Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bankeria (US 20210342816) in view of Adams (US 20070152035)
1. A method comprising:
identifying when a timer associated with a contactless card expires (par. 48);
after the timer has expired, locking the contactless card (i.e. par. 48-50: a re-lock setting in which the card is re-locked (or transition to a default state (e.g., a complete or a partial lock for some transactions) after an unlock duration, such as after one of the foregoing user preference time settings, after a default time setting, after the number of transaction or another setting);
receiving, via a short-range communication antenna of a mobile device, a cryptogram from the contactless card when a user of the contactless card is logged into a mobile application associated with the contactless card
(par. 20-21: account authentication app 143 is considered as the mobile application associated with the card; user must authenticate using authentication credentials to access the account authentication application 143. For example, the authentication credentials may include a username and password, biometric credentials),
the short-range communication antenna of the mobile device being disabled from receiving the cryptogram from the contactless card unless the user of the contactless card is logged into the mobile application associated with the contactless card
(Bankeria discloses authentication-enabled app 143 in chipsets 502 allows users to perform various account related operations, such as viewing account balances, purchasing items, and processing payments, and to receive encrypted data 190 to authenticate and unlock the card; par. 20-21;
Bankeria is unclear with respect to the short-range communication antenna of the mobile is disabled from receiving the cryptogram when the user is not logged into the mobile application;
Adams discloses
[0046] If the device is locked, the user is prompted to enter the password 340 using, for example, the keyboard 532 of the device 500. As described above, the user may be prompted by any number of methods, such as, for example, vibration of the device, emission of a tone by the device, display of a message on the device screen, a message on the contactless payment reader, etc. If the correct password is entered 350, then the device 500 enables use of the payment functionality of the embedded contactless payment chip 110 to complete the transaction 320. On the other hand, if the incorrect password is entered 350, the device 500 disables use of the contactless payment functions 360. Disabling use of the payment functionality of the chip 110 may be achieved by any number of acceptable means, such as, for example, and without limitation, disabling the antenna 130 so that transmission of payment related data from the chip to the payment terminal 140, smart card reader 770, or the like.
Adams further discloses that claims 30-32 (which does not require a smart card reader) recite that the mobile electronic device has a function to authenticate and enable restriction of the use of the mobile device itself by a user and the payment circuit card is enabled to provide payment functionality based on the restriction status. Moreover in par. 52: “As set forth above, security features of the mobile wireless communication device 780 may be used to control the transmission of consumer account information 710 [in the card 700]”;
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Adams for preventing usage of the card of the mobile user by possible unauthorized user; it would have also been obvious that the disablement of the antenna would also prevent the cryptogram from the card being received;
the combined teachings would result in disabling the antenna of Bankeria as per Adams’s teachings would prevent communication between the mobile device and card and prevent any data including the cryptogram and payment data to be communicated)
successfully decrypting the cryptogram to authenticate the contactless card (par. 31); and
when the contactless card has been authenticated, unlocking the contactless card (par. 48-49: card is unlocked by the mobile and/or or server),
wherein the contactless card is unusable for initiating any transaction while the contactless card is locked (par. 14, 48-49).
2.1 further comprising: starting the timer responsive to user input that identifies a time value for the timer (par. 48-50).
3.1 further comprising: starting the timer responsive to user input that includes the cryptogram received from the contactless card (Fig. 2, par. 48-49: the card is unlocked to start a transaction duration once the cryptogram is authenticated/verified).
4.1 further comprising: starting the timer at a predetermined time of day (par. 48-49).
5.1 further comprising: starting the timer after processing a transaction associated with the contactless card (par. 48-49).
6.1 wherein all transactions initiated in connection with the contactless card are denied while the contactless card is locked (par. 14, 48-49).
7.1 further comprising: identifying a customer account associated with the contactless card to authenticate the contactless card (par. 20-21, 25-29, 33, 44-45, 59).
8.7 further comprising: decrypting protected data in the cryptogram; comparing the protected data to stored record data associated with the customer account; and authenticating the contactless card based on a match between the protected data and the stored record data (par. 33, 35, 48).
Re claims 10-17, 19, see discussion regarding claims above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Adams fails to make up for the above-identified deficiencies of Bankreira because Adams does not teach that the antenna 130 is disabled from receiving a cryptogram or any other data from a contactless card. Indeed, disabling transmitting capabilities is not tantamount to disabling receiving capabilities.
However, as also discussed above, Bankeria discloses in par. 20-21: account authentication app 143 is considered as the mobile application associated with the card; user must authenticate using authentication credentials to access the account authentication application 143. For example, the authentication credentials may include a username and password, biometric credentials. Bankeria further discloses authentication-enabled app 143 in chipsets 502 allows users to perform various account related operations, such as viewing account balances, purchasing items, and processing payments, and to receive encrypted data 190 to authenticate and unlock the card; par. 20-21.
As can be seen, Bankeria has a desire to protect payment account data of the user by requiring the authentication credentials to unlock the account authentication app 143 in the chipset 503 of the mobile device.
Similarly, Adams’s disabling the mobile device’s antenna 130 when incorrect password is entered would disable the payment functionality in the mobile and the card unless a correct password is provided when being prompted (par. 46, 52, claims 30-32). Therefore, the combined teachings would result in disabling the antenna of Bankeria as per Adams’s teachings would prevent communication between the mobile device and card and prevent any data including the cryptogram and payment data to be communicated.
Applicant further argues that in Adams, the use of the contactless payment functionality of the contactless payment chip 710 may be disabled via the smart card reader 770.
However, Adams in claims 30-32 (which does not require a smart card reader) recite that the mobile electronic device has a function to authenticate and enable restriction of the use of the mobile device itself by a user and the payment circuit card is enabled to provide payment functionality based on the restriction status. Moreover in par. 52: “As set forth above, security features of the mobile wireless communication device 780 may be used to control the transmission of consumer account information 710 [in the card 700].
For these reasons, the previous rejection(s) is/are respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
/THIEN T MAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876