DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-8, 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/20/2026.
Examiner notes that claim 8 has been determined to be withdrawn since para. 57 states the following: “In the exemplary embodiments of FIGS. 2, 3, and 4, the structural elements 20 are each configured as a peak. The surface 12, 14, 16, 18, 22, 34, 36, 38 therefore has a base face from which the structural elements 20 extend and generally project. By contrast, a design is shown e.g., in FIG. 5 in which the structural elements 20 are each configured as a valley, i.e., projecting into the drill head 4, so to speak.” And thus claim 8 which recites “the structural elements are each peaks” represents non-elected embodiments and is withdrawn. Additionally, claim 7 is has been determined to be withdrawn since it is not possible for these channels to cover the entire surface or else the channels would not even exist.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species D (Fig. 5), claims 1-4,9-16 in the reply is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:For consistency, “the surface” should read –the at least one surface--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the main cutting edge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the main cutting edge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the main cutting edge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "divide it". It is unclear what ‘it’ is referring to.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the main cutting edge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "divide it". It is unclear what ‘it’ is referring to.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the main cutting edge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "so that it". It is unclear what ‘it’ is referring to.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the main cutting edge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "so that it". It is unclear what ‘it’ is referring to.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the main cutting edge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "wherein it". It is unclear what ‘it’ is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-10, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Schmid (DE 102016111934 A1).
Re Claim 1, Schmid discloses a drill head 16, comprising at least one surface, with a number of structural elements 28, wherein [the structural elements are manufactured by an additive or primary forming manufacturing method] (Abstract; Fig. 1-9; pg. 4-5). Furthermore, the claimed phase "the structural elements are manufactured by an additive or primary forming manufacturing method" is being treated as a product-by-process limitation and since it has been held that a product-by-process limitation is not construed as being limited to the product formed by the specific process recited. Schmid' s product meets the claimed structural limitations.
Re Claim 2, as best understood, Schmid discloses the surface is a chip face directly adjoining the main cutting edge (Abstract; Fig. 1-9; pg. 4-5).
Re Claim 3, Schmid discloses the surface 16 is an open face, a grooved face of a chip flute, a point, or a lateral face (Abstract; Fig. 1-9; pg. 4-5).
Re Claim 9, Schmid discloses the structural elements are each valleys (Abstract; Fig. 1-9; pg. 4-5).
Re Claim 10, Schmid discloses the structural elements are each channels (Abstract; Fig. 1-9; pg. 4-5).
Re Claim 15, Schmid discloses the structural elements are arranged adjacent to one another along the main cutting edge (Abstract; Fig. 1-9; pg. 4-5).
Re Claim 16, as best understood, Schmid discloses it is manufactured integrally (Abstract; Fig. 1-9; pg. 4-5). Furthermore, the claimed phase "it is manufactured integrally" is being treated as a product-by-process limitation and since it has been held that a product-by-process limitation is not construed as being limited to the product formed by the specific process recited. Schmid’s product meets the claimed structural limitations.
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Gozeling (US 4,456,083).
Re Claim 1, Gozeling discloses a drill head 3, comprising at least one surface, with a number of structural elements (Fig. 1a-1b; channels 6; OR upper channel 4 and larger diameter channel below), [wherein the structural elements are manufactured by an additive or primary forming manufacturing method] (Fig. 1a-1b; col. 3, line 10- col. 4, line 5; also note forging process: col. 2, lines 64-68). Furthermore, the claimed phase "the structural elements are manufactured by an additive or primary forming manufacturing method" is being treated as a product-by-process limitation and since it has been held that a product-by-process limitation is not construed as being limited to the product formed by the specific process recited. Gozeling’s product meets the claimed structural limitations. Also note forging process: col. 2, lines 64-68 which is a primary forming manufacturing method.
Re Claim 2, as best understood, Gozeling discloses the surface is a chip face directly adjoining the main cutting edge (Fig. 1a-1b; col. 3, line 10- col. 4, line 5).
Re Claim 3, Gozeling discloses the surface is an open face, a grooved face of a chip flute, a point, or a lateral face (Fig. 1a-1b; col. 3, line 10- col. 4, line 5).
Re Claim 9, Gozeling discloses the structural elements are each valleys (Fig. 1a-1b; channels 6; OR upper channel 4 and larger diameter channel below).
Re Claim 10, Gozeling discloses the structural elements are each channels (Fig. 1a-1b; channels 6; OR upper channel 4 and larger diameter channel below).
Re Claim 11, as best understood, Gozeling discloses the structural elements are guided up to the main cutting edge and divide it into a plurality of sub-sections (Fig. 1a-1b; channels 6; OR upper channel 4 and larger diameter channel below).
Re Claim 12, as best understood, Gozeling discloses the structural elements are guided up to the main cutting edge and divide it into a plurality of sub-sections (Fig. 1a-1b; channels 6; OR upper channel 4 and larger diameter channel below).
Re Claim 13, as best understood, Gozeling discloses the structural elements terminate before the main cutting edge, so that it is uninterrupted.
Re Claim 14, as best understood, Gozeling discloses the structural elements terminate before the main cutting edge, so that it is uninterrupted (Fig. 1a-1b; channels 6; OR upper channel 4 and larger diameter channel below).
Re Claim 15, as best understood, Gozeling discloses the structural elements are arranged adjacent to one another along the main cutting edge (Fig. 1a-1b; channels 6; OR upper channel 4 and larger diameter channel below).
Re Claim 16, as best understood, Gozeling discloses [it is manufactured integrally] (Fig. 1a-1b; channels 6; OR upper channel 4 and larger diameter channel below; Also note forging process: col. 2, lines 64-68). Furthermore, the claimed phase "it is manufactured integrally" is being treated as a product-by-process limitation and since it has been held that a product-by-process limitation is not construed as being limited to the product formed by the specific process recited. Gozeling’s product meets the claimed structural limitations. Also note forging process: col. 2, lines 64-68.
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-10, 13-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Haglund (US 2,641,446).
Re Claim 1, Haglund discloses a drill head 23, comprising at least one surface, with a number of structural elements (Fig. 1, 3; channels 19, 22; col. 3, lines 51-60), [wherein the structural elements are manufactured by an additive or primary forming manufacturing method] (Fig. 1, 3; col. 3, lines 51-60). Furthermore, the claimed phase "the structural elements are manufactured by an additive or primary forming manufacturing method" is being treated as a product-by-process limitation and since it has been held that a product-by-process limitation is not construed as being limited to the product formed by the specific process recited. Gozeling’s product meets the claimed structural limitations. Also note forging process: col. 2, lines 64-68 which is a primary forming manufacturing method.
Re Claim 2, as best understood, Haglund discloses the surface is a chip face directly adjoining the main cutting edge (Fig. 1, 3).
Re Claim 3, Haglund discloses the surface is an open face, a grooved face of a chip flute, a point, or a lateral face (Fig. 1-3).
Re Claim 9, Haglund discloses the structural elements are each valleys (Fig. 1, 3; channels 19, 22; col. 3, lines 51-60).
Re Claim 10, Haglund discloses the structural elements are each channels (Fig. 1, 3; channels 19, 22; col. 3, lines 51-60).
Re Claim 13, as best understood, Haglund discloses the structural elements terminate before the main cutting edge, so that it is uninterrupted (Fig. 1, 3; channels 19, 22; col. 3, lines 51-60).
Re Claim 14, as best understood, Haglund discloses the structural elements terminate before the main cutting edge, so that it is uninterrupted (Fig. 1, 3; channels 19, 22; col. 3, lines 51-60).
Re Claim 16, as best understood, Haglund discloses [it is manufactured integrally] (Fig. 1, 3). Furthermore, the claimed phase "it is manufactured integrally" is being treated as a product-by-process limitation and since it has been held that a product-by-process limitation is not construed as being limited to the product formed by the specific process recited. Haglund’s product meets the claimed structural limitations.
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Barker (US 4,137,002).
Re Claim 1, Barker discloses a drill head 14, comprising at least one surface, with a number of structural elements 58, 60 (Fig. 1-3, 5) wherein [the structural elements are manufactured by an additive or primary forming manufacturing method] (Fig. 1-3, 5). Furthermore, the claimed phase "the structural elements are manufactured by an additive or primary forming manufacturing method" is being treated as a product-by-process limitation and since it has been held that a product-by-process limitation is not construed as being limited to the product formed by the specific process recited. Barker' s product meets the claimed structural limitations.
Re Claim 2, Barker discloses the surface 32 is a chip face directly adjoining the main cutting edge 66 (Fig. 1-3, 5).
Re Claim 3, Barker discloses the surface 32 is an open face, a grooved face of a chip flute, a point, or a lateral face (Fig. 1-3, 5).
Re Claim 4, Barker discloses the structural elements are each configured as a chip breaker for breaking chips generated by the main cutting edge (Fig. 1-3, 5).
Re Claim 9, Barker discloses the structural elements are each valleys (Fig. 1-3, 5).
Re Claim 10, Barker discloses the structural elements are each channels (Fig. 1-3, 5).
Re Claim 11, Barker discloses the structural elements are guided up to the main cutting edge and divide it into a plurality of sub-sections (Fig. 1-3, 5).
Re Claim 12, Barker discloses the structural elements are guided up to the main cutting edge and divide it into a plurality of sub-sections (Fig. 1-3, 5).
Re Claim 13, Barker discloses the structural elements terminate before the main cutting edge, so that it is uninterrupted (Fig. 1-3, 5).
Re Claim 14, Barker discloses the structural elements terminate before the main cutting edge, so that it is uninterrupted (Fig. 1-3, 5).
Re Claim 15, Barker discloses the structural elements are arranged adjacent to one another along the main cutting edge (Fig. 1-3, 5).
Re Claim 16, Barker discloses [it is manufactured integrally] (Fig. 1-3, 5). Furthermore, the claimed phase "it is manufactured integrally" is being treated as a product-by-process limitation and since it has been held that a product-by-process limitation is not construed as being limited to the product formed by the specific process recited. Barker’s product meets the claimed structural limitations.
Conclusion
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799