DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 9-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the infrared cut filter” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0082802).
With regard to independent claim 1, Lu et al taches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 1), comprising: a first lens (Figure 1, element E1), a second lens (Figure 1, element E2), a third lens (Figure 1, element E3), a fourth lens (Figure 1, element E4), a fifth lens (Figure 1, element E5), a sixth lens (Figure 1, element E6), a seventh lens (Figure 1, element E7), an eighth lens (Figure 1, element E8), a ninth lens (Figure 1, element E9), and a tenth lens (Figure 1, element E10), sequentially disposed from an object side to an imaging side, wherein the first lens has positive refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0074], line 1), wherein the second lens has positive refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0074], lines 3-4), wherein the eighth lens has negative refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0074], line 20), a concave object-side surface (page 5, paragraph [0074], line 21 and Figure 1, element S15) and a convex image-side surface (page 5, paragraph [0074], line 22 and Figure 1, element S16), and wherein two of the third lens to the fifth lens have positive refractive power (page 6, Table 1, wherein the fourth (f4 = 31.05) and fifth (f5 = 39.91) lenses have positive refractive power).
With regard to dependent claim 2, Lu et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the third lens has negative refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0074], lines 6-7), and wherein the fourth lens and the fifth lens have positive refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0074], lines 9 and 12-13, respectively).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Lu et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the following conditional expressions are satisfied: TTL/f < 1.5 (page 6, paragraph [0076], wherein f = 5.44; TTL = 7.57; and TTL/f = 1.39), and 0< FSG/f < 0.15 (page 6, Table 1, Thickness/distance data for S22 and paragraph [0074], wherein FSG = 0.6400; TTL = 7.57; and FSG/TTL = 0.12), where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging plane, FSG is a distance between an image-side surface of [an] infrared cut filter and an imaging plane, and f is a total focal length of the optical imaging system.
With regard to dependent claim 9, Lu et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the ninth lens has positive refractive power, and the tenth lens has negative refractive power (page 5, paragraph [0074], lines 22-23 and 25-26, respectively).
With regard to dependent claim 11, Lu et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0 <ν1- ν3 < 60 (page 6, Table 1, wherein ν1 = 52.5; ν3 = 19.2; and ν1- ν3 = 33.3), where ν1 is an Abbe number of the first lens, and ν3 is an Abbe number of the third lens.
With regard to dependent claim 12, Lu et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches an electronic device comprising such an optical imaging system (page 15, paragraph [0111]).
Claims 13, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuo (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0137339).
With regard to independent claim 13, Kuo teaches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 15), comprising: a first lens (Figure 15, element 810), a second lens (Figure 15, element 820), a third lens (Figure 15, element 830), a fourth lens (Figure 15, element 840), a fifth lens (Figure 15, element 850), a sixth lens (Figure 15, element 860), a seventh lens (Figure 15, element 870), an eighth lens, (Figure 15, element 880) a ninth lens (Figure 15, element 890), and a tenth lens (Figure 15, element 893) sequentially disposed from an object side to an imaging side, wherein the eighth lens has negative refractive power (page 30, paragraph [0249], lines 1-2), a concave object-side surface (page 30, paragraph [0249], line 2 and Figure 15, element 881) and a convex image-side surface (page 30, paragraph [0249], lines 3-4 and Figure 15, element 882), wherein at least one of the first lens to the tenth lens is formed of a glass material (page 6, paragraph [0088], lines 1-3), and wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 400 < Σνn < 500, where νn is an Abbe number of an nth lens, and n is a natural number from 1 to 10 (page 30, Table 15, wherein Σνn = 427.2).
With regard to dependent claim 16, Kuo teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 13, and further teaches such an optical imaging system wherein the fourth lens and the fifth lens have positive refractive power (page 29, paragraph [0245], lines 1-2 and paragraph [0246], lines 1-2, respectively).
With regard to dependent claim 18, Kuo teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 13, and further teaches an electronic device comprising such an optical imaging system (Figure 17).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0057605).
With regard to independent claim 19, Li et al teaches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 9), comprising: a first lens (Figure 9, element E1), a second lens (Figure 9, element E2), a third lens (Figure 9, element E3), a fourth lens (Figure 9, element E4), a fifth lens (Figure 9, element E5), a sixth lens (Figure 9, element E6), a seventh lens (Figure 9, element E7), an eighth lens (Figure 9, element E8), a ninth lens (Figure 9, element E9), and a tenth lens (Figure 9, element E10), sequentially disposed from an object side to an imaging side, wherein the first lens has positive refractive power (page 12, paragraph [0094], line 1), wherein the second lens has positive refractive power (page 12, paragraph [0094], line 3-4), wherein the eighth lens has negative refractive power (page 12, paragraph [0094], lines 18-19), a concave object-side surface (page 12, paragraph [0094], lines 19-20 and Figure 9, element S15) and a convex image-side surface (page 12, paragraph [0094], line 20 and Figure 9, element S16), and wherein three of the sixth lens to the ninth lens have negative refractive power (page 12, Table 9, wherein the seventh (f7 = -999.27), eight (f8 = -1000.91), ninth (f9 = -125.64) and tenth (f10 = -5.91) lenses have negative refractive power).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0082802) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuo (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0137339).
With regard to dependent claim 7, although Lu et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, Lu fails to teach such an optical imaging system wherein the sixth lens and the seventh lens comprise an inflection point on at least one surface of an object-side surface and an image-side surface thereof. In a related endeavor, Kuo teaches an optical imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 15), comprising: a first lens (Figure 15, element 810), a second lens (Figure 15, element 820), a third lens (Figure 15, element 830), a fourth lens (Figure 15, element 840), a fifth lens (Figure 15, element 850), a sixth lens (Figure 15, element 860), a seventh lens (Figure 15, element 870), an eighth lens, (Figure 15, element 880) a ninth lens (Figure 15, element 890), and a tenth lens (Figure 15, element 893) sequentially disposed from an object side to an imaging side, wherein the eighth lens has negative refractive power (page 30, paragraph [0249], lines 1-2), a concave object-side surface (page 30, paragraph [0249], line 2 and Figure 15, element 881) and a convex image-side surface (page 30, paragraph [0249], lines 3-4 and Figure 15, element 882), wherein at least three lenses within the system have at least one inflection point (page 3, paragraph [0049], lines 1-4), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the optical imaging system, as taught by Lu et al, with the lens surfaces having an inflection point, as taught by Kuo, to correct for aberrations (page 3, paragraph [0049], lines 4-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, 10, 14, 15, 17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper.
With regard to dependent claims 3, 4, 6 and 10, although the prior art teaches an optical imaging system, comprising: a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, a fifth lens, a sixth lens, a seventh lens, an eighth lens, a ninth lens, and a tenth lens, sequentially disposed from an object side to an imaging side, wherein the first lens has positive refractive power, wherein the second lens has positive refractive power, wherein the eighth lens has negative refractive power, a concave object-side surface and a convex image-side surface, wherein two of the third lens to the fifth lens have positive refractive power, the prior art fails to teach such an optical imaging system: simultaneously satisfying the conditional expression: 400 < Σνn < 500, as defined and claimed in dependent claim 3; wherein the fourth lens has a convex object-side surface and a concave image-side surface, and wherein the fifth lens has a concave object-side surface and a convex image-side surface, as claimed in dependent claim 4; wherein the sixth lens and the seventh lens have negative refractive power, as claimed in dependent claim 6; or simultaneously satisfying the conditional expression: 0.5 < DL1/DL2 <1.5, as claimed and defined in dependent claim 10.
With regard to dependent claims 14, 15 and 17, although the prior art teaches an optical imaging system, an optical imaging system, comprising: a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, a fifth lens, a sixth lens, a seventh lens, an eighth lens, a ninth lens, and a tenth lens sequentially disposed from an object side to an imaging side, wherein the eighth lens has negative refractive power, a concave object-side surface and a convex image-side surface, wherein at least one of the first lens to the tenth lens is formed of a glass material, and wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 400 < Σνn < 500, where νn is an Abbe number of an nth lens, and n is a natural number from 1 to 10, the prior art fails to teach such an optical imaging system: simultaneously satisfying the conditional expression: 0.5 < DL1/DL2 <1.5, as defined and claimed in dependent claim 14; simultaneously satisfying the conditional expression: 0 < DL2/DL3 < 1.6, as defined and claimed in dependent claim 15; or wherein the fourth lens has a convex object-side surface and a concave image-side surface, and the fifth lens has a concave object-side surface and a convex image-side surface, as claimed in dependent claim 17.
With regard to dependent claim 19, although the prior art teaches an optical imaging system, an optical imaging system, comprising: a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, a fifth lens, a sixth lens, a seventh lens, an eighth lens, a ninth lens, and a tenth lens, sequentially disposed from an object side to an imaging side, wherein the first lens has positive refractive power, wherein the second lens has positive refractive power, wherein the eighth lens has negative refractive power, a concave object-side surface and a convex image-side surface, and wherein three of the sixth lens to the ninth lens have negative refractive power, the prior art fails to teach such an optical imaging system simultaneously satisfying the conditional expression: 1.0 < DL2/DL3 < 1.6, as defined and claimed.
Conclusion
/DARRYL J COLLINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
05 February 2026