Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Li's description of the temporal positioning of the pre-paging search space relative to the paging occasion does not teach or suggest "determine, based at least in part on the cell identifier, a search space and a control resource set for a downlink control channel monitoring occasion for a pre-paging message." Claim 1 recites that the UE receives "a synchronization signal block, wherein the synchronization signal block is indicative of a cell identifier of the non- terrestrial network entity," and then recites that the UE "determine[s], based at least in part on the cell identifier, a search space and a control resource set for a downlink control channel monitoring occasion for a pre-paging message." Thus, the "cell identifier" in the determine step establishes that the cell identifier identified from the synchronization signal block in the receive step is used, at least in part, as a basis for determining the search space and the control resource set. Li does not describe the cell identifier as an input to the determination of the search space or a control resource set for the pre-paging DCI. Li [0260]. Rather, in Li, the search space for the pre-paging DCI is determined relative to the paging occasion, which itself derives from paging parameters "signaled in SIB 1," including "Ns, nAndPagingFrameOffset, nrofPDCCH- MonitoringOccasionPerSSB-InPO," and UEID. Li [0197]-[0202]. The cell identifier extracted from the SSB has no described role in Li's determination of where to monitor for the pre-paging DCI. Li [0197]-[0202], [0260].
Moreover, Li at Paragraph 260 describes only that "the pre-paging DCI is transmitted in a search space that is a number of slots before, e.g., the first paging occasion of the paging frame," without describing the UE determining a control resource set for the pre-paging DCI. Li [0260]. The Office Action cross-references Li [0197]-[0198] for context regarding searchspace, but these passages describe the standard paging search space configuration (e.g., "pagingSearchSpace," "SearchSpaceld=0," and "CORESET" for paging PDCCH monitoring), not a control resource set determined for a pre-paging message "based at least in part on the cell identifier," as recited. Li [0197], [0198]; Office Action, p. 3. Thus, Li does not teach or suggest "determine, based at least in part on the cell identifier, a search space and a control resource set for a downlink control channel monitoring occasion for a pre-paging message from the non-terrestrial network entity," as recited in independent claim 1.
However, The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Fundamentally, a UE identifies a cell in a number of ways including camping on a suitable cell and reading broadcasted system information. Furthermore, during a cell search (e.g., 5G NR), the UE determines the physical cell identity by sequentially decoding 2 components packed inside the SSB (i.e., The PSS and SSS). As noted in the rejection, at least 0452 – “The communication may include exchanging data through, for example, a cellular system, a wireless LAN system, a satellite system, etc., and various combinations thereof.”…paging allows the network to reach the UEs in Idle and inactive state – 0178. Paragraph 0153 teaches “NR has introduced the so-called synchronization signal block, SS block (SSB), which comprises a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS), a Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS), and a Physical Broadcast CHannel (PBCH). The. PSS and SSS can be used by UES to find, synchronize to and identify a network.
Applicant is reminded although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims must be given the broadest reasonable interpretation. The Examiner respectfully suggest the Applicant specify the “cell identifier” if the cell identifier is the inventive feature. The Applicant’s argument that the UE does not know where to decode what is untenable and would essentially render the device a dumb terminal.
Therefore, for at least these reasons, independent claim 1 is not allowable. Independent claims 13, 24, and 30 are not allowable for at least similar reasons.
Dependent claims 2-12, 14-23, and 25-29 each depend from one of independent claims 1, 13, 24, and 30 and are therefore not allowable for at least the same reasons that independent
Applicant argues with respect to dependent claim 5, the cited references, either alone or in any combination, do not teach or suggest "receive, from the non-terrestrial network entity or another network entity prior to reception of the synchronization signal block, an indication of a pre-paging configuration associated with the cell identifier, wherein determining the search space and the control resource set is based at least in part on the pre-paging configuration." The Office Action relies on Kaikkonen for this feature, which describes configuring UEs with "a set of pre-defined UE-specific PEI occasions, and/or a set of pre-defined UE-specific offset values for determining the PEI occasion(s) to use for monitoring for the PEI." Kaikkonen [0073]; Office Action, pp. 6, 7. Kaikkonen's PEI configuration is associated with UE-specific parameters, such as "device type" and "configured paging cycle" (Kaikkonen [0070]-[0075]), not "associated with the cell identifier," as recited in dependent claim 5.
However, The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant is reminded although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims must be given the broadest reasonable interpretation. “Associated” implies a relationship, direct or indirect. The association is captured based on the argument above directed to the cell identifier teaching.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained as proper.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190021062 A1 – teaches “the UE 120 utilizes the PSS and/or SSS in the SSB to determine the cell ID of the cell in which the SSB is transmitted”.
US 20220321207 A1 teaches “when the UE 120 performs measurements, the UE 120 may determine a measurement object that includes a cell identifier (Cell-ID), an SSB identifier (SSB-ID). SSBs transmitted by a single satellite and may be time aligned with each other.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 13-21 and 23-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al US Patent Pub. No.: 2023/0397159 A1, hereinafter, Li in view of Kaikkonen et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2023/0117071 A1, hereinafter, ‘Kaikkonen’.
Consider Claims 1 and as applied to the method of claim 24, Li teaches a user equipment (UE) (e.g., see at least figure 9 and context of paragraph 0455), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code(e.g., see at least figure 9 and context of paragraph 0455); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (e.g., see at least figure 9 and context of paragraph 0455)to cause the UE to: receive, from a non-terrestrial network entity while in a radio resource control idle mode or a radio resource control inactive mode(e.g., the functions hereinafter will be interpreted based on at least 0452 – “The communication may include exchanging data through, for example, a cellular system, a wireless LAN system, a satellite system, etc., and various combinations thereof.”…paging allows the network to reach the UEs in Idle and inactive state - 0178), a synchronization signal block , wherein the synchronization signal block is indicative of a cell identifier of the non-terrestrial network entity (e.g., see at least 0153 –“NR has introduced the so-called synchronization signal block, SS block (SSB), which comprises a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS), a Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS), and a Physical Broadcast CHannel (PBCH). The. PSS and SSS can be used by UES to find, synchronize to and identify a network.”); determine, based at least in part on the cell identifier, a search space and a control resource set for a downlink control channel monitoring occasion for a pre-paging message from the non-terrestrial network entity(e.g., see at least 0261 – “the pre-paging DCI is transmitted in a search space that is a number of slots before, e.g., the first paging occasion of the paging frame” – see also context of search space in 0197-0198), wherein the pre-paging message includes a UE identifier(e.g., see at least 0257 –“ the UE determines whether the paging sub-group index, derived from the pre-paging DCI, fulfills the requirement; in other words, the UE determines whether it is in the paging sub-group. This requirement is UE-specific in that it involves, e.g., the use of a suitable identification of the UE”); and receive, from the non-terrestrial network entity via the downlink control channel monitoring occasion, the pre-paging message(i.e., see at least 0257 – transmitting the pre-paging DCI).
Based on the Examiner’s interpretation of the prior art and the clam language, Li implicitly discloses transmitting on a PEI occasion and the actual paging.
Assuming for the sake of argument Li does not suggest communicating the PEI on a PEI occasion, Kaikkonen teaches in figure 2 where the UE monitors for the PEI- see also 0057 and 0070.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to monitor for the PEI on a PEI occasion for the purpose of paging the UE more efficiently.
Claims 13 and 30 contains similar subject matter as that of claim 1 and therefore is rejected based on the same reasoning., a non-terrestrial network entity being met by the prior art statement that (e.g., the functions hereinafter will be interpreted based on at least 0452 – “The communication may include exchanging data through, for example, a cellular system, a wireless LAN system, a satellite system, etc., and various combinations thereof.”…)(The reception is met based on the transmission and vice versa. The NTN tx/rx from the UE accordingly.)
Consider Claims 2, 14 and 25, Li teaches the clamed invention except wherein, to receive the pre-paging message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, in the pre-paging message, an indication of a paging cause.
In analogous art, Kaikkonen teaches wherein, to receive the pre-paging message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, in the pre-paging message, an indication of a paging cause (e.g., see at least 0058- this is met based the context of “The PEI may also carry non-paging-related information, such as an ETWS notification, system information update indication, and/or a TRS availability indication.”)(i.e., cause is a EWTS notification, update etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein, to receive the pre-paging message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, in the pre-paging message, an indication of a paging cause for the purpose of providing non-paging related information.
Consider Claims 3, 15, and 26, Li teaches wherein to receive the pre-paging message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by a second part of a pre-paging identifier for the UE, wherein the UE identifier is a first part of the pre-paging identifier for the UE(e.g., this is met by Li’s suggestion in 0274 “The DCI format with CRC scrambled by P-RNTI as currently used in a 5G standard is presented in the following (see, e.g., 38.212 v16.3.0, section 7.3.1.2.1”).
Consider Claims 4, 16, and 27, Li teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, from the non-terrestrial network entity or another network entity prior to reception of the synchronization signal block, an indication of the pre-paging identifier for the UE(i.e., as best understood by the Examiner this is met by at least 0282 which states “the reference or synchronization signal could be transmitted a certain time window before and/or after the first SSB but before the first paging occasion of the paging frame.”)(The Examiner suggest the Applicant narrow the time period e.g., prior to A but after B. In this example A and B would include clear boundaries).
Consider Claims 5, 17 and 28, Li teaches wherein determining the search space and the control resource set is based at least in part on the pre-paging configuration (e.g., see at least 0261 – “the pre-paging DCI is transmitted in a search space that is a number of slots before, e.g., the first paging occasion of the paging frame” – see also context of search space in 0197-0198).
Li does not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, from the non-terrestrial network entity or another network entity prior to reception/transmission of the synchronization signal block, an indication of a pre-paging configuration associated with the cell identifier, wherein determining the search space and the control resource set is based at least in part on the pre-paging configuration.
In analogous art, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, from the non-terrestrial network entity or another network entity prior to reception of the synchronization signal block, an indication of a pre-paging configuration associated with the cell identifier (e.g., see at least 0072 -0075 – “…the network may configure one or more UEs with a set of pre-defined UE-specific PEI occasions, and/or a set of pre-defined UE-specific offset values for determining the PEI occasion(s) to use for monitoring for the PEI…” ),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, from the non-terrestrial network entity or another network entity prior to reception of the synchronization signal block, an indication of a pre-paging configuration associated with the cell identifier for the purpose of paging the UE more efficiently.
Consider Claim 6, 18 and 29, Li teaches wherein to determine the control resource set, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: determine the control resource set based at least in part on a frequency resource via which the synchronization signal block is received/transmitted (i.e., assigning control channels which are essentially frequencies to lock on which is also based on synch signals to acquire a particular resource- this can be met based on the context of the teachings in at least 0153-0155).
Consider Claim 7 and 19, Li teaches the claimed invention except wherein, to receive the indication of the pre-paging configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive(NTN transmits) an indication of a plurality of pre-paging configurations associated with a plurality of respective cell identifiers, wherein the plurality of pre-paging configurations includes the pre-paging configuration, and wherein the plurality of respective cell identifiers includes the cell identifier.
In analogous art, Kaikkonen teaches wherein, to receive the indication of the pre-paging configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive an indication of a plurality of pre-paging configurations associated with a plurality of respective cell identifiers, wherein the plurality of pre-paging configurations includes the pre-paging configuration, and wherein the plurality of respective cell identifiers includes the cell identifier(i.e., given the broadest reasonable interpretation the indication can be sent sequentially over a particular duration or group ed) (e.g., this is met based on at least 0081- The network element transmits 202 a message indicative of a PEI configuration to the at least one UE. The PEI configuration may indicate, for example, for one or more threshold values for paging cycle, a set of at least two pre-defined offset values, and/or one or more criteria for the offset value selection. The message indicative of the PEI configuration may be transmitted to the at least one UE via system information broadcast signaling and/or dedicated signaling (i.e., UE-specific signaling) by the network element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein, to receive the indication of the pre-paging configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive an indication of a plurality of pre-paging configurations associated with a plurality of respective cell identifiers, wherein the plurality of pre-paging configurations includes the pre-paging configuration, and wherein the plurality of respective cell identifiers includes the cell identifier for the purpose of paging the UE more efficiently.
Consider Claims 8 and 20, Li teaches the claimed invention except wherein, to receive the indication of the pre-paging configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive system information from the non-terrestrial network entity or the other network entity that includes the indication of the pre-paging configuration.
In analogous art, Kaikkonen teaches wherein, to receive the indication of the pre-paging configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive system information from the non-terrestrial network entity or the other network entity that includes the indication of the pre-paging configuration (e.g., this is met based on at least 0081- The network element transmits 202 a message indicative of a PEI configuration to the at least one UE. The PEI configuration may indicate, for example, for one or more threshold values for paging cycle, a set of at least two pre-defined offset values, and/or one or more criteria for the offset value selection. The message indicative of the PEI configuration may be transmitted to the at least one UE via system information broadcast signaling and/or dedicated signaling (i.e., UE-specific signaling) by the network element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein, to receive the indication of the pre-paging configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive system information from the non-terrestrial network entity or the other network entity that includes the indication of the pre-paging configuration for the purpose of paging the UE more efficiently.
Consider Claims 9 and 21, Li teaches the claimed invention except wherein, to receive the indication of the pre-paging configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a unicast radio resource control message from the non-terrestrial network entity or the other network entity that includes the indication of the pre-paging configuration.
In analogous art, Kaikkonen teaches wherein to receive the indication of the pre-paging configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a unicast radio resource control message from the non-terrestrial network entity or the other network entity that includes the indication of the pre-paging configuration(i.e., the unicast when compared to multicast or broadcast would meet the equivalent of dedicated signaling) (e.g., this is met based on at least 0081- The network element transmits 202 a message indicative of a PEI configuration to the at least one UE. The PEI configuration may indicate, for example, for one or more threshold values for paging cycle, a set of at least two pre-defined offset values, and/or one or more criteria for the offset value selection. The message indicative of the PEI configuration may be transmitted to the at least one UE via system information broadcast signaling and/or dedicated signaling (i.e., UE-specific signaling) by the network element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein, to receive the indication of the pre-paging configuration, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive system information from the non-terrestrial network entity or the other network entity that includes the indication of the pre-paging configuration for the purpose of paging the UE more efficiently.
Consider Claims 11and 23, Li teaches UE determines the search space and the control resource set(e.g., see at least 0261 – “the pre-paging DCI is transmitted in a search space that is a number of slots before, e.g., the first paging occasion of the paging frame” – see also context of search space in 0197-0198).
However, Li does not specify the claimed invention except the synchronization signal block includes an indication that the non-terrestrial network entity supports pre-paging.
In analogous art, Kaikkonen teaches the synchronization signal block includes an indication that the non-terrestrial network entity supports pre-paging(e.g., see at least 0059- a PEI occasion may be defined as a set of PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the transmitted synchronization signal blocks (SSBs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try the synchronization signal block includes an indication that the non-terrestrial network entity supports pre-paging to arrive at the claimed invention for the purpose of paging the UE more efficiently.
Claim(s) 10 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al US Patent Pub. No.: 2023/0397159 A1, hereinafter, Li in view of Kaikkonen et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2023/0117071 A1, hereinafter, ‘Kaikkonen’ and further in view of Si US Patent Pub. No.: 2021/0235419.
Consider Claims 10 and 22, Li teaches the claimed invention wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, from the non-terrestrial network entity or another network entity prior to reception of the synchronization signal block, an indication of a control resource set configuration associated with a set of cell identifiers(e.g., this would read on system information outlines in 0106-an SIB1 includes the cell identity as defined by 3gpp ) , wherein the set of cell identifiers includes the cell identifier(e.g., this would read on system information outlines in 0106-an SIB1 includes the cell identity as defined by 3gpp ), wherein the control resource set for the downlink control channel monitoring occasion is identified based at least in part on a frequency resource via which the synchronization signal block is received and the control resource set configuration(e.g., see at least 0153 –“NR has introduced the so-called synchronization signal block, SS block (SSB), which comprises a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS), a Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS), and a Physical Broadcast CHannel (PBCH). The. PSS and SSS can be used by UES to find, synchronize to and identify a network.”);
However, Li does not teach receive, from the non-terrestrial network entity, a master information block that indicates the search space.
In analogous art Si teaches in at least 0305 – “In NR Rel-15 and Rel-16, MIB in the payload of PBCH includes a field containing the configuration of CORESET for monitoring Type0-PDCCH common search space (CSS), which is denoted as CORESET #0. In NR Rel-15 and Rel-16, the multiplexing pattern between SS/PBCH block (SSB) and CORESET #0, the BW of CORESET #0, the number of symbols for CORESET #0, and the RB offset from a smallest RB index of the CORESET for Type0-PDCCH CSS set to a smallest RB index of the common RB overlapping with a first RB of the SS/PBCH block, are jointly coded using 4 bits, i.e., the field of controlResourceSetZero in pdcch-ConfigSIB1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try to receive, from the non-terrestrial network entity, a master information block that indicates the search space in an effort to accommodate other frequency ranges.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al US Patent Pub. No.: 2023/0397159 A1, hereinafter, Li in view of Kaikkonen et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2023/0117071 A1, hereinafter, ‘Kaikkonen’ and further in view of Ahluwalia et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2025/0393101, hereinafter, ‘Ahluwalia’.
Consider Claim 12, Li teaches the claimed invention except wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, from a second non-terrestrial network entity, a second synchronization signal block including an indication that the second non-terrestrial network entity does not support pre-paging, wherein the second synchronization signal block is indicative of a second cell identifier of the second non-terrestrial network entity; and refrain, based at least in part on the indication that the second non-terrestrial network entity does not support pre-paging and based at least in part on the second cell identifier, from determining a second search space and a second control resource set for a second downlink control channel monitoring occasion for a second pre-paging message from the second non-terrestrial network entity.
In analogous art, Ahluwalia teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, from a second -terrestrial network entity, a signal block including an indication that the second terrestrial network entity does not support pre-paging , wherein the second signal block is indicative of a second cell identifier of the second non-terrestrial network entity; and refrain, based at least in part on the indication that the second terrestrial network entity does not support pre-paging and based at least in part on the second cell identifier, from determining a second search space and a second control resource set for a second downlink control channel monitoring occasion for a second pre-paging message from the second non-terrestrial network entity (i.e., this is met based on 0010 - Disabling, enabling or reenabling the use of at least one network operation, such as paging for example, allows the network apparatus, such as a gNB or eNB for example, to become aware that it should not use, e.g., Paging Early Indication, PEI and User Equipment Identifier, UE ID based subgrouping when it receives paging from a CN component during an active emergency PDU session. – see also figure 1 step 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try Disabling, enabling or reenabling the use of at least one network operation, such as paging for example, allows the network apparatus, such as a gNB or eNB for example, to become aware that it should not use, e.g., Paging Early Indication, PEI and User Equipment Identifier, UE ID based subgrouping when it receives paging from a CN component during an active emergency PDU session to yield the predicable result wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, from a second -terrestrial network entity, a signal block including an indication that the second terrestrial network entity does not support pre-paging , wherein the second signal block is indicative of a second cell identifier of the second non-terrestrial network entity; and refrain, based at least in part on the indication that the second terrestrial network entity does not support pre-paging and based at least in part on the second cell identifier, from determining a second search space and a second control resource set for a second downlink control channel monitoring occasion for a second pre-paging message from the second non-terrestrial network entity for the purpose of regulating the use of paging during emergencies.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646