DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
in FIG. 3, the floor of the battery pan is indicated with reference number 22 rather than reference number 26 as described in the instant specification ([0039]).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive.
The claims do not require prismatic cells and the endcap is for a battery assembly rather than a cell. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 recites “the endcap is welded to… the floor” but should recite “the endcap is welded to… the floor of the battery pan” to improve the clarity of the claim by distinguishing between the floor of the battery pan and the floor of the elongated body.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2024/0204343 A1; priority to PCT/CN2022/128750, filed 10/31/2022) in view of Jiang (CN-116231222-A; a machine translation is attached and referenced below).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a battery assembly (10, FIGS. 11-13, [0182]), comprising:
a battery tray (113, FIGS. 11-13, [0187]) having a tray top surface (uppermost surface in Z-direction);
a battery pan (112, FIG. 11, [0185]) supported by the battery tray (113), wherein the battery pan (112) has at least one side wall (1102a, FIG. 13, [0218]) and a floor (15, FIGS. 11-13, [0186]), and wherein the battery pan (112) has a plurality of support members (16, FIGS. 11-13, [0211]) for supporting the floor (15);
a plurality of battery cells (20, FIGS. 11-13, [0191]) supported within the battery pan (112), each of the plurality of battery cells (20) having a cell vent port (213, FIGS. 11-13, [0191]), wherein the plurality of battery cells (20) is disposed in a plurality of rows (along X-direction in FIGS. 11-12);
a plurality of vents (132, FIGS. 13-14, [0201]), wherein each of the plurality of vents (132) is defined by the floor (15) of the battery pan (112), one of the plurality of support members (16), another of the plurality of support members (16), and the tray top surface ([0212]), wherein each vent (132) extends a length of each row of the plurality of rows (FIG. 11), and wherein each cell vent port (213) of the plurality of battery cells (20) is in fluid communication with each vent of the plurality of vents (132) ([0208]);
an endcap (1102, FIGS. 12-13, [0218]) having an elongated body (1102), wherein the elongated body (1102) has a length (along Y-direction in FIG. 11 or perpendicular to plane of page in FIGS. 12 and 13), a ceiling, and a floor (see annotated figure 1 below), and wherein the endcap (1102) includes: a vent channel (portion of 11b within hollow structure of 1102, FIG. 13, [0218]) defined by the elongated body (1102) and configured to carry vent gas; and
a pack vent (1105, FIG. 13, [0219]) disposed proximate a first end (right side in FIG. 13) of the elongated body (1102) and configured to exhaust the vent gas from the endcap (1102).
Annotated figure 1
Yang does not disclose wherein a plurality of structural plates is coupled to floor such that the plurality of rows is defined by the plurality of structural plates; or wherein the endcap includes a plurality of apertures disposed along the length of the elongated body, a baffle having a baffle wall extending the length of the elongated body, wherein the baffle wall extends to the ceiling and the floor of the elongated body and is coupled to a first end of the elongated body, and wherein the vent channel is defined by the baffle and the elongated body and extends along the baffle.
Jiang teaches a battery assembly (1000, FIG. 1, [0042]), comprising a battery pan (200, FIG. 4, [0043]), wherein a plurality of structural plates (240, FIG. 4, [0055]) is coupled to a floor (210, FIG. 4, [0046]) of the battery pan (200), and wherein a plurality of battery cells (within battery modules 100, FIG. 1, [0044]) is disposed in a plurality of rows (FIG. 2) defined by the plurality of structural plates (240). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery assembly of Yang by adding a plurality of structural plates coupled to the floor of the battery pan, such that the plurality of rows is defined by the plurality of structural plates, because Jiang teaches that the structural plates can prevent thermal runaway from propagating within the battery pan by isolating groups of cells from one another ([0057]). Further, Yang teaches the battery may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0240]).
Jiang further teaches an endcap (220, FIGS. 4-5, [0048]) having an elongated body (220), wherein the elongated body has a length (along Y direction in FIG. 5), a ceiling (see annotated figure 2 below), and a floor (see annotated figure 2 below), and wherein the endcap (220) includes a plurality of apertures (225, FIG. 5, [0055]) disposed along the length of the elongated body (220), a baffle (227, FIG. 5, [0058]) having a baffle wall (227) extending the length of the elongated body (220), wherein the baffle wall (227) extends to the ceiling and the floor of the elongated body (220) and is coupled to a first end (face shown in FIG. 5) of the elongated body; and a vent channel (first subspace, [0058]) defined by the baffle (227) and the elongated body (220) and extending along the baffle (227). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the endcap of Yang in view of Jiang by adding a plurality of apertures disposed along the length of the elongated body, and a baffle having a baffle wall extending the length of the elongated body, wherein the baffle wall extends to the ceiling and the floor of the elongated body and is coupled to a first end of the elongated body, such that the vent channel is defined by the baffle and the elongated body and extends along the baffle, because Jiang teaches that this configuration blocks ejected material from being discharged into the external environment ([0059]-[0061]), thereby reducing the possibility of fire ([0052]), and slows the flow rate of high-temperature gas ([0062]).
Annotated figure 2
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Jiang does not teach wherein the endcap is coupled to the plurality of structural plates of the battery pan.
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery assembly of Yang in view of Jiang by coupling the endcap to the plurality of structural plates of the battery pan in order to form isolated compartments within the battery pan to prevent thermal runaway propagation as taught by Jiang ([0057]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang in view of Jiang teaches wherein the baffle wall (227) is disposed opposite the plurality of apertures (225) (Jiang FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Yang in view of Jiang teaches (see Jiang) wherein the baffle (227) is configured in a linear configuration (runs in a straight line along elongated body 220, FIG. 5).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2024/0204343 A1) in view of Jiang (CN-116231222-A), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Zhou (US 2025/0070352 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Yang in view of Jiang does not teach wherein the baffle is formed from a steel stamping.
Zhou teaches a battery assembly (100, FIG. 1, [0046]) comprising reinforcing members (6, FIG. 11, [0052]) which direct vent gas and are formed from a steel stamping (stamped plate materials, [0062]; steel [0021]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have used a steel stamping to form the baffle of Yang in view of Jiang because Zhou teaches that stamping has a simple process requiring low costs ([0062]) and steel has good corrosion resistance and high strength ([0074]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2024/0204343 A1) in view of Jiang (CN-116231222-A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zapczynski (US 2024/0313341 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Yang in view of Jiang does not disclose an external vent channel coupled to an external surface of one side wall of the battery pan, wherein the external vent channel has a channel entrance and a channel exit vent, wherein the channel entrance is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the pack vent, and wherein the channel exit vent exhausts the vent gas.
However, Jiang further teaches an external vent channel (internal flow channel of suspension beam 230, FIG. 5, [0049]) coupled to an external surface of one side wall (220) of the battery pan (200), wherein the external vent channel (internal flow channel of suspension beam 230) has a channel entrance (226, FIG. 5, [0050]) and a channel exit vent (260, FIG. 4, [0068]), wherein the channel entrance (226) is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the endcap (220) ([0050]), and wherein the channel exit vent (260) exhausts the vent gas ([0068]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have further modified the battery assembly of Yang in view of Jiang by adding an external vent channel coupled to an external surface of one side wall of the battery pan, wherein the external vent channel has a channel entrance and a channel exit vent, wherein the channel entrance is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the end cap, and wherein the channel exit vent exhausts the vent gas, because Jiang teaches that the additional vent channel further reduces the amount of ejected material released into the external environment in the event of thermal runaway by changing the flow direction of the high-temperature gas ([0052]).
Zapczynski teaches a battery assembly (14, FIG. 2, [0035]) comprising a pack vent (58, FIG. 3, [0040]) disposed in a side wall (62, FIG. 2, [0040]) of a battery pan (42, FIG. 2, [0035]) and configured to exhaust vent gas from the battery pan (42); and an external channel (66, FIGS. 3-4, [0046]) coupled to the battery pan (42), wherein the external channel (66) has a channel entrance (102, FIG. 4, 0046]), and wherein the channel entrance (102) is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the pack vent (58) ([0046]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery assembly of Yang in view of Jiang such that the channel entrance is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the pack vent because Zapczynski teaches this configuration effectively connects the pack vent and the external vent channel ([0046]).
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2024/0204343 A1; priority to PCT/CN2022/128750, filed 10/31/2022) in view of Jiang (CN-116231222-A; a machine translation is attached and referenced below) and Zapczynski (US 2024/0313341 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses a battery assembly (10, FIGS. 11-13, [0182]), comprising:
a battery tray (113, FIGS. 11-13, [0187]) having a tray top surface (uppermost surface in Z-direction);
a battery pan (112, FIG. 11, [0185]) supported by the battery tray (113), wherein the battery pan (112) has at least one side wall (1102a, FIG. 13, [0218]) and a floor (15, FIGS. 11-13, [0186]), and wherein the battery pan (112) has a plurality of support members (16, FIGS. 11-13, [0211]) for supporting the floor (15);
a plurality of battery cells (20, FIGS. 11-13, [0191]) supported within the battery pan (112), each of the plurality of battery cells (20) having a cell vent port (213, FIGS. 11-13, [0191]), wherein the plurality of battery cells (20) is disposed in a plurality of rows (along X-direction in FIGS. 11-12);
a plurality of vents (132, FIGS. 13-14, [0201]), wherein each of the plurality of vents (132) is defined by the floor (15) of the battery pan (112), one of the plurality of support members (16), another of the plurality of support members (16), and the tray top surface ([0212]), wherein each vent (132) extends a length of each row of the plurality of rows (FIG. 11), and wherein each cell vent port (213) of the plurality of battery cells (20) is in fluid communication with each vent of the plurality of vents (132) ([0208]); and
a pack vent (1105, FIG. 13, [0219]) disposed in a side wall (1102a) of the battery pan (112) and configured to exhaust vent gas from the battery pan (112).
Yang does not disclose wherein a plurality of structural plates is coupled to floor such that the plurality of rows is defined by the plurality of structural plates, or an external channel coupled to an external surface of one side wall of the battery pan wherein the external channel has a channel entrance and a channel exit vent, wherein the channel entrance is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the pack vent, and wherein the channel exit vent exhausts the vent gas.
Jiang teaches a battery assembly (1000, FIG. 1, [0042]), comprising a battery pan (200, FIG. 4, [0043]), wherein a plurality of structural plates (240, FIG. 4, [0055]) is coupled to a floor (210, FIG. 4, [0046]) of the battery pan (200), and wherein a plurality of battery cells (within battery modules 100, FIG. 1, [0044]) is disposed in a plurality of rows (FIG. 2) defined by the plurality of structural plates (240). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery assembly of Yang by adding a plurality of structural plates coupled to the floor of the battery pan, such that the plurality of rows is defined by the plurality of structural plates, because Jiang teaches that the structural plates can prevent thermal runaway from propagating within the battery pan by isolating groups of cells from one another ([0057]). Further, Yang teaches the battery may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0240]).
Jiang further teaches an external vent channel (internal flow channel of suspension beam 230, FIG. 5, [0049]) coupled to an external surface of one side wall (220) of the battery pan (200), wherein the external vent channel (internal flow channel of suspension beam 230) has a channel entrance (226, FIG. 5, [0050]) and a channel exit vent (260, FIG. 4, [0068]), wherein the channel entrance (226) is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the endcap (220) ([0050]), and wherein the channel exit vent (260) exhausts the vent gas ([0068]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have further modified the battery assembly of Yang in view of Jiang by adding an external vent channel coupled to an external surface of one side wall of the battery pan, wherein the external vent channel has a channel entrance and a channel exit vent, wherein the channel entrance is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the end cap, and wherein the channel exit vent exhausts the vent gas, because Jiang teaches that the additional vent channel further reduces the amount of ejected material released into the external environment in the event of thermal runaway by changing the flow direction of the high-temperature gas ([0052]).
Zapczynski teaches a battery assembly (14, FIG. 2, [0035]) comprising a pack vent (58, FIG. 3, [0040]) disposed in a side wall (62, FIG. 2, [0040]) of a battery pan (42, FIG. 2, [0035]) and configured to exhaust vent gas from the battery pan (42); and an external channel (66, FIGS. 3-4, [0046]) coupled to the battery pan (42), wherein the external channel (66) has a channel entrance (102, FIG. 4, 0046]), and wherein the channel entrance (102) is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the pack vent (58) ([0046]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery assembly of Yang in view of Jiang such that the channel entrance is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the pack vent because Zapczynski teaches this configuration effectively connects the pack vent and the external vent channel ([0046]).
Regarding claim 10, Yang in view of Jiang and Zapczynski teaches (see Yang) wherein the plurality of vents (132) extend along the battery assembly (10) in a fore-aft configuration (along X- direction in FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 11, Yang in view of Jiang and Zapczynski further teaches (see Yang) an endcap (1102, FIGS. 12-13, [0218]) having an elongated body (1102), wherein the elongated body (1102) has a length (along Y-direction in FIG. 11 or perpendicular to plane of page in FIGS. 12 and 13), a ceiling, and a floor (see annotated figure 1 below), and wherein the endcap (1102) includes: a vent channel (portion of 11b within hollow structure of 1102, FIG. 13, [0218]) defined by the elongated body (1102) and configured to carry vent gas.
Annotated figure 1
Yang in view of Jiang and Zapczynski does not disclose wherein the endcap includes a plurality of apertures disposed along the length of the elongated body, a baffle having a baffle wall extending the length of the elongated body, wherein the baffle wall extends to the ceiling and the floor of the elongated body and is coupled to a first end of the elongated body, and wherein the vent channel is defined by the baffle and the elongated body and extends along the baffle.
Jiang further teaches an endcap (220, FIGS. 4-5, [0048]) having an elongated body (220), wherein the elongated body has a length (along Y direction in FIG. 5), a ceiling (see annotated figure 2 below), and a floor (see annotated figure 2 below), and wherein the endcap (220) includes a plurality of apertures (225, FIG. 5, [0055]) disposed along the length of the elongated body (220), a baffle (227, FIG. 5, [0058]) having a baffle wall (227) extending the length of the elongated body (220), wherein the baffle wall (227) extends to the ceiling and the floor of the elongated body (220) and is coupled to a first end (face shown in FIG. 5) of the elongated body; and a vent channel (first subspace, [0058]) defined by the baffle (227) and the elongated body (220) and extending along the baffle (227). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the endcap of Yang in view of Jiang and Zapcynski by adding a plurality of apertures disposed along the length of the elongated body, and a baffle having a baffle wall extending the length of the elongated body, wherein the baffle wall extends to the ceiling and the floor of the elongated body and is coupled to a first end of the elongated body, such that the vent channel is defined by the baffle and the elongated body and extends along the baffle, because Jiang teaches that this configuration blocks ejected material from being discharged into the external environment ([0059]-[0061]), thereby reducing the possibility of fire ([0052]), and slows the flow rate of high-temperature gas ([0062]).
Annotated figure 2
Regarding claim 12, Yang in view of Jiang and Zapczynski teaches (see Yang) wherein the endcap (1102) is in fluid communication from the plurality of vents (132) to the pack vent (1105) (FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 13, Yang in view of Jiang and Zapczynski teaches (see Yang) wherein the endcap (1102) is perpendicular to the plurality of rows (along X-direction in FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses a battery assembly (10, FIGS. 11-13, [0182]), comprising:
a battery tray (113, FIGS. 11-13, [0187]) having a tray top surface (uppermost surface in Z-direction);
a battery pan (112, FIG. 11, [0185]) supported by the battery tray (113), wherein the battery pan (112) has at least one side wall (1102a, FIG. 13, [0218]) and a floor (15, FIGS. 11-13, [0186]); and wherein the battery pan (112) has a plurality of support members (16, FIGS. 11-13, [0211]) for supporting the floor (15);
a plurality of battery cells (20, FIGS. 11-13, [0191]) supported within the battery pan (112), each of the plurality of battery cells (20) having a cell vent port (213, FIGS. 11-13, [0191]), wherein the plurality of battery cells (20) is disposed in a plurality of rows (along X-direction in FIGS. 11-12);
a plurality of vents (132, FIGS. 13-14, [0201]), wherein each of the plurality of vents (132) is defined by the floor (15) of the battery pan (112), one of the plurality of support members (16), another of the plurality of support members (16), and the tray top surface ([0212]), wherein each vent (132) extends a length of each row of the plurality of rows (FIG. 11), and wherein each cell vent port (213) of the plurality of battery cells (20) is in fluid communication with each vent of the plurality of vents (132) ([0208]);
an endcap (1102, FIGS. 12-13, [0218]) having an elongated body (1102), wherein the elongated body (1102) has a length (along Y-direction in FIG. 11 or perpendicular to plane of page in FIGS. 12 and 13), a ceiling, and a floor (see annotated figure 1 below), and wherein the endcap (1102) includes: a vent channel (portion of 11b within hollow structure of 1102, FIG. 13, [0218]) defined by the elongated body (1102) and configured to carry vent gas; and
a pack vent (1105, FIG. 13, [0219]) disposed proximate a first end (right side in FIG. 13) of the elongated body (1102) and configured to exhaust the vent gas from the endcap (1102).
Annotated figure 1
Yang does not disclose wherein a plurality of structural plates is coupled to floor such that the plurality of rows is defined by the plurality of structural plates; wherein the endcap is coupled to the plurality of structural plates of the battery pan; wherein the endcap includes a floor and a plurality of apertures disposed along the length of the elongated body, a baffle having a baffle wall extending the length of the elongated body, wherein the baffle wall extends to the ceiling and the floor of the elongated body and is coupled to a first end of the elongated body, wherein the vent channel is defined by the baffle and the elongated body and extends along the baffle; and an external channel coupled to an external surface of one side wall of the battery pan, wherein the external channel has a channel entrance and a channel exit vent, wherein the channel entrance is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the pack vent, and wherein the channel exit vent exhausts the vent gas.
Jiang teaches a battery assembly (1000, FIG. 1, [0042]), comprising a battery pan (200, FIG. 4, [0043]), wherein a plurality of structural plates (240, FIG. 4, [0055]) is coupled to a floor (210, FIG. 4, [0046]) of the battery pan (200), and wherein a plurality of battery cells (within battery modules 100, FIG. 1, [0044]) is disposed in a plurality of rows (FIG. 2) defined by the plurality of structural plates (240). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery assembly of Yang by adding a plurality of structural plates coupled to the floor of the battery pan, such that the plurality of rows is defined by the plurality of structural plates, because Jiang teaches that the structural plates can prevent thermal runaway from propagating within the battery pan by isolating groups of cells from one another ([0057]). Further, Yang teaches the battery may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0240]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery assembly of Yang in view of Jiang by coupling the endcap to the plurality of structural plates of the battery pan in order to form isolated compartments within the battery pan to prevent thermal runaway propagation as taught by Jiang ([0057]).
Jiang further teaches an endcap (220, FIGS. 4-5, [0048]) having an elongated body (220), wherein the elongated body has a length (along Y direction in FIG. 5), a ceiling (see annotated figure 2 below), and a floor (see annotated figure 2 below), and wherein the endcap (220) includes a plurality of apertures (225, FIG. 5, [0055]) disposed along the length of the elongated body (220), a baffle (227, FIG. 5, [0058]) having a baffle wall (227) extending the length of the elongated body (220), wherein the baffle wall (227) extends to the ceiling and the floor of the elongated body (220) and is coupled to a first end (face shown in FIG. 5) of the elongated body; and a vent channel (first subspace, [0058]) defined by the baffle (227) and the elongated body (220) and extending along the baffle (227). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the endcap of Yang in view of Jiang by adding a plurality of apertures disposed along the length of the elongated body, and a baffle having a baffle wall extending the length of the elongated body, wherein the baffle wall extends to the ceiling and the floor of the elongated body and is coupled to a first end of the elongated body, such that the vent channel is defined by the baffle and the elongated body and extends along the baffle, because Jiang teaches that this configuration blocks ejected material from being discharged into the external environment ([0059]-[0061]), thereby reducing the possibility of fire ([0052]), and slows the flow rate of high-temperature gas ([0062]).
Annotated figure 2
Jiang further teaches an external vent channel (internal flow channel of suspension beam 230, FIG. 5, [0049]) coupled to an external surface of one side wall (220) of the battery pan (200), wherein the external vent channel (internal flow channel of suspension beam 230) has a channel entrance (226, FIG. 5, [0050]) and a channel exit vent (260, FIG. 4, [0068]), wherein the channel entrance (226) is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the endcap (220) ([0050]), and wherein the channel exit vent (260) exhausts the vent gas ([0068]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have further modified the battery assembly of Yang in view of Jiang by adding an external vent channel coupled to an external surface of one side wall of the battery pan, wherein the external vent channel has a channel entrance and a channel exit vent, wherein the channel entrance is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the end cap, and wherein the channel exit vent exhausts the vent gas, because Jiang teaches that the additional vent channel further reduces the amount of ejected material released into the external environment in the event of thermal runaway by changing the flow direction of the high-temperature gas ([0052]).
Zapczynski teaches a battery assembly (14, FIG. 2, [0035]) comprising a pack vent (58, FIG. 3, [0040]) disposed in a side wall (62, FIG. 2, [0040]) of a battery pan (42, FIG. 2, [0035]) and configured to exhaust vent gas from the battery pan (42); and an external channel (66, FIGS. 3-4, [0046]) coupled to the battery pan (42), wherein the external channel (66) has a channel entrance (102, FIG. 4, 0046]), and wherein the channel entrance (102) is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the pack vent (58) ([0046]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery assembly of Yang in view of Jiang such that the channel entrance is disposed proximate to and receives vent gas from the pack vent because Zapcynski teaches this configuration effectively connects the pack vent and the external vent channel ([0046]).
Regarding claim 15, Yang in view of Jiang and Zapczynski teaches (see Yang) wherein the endcap (1102) is in fluid communication from the plurality of vents (132) to the pack vent (1105) (FIG. 13).
Claims 7-8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2024/0204343 A1) in view of Jiang (CN-116231222-A) and Zapczynski (US 2024/0313341 A1), as applied to claims 6 and 14 above, and further in view of Gondoh (US 2021/0066690 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Yang in view of Jiang and Zapczynski does not teach wherein the external vent channel is configured in a non-direct pattern.
Gondoh teaches a battery assembly (1, FIG. 1, [0022]) comprising a vent channel (6, FIGS. 1 and 3, [0022]), wherein the vent channel (6) is configured in a non-direct pattern (formed by guide components 36, FIG. 4, [0039]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the external vent channel of Yang in view of Jiang and Zapczynski adding guide components such that the external vent channel is configured in a non-direct pattern because Gondoh teaches that doing so lowers the temperature and pressure of exhaust gas ([0062]).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Yang in view of Jiang, Zapczynski, and Gondoh teaches wherein the external vent channel is configured in a wave pattern (Gondoh FIG. 4).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2024/0204343 A1) in view of Jiang (CN-116231222-A) and Zapczynski (US 2024/0313341 A1), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Proll (US 2023/0246289 A1) and Grass (US 2022/0131228 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Yang ([0180]) and Jiang ([0069]) each teach that components of the battery assembly may be welded, but Yang in view of Jiang and Zapczynski does not disclose wherein the endcap is welded to the tray top surface, the plurality of structural plates, and the floor.
Proll teaches a battery (100, FIG. 5, [0065]) comprising a vent (24, FIG.5, [0069]), and an endcap (30, FIG. 5, [0069]), wherein the endcap (30) is welded to the vent (24) ([0054]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery assembly of Yang in view of Jiang and Zapczynski by welding the endcap to the plurality of vents, which is defined by the tray top surface and the floor as discussed in claim 14, because Proll teaches it is known in the art to weld an endcap to a vent ([0054]).
Grass teaches a battery assembly (21, Fig. 2, [0024]) comprising an endcap (32, Fig. 2, [0024]) and a structural plate (29, Fig. 3, [0024]), wherein the endcap (32) is welded to the structural plate (29) ([0024]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery assembly of Yang in view of Jiang, Zapczynski, and Proll by welding the endcap to the plurality of structural plates because Grass teaches that welding provides a reliable and inexpensive connection ([0013]).
Regarding claim 17, Yang in view of Jiang, Zapczynski, Proll, and Grass teaches (see Jiang) wherein the baffle (227) is configured in a linear configuration (runs in a straight line along elongated body 220, FIG. 5).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2024/0204343 A1) in view of Jiang (CN-116231222-A), Zapczynski (US 2024/0313341 A1), Proll (US 2023/0246289 A1), and Grass (US 2022/0131228 A1), as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Zhou (US 2025/0070352 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Yang in view of Jiang, Zapczynski, Proll, and Grass does not teach wherein the baffle is formed from steel stamping.
Zhou teaches a battery assembly (100, FIG. 1, [0046]) comprising reinforcing members (6, FIG. 11, [0052]) which direct vent gas and are formed from a steel stamping (stamped plate materials, [0062]; steel [0021]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have used a steel stamping to form the baffle of Yang in view of Jiang, Zapczynski, Proll, and Grass because Zhou teaches that stamping has a simple process requiring low costs ([0062]) and steel has good corrosion resistance and high strength ([0074]).
Conclusion
/C.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723