DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . If status of the application as subject to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 & 18-22 are pending in the application. Claim 3 is withdrawn. Claims 1-2, 4-15, & 18-22 are presently examined.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15 & 18-20), in the reply filed on 7/10/2026, is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A (claim 2), in the reply filed on 7/10/2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that MPEP 808.02 was not fulfilled. MPEP 808.02 states that the restriction must be based on separate classification, separate status in the art, or a different field of search.
Applicant's traversal is not persuasive because Species A requires both opposing surfaces 72 of the arms 70 to be in electrical contact, but Species B requires only a single surface 72 of each arm 70 to be in electrical contact. These are mutually exclusive because the application fails to teach how both features can be achieved simultaneously. Thus, these species A & B would require a different field of search with respect to each other because they are mutually exclusive; therefore, there would be serious search and/or examination burden because a prior art search would require a different strategy and direction for each embodiment. Applicant failed to show that Species A and Species B are not mutually exclusive, or that they are obvious variants of each other. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3 and 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species or groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Currently, claim 1 is generic / linking for all species.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 2 & 10 state “electrical contact”. The specification fails to provide a special definition for this phrase. Examiner couldn’t find a single definition in the dictionary that would apply. Examiner will interpret “electrical contact” by comparison with other types of “contact”.
The word “contact” can mean “electrical contact”, “thermal contact”, or “physical contact”. The words electrical, thermal, and physical must modify the definition of “contact”. The phrase “physical contact” is easiest to define – it means the objects are touching. “Thermal contact” is occasionally used in patent claims to indicate that heat can transfer between the objects, and is not impeded by a thermal insulator. Reasoning from the definition of “thermal contact”, for present examination, “electrical contact” means that electricity can transfer between the objects, and is not impeded by an electrical insulator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 15, & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor(s) regard as the invention.
Claim 9 & 22 recite the following: “current collector bracket assembly is shaped to direct the arm from the proximate end positioned to either”. The meaning of this phrase, particularly “positioned to either”, is unclear. These claims seem to require that the angle causes the arm to change direction towards the cell tab. These claims are presently examined according to this interpretation.
Claim 15 recites “up to about one hundred and twenty electrode cell tabs”. The extent of “about” is indefinite. The specification fails to provide guidance for how close to 120 is within about 120. For present examination, this claim limitation is interpreted to mean “≤ 120 electrode cell tabs”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, 15, 18, & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20100266894A1 (Byun).
Byun teaches the following claim 1 limitations:
A battery cell stack assembly (paragraph 35; figure 2: rechargeable battery 100) for a prismatic battery (Paragraph 35: “square-shaped”. Figure 1: rectangular.), the battery cell stack assembly (100) comprising:
a plurality of monocells (paragraph 35; figure 2), wherein each monocell comprises:
an anode electrode sheet (paragraph 36; figure 2: negative electrode 12) having an outer perimeter (Figure A below) and an anode cell tab (paragraph 36; figure 2: uncoated region 12a) projecting outward from and extends past the outer perimeter of the anode electrode sheet (Figure A) and
a cathode electrode sheet (paragraph 36; figure 2: positive electrode 11) having an outer perimeter (Figure A) and a cathode cell tab (paragraph 36; figure 2: uncoated region 11a) projecting outward from and extends past the outer perimeter of the cathode electrode sheet (Figure A),
wherein each of the anode cell tabs (12a) of the battery cell stack assembly (100) are aligned with one another and each of the cathode cell tabs (11a) are aligned with one other (Figure A); and
at least one current collector bracket assembly (Figure A: CCBA-c & CCBA-a),
wherein the at least one current collector bracket assembly electrically connects either each of the anode cell tabs (Figure A: CCBA-a connects 12a) with one another or each of the cathode cell tabs (Figure A: CCBA-c connects 11a) with one another, and
wherein the at least one current collect bracket assembly (Figure A: CCBA-c & CCBA-a) includes at least one arm (paragraph 41; figure 2; Figure A: lead members 50, 50', current collecting plates 40, 40') that is positioned to electrically connect either two or more of the anode cell tabs (12a) or two or more of the cathode cell tabs (11a) to one another (Figure A)
Figure A: Annotated Byun Figure 2
With regard to claim 2, Byun teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Byun also teaches the following limitation of claim 2:
the at least one arm (Figure B below) of the at least one current collector bracket assembly (Figure B: CCBA-c) defines opposing surfaces (Figure B below)
Figure B: Annotated, Partial Byun Figure 2
Claim 2 also states:
wherein both opposing surfaces of each arm are in electrical contact with either one or more of… the cathode cell tabs (11a)
Byun doesn’t explicitly state that opposing surfaces of the current collecting plate 40 [claimed arm] is electrically-conductive; however, Byun does teach that the current collecting plate 40 is electrically connected to the positive electrode terminal 21 (paragraph 41). This electrical connection is only possible if the current collecting plate 40 is electrically-conductive.
As discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above, “electrical contact” means that electricity can transfer between the objects, and is not impeded by an electrical insulator. Here, electricity transfers between both opposing surfaces of the current collecting plate 40 because the current collecting plate 40 is interpreted to be electrically-conductive; therefore, both opposing surfaces are in electrical contact with both cathode cell tabs (11a).
With regard to claim 4, Byun teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Byun also teaches the following limitation of claim 4:
the at least one current collector bracket assembly includes a plurality of arms (paragraph 41; figure 2; Figure A: Lead members 50 & current collecting plate 40 for the positive electrode. Lead member 50' & current collecting plate 40' for the negative electrode)
With regard to claim 5, Byun teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 4 as discussed above. Byun also teaches the following limitations of claim 5:
each arm of the plurality of arms of the at least one current collector bracket assembly defines a proximate end, a distal end, an angled portion, and a linear portion (Figure A above )
With regard to claim 10, Byun teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 4-5 as discussed above. Byun also teaches the following limitation of claim 10:
the linear portion of each arm of the at least one current collector bracket assembly is in electrical contact with either the anode cell tabs or the cathode cell tabs
As illustrated in Figure A above, the linear portion directly contacts the cell tabs. Byun teaches that the current collecting plate 40 is electrically connected to the positive electrode terminal 21 (paragraph 41). Byun’s cell tabs must electrically contact the linear portion for the battery to function.
With regard to claim 15, Byun teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Byun also teaches the following limitation of claim 1:
up to about one hundred and twenty electrode cell tabs are joined to the at least one arm
Byun illustrates two uncoated regions 11a or 12a joined / connected to each arm, which is within the claimed range of ≤ 120.
Byun teaches the following claim 18 limitations:
A battery cell stack assembly (paragraph 35; figure 2: rechargeable battery 100) for a prismatic battery (Paragraph 35: “square-shaped”. Figure 1: rectangular.), the battery cell stack assembly (100) comprising:
a plurality of monocells (paragraph 35; figure 2), wherein each monocell comprises:
an anode electrode sheet (paragraph 36; figure 2: negative electrode 12) having an outer perimeter (Figure A below) and an anode cell tab (paragraph 36; figure 2: uncoated region 12a) projecting outward from and extends past the outer perimeter of the anode electrode sheet (Figure A) and
a cathode electrode sheet (paragraph 36; figure 2: positive electrode 11) having an outer perimeter (Figure A) and a cathode cell tab (paragraph 36; figure 2: uncoated region 11a) projecting outward from and extends past the outer perimeter of the cathode electrode sheet (Figure A),
wherein each of the anode cell tabs (12a) of the battery cell stack assembly (100) are aligned with one another and each of the cathode cell tabs (11a) are aligned with one other (Figure A); and
two current collector bracket assemblies (Figure A: CCBA-c & CCBA-a), wherein one of the current collector bracket assemblies (Figure A: CCBA-a) electrically connect each of the anode cell tabs (12a) with one another and a remaining current collector bracket assembly (Figure A: CCBA-c) electrically connects each of the cathode cell tabs (11a) with one another, and
wherein each current collect bracket assembly (Figure A: CCBA-c & CCBA-a) includes a plurality of arms (paragraph 41; figure 2; Figure A: lead members 50, 50', current collecting plates 40, 40') that are each positioned to electrically connect either two or more of the anode cell tabs (12a) or two or more of the cathode cell tabs (11a) to one another, and
wherein each arm of the plurality of arms of each current collector bracket assembly defines a proximate end, a distal end, an angled portion, and a linear portion (Figure A)
Figure A: Annotated Byun Figure 2
With regard to claims 9 & 22, Byun teaches the limitations of claims 1, 4, 5, & 18, as discussed above. Byun also teaches the following limitations of claims 9 & 22:
Claim 9
the angled portion of each arm of the at least one current collector bracket assembly is shaped to direct the arm from the proximate end positioned to either the anode cell tabs or the cathode cell tabs
Claim 22
the angled portion of each arm of the plurality of arms of each current collector bracket assembly is shaped to direct the arm from the proximate end positioned to either the anode cell tabs or the cathode cell tabs
As illustrated in Figure A above, the angled portion results in the arm bending towards the cell tab (see claim interpretation in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) section above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claims 6-8 & 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20100266894A1 (Byun), as applied to claims 1 & 18, and further in view of US20240347880A1 (Bae). Claims 6-8 & 19-21 state:
Claim 6
the proximate end of each arm of the at least one current collector bracket assembly defines an opening, and wherein the proximate end of each of the plurality of arms of the at least one current collector bracket assembly are stacked one on top of another to align the respective openings of each of the plurality of arms with one another
Claim 7
a mechanical fastener is received by each of the openings of the plurality of arms
Claim 8
the mechanical fastener is a blind rivet
Claim 19
the proximate end of each arm of the current collector bracket assembly defines an opening, and wherein the proximate end of each of the plurality of arms of the current collector bracket assembly are stacked one on top of another to align the respective openings of each of the plurality of arms with one another
Claim 20
a mechanical fastener is received by each of the openings of the plurality of arms
Claim 21
the mechanical fastener is a blind rivet
Byun fails to teach the opening. The claimed opening is for a fastener, such as a blind rivet. Byun also fastens the lead members 50 & 50' to the current collecting plates 40 & 40' [each equivalent to a claimed arm]; however, Byun teaches fastening by welding (paragraph 41). Byun thus teaches the need to fasten battery electrical conductors together. Byun’s components welded together will provide a reliable structure for conducting electricity from the battery tab to the external terminal.
Bae teaches fastening a first terminal 130 to a second current collector plate 122 with a blind rivet 175 that passes a hole 133 in each (paragraphs 61-62). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, for Byun’s lead members 50 & 50' and current collecting plates 40 & 40' to each include a hole, and for a blind rivet to pass through the hole for fastening these components together, in order to provide a reliable structure for conducting electricity through these components.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20100266894A1 (Byun), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US20230261348A1 (Shimizu).
With regard to claims 11 & 13, Byun fails to teach the following limitations, which are taught by Shimizu:
Claim 11
the anode electrode sheet is constructed at least in part by copper (paragraph 25: negative electrode collector can be made of copper or aluminum)
Claim 13
the cathode electrode sheet is constructed at least in part by aluminum (paragraph 25: positive electrode collector can be made of copper or aluminum)
Shimizu is directed to a battery capable of suppressing overcharge (paragraph 5). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, for Byun’s negative electrode 12 to be made in part of copper and/or for Byun’s positive electrode 11 to be made in part of aluminum, as taught by Shimizu, as part of a battery capable of suppressing overcharge.
With regard to claims 12 & 14, Byun fails to teach the following limitations:
Claim 12
the at least one current collector bracket assembly that electrically connects the anode cell tabs with one another is constructed at least in part of copper or a copper alloy
Claim 14
the at least one current collector bracket assembly that electrically connects the anode cell tabs with one another is constructed at least in part of aluminum or an aluminum alloy
Byun fails to teach these materials for these structures, and Shimizu fails to teach these structures.
Byun modified by Shimizu uses copper or aluminum for the electrode to which Byun’s lead members and current collecting plates [claimed current collector bracket assemblies] are attached. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, (A) for Byun’s negative side current collector bracket assembly to be made of copper, to match a copper electrode (present claim 12; Shimizu paragraph 25), and (B) for Byun’s positive side current collector bracket assembly to be made of aluminum, to match an aluminum electrode (present claim 14; Shimizu paragraph 25). This matching of materials is important to avoid an oxidation – reduction reaction at the interface between different metals.
Conclusion
/R.G.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1721