DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, filed 05/12/2026 are accepted.
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Claims 1 and 12 are amended. Claims 23-24 are newly added.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/2026 have been reviewed and fully considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 was objected to over informalities regarding wording. Examiner withdraws objection of Claim 12 based on amendment limitations.
With regard to rejection of Claims 1-22 under 35 U.S.C. § 101:
Examiner has reviewed and fully considered Applicant’s arguments but they are unpersuasive. Examiner maintains rejection under 35 USC § 101 upon consideration of claim limitations as currently amended.
Specifically, Applicant argues (REMARKS, Pg7, I., a.) that generation and use of event reports integrates the identified judicial exception of Abstract Idea in the Mathematical Concepts grouping into a practical application. Examiner respectfully disagrees, in view of MPEP 2106.05(g), with guidance that displaying analysis/results is considered extra solution activity in light of Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Applicant points to specification in at least [0009] wherein concept of event report is detailed, reciting “reports that include information about conditions in an electric power system”, where, applying broadest reasonable interpretation, “report” is interpreted a general output, and the term “condition” is connected with the series of calculations leading to one or more numerical or qualitative results or answers obtained by performing the judicial exception. Details regarding further evaluation of Claim 1 under STEP 2A-PRONG ONE are presented below, with new grounds of rejection.
Applicant further argues (Pg 8) regarding evaluation under STEP 2A-PRONG TWO based on disclosure of “unique and novel methods” and discussion of improvement to a technical field, that limitations integrate the judicial exception as identified in STEP ONE into a practical application, referring to USPTO December 2025 Memorandum and Ex Parte Desjardins in reference to evaluation of technological improvement and avoiding oversimplification of claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, Applicant points to “concrete operation of protective-relay technology in an electric power system”. As noted in previous office action, applying broadest reasonable interpretation and viewing the claim limitations as a whole results in finding such language to be additional elements which does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application, rather, such language represents insignificant field of use limitations, generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(h). Examiner further respectfully disagrees that limitations recite and rely on “specific hardware” (Pg. 9) beyond components that are well-understood, routine, and conventional to one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2106.05(d)), such as Applicant’s reference to use of a “DC meter”.
Applicant further argues, regarding evaluation of claim limitations under STEP 2B, that claim elements amount to “significantly more”, with reference to MPEP 2106.05 (I)(A). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner further respectfully disagrees that fact patterns as found in findings regarding Diamond v. Diehr echo those found in the instant application. Examiner notes, as presented in previous office action, identified additional elements used for analysis under STEP 2B mirror those discussed for evaluation under STEP 2A-PRONG TWO, with additional elements reflecting extra solution data activities, including data gathering and mathematical manipulations using gathered data, that do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
With regard to rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 over prior art
Applicant argues (Pg 10-11) regarding whether or not newly added Claims 23 and 24 differentiate the claimed invention over prior art. As noted above, Examiner finds matter presented in amended claims, and in newly added claims, that has not been previously considered, and requires additional search and evaluation to determine how the claimed invention does or does not differentiate over prior art available on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Based on evaluation of amended claim limitations, new grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment is presented in detail below, where additional explanatory remarks pointing to specific details in reference have been added for clarity of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-24 are held to be patent ineligible, as explained below.
With attention to independent Claims 1 and 12 limitations, Claim 1, directed to a system, recites (bold emphasis added):
“monitor at least a portion of an electric power system and configured to generate an adaptive protective relay event report, the system comprising:
a power system response subsystem to:
monitor at least one electrical parameter in the electric power system; and
receive a trigger signal representing a change in at least one electrical parameter in the electric power system from a trigger source; and
an adaptive event report subsystem configured to:
store a plurality of parameter sets, each parameter set comprising a pre-trigger start, duration, and sampling rate associated with the respective trigger source,
generate an adaptive protective relay event report comprising a measure of the at least one electrical parameter related to the event and based on:
the trigger source;
the pre-trigger start;
the duration; and
the sampling rate;
wherein the adaptive protective relay event report comprises the measure of the at least one electrical parameter related to the event beginning at a time established by the pre-trigger start and an event report trigger source, covering an interval established by the duration, and recorded at the sampling rate.”
Claim 12, as currently amended, recites limitations related to a method:
“A method of generating an adaptive protective relay event report, the method comprising:
monitoring, using a power system response subsystem, at least one electrical parameter in an electric power system;
identifying, using the power system response subsystem, an event based on the at least one electrical parameter; and
generating, using an adaptive event report subsystem, an adaptive protective relay event report comprising at least one electrical parameter related to the event and based on:
a pre-trigger start;
a duration; and
a sampling rate;
wherein the adaptive protective relay event report comprises at least one
electrical parameter related to the event beginning at a time established by the pre-trigger start and an event trigger source, covering an interval established by the duration, and recorded at the sampling rate.
Detailed explanation of evaluation steps regarding patent eligibility of Claims 1 and 12 is presented below:
STEP 1 – Determination of statutory category: Claims 1 and 12 fall within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101, namely Claim 1 recites a machine or manufacture (system) and Claim 12 recites a process (method).
STEP 2A-PRONG ONE – Determination regarding whether claim recites a
judicial exception: Applying broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), Claim limitations
noted in bold emphasis, both Claims 1 and 12 recite a judicial exception. These limitations constitute a judicial exception of Abstract Idea because under BRI and using 2024 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, the limitations fall into the grouping of subject matter that covers performing mathematics or mental steps. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), I.A,C,III.B,C) Examiner notes execution of the claimed limitations involve performing mathematical concept by using at least some generic computer components, but that it may be possible to carry some processes using mental steps. Evidence for use of computation is found in specification in at least [0013-14] reciting “maybe implemented as software modules or components…may include any type of computer instructions or computer executable code” and “may be practiced in a distributed computing environment”. Limitations in Claim 1 do not recite details regarding how the computational processes are performed. Limitations highlighted in bold recite manipulation of various quantitative or qualitative values (data), with manipulations resulting in additional quantitative or qualitative values. Examiner notes that while a specific equation or mathematical relationship is not recited in the claim, the absence of such merely points out that the claim would monopolize all possible appropriate equations for accomplishing the execution of the claimed mathematical concept in all possible systems. These steps recited by the claim therefore amount to performing a series of mathematical steps, or mental steps depending on the complexity of a mathematical manipulation, such that the claims shown in bold recite an Abstract Idea in the Mathematical Concept (or Mental Steps) grouping.
STEP 2A-PRONG TWO - Evaluation of additional elements to determine whether
the claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception:
Claim 1, and similarly Claim 12, recites additional elements that do not
recite significantly more than the judicial exception to integrate the recited abstract idea
into a practical application. Further there is no improvement to another technology or technical field; improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; a particular machine; or effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. Specifically, Examiner notes additional elements including at least: “monitor at least a portion of an electric power system” and “receive a trigger signal representing a change in at least one electrical parameter”. Such limitations are considered as evaluating or tracking the recited electrical parameter, i.e. necessary data gathering required to provide input values to carry out the abstract idea. Further, the limitation does not expressly require any specific sensor making any specific measurements of the recited at least one electrical parameter beyond “a change in”. Limitations reciting necessary data gathering , even when linked to a particular data source or a type of data, are considered to be insignificant extra solution activity, as recited in MPEP section 2106.05(g), necessary data gathering (i.e. receiving data) is considered extra solution activity in light of Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015). The term “in an electric power system” is considered as generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, but does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). As noted above, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because there is no improvement to another technology or technical field; improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; a particular machine; effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. Using this reasoning and rationale, limitations, as recited by Claims 1 and 12 as currently amended, when considered individually, or when viewed in combination (as a whole), recited additional elements that do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
STEP 2B – Consideration of whether the claim amounts to significantly more
than the abstract idea: Additional elements, as discussed above, do not amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception because, as noted, limitations reciting necessary data gathering, even when linked to a particular data source or a type of
data, are considered to be insignificant extra solution activity. As recited in MPEP, 2106.05(b). And though interpretation considers use of computational components to perform the abstract idea, merely adding a generic computer implementation does not automatically overcome an eligibility rejection. (see Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2359- 60, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1984 (2014). See also OIP Techs. v. Application/Control Amazon.com, 788 F.3d 1359, 1364, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093-94.) Thus, identified additional elements in Claims 1 and 12 are recited in generality and represent necessary data gathering, or insignificant field of use limitations and do not meaningfully amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, and when considered individually or as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Based on the reasoning and rationale presented above, Claims 1 and 20 are directed to a judicial exception of Mathematical Concept and are held to be patent ineligible.
Further eligibility consideration includes evaluation of dependent Claims 2-11 and 13-24 with direct or indirect dependence to Claims 1 or 12 to determine whether or not these claims include additional elements which integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Review of dependent claims reveals additional elements, including limitations to the performance of the judicial exception, for example, merely including insignificant computer subsystem limitations and/or insignificant extra solution data activity
Specifically, in evaluation of Claims 2-3 and 13-14, finds limitations detailing receiving and storing data and limitations regarding data input, including “user input” and the rate at which data is received. Such limitations, while reciting additional details and limiting the execution of the abstract idea, do not integrate the identified judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 4-11 and 15-22 further recite limits to performance of the abstract idea, reciting further details of mathematical concept or mental steps, or algorithmic steps and/or manipulation of input data values and data transfer (input/output) of results, including software limitations, and/or add insignificant computer limitations, i.e. subsystem limitations. Examiner notes specifically limitations of Claims 11 and 22, reciting “protective action subsystem configured to generate a protective action in response” is recited at a high level of generality and does not equate integration of the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, and is considered to be insignificant extra solution data activity as it could relate to triggering an alarm or alert, i.e. insignificant post-solution data activity. Such limitations, while providing further details regarding performance of the abstract idea, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In evaluation of newly added Claims 23 and 24, Examiner finds limitations which further limit the performance of the abstract idea, with details regarding data storage, and composition, or prioritization of data in generation of output. Examiner further notes limitation “generates the adaptive even report”, considered to be post-solution data activity, and/or output.
Using the reasoning and rationale as above, dependent claims 2-11 and 13-24 are held to be patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8, 11-12, 15, 19, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TAKEMURA (US 20190049490).
(Examiner notes evaluation of independent claims 1 and 12 presented first)
With regard to Claim 1, TAKEMURA teaches:
A system to monitor at least a portion of an electric power system (TAKEMURA is in same technical field, Abstract and [0001]: “a fault waveform recording device which records waveforms of an electrical quantity (current and/or voltage) in the event of a fault in a power system, and is suitably employed in a protection relay device,”)
configured to generate an adaptive protective relay event report, (TAKEMURA teaches protective relay, as above, [0001]: “protection relay device”; and method for event detection, FIG. 2, with [0046] “Relay operation unit 41 performs the relay operation…high sampling rate time-series data stored in storage A…determining whether a fault is occurring in the power system… output signal from each relay operation element…used as a trigger signal…[0053] On the other hand, when relay operation unit 41 detects a fault in the power system, the above FIFO operation continues (step S130)”; TAKEMURA teaches generation of report generally, see Pg. 3, “4.Flag Setting Unit”, [0054-27], specifically, FIG5 “Event of Fault” with [0056]: “interval in which a portion of a current/voltage waveform exhibits a relatively great variation in current or voltage is used to accurately analyze the fault”, and [0064]:”determination as to whether an abnormality is occurred in the power system… generate both a trigger signal for identifying an interval”; Also, FIG6, element S230, with [0065]: “operation of flag setting (i.e., “generate protective relay event report) unit 42 is described”)
a power system response subsystem to: monitor at least one electrical parameter in the electric power system; (TAKEMURA, as above, FIG 2, with [0036]: “CPU 32 controls the overall operation of protection relay device 100, and performs relay operation, according to a program stored in ROM 34, for example. In the present embodiment, CPU 32 further serves as a fault waveform recording device (i.e. “subsystem”)”, [0046]: “Various relay operation elements can be used, for example, an overcurrent relay, an overvoltage relay, an undervoltage relay, a current sudden change relay, a voltage sudden change relay…output signal from each relay operation element, indicating an abnormality of the power system, can be used as a trigger signal (i.e., “trigger source”)”; and see FIG. 5 with [0056]: “current/voltage waveform”)
receive a trigger signal representing a change in at least one electrical parameter in the electric power system from a trigger source; (TAKEMURA as above, [0046)
an adaptive event report subsystem configured to: store a plurality of parameter sets, each parameter set comprising a pre-trigger start, duration, and sampling rate associated with the respective trigger source, (TAKEMURA, FIGs2 with element 42 “STORAGE B”, element 45 “STORAGE C”, and FIGs3,4, with [0047-50], specifically [0047]: “saving waveforms a predetermined time prior to the event of a fault (i.e., “pre-trigger start”), CPU 32 causes data of a Tc+Td period from time t0−Tc to time t0+Td to be stored into storage B, where t0 is a time of the event of a fault.” And ; Examiner interprets “adaptive even report subsystem” as analogous with reference system components at least as described in [0036-37] and elements 43, 45, as depicted in FIG2; and [0049]: “data D10 being detected at the current time t.sub.0. At the next time t0+T (where T is a sampling cycle), newly detected data D11 is stored into storage B”)
an adaptive event report subsystem configured to: generate an adaptive protective relay event report comprising a measure of the at least one electrical parameter related to the event (TAKEMURA, as above, FIGs2,5 with [0036-37]; and 0046]: “Various relay operation elements can be used, for example, an overcurrent relay, an overvoltage relay, an undervoltage relay, a current sudden change relay, a voltage sudden change relay…output signal from each relay operation element, indicating an abnormality of the power system, can be used as a trigger signal(i.e., “trigger source”)”); and see FIG. 5 with [0056]: “current/voltage waveform”))
based on: the trigger source; (TAKEMURA, as above, [0046]: “output signal from each relay operation element, indicating an abnormality of the power system, can be used as a trigger signal (i.e., “trigger source”)”)
the pre-trigger start; (TAKEMURA, as above, FIG5, with [0047]: waveforms a predetermined time prior to the event of a fault (i.e., “pre-trigger start”)”; and [0049] “current time is t0 and storage B is storing data items from data D12 to data D10, the data D12 being detected at time t0−Tc−Td, which is the Tc+Td period prior to the current time t0”; and [0056], as above.)
the duration; (TAKEMURA, FIG5 with [0047]: “CPU 32 causes data of a Tc+Td period from time t0−Tc to time t0+Td to be stored into storage B”; Examiner interprets “duration” as analog to time periods in reference, either “t0-Tc” or “t0+Td” and [0056]: “interval in which a portion of a current/voltage waveform exhibits a relatively great variation in current or voltage is used to accurately analyze the fault,”, Examiner further interprets “duration” as analogous to interval “Tb” as depicted in FIG5))
and the sampling rate; (TAKEMURA, as above, FIG. 5 with [0047], [0049], and [0056])
wherein the adaptive protective relay event report comprises the measure of the at least one electrical parameter related to the event beginning at a time established by the pre-trigger start and an event report trigger source, covering an interval established by the duration, and recorded at the sampling rate. (TAKEMURA, as above, FIG 2, with [0036, and FIG5 with [0047] and [0056]; Also, FIG6, element S230, with [0065]: “operation of flag setting (i.e., “protective relay event report) unit 42 is described”)
With regard to Claim 12, TAKEMURA teaches:
A method of generating an adaptive protective relay event report (TAKEMURA, as above, Abstract and [0001]; and FIG. 2, with [0046], [0053] and FIG5 with [0056], [0064]; and FIG6, element S230, with [0065])
the method comprising: monitoring, using a power system response subsystem, at least one electrical parameter in an electric power system; (TAKEMURA, as above, Fig. 2 with [0036], [0046]; and see FIG. 5 with [0056])
identifying, using the power system response subsystem, an event based on the at least one electrical parameter; (TAKEMURA, as above, FIG2 with [0036], [0046], and [0064]; and see [0029-30], [0044], [0047])
generating, using an adaptive event report subsystem, an adaptive protective relay event report comprising at least one electrical parameter related to the event and (TAKEMURA, as above, FIGs2,5 with [0036-37]; and 0046; and see FIG. 5 with [0056]: “current/voltage waveform”))
based on: a pre-trigger start; (TAKEMURA, as above, FIG5, with [0047]: waveforms a predetermined time prior to the event of a fault (i.e., “pre-trigger start”)”; and [0049] “current time is t0 and storage B is storing data items from data D12 to data D10, the data D12 being detected at time t0−Tc−Td, which is the Tc+Td period prior to the current time t0”; and [0056], as above.)
a duration; (TAKEMURA, FIG5 with [0047]: “CPU 32 causes data of a Tc+Td period from time t0−Tc to time t0+Td to be stored into storage B”; Examiner interprets “duration” as analog to time periods in reference, either “t0-Tc” or “t0+Td”; and, as above [0056]: “interval in which a portion of a current/voltage waveform exhibits a relatively great variation in current or voltage is used to accurately analyze the fault,”, Examiner further interprets “duration” as analogous to interval “Tb” as depicted in FIG5))
and a sampling rate (TAKEMURA, as above, FIG. 5 with [0047], [0049], and [0056])
wherein the adaptive protective relay event report comprises at least one electrical parameter related to the event beginning at a time established by the pre-trigger start and an event trigger source, covering an interval established by the duration, and recorded at the sampling rate. (TAKEMURA, as above, FIG 2, with [0036, and FIG5 with [0047] and [0056]; Also, FIG6, element S230, with [0065]: “operation of flag setting (i.e., “protective relay event report) unit 42 is described”)
With regard to Claims 4 and 15, TAKEMURA teaches the limitations of Claims 1 and 12, as above.
TAKEMURA further teaches:
a variable settings subsystem configured to dynamically determine the pre-trigger start, the duration, and the sampling rate. (TAKEMURA, as above, FIG5 with [0056]: “interval in which a portion of a current/voltage waveform exhibits a relatively great variation in current or voltage is used to accurately analyze the fault, and thus is set to a high-rate interval SC1. (i.e., “dynamically determine”) Specifically, a period before (i.e., “pre-trigger start”) and after (before: period Ta, after: period Tb) fault detection time t10, a period before and after a trip signal output time…remaining periods in the entire period Tc+Td (from time t1 to a time t50) (i.e., “duration”) other than the high-rate intervals SC1, are set to low-rate intervals SC2”; and FIG1 with [0043]: “interpolation operation unit 46 are implemented by CPU”)
With regard to Claims 8 and 19, TAKEMURA teaches the limitations of Claims 4 and 15, as above.
TAKEMURA further teaches:
variable settings subsystem is further configured to dynamically determine the pre-trigger start, the duration, and the sampling rate based on a value of a digital quantity related to the event. (TAKEMURA, FIG 5, with [0056]: ““interval in which a portion of a current/voltage waveform exhibits a relatively great variation in current or voltage is used to accurately analyze the fault, and thus is set to a high-rate interval SC1. (i.e., “dynamically determine”) Specifically, a period before (i.e., “pre-trigger start”) and after (before: period Ta, after: period Tb) fault detection time t10, a period before and after a trip signal output time…remaining periods in the entire period Tc+Td (from time t1 to a time t50) (i.e., “duration”) other than the high-rate intervals SC1, are set to low-rate intervals SC2”; and FIG1 with [0043]: “interpolation operation unit 46 are implemented by CPU”)
With regard to Claims 11 and 22, TAKEMURA teaches the limitations of Claims 1 and 12, as above.
TAKEMURA further teaches:
the power system response subsystem further comprises a protective action subsystem configured to generate a protective action in response to the trigger signal. (TAKEMURA, FIG1, element 4 “CIRCUIT BREAKER”, with [0038]: “Digital output circuit 36 and digital input circuit 37 are interface circuits through which CPU 32 exchanges signals with outside of protection relay device 100…upon detection of a fault, CPU 32 outputs a trip signal to circuit breaker 4 via digital output circuit 36.”; also see Claim 1: “event of a fault and an event of switching of a circuit breaker associated with the fault”; Examiner interprets “protective action” as analogous to reference “outputs a trip signal” )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKEMURA (US 20190049490 A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 12 above, and in view of MATAMOROS (US 20170108909 ).
With regard to Claims 2 and 13, TAKEMURA teaches the limitations of Claims 1 and 12, as above.
the adaptive event report subsystem is configured to receive user input comprising the pre-trigger start, the duration, and the sampling rate.
TAKEMURA further teaches:
the adaptive event report system, configured to receive user input comprising pre-trigger start and duration (TAKEMURA, FIG1 with [0036]: “CPU 32 controls the overall operation of protection relay device 100, and performs relay operation” ; and FIGs3,4 with [0047]: “values of Tc and Td can be set arbitrary by the user”; Examiner interprets “pre-trigger start” and “duration” as above, where FIG.3 depicts “Tc” and “Td” as pre-trigger start” and “duration”, respectively)
TAKEMURA does not explicitly teach:
receive user input comprising the sampling rate.
MATAMOROS teaches:
receive user input comprising the sampling rate. (MATAMOROS is in same technical field, [0003]: “disclosure relate generally to sequence of event logging, and, in particular, sequence of event logging by power converters”; see FIGs 6,3 with [0057-58]: “method 600 is an implementation of the SOE module 314…computer readable medium comprises a program…executed by a processor, performs the method 600”, and [0058]: “”length of the sampling window and/or the sampling rate may be set to a fixed predetermined value, while in other embodiments one or both may be adjustable (e.g., by a user)”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of TAKEMURA to include a user adjustable sampling rate, as taught by Matamoros, because it would allow the invention the advantageous benefit of allowing a user to adjust the sampling rate in response to real-time system performance, and allow system to generate reports corresponding to a customized sampling rate which better reflects actual system behavior.
With regard to claims 3 and 14, TAKEMURA teaches the limitations of Claims 1 and 12, as above.
TAKEMURA further teaches:
a fixed settings subsystem to receive and store the pre-trigger start and the duration, and the sampling rate. (TAKEMURA, FIG1 with [0036]: “CPU 32 controls the overall operation of protection relay device 100, and performs relay operation”; and FIGs3,4 with [0047]: “values of Tc and Td can be set arbitrary by the user”; Examiner interprets “pre-trigger start” and “duration” as above).
TAKEMURA does not explicitly teach:
receiving and storing the sampling rate.
MATAMOROS teaches:
receiving and storing the sampling rate. (MATAMOROS, [0057-58], specifically [0058]: “continuously records the sampled data during a sampling window…voltage waveform may be sampled at a rate”; and see [0062]: “[0062] At step 610, the data during the time period in which the event occurred is saved, along with the data during a pre-event time period”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of TAKEMURA to include receiving and storing the sampling rate as explicitly taught by MATAMOROS, for the advantageous benefit of allowing a user adjusted sampling rate to be included in data set from trigger sources so that generated reports include all data relevant to identification of an event.
Claims 5-7 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKEMURA (US 20190049490 A1), as applied to Claims 4 and 15 above, and in view of STRANG (Strang et al., “Considerations for Use of Disturbance Recorders; a Report to the System Protection Subcommittee of the Power System Relaying Committee of the IEEE Power Engineering Society”, 27 December 2006).
With regard to claims 5 and 6, TAKEMURA teaches the limitations of Claim 4, as above.
TAKEMURA further teaches:
(Claim 5) the variable settings subsystem is further configured to dynamically determine the pre-trigger start, the duration, and the sampling rate based on a rate of change of the at least one electrical parameter related to the event.
(Claim 6) the variable settings subsystem is further configured to dynamically determine the pre-trigger start, the duration, and the sampling rate based on the rate of change of the at least one electrical parameter related to the event without user intervention. (TAKEMURA, FIG1 with [0043]: “functions of relay operation unit 41, flag setting unit 42, decimation operation unit 44, and interpolation operation unit 46 are implemented by CPU 32 in FIG. 1, and Pg3“Relay Operation Unit”, with [0046]: “Various relay operation elements can be used, for example, an overcurrent relay, an overvoltage relay, an undervoltage relay, a current sudden change relay, a voltage sudden change relay…output signal from each relay operation element, indicating an abnormality of the power system, can be used as a trigger signal (i.e., “dynamically determine pre-trigger start”) for identifying an interval whose fault waveforms are to be stored.”, and FIG5 with [0056]: “interval in which a portion of a current/voltage waveform exhibits a relatively great variation in current or voltage is used to accurately analyze the fault, and thus is set to a high-rate interval SC1…a period before and after (before: period Ta, after: period Tb) fault detection time t10, a period before and after a trip signal output time… period before and after a reclosing signal output time t30, and a period before and after a fault detection time t40 following the reclosing are set to high-rate intervals” )
TAKEMURA does not explicitly teach:
trigger based on a rate of change.
STRANG teaches:
trigger based on a rate of change. (STRANG is in same technical field, Pg3, “1. Introduction”, ¶3 “application of disturbance monitoring equipment… disturbance recorder sampling frequency, record length, and types of triggers…characteristics of sensing the analog sensing elements (current and voltage transformers)”; and Pg22, 10.5 Triggering Methods”, ¶4, bullet 2 “Rate-of-Change”, “rate-of-change trigger”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of TAKEMURA to include a rate-of-change based trigger as taught by STRANG because this technique provides the advantage of efficient identification of a range of anomalies, faults or disturbances, particularly those associated with transient events and allows for rapid response with preventive tripping or control actions.
With regard to claims 16 and 17, TAKEMURA teaches the limitations of Claim 15, as above.
TAKEMURA further teaches:
(Claim 16) dynamically determining, using the variable settings subsystem, the pre-trigger start, the duration, and the sampling rate based on the at least one electrical parameter related to the event.
(Claim 17) dynamically determining, using the variable settings subsystem, the pre-trigger start, the duration, and the sampling rate based on the at least one electrical parameter related to the event without user intervention. (TAKEMURA, as above, FIG 2, with [0036]: “CPU 32 controls the overall operation of protection relay device 100, and performs relay operation, according to a program stored in ROM 34, for example. In the present embodiment, CPU 32 further serves as a fault waveform recording device (i.e. “subsystem”)”, [0046]: “Various relay operation elements can be used, for example, an overcurrent relay, an overvoltage relay, an undervoltage relay, a current sudden change relay, a voltage sudden change relay…output signal from each relay operation element, indicating an abnormality of the power system, can be used as a trigger signal (i.e., “trigger source”)”; and see FIG. 5 with [0056]: “current/voltage waveform”)
TAKEMURA does not explicitly teach:
trigger based on a rate of change.
STRANG teaches, as above:
trigger based on rated of change. (STRANG, as above, Pg3, “1. Introduction”, ¶3 “application of disturbance monitoring equipment… disturbance recorder sampling frequency, record length, and types of triggers…characteristics of sensing the analog sensing elements (current and voltage transformers)”; and Pg22, 10.5 Triggering Methods”, ¶4, bullet 2 “Rate-of-Change”, “rate-of-change trigger”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of TAKEMURA to include a rate-of-change based trigger as taught by STRANG, using the same rationale as above, because this technique provides the advantage of efficient identification of a range of anomalies, faults or disturbances, particularly those associated with transient events and allows for rapid response with preventive tripping or control actions.
With regard to claims 7 and 18, TAKEMURA teaches the limitations of Claim 4 and 15, as above.
TAKEMURA does not explicitly teach:
the variable settings subsystem is further configured to establish a minimum value and a maximum value for at least one of the pre-trigger start, the duration, and the sampling rate.
STRANG teaches:
the variable settings subsystem is further configured to establish a minimum value and a maximum value for at least one of the pre-trigger start, the duration, and the sampling rate. (STRANG, Pg24, ¶3, “total record length is determined by the amount of pre-fault data, the duration of the event, the amount of post-fault data, and the maximum record length” (i.e., “duration”); and see Pg31, “Since the records can be used for different purposes, the user should be able to select the recording of the current sample of the monitored quantity, or to record and display the minimum, maximum, and average values that occurred during the previous interval recorded.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of TAKEMURA to include allowing a user to establish a minimum or maximum record length, for the advantageous benefit of limiting the amount of memory allocated to individual records.
Claims 9, 20, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKEMURA (US 20190049490 A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 12 above, and in view of BRYSON (US 20150035681 A1).
With regard to claims 9 and 20, TAKEMURA teaches the limitations of Claims 1 and 12, as above.
TAKAMURA does not explicitly teach:
the adaptive protective relay event report comprises a priority designation.
BRYSON teaches:
the adaptive protective relay event report comprises a priority designation. (BRYSON is in related technical field, [0001]: “relates to point-to-multipoint polling of a plurality of monitoring devices by an automation controller”; and [0013]: “may assign classes to the gathered data based on the priority of the data…may be assigned to events, such as changes in data values, with class 1 assigned to the highest priority events and class 3 assigned to the lowest priority”; and see FIG.1 with [0028]: “gather and transmit information gathered about monitored equipment…monitoring a signal…controlling a breaker…may be configured to monitor and communicate information, such as voltages, currents, equipment status, temperature, frequency, pressure, density, infrared absorption, radio-frequency information, partial pressures, viscosity, speed, rotational velocity, mass, switch status, valve status, circuit breaker status, tap status, meter readings…relay events (e.g., a permanent fault, a temporary fault, an overcurrent condition, an undervoltage condition, a high temperature condition, an inrush condition, a backfeed condition, direction of current flow, loss of potential, a switching transient, a system overload, an exceeded load profile, etc)”; and [0042]: “A time may also be stored and associated with each event. Under a configuration, class 1 may be assigned to the highest priority events and class 3 may be assigned to the lowest priority events”;).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of TAKEMURA to include a priority designation in the adaptive protective relay event report, as taught by BRYSON, because the method of prioritization allows for efficient analysis of most critical issues, ultimately saving time and allowing for efficient response to system sault events
With regard to claim 23, TAKEMURA teaches the limitations of Claims 1, as above.
TAKEMURA does not explicitly teach:
the adaptive event report subsystem stores a plurality of parameter sets, each parameter set comprising a pre- trigger start, duration, and sampling rate associated with the respective trigger source, and the adaptive event report subsystem generates the adaptive event report using the parameter set associated with the trigger source.
BRYSON teaches:
the adaptive event report subsystem stores a plurality of parameter sets, each parameter set comprising a pre- trigger start, duration, and sampling rate associated with the respective trigger source, and the adaptive event report subsystem generates the adaptive event report using the parameter set associated with the trigger source. (BRYSON, [0013]: “automation controller may gather different classes of data during different data gathering iterations.(i.e., “ parameter sets”)…automation controller may gather a first set of data during a first iteration and a second set of data during a second iteration”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of TAKEMURA to include a storing a plurality of parameter sets with data as described above, as taught by BRYSON, because this provides the advantage of configuring profiles that would allow the protective relay to respond more efficiently, with either an automatic or manual adaptation based on known power system topologies or operational conditions without taking the relay system offline, thereby avoiding downtime for preventative protective actions.
With regard to claim 24, TAKEMURA teaches the limitations of Claims 1, as above.
TAKEMURA does not explicitly teach:
the adaptive event report subsystem is configured to assign a higher retention priority to an unretrieved event report than to a retrieved event report.
BRYSON teaches, as above, :
the adaptive event report subsystem is configured to assign a higher retention priority to an unretrieved event report than to a retrieved event report. (BRYSON, as above, [0013]: “assign classes to the gathered data based on the priority of the data”; and [0036]: “HMI 186 may be used to change settings, issue control instructions, retrieve an event (fault) report, retrieve data, and the like”; [0057]: “method 400 may begin with the automation controller 210 determining 402 that one or more data classes of the monitored system data should be retrieved…automation controller 210 may determine that the one or more data classes have not been collected in a predetermined amount of time and/or that the one or more data classes are next in a predetermined list and/or order of collection. The automation controller 210 may determine 404 a next IED 220a-d from which the one or more data classes should be gathered. The automation controller 210 may determine 404 the next IED 220a-d by iterating through the IEDs 220a-d in a predetermined order, by determining which IEDs 220a-d have not reported the one or more data classes within a predetermined time limit”; Examiner interprets “higher retention priority” as analogous to method taught in reference of prioritization [0013] in view of retrieval decisions [0057].)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of TAKEMURA to include configuration of the system to assign a higher retention priority to an unretrieved event report than to a retrieved event report as taught in the detailed method of BRYSON sets with data as described above, as taught by BRYSON, because this would have the advantage of ensuring that important data regarding system performance is not lost or missed in evaluation or detection of system fault. This would provide an advantage of efficient protective response to all system anomalies/faults.
Claims 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKEMURA (US 20190049490 A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 12 above, and in view of QIN (US 20070150214 A1).
With regard to claims 10 and 21, TAKEMURA teaches the limitations of Claims 1 and 12, as above.
TAKAMURA does not explicitly teach:
the adaptive event report subsystem is further configured to terminate the adaptive protective relay event report prior to the duration based on a dropout of the measure of at least one electrical parameter.
QIN teaches:
the adaptive event report subsystem is further configured to terminate the adaptive protective relay event report prior to the duration based on a dropout of the measure of at least one electrical parameter. (QIN is in related technical field, [0002]: “relates to an intelligent electronic device, and more specifically, to an apparatus and method for compensating digital input delays and communication delays in and between an intelligent electronic device”; see FIG.3 with [0039]: “After processing of the data has begun, the fixed debounce timing element 108 begins to detect a falling edge in order to initiate a dropout timing element and the end of processing of the data signal…because a rising edge 314 is detected at about 0.5 ms after detection of the falling edge 312, processing of the data signal continues. However, another falling edge is shown at 316 and the fixed debounce timing element 108 initiates the dropout time delay. Because a rising edge is not detected before 16 ms has elapsed, processing of the data signal is stops as shown at 318”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of TAKEMURA to include the termination of the adaptive protective relay event report prior to the duration based on a dropout of the measure of at least one electrical parameter as taught by QIN, because doing so provides the advantageous benefit of ending the signal processing due to an unstable input signal. Once modified, i.e. terminating the signal processing of the adaptive event report due to a dropout of the signal, the modification makes obvious an adaptive event report subsystem that is further configured to terminate the adaptive protective relay event report prior to the duration based on a dropout of the measure of at least one electrical parameter.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure was included in previous office action, dated 01/16/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONI D SAUNCY/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857