Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP2659821 to Schmitt.
In Reference to Claim 1
Schmitt discloses A cyclone filter comprising: a body (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) including a cylindrical surface extending between a first end (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) and a second end (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner), the body defining a cavity of the cyclone filter; an air inlet (Fig. 4, 3) formed through the cylindrical surface, the air inlet configured to receive an airflow from a laundry cabinet (The Office considers that the laundry is just a working environment of the recited filter) and to direct the airflow along the cylindrical surface within the cavity; a vortex diverter (Fig. 4, 10) extending within the cavity from the second end (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) of the body, the vortex diverter configured to interrupt the airflow as it passes within the cavity between the vortex diverter and the cylindrical surface to separate particulates from the airflow; and a particulate outlet (Fig. 4, 12) formed through the cylindrical surface and axially spaced (As showed in Fig. 4) from the air inlet, the particulate outlet configured to direct particulates separated from the airflow toward a particulate receptacle (Fig. 4, 13).
In Reference to Claim 2
Schmitt discloses a vortex inducer (Fig. 4, 5) extends within the cavity from the first end (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) and at least partially along the cylindrical surface of the body, the vortex inducer comprising a cylindrical surface (As showed in Fig. 4) and configured to direct the airflow from the air inlet in a helical spiral between the cylindrical surface of the body and the cylindrical surface of the vortex inducer.
In Reference to Claim 3
Schmitt discloses the vortex diverter comprises an annular surface (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) extending from the second end of the body, the annular surface of the vortex diverter having a first outer diameter (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) that is greater than a second outer diameter (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) of the cylindrical surface of the vortex inducer.
In Reference to Claim 4
Schmitt discloses a clean air outlet (Fig. 4, 7) is formed through the first end of the body, the clean air outlet configured to receive clean air drawn from the cavity.
In Reference to Claim 5
Schmitt discloses an opening (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) of the clean air outlet is between the air inlet and the first end of the body.
In Reference to Claim 6
Schmitt discloses a clean air conduit (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) extends through the clean air outlet and at least partially within the cavity.
In Reference to Claim 8
Schmitt discloses the air inlet (Fig. 4, 3) comprises a conduit that extends tangential (As showed in Fig. 4) to the cylindrical surface of the body.
In Reference to Claim 9
Schmitt discloses the particulate outlet (Fig. 4, 12) comprises a conduit that extends tangential (AS showed in Fig. 4) to the cylindrical surface of the body.
In Reference to Claim 10
Schmitt discloses a central axis (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) of the cyclone filter extends between the first end (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) and the second end (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner), the air inlet (Fig. 4, 3) and the particulate outlet (Fig. 4, 12) formed through the cylindrical surface tangential relative to the central axis.
In Reference to Claim 21
Schmitt disclose the vortex diverter comprises a diverter wall (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) extending from a first end attached to the second end of the body to a distal second end, and a conical cap (Fig. 4, 9) disposed at the second end of the diverter wall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitt.
In Reference to Claim 7
Schmitt discloses the clean air conduit having a cylindrical portion (As showed in Fig. 4)
Schmitt does not teach the conduit having an oblique angle.
According to MPEP: the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Claims 11, 13, 15-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 2010/0146804 to Ahn in view of Schmitt
In Reference to Claims 11, 15, 18-20 and 22
Ahn discloses A laundry system comprising: a cabinet (Fig. 1, 100) including a tumbler(Fig. 1, 110) for processing laundry and an access panel (Fig. 1, the front panel with the opening 120) providing access to a particulate hopper port (Fig. 3, 410) extending through the cabinet; and a particulate separation system (Fig. 4, 430) for removing particulates from air an airflow in the tumbler and depositing the particulates into the particulate hoppe
Ahn does not teach the separation system as recited by the Applicant.
Schmitt teaches the particulate separation system including: a body (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) including a cylindrical surface extending between a first end (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) and a second end (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner), the body defining a cavity of a cyclone filter; an air inlet (Fig. 4, 3) formed through the cylindrical surface; and a vortex diverter (Fig. 4, 10) extending within the cavity from the second end (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) of the body, the vortex diverter configured to interrupt the airflow as it passes within the cavity between the vortex diverter and the cylindrical surface to separate the particulates from the airflow
the particulate separation system includes a cyclonic separation system (Fig. 4 shows a cyclonic separation system).
a particulate outlet (Fig. 4, 12) formed through the cylindrical surface and axially spaced from the air inlet (Fig. 4, 3), the particulate outlet configured to direct the particulates separated from the airflow toward the particulate hopper (Fig. 4, 13).
a vortex inducer (Fig. 4, 6) extends within the cavity from the first end (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) and at least partially along the cylindrical surface of the body, the vortex inducer comprising a cylindrical surface (As showed in Fig. 4) and configured to direct the airflow from the air inlet (Fig. 4, 3) in a helical spiral between the cylindrical surface of the body and the cylindrical surface of the vortex inducer.
wherein the vortex diverter comprises an annular surface (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) extending from the second end of the body, the annular surface of the vortex diverter having a first outer diameter (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) that is greater than a second outer diameter (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) of the cylindrical surface of the vortex inducer.
Schmitt disclose the vortex diverter comprises a diverter wall (Fig. 4, annotated by the examiner) extending from a first end attached to the second end of the body to a distal second end, and a conical cap (Fig. 4, 9) disposed at the second end of the diverter wall.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Schmitt into the design of Ahn. Doing so, would result in the separator design of Schmitt being used in the Ahn’s system to separate the dust from the air. Both inventions of Ahn and Schmitt are in the field of air/dust separation, Schmitt teaches an improved vortex tube separator with reduced power consumption.
In Reference to Claim 13
Ahn discloses at least a portion of the particulate hopper (Fig. 3, 500) is disposed below an outlet of the particulate separation system.
In Reference to Claim 16
Ahn discloses particulate separation system is integrated with the cabinet. (As showed in Fig. 2)
In Reference to Claim 17
Ahn discloses one cyclonic separation system only.
Ahn does not teach a plurality of separation system.
According to MPEP: the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 7/17/26