Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,025,675 to Barday et al. (Barday) in view of US 2025/0036378 to Chen (Chen).
Claims 1 and 17: Barday discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
identifying, by processing hardware, an input application code (col. 52, lines 14-18 “use the location provided by the user to obtain the computer code”);
based on a scan of the input application code, determining, by the processing hardware, one or more data processing activity components within the input application code by matching functionality within the input application code to a detector specification entry (col. 52, lines 19-25 “determine a plurality of privacy-related attributes of the computer code … types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”, col. 47, lines 4-11 “identify all data structures associated with the organization that include the SSN”, col. 45, lines 41-44 “scans the website for … 3rd party SDKs”, col. 48, lines 28-31 “generate a personal data inventory for a particular organization”); and
determining, by the processing hardware, data categories for the one or more data processing activity components, wherein the data categories comprise data types or data processing purpose type corresponding to the one or more data processing activity components (col. 52, lines 22-43 “types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”).
Barday does not explicitly disclose matching a namespace within the application code to a detector specification entry.
Chen teaches:
matching a namespace within the application code (par. [0033] “a function called getToken which is included in a com.comp namespace … com.comp getToken … com.comp.cbp.getKey … com.comp.core.generateToken()”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to match a namespace within the application code to a detector specification entry. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as to col. 47, lines 4-11 “identify all data structures associated with the organization” (Barday col. 14, lines 4-11)
Claims 2 and 12: Barday and Chen teach claims 1 and 11, further comprising determining the one or more data processing activity components by
identifying a data processing component reference within the input application code, wherein a data processing activity component comprises a software development kit (SDK) component, an application programming interface (API) component, or a function call component (e.g. col. 52, lines 34-35 “issues calls to third party software”, col. 2, line 65-col. 3, line 2 “third party code includes … use of other software development kits (SDKs)”).
Claim 3: Barday and Chen teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising
identifying, from the detector specification entry, a target functionality comprising a class and method pair (Barday col. 48, lines 28-31 “generate a personal data inventory for a particular organization”, Chen par. [0033] “cbp.getKey … core.generateToken()”); and
searching the input application code for code implementing the class and method pair (Barday col. 45, lines 41-44 “scans the website for … 3rd party SDKs”, col. 48, lines 28-31 “generate a personal data inventory for a particular organization”).
Claim 4: Barday and Chen teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising determining the data categories for the one or more data processing activity components by:
identifying a data type corresponding to a data processing activity component from the one or more data processing activity components (col. 52, lines 19-25 “determine a plurality of privacy-related attributes of the computer code … types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”); and
utilizing the data type to assign the data processing activity component with a data category (col. 52, lines 19-25 “determine a plurality of privacy-related attributes of the computer code … types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”).
Claim 5: Barday and Chen teach the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the data type comprises location data, cookie data, camera data, computing device data, demographic data, hit-level data, device usage data, or personal identifiable information data (col. 52, lines 22-43 “(1) uses location-based services … (5) accesses communication logs … (6) uses cookies … (7) collects personal data”).
Claims 6 and 19: Barday and Chen teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, 17, further comprising determining the data categories for the one or more data processing activity components by:
identifying a data processing purpose type corresponding to a data processing activity component from the one or more data processing activity components, wherein the data processing purpose type comprises utilization for application function, analytics, digital advertisement targeting, data aggregation, or debugging (e.g. col. 53, lines 1-2 “For what business reason is the data being collected”); and
utilizing the data processing purpose type to assign the data processing activity component with a data category (col. 52, lines 19-25 “determine a plurality of privacy-related attributes of the computer code … types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”, col. 53, lines 15-25 “communicated to one or more second users”).
Claim 7: Barday and Chen teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising determining the data categories for the one or more data processing activity components by determining a source for a data processing activity component, wherein the source comprises an owner entity or a developer for the data processing activity component (col. 45, lines 38-43 “the URL of the website … and/or 3rd party SDKs”).
Claim 10: Barday and Chen teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising generating a software profile for the input application code by:
assigning the data categories for the one or more data processing activity components to a first version of the input application code (col. 52, lines 22-43 “types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”);
determining, from a second version of the input application code, additional data categories for additional data processing activity components (col. 55, lines 3-5 “compare the code that was obtained with a previously assessed version”); and
assigning the additional data categories for the additional data processing activity components to the second version of the input application code (col. 55, lines 24-31 “privacy-related attributes that have changed or been added”, col. 52, lines 22-43 “types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”, see e.g. fig. 21, 2120 “Access to phone photos”).
Claim 11: Barday discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions which, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising:
identifying a set of detected data processing activity components within a first version of an input application code, the set of detected data processing activity components being identified by matching functionality within the first version of the input application code to detector specification entries (col. 52, lines 19-25 “determine a plurality of privacy-related attributes of the computer code … types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”, col. 47, lines 4-11 “identify all data structures associated with the organization that include the SSN”, col. 45, lines 41-44 “scans the website for … 3rd party SDKs”, col. 48, lines 28-31 “generate a personal data inventory for a particular organization”);
scanning a second version of the input application code to identify an additional set of detected data processing activity components within the second version of the input application code (col. 55, lines 3-5 “compare the code that was obtained with a previously assessed version”); and
determining data processing activity component modifications between the first version of the input application code and the second version of the input application code based on the set of detected data processing activity components and the additional set of detected data processing activity components (col. 55, lines 24-31 “privacy-related attributes that have changed or been added”, col. 52, lines 22-43 “types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”, see e.g. fig. 21, 2120 “Access to phone photos”).
Barday does not explicitly disclose matching a namespace within the application code to a detector specification entry.
Chen teaches:
matching a namespace within the application code (par. [0033] “a function called getToken which is included in a com.comp namespace … com.comp getToken … com.comp.cbp.getKey … com.comp.core.generateToken()”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to match a namespace within the application code to a detector specification entry. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as to col. 47, lines 4-11 “identify all data structures associated with the organization” (Barday col. 14, lines 4-11)
Claim 13: Barday and Chen teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise determining the data processing activity component modifications between the first version of the input application code and the second version of the input application code by identifying an addition or removal of a data processing activity component between the set of detected data processing activity components and the additional set of detected data processing activity components (col. 55, lines 24-31 “privacy-related attributes that have changed or been added”).
Claim 14: Barday and Chen teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise:
identifying a set of data categories for the set of detected data processing activity components, wherein a data category comprises a data type or data processing purpose type corresponding to one or more data processing components from the set of detected data processing activity components (col. 52, lines 22-43 “types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”);
identifying an additional set of data categories for the additional set of detected data processing activity components (col. 55, lines 3-5 “compare the code that was obtained with a previously assessed version”); and
determining data category modifications between the first version of the input application code and the second version of the input application code based on the set of data categories and the additional set of data categories (col. 55, lines 24-31 “privacy-related attributes that have changed or been added”).
Claim 15: Barday the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the operations further comprise
determining the data category modifications between the first version of the input application code and the second version of the input application code by identifying an addition or removal of a data category between the set of data categories and the additional set of data categories (col. 55, lines 24-31 “privacy-related attributes that have changed or been added”).
Claim 16: Barday and Chen teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise
determining a number of added data processing activity components from the data processing activity component modifications (col. 57, lines 33-38 “here, only one attribute”).
Claim 18: Barday and Chen teach the system of claim 17, wherein the processing hardware is configured to cause the system to determine the data categories for the one or more data processing activity components by:
identifying a data type corresponding to a data processing activity component from the one or more data processing activity components, wherein the data type comprises location data, cookie data, camera data, computing device data, demographic data, hit-level data, device usage data, or personal identifiable information data (col. 52, lines 22-43 “(1) uses location-based services … (5) accesses communication logs … (6) uses cookies … (7) collects personal data”); and
utilizing the data type to assign the data processing activity component with a data category (col. 52, lines 22-43 “(1) uses location-based services … (5) accesses communication logs … (6) uses cookies … (7) collects personal data”).
Claim 20: Barday and Chen teach the system of claim 17, wherein the processing hardware is configured to cause the system to determine data categories for the one or more data processing activity components by:
determining a first data category associated with a first set of data processing activity components from the one or more data processing activity components grouped by a first data type (col. 52, lines 22-43 “(1) uses location-based services … (5) accesses communication logs … (6) uses cookies … (7) collects personal data”); and
determining a second data category associated with a second set of data processing activity components from the one or more data processing activity components grouped by a second data type (col. 55, lines 3-5 “compare the code that was obtained with a previously assessed version”).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,025,675 to Barday et al. (Barday) in view of US 2025/0036378 to Chen (Chen) in view of US 2024/0061332 to Golchehreh et al. (Golchehreh).
Claim 8: Barday and Chen teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but do not explicitly teach determining the one or more data processing activity components from a call graph generated from the input application code, wherein the call graph comprises nodes indicating namespaces, class names, or method names within the input application code.
Golchehreh teaches:
determining the one or more data processing activity components from a call graph generated from the input application code, wherein the call graph comprises nodes indicating namespaces, class names, or method names within the input application code (par. [0036] “detects data of predefined types … with a call graph”).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to determine the components from a generated call graph. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as a known means of identifying such data access which would have produced only the expected results.
Claim 9: Barday and Golchehreh teach the computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising utilizing the call :graph to assign a data processing activity component or a data category to a portion of the input application code (Barday col. 52, lines 19-25 “determine a plurality of privacy-related attributes, Golchehreh par. [0036] “detects data of predefined types … with a call graph”).
Conclusion
/Jason D Mitchell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199