This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 1/21/2026.
Claims 1-25 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/31/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 21, 22, 24 & 25 have been amended.
Rejection to claim 11 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn based on amendments to this claim.
Rejection to claims 1-25 under 35 USC 102 have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1, 10, 17 & 25. However, after further consideration, new grounds of rejections to claims 1-25 under 35 USC 103 have been introduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 1/21/2026, with respect to rejection of claim 11 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 11 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 1/21/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-25 under 35 USC 102 based on Huang et al. (WO 2023/236050)(herein after “Huang”) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejections of claims 1-8 & 10-25 under 35 USC 103 based on Huang in view of Yi et al. (US 2025/0150922)(herein after “Yi”) and of claim 9 under 35 USC 103 based on Huang in view of YI and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2025/0184871)(herein after “Chen”) and Vesely et al. (US 2019/0082501)(herein after “Vesely”) have been introduced.
Regarding claims 1-25, applicant submits that these claims are patentable based on amendments to these claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that, per 35 U.S.C. 103, a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains (see §MPEP 2141).
Regarding claims 1 & 25, applicant argues that these claims are patentable because Huang fails to discloses "the first CU is a donor CU for an IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU)" and "transmit, directly to the third CU based on the second identifier, a request to perform a migration of traffic of the IAB-DU via the third CU" as recited in amendments to these claims. Examiner agrees, however, under the new grounds of rejection of these claims under 25 USC 103, examiner maps the first CU to donor CU1 in Huang, which represents a donor CU for an IAB-DU as disclosed in fig 6B & [0042] of Huang. Further, arguments regarding "transmit, directly to the third CU based on the second identifier, a request to perform a migration of traffic of the IAB-DU via the third CU" and regarding one of the nodes being an IAB node and not a CU node are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Based on the above discussion, examiner withdraws rejections of claims 1 & 25 under 35 USC 102, but introduces rejections of claims 1 & 25 under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claims 2-9, applicant submits that these claims are patentable based on amendments and arguments made above for claims 1 & 25. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above withdraws rejections of claims 2-9 under 35 USC 102, but introduces rejections to claims 2-9 under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claim 10, applicant argues that Huang fails to disclose “first CU that is a donor CU for the IAB-DU” and “provide the first identifier to the first CU that enables the first CU to communicate with the third CU regarding migration of traffic of the IAB-DU”. Examiner agrees, however under the new grounds of rejection of these claims under 25 USC 103, arguments related to CU2 sending to IAB node and not CU1 are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that Huang does not teach providing an identifier to enable CU1 to communicate with CU3 regarding IAB-DU traffic migration because the identifiers in Huang serve a different purpose of UE migration. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that while the gNB-CU UE F1 AP ID and gNB-DU UE F1 AP ID identifiers may be intended for UE migration, they can still be interpreted as comprising “a first identifier of an IAB mobile termination” as recited in claim 10. The IAB node includes a co-located DU where the mobile termination (MT) connects to the source CU through the F1-C interface. The F1-C interface uses the gNB-DU UE FI AP ID and gNB-CU UE F1 AP ID to manage connections, including connections for the IAB-MT. Thus, it may be interpreted that the gNB-DU UE FI AP ID comprises an identifier of the IAB-MT.
Based on the above discussion, examiner withdraws rejection of claim 10 under 35 USC 102, but introduces rejection of claim 10 under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claims 11-16, Applicant submits that these claims are patentable based on amendments and arguments made above for claim 10. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above withdraws rejections of claims 11-16 under 35 USC 102, but introduces rejections to claims 11-16 under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claim 17, applicant argues that Huang fails to disclose "receive, directly from a first CU that is a donor CU for an IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU), a request to migrate traffic of the IAB-DU to the third CU" as recited in amended independent claim 17, because Huang does not disclose CU3 receiving directly from CU1, and Huang’s sender is an IAB node and not a donor CU. Examiner agrees, however, under the new grounds of rejection of these claims under 25 USC 103, examiner maps the first CU to donor CU1 in Huang, which represents a donor CU for an IAB-DU as disclosed in fig 6B & [0042] of Huang. Further, arguments regarding "receive, directly from a first CU that is a donor CU for an IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU), a request to migrate traffic of the IAB-DU to the third CU" are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Based on the above discussion, examiner withdraws rejection of claim 17 under 35 USC 102, but introduces rejection of claim 17 under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claims 18-25, applicant submits that these claims are patentable based on amendments and arguments made for claim 17 and due to their dependency on claim 17. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above withdraws rejections of claims 18-25 under 35 USC 102, but introduces rejections to claims 18-25 under 35 USC 103,
Claim Interpretation
Several of the claims in the present application recite Markush groups in the format of “at least one of A, B or C” (see MPEP §2117). For the purpose of this review, the examiner is interpreting these Markush claims as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B or C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 & 10-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (WO 2023/236050)(herein after “Huang”) in view of Yi et al. (US 2025/0150922)(herein after “Yi”).
Regarding claims 1 & 25, Huang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first centralized unit (CU) ([0004] discloses an apparatus for migrating IAB nodes, that may be part of a first network node, that can receive information related to handover/migration/switching of a wireless communication device. Fig 6B and [0042] discloses that the first network node may be a first centralized unit (e.g. Donor CU1).), and a method for wireless communication at a first CU ([0004] discloses an method for migrating IAB nodes, that may be part of a first network node, that can receive information related to handover/migration/switching of a wireless communication device. Fig 6B and [0042] discloses that the first network node may be a first centralized unit (e.g. Donor CU1).), wherein the apparatus is comprising:
at least one memory comprising instructions (Fig 2, [0028] & [0033] disclose that memory module 216 may store instructions that can be executed by processor module 210 (i.e. computer-executable instructions) to implement the embodiments of the disclosed inventions.); and
one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions (Fig 2, [0028] & [0033] disclose processors 214 may execute the instructions of memory module 216.), and wherein the method and apparatus comprises:
wherein a second CU has a connection to an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) mobile termination (IAB-MT) (Fig 6B & [0042] disclose a second CU, indicated as Donor CU2, that has a connection (i.e. dotted line indicates a connection that is being migrated) to an IAB-MT shown within the Mobile IAB node.),
wherein the first CU is a donor CU for an IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU) (Fig 6B & [0042] disclose a first CU, indicated as Donor CU1, that is a donor CU for an IAB-DU shown within a Mobile IAB node.), and
receiving a first identifier of the IAB-MT and a second identifier of a third CU (Fig 6B & [0052] discloses a source CU may receive information related to the IP address of an IAB-DU of an IAB node (i.e. a first identifier of IAB node in fig 6B that includes IAB-MT) and the IP address of a target CU (i.e. second identifier of target donor CU3 acting as the third CU).),
wherein a request to perform migration of traffic of the IAB-DU via the third CU includes the first identifier (Fig 6B & [0053] discloses information in a configuration update for migrating traffic of the an IAB-DU via target donor CU3 that includes the IP address of the IAB-DU (i.e. the first identifier).), and
wherein the IAB-MT and IAB-DU are co-located in an IAB node (Fig 6B & [0042] disclose that the IAB-MT and IAB-DU are co-located within the Mobile IAB node.).
Huang fails to disclose wherein the receiving of the first identifier of the IAB-MT and a second identifier of a third CU through the instructions is by the first CU from the second CU; and wherein the request to perform a migration of traffic of the IAB-DU via the third CU is transmitted directly by the first CU to the third CU based on the second identifier.
However, Yi teaches wherein the receiving of the first identifier of the IAB-MT and a second identifier of a third CU through the instructions is by the first CU from the second CU (Fig 7 and [0014] & [0088] disclose a first donor-CU that is an F1-terminating donor-CU labeled m-CU, a second donor-CU that is a non-F1-terminating donor-CU before migration labeled donor-CU1, a third donor-CU that is a non-F1-terminating donor-CU after migration labeled donor-CU2, and an IAB node 3 including IAB-MT3 and IAB-DU3. [0087] discloses that the first donor-CU is m-CU. [0090] discloses first donor-CU receiving mobile node address information (i.e. a first IAB-MT identifier). Fig 8 and [0083] disclose first donor CU receiving indication information such as identity related to third donor-CU2 (i.e. a second identifier of third CU). [0095] discloses that the first indication information is transmitted by second donor-CU1. Thus disclosed is receiving of first identifier information of IAB-MT and second identifier of a third CU (i.e. third donor-CU2) by the first CU (i.e. first donor-CU mCU) from the second CU (i.e. second donor-CU1); and
wherein the request to perform a migration of traffic of the IAB-DU via the third CU is transmitted directly by the first CU to the third CU based on the second identifier (Fig 8 & [0083] discloses that in response to receiving the first information with indication information including identity of the third donor-CU2, the first donor-CU (i.e. m-CU) transmits second information for indicating a context of traffic (i.e. migration of traffic) to third donor-CU2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication at a first CU, wherein a second CU has a connection to an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) mobile termination (IAB-MT), wherein the first CU is a donor CU for an IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU), and receiving a first identifier of the IAB-MT and a second identifier of a third CU, wherein a request to perform migration of traffic of the IAB-DU via the third CU includes the first identifier, and wherein the IAB-MT and IAB-DU are co-located in an IAB node, as disclosed by Huang, wherein the receiving of the first identifier of the IAB-MT and a second identifier of a third CU through the instructions is by the first CU to from the second CU; and wherein the request to perform a migration of traffic of the IAB-DU via the third CU is transmitted directly by the first CU to the third CU based on the second identifier, as taught by Yi. The motivation to do so would have been to have a first initial CU that is an F1 anchor point for communication with a UE through an IAB node that consists of a co-located IAB-MT and IAB-DU, receive information from a second source CU, for which traffic flows through from the first initial CU to the IAB node, containing an IP address of the IAB-MT node and an IP address of a third target CU that may be able to provide better performance than the current second source CU can provide, so that the first initial CU can trigger a migration of the IAB node from the second source CU to the third target CU through a configuration update message sent directly from the first initial CU to the third target CU that includes the IP address of the IAB-MT node, in order to initiate and perform migration of the IAB node from the second source CU to the third target CU to improve performance while eliminating or minimizing the amount of traffic required to be sent directly between the second source CU and the third target CU.
Regarding claim 2, Huang in view of Yi disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Huang discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to communicate with the IAB node, via a topology of the second CU (Fig 6A & [0041] disclose a mobile IAB-DU may maintain F1 connection with Donor CU1 so that F1-C/U traffic between Donor CU1 (i.e. the first CU) and mobile IAB-DU (i.e. the IAB node) may be transmitted through donor DU2 (i.e. through the topology of Donor CU2 acting as the second CU.).
Regarding claim 3, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Huang fails to disclose wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to receive, from the third CU, an acknowledgment of the request.
However, Yi teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to receive, from the third CU, an acknowledgment of the request ([0092] disclose that first donor-CU mCU receives a transport migration management response message from third donor-CU2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 1, as disclosed by Huang in view of Yi, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to receive, from the third CU, an acknowledgment of the request, as taught by Yi. The motivation to do so would have been to have the ability for the third target CU to be able to accept, partially accept or reject the DU migration of the IAB node so that the third target CU can manage traffic flow (e.g. accept the migration during uncongested periods of time or reject the migration request during congested periods of time.).
Regarding claim 4, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Huang discloses wherein the first identifier is established in preparation of a prior migration of the IAB-MT from the first CU to the second CU (Figs 6A & 6B and [0041] & [0053] disclose UE handover preparation information including the IP address of the IAB-DU (i.e. the first identifier) allocated by the target CU (i.e. Donor CU2) is established in preparation of migration of IAB-MT from Donor CU1 (through Donor DU1) to Donor CU2 (through Donor DU2) prior to migration of IAB-MT from Donor CU2 (through donor DU2) to donor CU3 (through Donor DU3).).
Regarding claim 5, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Huang discloses wherein the request also includes an identifier of the second CU (Fig 6B & [0053] discloses that the configuration update information (i.e. the request) includes an IP address of the source CU (i.e. identifier of Donor CU2 acting as the second CU).).
Regarding claim 6, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to receive information from at least one of the second CU or the third CU.
Huang discloses wherein the received information is at least one of a tracking area identity (TAI) or type allocation code (TAC) associated with the migration (Fig 6B & [0053] disclose configuration update information including an indication of migration type (i.e. a TAC code indicating partial migration, full migration, DU migration, UE migration, F1 transport migration, F1 switch indication, source logical DU indication, target logical DU indication and/or new IAB donor indication).).
Regarding claim 7, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 6.
Huang discloses wherein at least one of the TAI or TAC is associated with a target cell of the migration of the connection of the IAB-MT from the second CU to the third CU (Figs 6A & 6B and [0053] disclose that the indication of migration type (i.e. TAC) includes a partial migration and a target logical DU indication. [0046] discloses that a partial migration can include migration of an IAT-MT to a different IAB-donor CU (e.g. from source Donor CU2 acting as the second CU to target Donor CU3 acting as the third CU). Thus, the target logical DU indication may represent the target cell of the partial migration.).
Regarding claim 8, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to receive information from at least one of the second CU or the third CU.
Huang discloses wherein the received information is at least one of: an ID of a target cell of the migration; or user location information (ULI) of the IAB-MT (Fig 6B & [0053] disclose configuration update information including receiving identity of a target cell referred to as a target CU ID.).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a second centralized unit (CU) ([0004] discloses an apparatus for migrating IAB nodes, that may be part of a second network node, that can transmit information related to handover/migration/switching of a wireless communication device. Fig 6B and [0042] discloses that the second network node may be a second centralized unit (e.g. Donor CU2).), comprising:
at least one memory comprising instructions (Fig 2, [0028] & [0033] disclose that memory module 216 may store instructions that can be executed by processor module 210 (i.e. computer-executable instructions) to implement the embodiments of the disclosed inventions.); and
one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions (Fig 2, [0028] & [0033] disclose processors 214 may execute the instructions of memory module 216.) to cause the second CU to:
establish a connection for traffic of an IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU) of an IAB node via the second CU, wherein the IAB DU has a connection to a first CU that is a donor CU for the IAB-DU (Fig 6A & [0041] discloses a connection established for traffic from an IAB-DU of a mobile IAB node via Donor CU2 (i.e. a second CU), wherein the IAB-DU of the mobile IAB node has an F1 connection to Donor CU1 (i.e. a first CU), which is a donor CU of the IAB-DU.);
exchange, with a third CU, a first identifier of an IAB mobile termination (IAB-MT) in preparation of a migration of the IAB-MT from the second CU to the third CU, wherein the IAB-MT and IAB-DU are co-located in an IAB node (Fig 6B and [0042] & [0052] disclose handover-related information including the IP address of an IAB-DU, that is part of an IAB node and co-located with an IAB-MT, is exchanged between the source donor CU2 and target donor CU3 in preparation of migration of IAB-MT from source donor CU2 to target donor CU3.); and
Huang fails to disclose providing the first identifier to the first CU that enables the first CU to communicate with the third CU regarding migration of traffic of the IAB-DU.
However, Yi teaches providing the first identifier to the first CU that enables the first CU to communicate with the third CU regarding migration of traffic of the IAB-DU (Fig 7 and [0014] & [0088] disclose a first donor-CU that is an F1-terminating donor-CU labeled m-CU, a second donor-CU that is a non-F1-terminating donor-CU before migration labeled donor-CU1, a third donor-CU that is a non-F1-terminating donor-CU after migration labeled donor-CU2, and an IAB node 3 including IAB-MT3 and IAB-DU3. [0087] discloses that the first donor-CU is m-CU. [0090] discloses first donor-CU receiving mobile node address information (i.e. a first IAB-MT identifier). Fig 8 and [0083] disclose first donor CU receiving indication information such as identity related to third donor-CU2 (i.e. a second identifier of third CU). [0095] discloses that the first indication information is transmitted by second donor-CU1. Thus disclosed is second donor-CU1 providing first identifier information of the mobile node address for IAB-MT to the first CU (i.e. first donor-CU mCU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication at a second CU establish a connection for traffic of an IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU) of an IAB node via the second CU, wherein the IAB DU has a connection to a first CU that is a donor CU for the IAB-DU; and exchange, with a third CU, a first identifier of an IAB mobile termination (IAB-MT) in preparation of a migration of the IAB-MT from the second CU to the third CU, wherein the IAB-MT and IAB-DU are co-located in an IAB node, as disclosed by Huang, and providing the first identifier to the first CU that enables the first CU to communicate with the third CU regarding migration of traffic of the IAB-DU, as taught by Yi. The motivation to do so would have been to have a second source CU establish a connection with an IAB-DU of an IAB node for tunneling traffic from the IAB node to a first F1 anchor donor-CU, exchange IP address information of the IAB node, that has IAB-MT and IAB-DU co-located, with a third target donor-CU that may be able to provide better performance, and provide first information of the IAB-MT node IP address to the first F1 anchor donor-CU that is a donor CU for the IAB-DU, so that the first initial CU can trigger a migration of the IAB node from the second source CU to the third target CU, in order to initiate and perform migration of the IAB node from the second source CU to the third target CU to improve performance while minimizing the amount of traffic required to be sent directly between the second source CU and the third target CU.
Regarding claim 11, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 10.
Huang discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the second CU to release transport of the traffic of the IAB-DU via a topology of the second CU (Fig 6B & [0042] discloses Donor CU2 (i.e. the second CU) releasing the transport of traffic the IAB-DU of the Mobile IAB node from Donor DU2 (i.e. the topology of Donor CU2 acting as the second CU) to Donor DU3.).
Regarding claim 12, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 10.
Huang discloses wherein the first identifier is allocated between the second CU and the third CU in preparation of the migration (Fig 6B & [0052] discloses that the target CU (i.e. Donor CU3 acting as the third CU) sends source CU (i.e. Donor CU2 acting as the second CU) UE handover related information including the IP address of IAB-DU, which is co-located in the IAB node with IAB-MT, allocated for mobile IAB-DU in preparation of migration of the F1 connection from the source CU to the target CU.).
Regarding claim 13, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 10.
Huang discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the second CU to provide an identifier of the first CU to the third CU (Fig 6B & [0056] discloses the source CU (i.e. Donor CU2 acting as the second CU) sending second configuration update information including an a gNB-CU UE F1 AP ID (i.e. an identifier of the F1 interface connection terminating at initial donor CU1 acting as the first CU) to the target CU (i.e. Donor CU3 acting as the third CU).).
Regarding claim 14, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the second CU to provide information to the third CU.
Huang discloses wherein the provided information is at least one of a tracking area identity (TAI) or type allocation code (TAC) associated with a second migration of a connection of the IAB-MT from the second CU to the third CU (Fig 6B & [0053] disclose configuration update information including an indication of migration type (i.e. a TAC code indicating partial migration, full migration, DU migration, UE migration, F1 transport migration, F1 switch indication, source logical DU indication, target logical DU indication and/or new IAB donor indication).).
Regarding claim 15, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 14.
Huang discloses wherein at least one of the TAI or TAC is associated with a target cell of the second migration (Figs 6A & 6B and [0053] disclose that the indication of migration type (i.e. TAC) includes a partial migration and a target logical DU indication. [0046] discloses that a partial migration can include migration of an IAT-MT to a different IAB-donor CU (e.g. from source Donor CU2 acting as the second CU to target Donor CU3 acting as the third CU representing the second migration).).
Regarding claim 16, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the second CU to provide information to the first CU.
Huang discloses wherein the provided information is at least one of: an ID of a target cell of the migration (Fig 6B & [0053] disclose configuration update information including receiving identity of a target cell referred to as a target CU ID.); or user location information (ULI) of the IAB-MT (optional).
Regarding claim 17, Huang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a third centralized unit (CU) ([0004] discloses an apparatus for migrating IAB nodes, that may be part of a third network node, that can transmit information related to handover/migration/switching of a wireless communication device. Fig 6B and [0042] discloses that the third network node may be a third centralized unit (e.g. Donor CU3).), comprising:
at least one memory comprising instructions (Fig 2, [0028] & [0033] disclose that memory module 216 may store instructions that can be executed by processor module 210 (i.e. computer-executable instructions) to implement the embodiments of the disclosed inventions.); and
one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions (Fig 2, [0028] & [0033] disclose processors 214 may execute the instructions of memory module 216.) to cause the third CU to:
exchange, with a second CU, a first identifier of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) mobile termination (IAB-MT), in preparation of a migration of the IAB-MT from the second CU to the third CU (Fig 6B and [0042] & [0052] disclose handover-related information including the IP address of an IAB-DU, that is part of an IAB node and co-located with an IAB-MT, is exchanged between the source donor CU2 and target donor CU3 in preparation of migration of IAB-MT from source donor CU2 to target donor CU3.);
wherein a request to perform migration of traffic of the IAB-DU via the third CU includes the first identifier (Fig 6B & [0053] discloses information in a configuration update for migrating traffic of the an IAB-DU via target donor CU3 that includes the IP address of the IAB-DU (i.e. the first identifier).), and
wherein the IAB-MT and IAB-DU are co-located in an IAB node (Fig 6B & [0042] disclose an IAB node with IAB-MT and IAB-DU co-located.).
Huang fails to disclose receiving, directly from a first CU that is a donor CU for an IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU), a request to migrate traffic of the IAB-DU to the third CU.
However, Yi teaches receiving, directly from a first CU that is a donor CU for an IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU), a request to migrate traffic of the IAB-DU to the third CU (Fig 8 & [0083] discloses that in response to receiving the first information with indication information including identity of the third donor-CU2, the third donor-CU2 receives second information for indicating a context of traffic (i.e. migration of traffic) from first donor-CU (i.e. m-CU).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an apparatus for wireless communication at a third CU exchange, with a second CU, a first identifier of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) mobile termination (IAB-MT), in preparation of a migration of the IAB-MT from the second CU to the third CU; wherein a request to perform migration of traffic of the IAB-DU via the third CU includes the first identifier, and wherein the IAB-MT and IAB-DU are co-located in an IAB node, as disclosed by Huang, and receiving, directly from a first CU that is a donor CU for an IAB distributed unit (IAB-DU), a request to migrate traffic of the IAB-DU to the third CU, as taught by Yi. The motivation to do so would have been to have a third target CU, that may be able to provide better performance than a current second source CU can provide, receive information from the second source CU, for which traffic flows through from a first initial CU to the IAB node, that includes an IAB-MT and an IAB-DU that are co-located, containing an IP address of the IAB-MT node, and receive a configuration update message sent directly from the first initial CU that includes the IP address of the IAB-MT node, in order to respond to and perform migration of the IAB node from the second source CU to the third target CU to improve performance while minimizing the amount of traffic required to be sent directly between the second source CU and the third target CU.
Regarding claim 18, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 17.
Huang fails to discloses wherein the first identifier is allocated between the first CU and the second CU in preparation of a previous migration (Figs 6A and [0041] & [0046] disclose UE handover preparation information including the IP address of the IAB-DU (i.e. the first identifier) allocated between Donor CU1 and Donor CU2 in preparation of migration of IAB-MT from Donor CU1 (through Donor DU1) to Donor CU2 (through Donor DU2) prior to migration of IAB-MT from Donor CU2 (through donor DU2) to donor CU3 (through Donor DU3).).
Regarding claim 19, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 17.
Huang discloses wherein the first identifier is allocated between the second CU and the third CU in preparation of the migration (Fig 6B & [0052] discloses that the target CU (i.e. Donor CU3 acting as the third CU) sends source CU (i.e. Donor CU2 acting as the second CU) UE handover related information including the IP address of IAB-DU, that is collocated with IAB-MT as part of the IAB node, in preparation of migration of the F1 connection from the source CU to the target CU.).
Regarding claim 20, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 17.
Huang discloses wherein the request also includes an identifier of the second CU (Fig 6B & [0055]-[0056] discloses that the second configuration update information (i.e. the request) includes an IP address of the source CU (i.e. identifier of Donor CU2 acting as the second CU).).
Regarding claim 21, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 17.
Huang discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the third CU to receive an identifier of the first CU from the second CU, prior to receiving the request from the first CU (Fig 6B & [0046]-[0047] disclose third target CU3 receiving handover preparation information from second source CU2 that includes gNB-DU UE F1 AP ID identifier information (i.e. an identifier of the F1 interface connection terminating at initial donor CU1 acting as the first CU), prior to receiving configuration update information (i.e. the request for migration from the first CU).).
Regarding claim 22, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the third CU to provide information to the first CU.
Huang discloses wherein the provided information is at least one of a tracking area identity (TAI) or type allocation code (TAC) associated with the migration (Fig 6B & [0053] disclose configuration update information including an indication of migration type (i.e. a TAC code indicating partial migration, full migration, DU migration, UE migration, F1 transport migration, F1 switch indication, source logical DU indication, target logical DU indication and/or new IAB donor indication).).
Regarding claim 23, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 22.
Huang discloses wherein at least one of the TAI or TAC is associated with a target cell of the migration (Figs 6A & 6B and [0053] disclose that the indication of migration type (i.e. TAC) includes a partial migration and a target logical DU indication. [0046] discloses that a partial migration can include migration of an IAT-MT to a different IAB-donor CU (e.g. from source Donor CU2 acting as the second CU to target Donor CU3 acting as the third CU). Thus, the target logical DU indication may represent the target cell of the partial migration.).
Regarding claim 24, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the third CU to provide information to the first CU.
Huang discloses wherein the provided information is at least one of: an ID of a target cell of the migration (Fig 6B & [0053] disclose configuration update information including receiving identity of a target cell referred to as a target CU ID.); or user location information (ULI) of the IAB-MT (optional).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (WO 2023/236050)(herein after “Huang”) in view of Yi et al. (US 2025/0150922)(herein after “Yi”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2025/0184871)(herein after “Chen”) and Vesely et al. (US 2019/0082501)(herein after “Vesely”).
Regarding claim 9, Huang in view of Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Huang fails to discloses wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to acquire information of the third CU; or set up an interface for connectivity with the third CU.
However, Yi discloses a first CU acquiring information of the third CU (Fig 7 and [0014] & [0088] disclose a first donor-CU that is an F1-terminating donor-CU labeled m-CU, a second donor-CU that is a non-F1-terminating donor-CU before migration labeled donor-CU1, a third donor-CU that is a non-F1-terminating donor-CU after migration labeled donor-CU2, and an IAB node 3 including IAB-MT3 and IAB-DU3. [0087] discloses that the first donor-CU is m-CU. Fig 8 and [0083] disclose first donor CU receiving indication information such as identity related to third donor-CU2 (i.e. acquiring information of a third CU); or
set up an interface for connectivity with the third CU (Fig 8 & [0083] discloses first donor-CU (i.e. m-CU) transmitting second information for indicating a context of traffic (i.e. migration of traffic) to third donor-CU2. In order for first donor-CU mCU to be able to transmit second information to third donor-CU2, an interface for connectivity must have been set up. Thus disclosed is setting up of an interface for connectivity for first donor-CU mCU to transmit second information to third donor-CU2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 1, as disclosed by Huang in view of Yi, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to acquire information of the third CU; or set up an interface for connectivity with the third CU, as taught by Yi. The motivation to do so would have been to have a first initial CU acquire information from a second source CU of an IP address of a third target CU and establish a connection with a third target CU in order to share context information to allow third target CU to prepare for migration of traffic from the second source CU to the third target CU.
Huang fails to disclose that the acquiring information of the third CU is at least one of: acquire a Transport Network Layer (TNL) address via a self-organizing network (SON) configuration transfer; set up an interface using the TNL address.
However, Vesely further teaches that the acquiring of information of the third CU is at least one of: acquire a Transport Network Layer (TNL) address via a self-organizing network (SON) configuration transfer ([0158] discloses retrieval (i.e. acquiring) of a TNL address performed via a SON configuration Transfer procedure.); or
set up an interface using the TNL address ([0158] discloses setting up an Xx-C interface between first and second radio network nodes using a TNL address.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to acquire information of the third CU and establish connectivity with the third CU, as disclosed by Huang in view of Visa, wherein the acquiring of information is at least one of: acquire a Transport Network Layer (TNL) address via a self-organizing network (SON) configuration transfer; or set up an interface using the TNL address, as taught by Vesely. The motivation to do so would have been to have a first CU acquire information of a TNL address of a third CU and establish connectivity with the third CU by setting up an Xx-C interface so that configuration update request and response information can be exchanged between the first CU and third CU in order to support migration of an IAB node between the first and third CU and potentially through migration of the IAB node from the first CU to a second CU and ultimately to the third CU, in situations where direct communication between the second and third CU does not exist or is limited.
Huang fails to disclose wherein the sharing of information of the IAB-MT is by sharing a user location information (ULI) with an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a UE connected to the IAB node.
However, Chen further teaches wherein the sharing of information of the IAB-MT is by sharing a user location information (ULI) with an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a UE connected to the IAB node ([0091] discloses a gNB-CU sharing a ULI of a UE connected to an IAB node with an AMF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first CU to share information of an IAB-MT, as disclosed by Huang in view of Visa, wherein the sharing of information is by sharing a user location information (ULI) with an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a UE connected to the IAB node, as further taught by Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to have a first CU share information of a ULI of a UE connected with an IAB node with an AMF in order to provide accurate tracking, enforce location-based policies and manage mobility as the UE moves across areas that require migration of the IAB node from an the first CU to a source second CU and ultimately to a third target CU.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419