CU to provide information to the first CU associated with a second migration of a connection of the IAB-MT from the second CU to the third CU, as disclosed by Huang2, wherein the information provided by the second CU to the first CU is at least one of a tracking area identity (TAI) or type allocation code (TAC), as taught by Lu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a second centralized unit send an XnAP message to a first centralized unit, associated with an IAB-MT migration to a target centralized unit, that includes a TAC code indicating location information of the IAB-MT in order for the first centralized unit to update the tracking area of the IAB-MT when the IAB-MT has migrated to a new tracking area served by the target centralized unit.
Regarding claim 15, Huang2 in view of Lu disclose the apparatus of claim 14.
Huang2 fails to disclose but Lu teaches wherein at least one of the TAI or TAC is associated with a target cell of the second migration (Fig 11 & [0101]-[0103] discloses an IAB-MT node moving from donor-CU1 to donor-CU2 and them moving from donor-CU2 to donor-CU3 (i.e. a target cell), wherein the XnAP message received by donor-CU1 from donor-CU3 includes a PCI configuration with a TAC code for donor-CU3.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 14, as disclosed by Huang2 in view of Lu, wherein at least one of the TAI or TAC is associated with a target cell of the second migration, as taught by Lu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a second centralized unit send an XnAP message to a first centralized unit, associated with an IAB-MT migration to a target centralized unit, that includes a TAC code indicating location information of the target centralized unit in order for the first centralized unit to update the tracking area of the IAB-MT when the IAB-MT has migrated to a new tracking area served by the target centralized unit.
Regarding claim 22, Huang2 discloses the apparatus of claim 17.
Huang2 discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the third CU to provide information, to the first CU (Fig 6B & [0050] disclose that CU1 (i.e. first CU) may receive information from CU2 (i.e. second CU).).
Huang2 fails to disclose but Lu teaches wherein the providing is at least one of a tracking area identity (TAI) or type allocation code (TAC) associated with the migration (Fig 11 & [0103] discloses an XnAP message provided by a donor-CU3 to a donor-CU1, associated with migration of an IAB-MT to donor-CU3, that indicates the configuration of a PCI of a serving cell of an IAB node including a TAC code (e.g. TAC=B).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 17, as disclosed by Huang2, wherein the providing is at least one of a tracking area identity (TAI) or type allocation code (TAC) associated with the migration, as taught by Lu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a target centralized unit provide an XnAP message to a first centralized unit, associated with an IAB-MT migration to the target centralized unit, that includes a TAC code indicating location information of the IAB-MT and the target centralized unit in order for the first centralized unit to update the tracking area of the IAB-MT when the IAB-MT has migrated to a new tracking area served by the target centralized unit.
Regarding claim 23, Huang2 in view of Lu disclose the apparatus of claim 22.
Huang2 fails to disclose but Lu teaches wherein at least one of the TAI or TAC is associated with a target cell of the migration (Fig 11 & [0101]-[0103] discloses an IAB-MT node moving from donor-CU1 to donor-CU2 and then moving from donor-CU2 to donor-CU3 (i.e. a target cell), wherein the XnAP message provided by donor-CU3 to donor-CU1 includes a PCI configuration with a TAC code for donor-CU3.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 22, as disclosed by Huang2 in view of Lu, wherein at least one of the TAI or TAC is associated with a target cell of the migration, as taught by Lu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a target centralized unit provide an XnAP message to a first centralized unit, associated with an IAB-MT migration to the target centralized unit, that includes a TAC code indicating location information of the target centralized unit in order for the first centralized unit to update the tracking area of the IAB-MT when the IAB-MT has migrated to a new tracking area served by donor-CU3.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (WO 2023/236050)(herein after “Huang2”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2025/0184871)(herein after “Chen”) and Vesely et al. (US 2019/0082501)(herein after “Vesely”).
Regarding claim 9, Huang2 discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Huang2 discloses a first CU acquiring information of the third CU (Fig 6B & [0050] disclose CU1 acquiring assistance information from CU2 including an identity of a target donor CU (i.e. CU3) for a migration of IAB-MT from CU2 to CU3.);
set up an interface for connectivity with the third CU ([0055] discloses an Xn interface between CU1 and CU3.); or
share information of an IAB-MT (Fig 6B & [0056] disclose CU1 sending (i.e. sharing) F1 transport migration request information to CU3 including an identity of mobile IAB-MT.).
Huang2 fails to disclose but Vesely further teaches that the acquiring of information of the third CU is at least one of: acquire a Transport Network Layer (TNL) address via a self-organizing network (SON) configuration transfer ([0158] discloses retrieval (i.e. acquiring) of a TNL address performed via a SON configuration Transfer procedure.); or
set up an interface using the TNL address ([0158] discloses setting up an Xx-C interface between first and second radio network nodes using a TNL address.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to acquire information of the third CU and establish connectivity with the third CU, as disclosed by Huang2, wherein the acquiring of information is at least one of: acquire a Transport Network Layer (TNL) address via a self-organizing network (SON) configuration transfer; or set up an interface using the TNL address, as taught by Vesely. The motivation to do so would have been to have a first CU acquire information of a TNL address of a third CU and establish connectivity with the third CU by setting up an Xx-C interface so that configuration update request and response information can be exchanged between the first CU and third CU in order to support migration of an IAB node between the first and third CU and potentially through migration of the IAB node from the first CU to a second CU and ultimately to the third CU, in situations where direct communication between the second and third CU does not exist or is limited.
Huang2 fails to disclose but Chen further teaches wherein the sharing of information of the IAB-MT is by sharing a user location information (ULI) with an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a UE connected to the IAB node ([0091] discloses a gNB-CU sharing a ULI of a UE connected to an IAB node with an AMF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to share information of an IAB-MT, as disclosed by Huang2, wherein the sharing of information is by sharing a user location information (ULI) with an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a UE connected to the IAB node, as further taught by Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to have a first CU share information of a ULI of a UE connected with an IAB node with an AMF in order to provide accurate tracking, enforce location-based policies and manage mobility as the UE moves across areas that require migration of the IAB node from an the first CU to a source second CU and ultimately to a third target CU.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Vamanan et al. (US 2024/0040427) discloses Systems and Methods for Configuring Communication with an IAM MEC. (related to optional features of claims 8, 16 & 24)
Bulakci et al. (WO 2022/047805) discloses Methods, Apparatuses and Computer Readable Media for Integrated Access and Backhaul Communication. (related to optional features of claims 8, 16 & 24)
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419