DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 06/04/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examination of the group II would not be an unreasonable burden to the examiner. This is not found persuasive because the listed group II includes significant different features and would require different consideration and use of prior art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by Mineo (U. S. Patent 7,458,837).
Regarding claim 1, Mineo, see figures 1-7, discloses a resilient electrical disconnect system, (see figure 7) comprising: a first component member 240 including a first electrical connector 242; and a second component member 340 including a second electrical connector 341, wherein the first component member 240 includes a rigid base 230 and a resilient connector support 250 coupled to the rigid base 230, the first electrical connector 242 being mounted to the resilient connector support 250 and configured to detachably form an electrical connection with the second electrical connector 341.
Regarding claim 2, Mineo, see figures 1-7, discloses the first electrical connector 242 and the second electrical connector 341 define a connection axis, wherein the resilient connector support 250 is selectively shiftable relative to the connection axis when forming an electrical connection.
Regarding claim 3, Mineo, see figures 1-7, discloses the first electrical connector 242 is shiftable along an axis that is substantially parallel with the connection axis when forming the electrical connection.
Regarding claim 4, Mineo, see figures 1-7, discloses the first electrical connector 242 is shiftable along an axis that is angled relative to the connection axis when forming the electrical connection.
Regarding claim 5, Mineo, see figures 1-7, discloses the first electrical connector 242 is shiftable along a first axis and along a second axis when forming the electrical connection. See columns 2, 6.
Regarding claim 6, Mineo, see figures 1-7, discloses one of the first axis and the second axis is substantially parallel with the connection axis. See columns 2, 6.
Regarding claim 7, Mineo, see figures 1-7, discloses the resilient connector support 250 is formed from a non-electrically conductive flexible material. See columns 2 and 6.
Regarding claim 8, Mineo, see figures 1-7, discloses the non-electrically conductive flexible material is a rubber material. See column 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mineo in view of Perry (U. S. Patent 7,402,062).
Regarding claim 9, Mineo discloses the claimed invention except for the first member component is a battery disconnect unit and the second member component is a rechargeable energy storage system (RESS battery assembly. Perry discloses a battery (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mineo to provide such features as taught by Perry so as to provide power for the system.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the references discloses the first electrical connector includes a first connector member arranged in a first plane, a second connector member arranged in a second plane distinct from the first plane, and a third connector member arranged in a third plane, and wherein the second electrical connector includes a first connector element arranged in the first plane, a second connector element arranged in the second plane, and a third connector element arranged in the third plane.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831