DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,9-14,16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marupaduga to (US11722928 B1) in view of BHATNAGAR to (WO 2025074382 A1)
Regarding claims 1,11,16 Marupaduga teaches a method comprising: ( col.11 lines 10-15 circuitry, and memory ) for a registration request involving a first user equipment (UE),(fig.4, “401”) obtaining, by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF)(fig.4, “421”) , subscription information for the first UE identifying one or more primary network slices and one or more backup network slices to which the first UE is subscribed, (col.5, lines 45-55, discloses UE 401 wirelessly attaches to RU 411. UE 401 transfers attachment signaling that indicates Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) for a primary slice and a backup slice to CU 413 over RU 411 and DU 412. ..CU 413 transfers a registration request for UE 401 to AMF 421. The registration request indicates NSSAI for the requested slices. AMF 421 interacts with other network functions to authenticate UE 401 for wireless data services…) wherein each primary network slice of the one or more primary network slices is associated with a corresponding backup network slice of the one or more backup network slices and each of the one or more primary network slices (col.6 lines 10-20 discloses AMF 421 directs SMF 422 to serve UE 401 over the primary slice and the backup slice. SMF 422 selects UPF 423 and UPF 424 to serve UE 401 based on the requested slice types. SMF 422 directs the UPF 423 to establish a PDU session with UE 401 and UPF 424 to establish a backup data link with UE 401) and the one or more backup network slices are active network slices capable of actively handling sessions for a plurality of user equipment; (col.2, lines 36-50, FIG. 1 illustrates wireless communication network 100 to serve wireless User Equipment (UE) over working network slice 124 and protect network slice 125. Wireless communication network 100 delivers services to wireless user devices like internet-access, voice calling, media-streaming, machine communications, or some other wireless communications product. Thus, the slices are capable of actively handling sessions for a plurality of user equipment) obtaining, by the AMF, registration information for the first UE identifying, based at least in part on the subscription information, a first primary network slice of the one or more primary network slices and a first backup network slice of the one or more backup network slices with which the first UE is allowed registration(col.5, lines 55-65 discloses AMF 421 queries UDM 426 for subscriber information for UE 401. UDM 426 returns subscriber information for UE 401 to AMF 421. The subscriber information comprises authorized service attributes for UE 401 like Data Network Names (DNNs), Quality-of-Service (QoS) values, Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session types, S-NSSAIs, and the like. AMF 421 identifies that UE 401 is authorized for the primary slice and the backup slice based on the authorized service attributes)
Marupaduga does not explicitly teaches determining, by the AMF, whether there is registration capacity for registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice; and based on the determining that there is registration capacity for registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice, transmitting a registration response to the first UE that indicates that registration with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice is accepted
However, BHATNAGAR teaches determining, by the AMF, whether there is registration capacity for registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice; ([0093], the AMF (222) may communicate with the NSACF provisioning unit (214) using the NSACF server (208). In some implementations, the AMF (222) may directly communicate with the NSACF provisioning unit..[0095] the NSACF server (208) efficiently manages and allocate resources within a network composed of multiple slices. .. It receives requests, such as the POST request from the AMF (222), containing flags that either request the registration of new UEs to a network slice or the deregistration of UEs already admitted. The NSACF server (208) processes the request and makes decisions based on the current network load, slice capacity) and based on the determining that there is registration capacity for registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice, transmitting a registration response to the first UE that indicates that registration with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice is accepted ([0095] discloses... The NSACF server (208) processes the request and makes decisions based on the current network load, slice capacity, and admission policies. If the flag indicates an increase in the number of UEs, the NSACF server (208) checks whether the UEs are already registered by referring to a registration list stored in a database. If a UE is found to be already registered, the request for additional registration is rejected, ensuring no duplication. If not, the UE is registered, thereby updating the database with the new registration information…[0125] discloses .. initiate the registration check and update procedure, the method includes processing, by a processing engine, the request received from the AMF to perform an admission control for the one or more UEs. Performing the admission control includes one of admitting or rejecting the one or more UEs registered on a defined network slice of the plurality of network slices)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Marupaduga include determining, by the AMF, whether there is registration capacity for registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice; and based on the determining that there is registration capacity for registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice, transmitting a registration response to the first UE that indicates that registration with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice is accepted, as suggested by BHATNAGAR. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently implement an admission control.
Regarding claims 2, Marupaduga teaches wherein the subscription information identifying the one or more primary network slices and the one or more backup network slices to which the first UE is subscribed is obtained from a Unified Data Management (UDM) entity(col.5, lines 55-65 discloses AMF 421 queries UDM 426 for subscriber information for UE 401. UDM 426 returns subscriber information for UE 401 to AMF 421).
Regarding claims 3, Marupaduga teaches wherein the registration information identifying the first primary network slice of the one or more primary network slices and the first backup network slice of the one or more backup network slices with which the first UE is allowed registration is obtained from a Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF)( col.5, lines 45-55, the authentication and authorization, AMF 421 requests data rates for the primary slice and the backup slice and a performance threshold the primary slice from NSSF 425. NSSF 425 selects data rates for the slices and generates a performance threshold for the primary slice. The data rate for the primary slice is typically higher than the data rate for the backup slice).
Regarding claims 4,12,17 Marupaduga does not explicitly teach wherein determining, by the AMF, whether there is registration capacity for registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice comprises: performing a query towards a Network Slice Admission Control Function (NSACF) regarding registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice, wherein the NSACF is to provide an indication to the AMF regarding whether there is registration capacity for registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice
However, BHATNAGAR teaches wherein determining, by the AMF, whether there is registration capacity for registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice comprises: performing a query towards a Network Slice Admission Control Function (NSACF) regarding registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice,( [0095] the NSACF server (208) efficiently manages and allocate resources within a network composed of multiple slices. .. It receives requests, such as the POST request from the AMF (222), containing flags that either request the registration of new UEs to a network slice or the deregistration of UEs already admitted. The NSACF server (208) processes the request and makes decisions based on the current network load, slice capacity) wherein the NSACF is to provide an indication to the AMF regarding whether there is registration capacity for registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice([0095] the NSACF server (208) efficiently manages and allocate resources within a network composed of multiple slices. .. It receives requests, such as the POST request from the AMF (222), containing flags that either request the registration of new UEs to a network slice or the deregistration of UEs already admitted. The NSACF server (208) processes the request and makes decisions based on the current network load, slice capacity)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Marupaduga include wherein determining, by the AMF, whether there is registration capacity for registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice comprises: performing a query towards a Network Slice Admission Control Function (NSACF) regarding registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice, wherein the NSACF is to provide an indication to the AMF regarding whether there is registration capacity for registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice, as suggested by BHATNAGAR. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently implement an admission control.
Regarding claims 5,13,18 Marupaduga and BHATNAGAR teaches The method of claim 4, wherein the query subscribes the AMF to receive a notification from the NSACF if a capacity threshold is met for the first primary network slice or the first backup network slice after it is determined, at a time of the query, that there is registration capacity for registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice(BHATNAGAR [00104] discloses the NSACF provisioning unit (214) may maintain a record file in the database (220). The record file may include reference count data of UE registrations for distribution of all network slices associated with their respective PLMNs, managed by the AMF (222). In an implementation, based on whether the registration of a UE is accepted or rejected, the NSACF provisioning unit (214) may update (or adjust) the reference count for that specific UE within the designated network slice and corresponding PLMN).
Regarding claims 6,14,19 Marupaduga and BHATNAGAR teaches The method of claim 5, further comprising: after obtaining a first indication from the NSACF indicating that there is registration capacity for the registration of the first UE with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice, obtaining a notification from the NSACF indicating that the capacity threshold for the first primary network slice is met(BHATNAGAR [00108] The NSACF provisioning unit (214) may provide real-time statistical data to one or more network operators or other consumers (for example, on-demand). One or more network operators may obtain a comprehensive overview of reference count data of UE registrations for the distribution of all network slices associated with their respective PLMNs, all managed by the AMF (222)).
Regarding claims 9, Marupaduga teaches wherein the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice are configured to provide network services that are the same(col.6 lines 10-20 discloses AMF 421 directs SMF 422 to serve UE 401 over the primary slice and the backup slice. SMF 422 selects UPF 423 and UPF 424 to serve UE 401 based on the requested slice types. SMF 422 directs the UPF 423 to establish a PDU session with UE 401 and UPF 424 to establish a backup data link with UE 401).
Regarding claims 10, Marupaduga teaches wherein the first primary network slice is operated by a first mobile network operator and the first backup network slice is operated by a second mobile network operator that is different than the first mobile network operator(col.2, lines 36-50, FIG. 1 illustrates wireless communication network 100 to serve wireless User Equipment (UE) over working network slice 124 and protect network slice 125. Wireless communication network 100 delivers services to wireless user devices like internet-access, voice calling, media-streaming, machine communications, or some other wireless communications product).
Claim(s) 7-8,15,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marupaduga to (US11722928 B1) in view of BHATNAGAR to (WO 2025074382 A1) further in view of Foti to (WO 2023237985 A1)
Regarding claims 7,15,20 the combination of Marupaduga and BHATNAGAR does not explicitly teach for a registration request involving a second UE, based on determining, by the AMF, that the second UE is allowed registration with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice, determining, based on the notification, that there is not registration capacity for registration of the second UE with the first primary network slice; and performing a query towards the NSACF regarding registration of the second UE with the first backup network slice, wherein the NSACF is to provide an indication to the AMF regarding whether there is registration capacity for registration of the second UE with first backup network slice
However, Foti teaches a registration request involving a second UE, based on determining, by the AMF, that the second UE is allowed registration with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice, ([0087] UEs moving from old SAs - type 2 UEs must be admitted in a new SA where they register. To enable that, and if the local NSACF in the new SA is out of quota because the maximum number of Registered UEs for the requested slice(s) has been reached, the local NSACF forwards the request to the central NSACF, including an indication that this request is for a UE moving in a new SA from an old SA) determining, based on the notification, that there is not registration capacity for registration of the second UE with the first primary network slice; ([0087] UEs moving from old SAs - type 2 UEs must be admitted in a new SA where they register. To enable that, and if the local NSACF in the new SA is out of quota because the maximum number of Registered UEs for the requested slice(s) has been reached, the local NSACF forwards the request to the central NSACF, including an indication that this request is for a UE moving in a new SA from an old SA) and performing a query towards the NSACF regarding registration of the second UE with the first backup network slice, wherein the NSACF is to provide an indication to the AMF regarding whether there is registration capacity for registration of the second UE with first backup network slice([0087] The central NSACF handles the UE, creates the needed entry as a local NSACF currently does, increases the count for the slice(s). The central NSACF then returns the response to the local NSACF and includes instructions in the response for the local NSACF for handling future incoming new registration requests for new UEs not arriving from other SAs. The central NSACF instructs the local NSACFs to reject future registration requests for a S-NSSAI for all new UEs until the number of registered UEs fall below a certain threshold, e.g., when its admission is down to 80% the local NSACF can start accepting registration again. This threshold depends on the central NSACF busy status. In one embodiment, the instructions may also include a request to adjust the quota (i.e., the maximum number of registered UEs allowed at the local NSACF) for the network slice(s) at the local NSACF. This adjustment may be an increase or decrease to the quota)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of the combination of Marupaduga and BHATNAGAR include for a registration request involving a second UE, based on determining, by the AMF, that the second UE is allowed registration with the first primary network slice and the first backup network slice, determining, based on the notification, that there is not registration capacity for registration of the second UE with the first primary network slice; and performing a query towards the NSACF regarding registration of the second UE with the first backup network slice, wherein the NSACF is to provide an indication to the AMF regarding whether there is registration capacity for registration of the second UE with first backup network slice, as suggested by Foti. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently implement an admission control.
Regarding claims 8, the combination of Marupaduga and BHATNAGAR and Foti teaches based on the determining that there is registration capacity for registration of the second UE with the first backup network slice, transmitting a registration response message to the second UE that indicates that registration with the first backup network slice is accepted and the first primary network slice is not identified in the registration response(Foti [0087] UEs moving from old SAs - type 2 UEs must be admitted in a new SA where they register. To enable that, and if the local NSACF in the new SA is out of quota because the maximum number of Registered UEs for the requested slice(s) has been reached, the local NSACF forwards the request to the central NSACF, including an indication that this request is for a UE moving in a new SA from an old SA).
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461