Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §101
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 2/2/26, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Specifically, the claims provide “an automated technical solution for identifying and categorizing data processing activities within application code, which enables developers and organizations to understand and manage data privacy implications of their software” addressing the problem that conventional cod-scanning tools generate large, confusing outputs that are hard to understand and navigate (see e.g. par. [0002]-]0005]), and thus provides an improvement to a technology or technological field.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
… This is fundamentally different from the claimed, "determining ... data categories for the one or more data processing activity components, wherein the data categories comprise data types or data processing purpose type corresponding to the one or more data processing activity components," at least because Barday, merely describes SDKs at a high level without determining "data types or data processing purpose type corresponding to the one or more data processing activity components."
Barday discloses “In response to determining that the app is collection one or more specified types of personal data” (col. 52, lines 52-57). This refers to the exemplary types of “privacy-related attributes” (1)-(7) described at col. 52 lines 29-46. Accordingly Barday explicitly discloses determining data categories for the processing activities comprising data type or purpose of the activit(ies).
Barday 's monitoring determines "whether the code has changed to add any additional privacy-related attributes." Barday et al., 53:53-62. This differs from tracking modifications to detected data processing activity components themselves. This claim language requires maintaining and comparing distinct sets of detected data processing activity components (e.g., SDK components, API components, or function call components) across different versions of the application code to identify what specific components have been added, removed, or modified between versions.
Barday 's method differs from tracking modifications to detected data processing activity components themselves. Barday's approach monitors for changes in high-level privacy-related attributes, for example, whether the code uses location-based services, issues calls to third party software, accesses communications logs, uses cookies to track user behavior, or collects personal data. Barday et al., 52:28-43. These privacy-related attributes represent behavioral characteristics of the code as a whole, not specific data processing activity components that have been detected within the code.
For example, if a first version of an application code includes SDK components from Company A and Company B, and a second version of the application code includes SDK components from Company A and Company C, the claimed invention would identify that the SDK component from Company B was removed and the SDK component from Company C was added. Barday's system, in contrast, may detect that the code still "issues calls to third party software" in both versions without identifying which specific third-party components have changed. Barday's attribute-level monitoring does not provide the granular component-level modification tracking recited in claim 11.
The claim does not define what constitutes a “data processing activity component” in a way that would distinguish over Barday’s identified components. For example Barday’s “location based services” describe a component for processing data and thus a data processing component as claimed. The claim requires “identifying” sets but does not require “maintaining” those sets. Barday’s system identifies these sets of components and “maintains” the sets at least to the extent that the comparison can be made. The claim recites nothing that would require SDK components from third party companies.
The applicant has misconstrued the claim scope and the prior art disclosure. Accordingly, at least without more, the arguments are unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 11,025,675 to Barday et al. (Barday).
Claims 1 and 17: Barday discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
identifying, by processing hardware, an input application code (col. 52, lines 14-18 “use the location provided by the user to obtain the computer code”);
based on a scan of the input application code, determining, by the processing hardware, one or more data processing activity components within the input application code (col. 52, lines 19-25 “determine a plurality of privacy-related attributes of the computer code … types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”); and
determining, by the processing hardware, data categories for the one or more data processing activity components, wherein the data categories comprise data types or data processing purpose type corresponding to the one or more data processing activity components (col. 52, lines 22-43 “types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”).
Claims 2 and 12: Barday discloses claims 1 and 11, further comprising determining the one or more data processing activity components by
identifying a data processing component reference within the input application code, wherein a data processing activity component comprises a software development kit (SDK) component, an application programming interface (API) component, or a function call component (e.g. col. 52, lines 34-35 “issues calls to third party software”, col. 2, line 65-col. 3, line 2 “third party code includes … use of other software development kits (SDKs)”).
Claim 3: Barday discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising
determining the one or more data processing activity components by matching a namespace from the input application code to a detector specification entry, within a detector specification, indicating pairings between one or more namespaces and one or more data processing components, wherein the detector specification entry comprises at least one of the namespace, a scanning identifier for the namespace, a data processing description for the namespace, a data type, or a functionality type (col. 45, lines 38-43 “the URL of the website … and/or 3rd party SDKs”).
Claim 4: Barday discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising determining the data categories for the one or more data processing activity components by:
identifying a data type corresponding to a data processing activity component from the one or more data processing activity components (col. 52, lines 19-25 “determine a plurality of privacy-related attributes of the computer code … types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”); and
utilizing the data type to assign the data processing activity component with a data category (col. 52, lines 19-25 “determine a plurality of privacy-related attributes of the computer code … types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”).
Claim 5: Barday discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the data type comprises location data, cookie data, camera data, computing device data, demographic data, hit-level data, device usage data, or personal identifiable information data (col. 52, lines 22-43 “(1) uses location-based services … (5) accesses communication logs … (6) uses cookies … (7) collects personal data”).
Claims 6 and 19: Barday discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, 17, further comprising determining the data categories for the one or more data processing activity components by:
identifying a data processing purpose type corresponding to a data processing activity component from the one or more data processing activity components, wherein the data processing purpose type comprises utilization for application function, analytics, digital advertisement targeting, data aggregation, or debugging (e.g. col. 53, lines 1-2 “For what business reason is the data being collected”); and
utilizing the data processing purpose type to assign the data processing activity component with a data category (col. 52, lines 19-25 “determine a plurality of privacy-related attributes of the computer code … types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”, col. 53, lines 15-25 “communicated to one or more second users”).
Claim 7: Barday discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising determining the data categories for the one or more data processing activity components by determining a source for a data processing activity component, wherein the source comprises an owner entity or a developer for the data processing activity component (col. 45, lines 38-43 “the URL of the website … and/or 3rd party SDKs”).
Claim 10: Barday discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising generating a software profile for the input application code by:
assigning the data categories for the one or more data processing activity components to a first version of the input application code (col. 52, lines 22-43 “types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”);
determining, from a second version of the input application code, additional data categories for additional data processing activity components (col. 55, lines 3-5 “compare the code that was obtained with a previously assessed version”); and
assigning the additional data categories for the additional data processing activity components to the second version of the input application code (col. 55, lines 24-31 “privacy-related attributes that have changed or been added”, col. 52, lines 22-43 “types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”, see e.g. fig. 21, 2120 “Access to phone photos”).
Claim 11: Barday discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions which, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising:
identifying a set of detected data processing activity components within a first version of an input application code (col. 52, lines 22-43 “types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”);
scanning a second version of the input application code to identify an additional set of detected data processing activity components within the second version of the input application code (col. 55, lines 3-5 “compare the code that was obtained with a previously assessed version”); and
determining data processing activity component modifications between the first version of the input application code and the second version of the input application code based on the set of detected data processing activity components and the additional set of detected data processing activity components (col. 55, lines 24-31 “privacy-related attributes that have changed or been added”, col. 52, lines 22-43 “types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”, see e.g. fig. 21, 2120 “Access to phone photos”).
Claim 13: Barday discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise determining the data processing activity component modifications between the first version of the input application code and the second version of the input application code by identifying an addition or removal of a data processing activity component between the set of detected data processing activity components and the additional set of detected data processing activity components (col. 55, lines 24-31 “privacy-related attributes that have changed or been added”).
Claim 14: Barday discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise:
identifying a set of data categories for the set of detected data processing activity components, wherein a data category comprises a data type or data processing purpose type corresponding to one or more data processing components from the set of detected data processing activity components (col. 52, lines 22-43 “types of personal information the computer code collects and/or accesses”);
identifying an additional set of data categories for the additional set of detected data processing activity components (col. 55, lines 3-5 “compare the code that was obtained with a previously assessed version”); and
determining data category modifications between the first version of the input application code and the second version of the input application code based on the set of data categories and the additional set of data categories (col. 55, lines 24-31 “privacy-related attributes that have changed or been added”).
Claim 15: Barday the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the operations further comprise
determining the data category modifications between the first version of the input application code and the second version of the input application code by identifying an addition or removal of a data category between the set of data categories and the additional set of data categories (col. 55, lines 24-31 “privacy-related attributes that have changed or been added”).
Claim 16: Barday discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise
determining a number of added data processing activity components from the data processing activity component modifications (col. 57, lines 33-38 “here, only one attribute”).
Claim 18: Barday discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the processing hardware is configured to cause the system to determine the data categories for the one or more data processing activity components by:
identifying a data type corresponding to a data processing activity component from the one or more data processing activity components, wherein the data type comprises location data, cookie data, camera data, computing device data, demographic data, hit-level data, device usage data, or personal identifiable information data (col. 52, lines 22-43 “(1) uses location-based services … (5) accesses communication logs … (6) uses cookies … (7) collects personal data”); and
utilizing the data type to assign the data processing activity component with a data category (col. 52, lines 22-43 “(1) uses location-based services … (5) accesses communication logs … (6) uses cookies … (7) collects personal data”).
Claim 20: Barday discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the processing hardware is configured to cause the system to determine data categories for the one or more data processing activity components by:
determining a first data category associated with a first set of data processing activity components from the one or more data processing activity components grouped by a first data type (col. 52, lines 22-43 “(1) uses location-based services … (5) accesses communication logs … (6) uses cookies … (7) collects personal data”); and
determining a second data category associated with a second set of data processing activity components from the one or more data processing activity components grouped by a second data type (col. 55, lines 3-5 “compare the code that was obtained with a previously assessed version”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,025,675 to Barday et al. (Barday) in view of US 2024/0061332 to Golchehreh et al. (Golchehreh).
Claim 8: Barday discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose determining the one or more data processing activity components from a call graph generated from the input application code, wherein the call graph comprises nodes indicating namespaces, class names, or method names within the input application code.
Golchehreh teaches:
determining the one or more data processing activity components from a call graph generated from the input application code, wherein the call graph comprises nodes indicating namespaces, class names, or method names within the input application code (par. [0036] “detects data of predefined types … with a call graph”).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to determining the components from a generated call graph. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as a known means of identifying such data access which would have produced only the expected results.
Claim 9: Barday and Golchehreh teach the computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising utilizing the call :graph to assign a data processing activity component or a data category to a portion of the input application code (Barday col. 52, lines 19-25 “determine a plurality of privacy-related attributes, Golchehreh par. [0036] “detects data of predefined types … with a call graph”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON D MITCHELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JASON D MITCHELL whose telephone number is (571)272-3728. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Thursday 7:00am - 4:30pm and alternate Fridays 7:00am 3:30pm.