DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 07/31/2026. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to Claim(s) 1-3, and 7, filed 06/26/2026, are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Aiko (JP2019132886A), of record, in further view of Takahashi (US 2020/0029011 A1) and Matsushima (US 2007/0242947 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Aiko teaches an optical apparatus (4, Figure 11a) comprising: an aperture unit (14 and 14b, Figure 11a) having a variable aperture value (F value, ¶[0045]); an operation member (100, Figure 3) operable by a user (¶[0030]) and configured to set the aperture value (F value, ¶[0045]); and a processor (CPU 55 adjusts the amount of light entering the image sensor, Figure 3; see also ¶[0045]) configured to: output a specified aperture value (S205, ¶[0045]) according to an operation (¶[0045]) of the operation member (100, Figure 3), generate a target aperture value (101f, Figure 11b) from the specified aperture value (¶[0045]), and control driving (driving, ¶[0052]) of the aperture unit (14 and 14b, Figure 11a) based on the target aperture value (101f, Figure 11b), wherein the processor (CPU 55, Figure 3) is configured one of the first processing (changes from the sixth trace curve 101f to the seventh trace curve 101g, Figure 11g; see also ¶[0045]) for generating the target aperture value (101f, Figure 11b) with a first resolution (info on subject distance, ¶[0045]) from the specified aperture value (¶[0045]), and second processing (updated trace curve 101 and the second limit position 104 selected in S203; see also ¶[0045]) for generating the target aperture value (101f, Figure 11b) with a second resolution (perform control, ¶[0046]) which is finer than the first resolution (info on subject distance, ¶[0045]), from the specified aperture value (¶[0045]).
Aiko fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to change processing between a first and second target aperture value and the first and second resolution.
Aiko teaches a zoom lens system with and information processing apparatus and Takahashi teaches an image processing apparatus to be used with a lens system.
Takahashi teaches wherein the processor (320, Figure 1) is configured to change processing between a first and second target aperture value (aperture values, ¶[0023]) and the first and second resolution (autofocus (AF) adjustment processing, ¶[0023]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Aiko having the optical apparatus with the teachings of Takahashi having the processor is configured to change processing between a first and second target aperture value and the first and second resolution for the purpose of expose the subject region with a proper exposure, and perform AF processing so as to bring the subject region into focus, based on the detection result of the subject region, ¶[0023].
Aiko in view of Takahashi fail to teach wherein the processor is configured to change processing used to generate the target aperture value from the specified aperture value; the first rounding resolution and the second rounding resolution each indicating a change amount in the target aperture value against a change amount in a unit of steps of a current aperture index value.
Aiko in view of Takahashi teach the optical apparatus and Matsushima teaches an image capturing apparatus.
Matsushima teaches wherein the processor (16, Figure 1) is configured to change processing used to generate the target aperture value (desired optical aperture value, ¶[0029]) from the specified aperture value (initial optical aperture, ¶[0029]); the first rounding resolution (first S4 processing - defocus of the subject is detected based on a signal from the AF sensor 24, ¶[0038]) and the second rounding resolution (autofocus control is performed in the second AF processing (S4), Figure 2; see also ¶[0038]) each indicating a change amount in the target aperture value (changes an optical aperture value, ¶[0029]) against a change amount (going from initial value to another aperture value is considered a change amount, ¶[0038]; also, controlling the aperture of the lens is considered change amount, ¶[0040]) in a unit of steps (S2-S5, Figure 2) of a current aperture index value (focal length data, ¶[0029]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Aiko in view of Takahashi having the optical apparatus with the teachings of Matsushima having the processor configured to change processing used to generate the target aperture value from the specified aperture value; the first rounding resolution and the second rounding resolution each indicating a change amount in the target aperture value against a change amount in a unit of steps of a current aperture index value for the purpose of obtaining a zoom position and focused image, ¶[0038].
With respect to Claim 2, Aiko in view of Takahashi teach teaches wherein the processor (CPU 55, Figure 3, of Aiko) is configured to drive (CPU 55 controls the aperture motor 14 to vary the aperture blade 14b, ¶[0012], of Aiko) the aperture unit (14 and 14b, Figure 11a, of Aiko) with a driving amount (range, ¶[0052], of Aiko) obtained using the target aperture value (101f, Figure 11b, of Aiko) of the first resolution (info on subject distance, ¶[0045], of Aiko) generated in a first processing (changes from the sixth trace curve 101f to the seventh trace curve 101g, Figure 11g; see also ¶[0045], of Aiko) and a correction value (second limit position 104, Figure 11c, of Aiko) provided in a unit (7a, Figure 10a and 10b, of Aiko) corresponding to the second resolution (perform control, ¶[0046], of Aiko).
Aiko in view of Takahashi fail to teach the first rounding resolution generated in a first processing and a correction value provided in a unit of steps corresponding to the second rounding resolution.
Matsushima teaches the first rounding resolution (first S4 processing - defocus of the subject is detected based on a signal from the AF sensor 24, ¶[0038]) generated in a first processing (first S4 processing, ¶[0038]) and a correction value provided (actual autofocus control implies a correction value, ¶[0038]) in a unit of steps (S2-S5, Figure 2) corresponding to the second rounding resolution (autofocus control is performed in the second AF processing (S4), Figure 2; see also ¶[0038]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Aiko in view of Takahashi having the optical apparatus with the teachings of Matsushima having the first rounding resolution generated in a first processing and a correction value provided in a unit of steps corresponding to the second rounding resolution for the purpose of obtaining a zoom position and focused image, ¶[0038].
With respect to Claim 3, Aiko in view of Takahashi teach wherein the optical apparatus (4, Figure 11a, of Aiko) is attachable to and detachable from an image pickup apparatus (100, Figure 3, of Aiko), and wherein the processor (CPU 55, Figure 3, of Aiko) is configured to perform one of the first processing (changes from the sixth trace curve 101f to the seventh trace curve 101g, Figure 11g; see also ¶[0045], of Aiko) and second processing (updated trace curve 101 and the second limit position 104 selected in S203; see also ¶[0045], of Aiko) which corresponds to one of the first resolution (info on subject distance, ¶[0045], of Aiko) and the second resolution (perform control, ¶[0046], of Aiko) specified by the image pickup apparatus (100, Figure 3, of Aiko).
Aiko in view of Takahashi fail to teach the first rounding resolution and the second rounding resolution.
Matsushima teaches the first rounding resolution (first S4 processing - defocus of the subject is detected based on a signal from the AF sensor 24, ¶[0038]) and the second rounding resolution (autofocus control is performed in the second AF processing (S4), Figure 2; see also ¶[0038]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Aiko in view of Takahashi having the optical apparatus with the teachings of Matsushima having the first rounding resolution and the second rounding resolution for the purpose of obtaining a zoom position and focused image, ¶[0038].
With respect to Claim 4, Aiko further teaches wherein the optical apparatus (4, Figure 11a) is attachable to and detachable from an image pickup apparatus (100, Figure 3), and wherein the processor (CPU 55, Figure 3) is configured to perform one of the first processing (changes from the sixth trace curve 101f to the seventh trace curve 101g, Figure 11g; see also ¶[0045]) and the second processing (updated trace curve 101 and the second limit position 104 selected in S203; see also ¶[0045]) which corresponds to an aperture control method specified by the image pickup apparatus (100, Figure 3).
With respect to Claim 7, Aiko teaches a control method of an optical apparatus that includes an aperture unit (14 and 14b, Figure 11a) having a variable aperture value (F value, ¶[0045]), and an operation member (100, Figure 3) operable by a user (¶[0030]) and configured to set the aperture value (aperture value, ¶[0045]), the control method comprising the steps of: outputting a specified aperture value (¶[0045]) according to an operation (¶[0045]) of the operation member (100, Figure 3); generating a target aperture value (101f, Figure 11b) from the specified aperture value (¶[0045]); and controlling driving (driving, ¶[0052]) of the aperture unit (14 and 14b, Figure 11a) based on the target aperture value (101f, Figure 11b), wherein the controlling step processes one of first processing (changes from the sixth trace curve 101f to the seventh trace curve 101g, Figure 11g; see also ¶[0045]) for generating the target aperture value (101f, Figure 11b) with a first resolution (info on subject distance, ¶[0045]) from the specified aperture value (¶[0045]), and second processing (updated trace curve 101 and the second limit position 104 selected in S203; see also ¶[0045]) for generating the target aperture value (101f, Figure 11b) with a second resolution (perform control, ¶[0046]), which is finer than the first resolution (info on subject distance, ¶[0045]), from the specified aperture value (¶[0045]).
Aiko fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to change processing between a first and second target aperture value and the first and second resolution.
Aiko teaches a zoom lens system with and information processing apparatus and Takahashi teaches an image processing apparatus to be used with a lens system.
Takahashi teaches wherein the processor (320, Figure 1) is configured to change processing between a first and second target aperture value (aperture values, ¶[0023]) and the first and second resolution (autofocus (AF) adjustment processing, ¶[0023]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Aiko having the optical apparatus with the teachings of Takahashi having the processor is configured to change processing between a first and second target aperture value and the first and second resolution for the purpose of expose the subject region with a proper exposure, and perform AF processing so as to bring the subject region into focus, based on the detection result of the subject region, ¶[0023].
Aiko in view of Takahashi fail to teach wherein the generating step changes processing used to generate the target aperture value from the specified aperture value between: (i) first processing for generating the target aperture value with a first rounding resolution from the specified aperture value, and (ii) second processing for generating the target aperture value with a second rounding resolution, which is finer than the first rounding resolution, from the specified aperture value, the first rounding resolution and the second rounding resolution each indicating a change amount in the target aperture value against a change amount in a unit of steps of a current aperture index value.
Matsushima teaches rein the generating step changes processing (16, Figure 1) used to generate the target aperture value (desired optical aperture value, ¶[0029]) from the specified aperture value (initial optical aperture, ¶[0029]) between: (i) first processing (first S4 processing - defocus of the subject is detected based on a signal from the AF sensor 24, ¶[0038]) for generating the target aperture value (desired optical aperture value, ¶[0029]) with a first rounding resolution from the specified aperture value, and (ii) second processing for generating the target aperture value (desired optical aperture value, ¶[0029]) with a second rounding resolution (autofocus control is performed in the second AF processing (S4), Figure 2; see also ¶[0038]), which is finer than the first rounding resolution (first S4 processing - defocus of the subject is detected based on a signal from the AF sensor 24, ¶[0038]), from the specified aperture value, the first rounding resolution (first S4 processing - defocus of the subject is detected based on a signal from the AF sensor 24, ¶[0038]) and the second rounding resolution (autofocus control is performed in the second AF processing (S4), Figure 2; see also ¶[0038]) each indicating a change (changes an optical aperture value, ¶[0029]) amount in the target aperture value (desired optical aperture value, ¶[0029]) against a change amount (changes an optical aperture value, ¶[0029]) in a unit of steps (S2-S5, Figure 2) of a current aperture index value (the optical aperture value at a specific time during the processing, ¶[0029]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Aiko in view of Takahashi having the optical apparatus with the teachings of Matsushima having the generating step changes processing used to generate the target aperture value from the specified aperture value between: (i) first processing for generating the target aperture value with a first rounding resolution from the specified aperture value, and (ii) second processing for generating the target aperture value with a second rounding resolution, which is finer than the first rounding resolution, from the specified aperture value, the first rounding resolution and the second rounding resolution each indicating a change amount in the target aperture value against a change amount in a unit of steps of a current aperture index value for the purpose of obtaining a zoom position and focused image, ¶[0038].
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiko (JP2019132886A), of record, in view of Takahashi (US 2020/0029011 A1), and Matsushima (US 2007/0242947 A1), as applied to claim 1, above, and in further view of Taguchi (US 2016/0366320 A1), of record.
With respect to Claim 5, Aiko in view of Takahashi and Matsushima teach the optical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor (CPU 55, Figure 3, of Aiko) is configured to perform one of the first processing (changes from the sixth trace curve 101f to the seventh trace curve 101g, Figure 11g; see also ¶[0045], of Aiko) and the second processing (updated trace curve 101 and the second limit position 104 selected in S203; see also ¶[0045], of Aiko) according to an imaging mode set in the image pickup apparatus (100, Figure 3, of Aiko).
Aiko in view of Takahashi and Matsushima fail to teach wherein the optical apparatus is attachable to and detachable from an image pickup apparatus.
Taguchi teaches a lens unit (title and abstract) wherein the optical apparatus (lens barrel 100, Figure 1) is attachable to and detachable (lens attachment switch allows for attachment and detachment from the camera body, ¶[0070]) from an image pickup apparatus (200, Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Aiko in view of Takahashi and Matsushima having the optical apparatus with the teachings of Taguchi having the optical apparatus is attachable to and detachable from an image pickup apparatus for the purpose of the ability to capture wide angle, macro, telephoto images with various lens barrels.
With respect to Claim 8, Aiko in view of Takahashi and Matsushima teach the method described according to claim 7.
Aiko in view of Takahashi and Matsushima fail to teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to execute the control method.
Taguchi teaches a lens unit (title and abstract) comprising a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (lens memory 131, Figure 1; see also ¶[0124]) storing a program that causes a computer to execute the control method (target aperture control pulse position and current aperture control pulse position, ¶[0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Aiko in view of Takahashi and Matsushima having the optical apparatus with the teachings of Taguchi having the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to execute the control method for the purpose of keeping previous aperture values stored.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiko (JP2019132886A), of record, in view of Takahashi (US 2020/0029011 A1) and Matsushima (US 2007/0242947 A1), as applied to claim 1, above, and in further view of Kuroiwa et al., (hereafter Kuroiwa) (US 2013/0163979 A1), of record.
With respect to Claim 6, Aiko in view of Takahashi and Matsushima teach the optical apparatus according to claim 1 and wherein the processor (CPU 55, Figure 3, of Aiko) is configured to perform one of the first processing (changes from the sixth trace curve 101f to the seventh trace curve 101g, Figure 11g; see also ¶[0045], of Aiko) and the second processing (updated trace curve 101 and the second limit position 104 selected in S203; see also ¶[0045], of Aiko).
Aiko in view of Takahashi and Matsushima fail to teach a click unit configured to generate a click sense for each predetermined operation amount of the operation member, wherein the click unit is configured to switch between presence or absence of the click sense, and wherein the processor is configured to perform one of the first processing and the second processing according to the presence or absence of the click sense.
Kuroiwa teaches a diaphragm device of a lens includes a click mechanism (abstract) wherein a click unit (click mechanism Uc, Figure 8; see also ¶[0008]) configured to generate a click sense (click by 4r, Figure 8) for each predetermined operation amount (¶[0052]) of the operation member (operator, ¶[0052]), wherein the click unit (click mechanism Uc, Figure 8) is configured to switch between presence (Mc, Figure 8) or absence (Mn, Figure 8) of the click sense (click by 4r, Figure 8), and wherein the processor (mode select mechanism Um, Figure 8) is configured to perform one of the first processing (first mode switch, ¶[0052]) and the second processing (second mode switch, ¶[0052]) according to the presence or absence of the click sense (click by 4r, Figure 8).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings Aiko in view of Takahashi and Matsushima having the optical apparatus with the teachings of Kuroiwa having the click unit for the purpose of enhancing ease of operation and promptness of mode switching, ¶[0052].
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872