Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-13, 18-19, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mikko-Ville Laitinen ET AL (hereinafter “Laitinen”).
Regarding claim 1, Laitinen teaches an apparatus for generating a parametric spatial audio stream (page 11 , section 3.4; fig. 9), the apparatus comprising means configured to: obtain at least one mono-channel audio signal (page 8, section 3.2.1) from at least one close microphone (the apparatus is suitable for using any audio source, including a close microphone);
obtaining at least one reverberation parameter or; (page 10, section 3.2.5: the direction for the early reflection)
obtaining at least one control parameter configured to control spatial features of the parametric spatial audio stream; (page 8, section 3.2.1: synthesizing direction for virtual sound source);
generating, based on the at least one reverberation parameter, at least one reverberated audio signal from a respective at least one mono-channel audio signal of the at least one mono-channel audio signal (page 9-10, sections 3.2.4 and 3.2.5; page 11 , section 3.4; fig. 9; the reverberated audio signal is equated to the B-format signal);
generate at least one spatial metadata parameter based on at least one of: the at least one mono-channel audio signal, the at least one reverberated audio signal, the at least one control parameter, and the at least one reverberation parameter (page 11 , section 3.4 );
and encode the at least one reverberated audio signal and the at least one spatial metadata parameter to generate the parametric spatial audio stream (page 11, section 3.4; fig. 9; encoding of the B-format bus).
Regarding claim 2, Laitinen teaches generating, the least one reverberated audio signal from a the respective at least one mono-channel audio signal comprises: generating, based on the at least one reverberation parameter, at least one reverberant audio signal from a the respective at least one mono-channel audio signal; and combining, based on the at least one control parameter, the at least one mono-channel audio signal and a respective at least one reverberant audio signal of the at least one reverberant audio signal to generate the at least one reverberated audio signal. (page 10, section 3.3; fig. 9: complete renderer formed by combining features of section 3.2 of synthesizing of virtual source, sound source and reverberation.)
Regarding claim 4, Laitinen teaches combining the at least one mono-channel audio signal and the respective at least one reverberant audio signal to generate the at least one reverberated audio signal comprises: obtaining at least one of at least one direction or position parameter defining at least one of at least one direction or position of the at least one mono-channel audio signal within an audio scene; generating panning gains based on the at least one of the at least one direction or position parameter; and applying the panning gains to the at least one mono-channel audio signal. (page 10, section 3.3; fig. 9: complete renderer formed by combining features of section 3.2 of synthesizing of virtual source, sound source and reverberation.)
Regarding claim 5, Laitinen teaches wherein the at least one reverberated audio signal comprises a combination of: a reverberant audio signal part from the at least one mono-channel audio signal; and a direct audio signal part based on the respective at least one mono- channel audio signal. (page 10, sections 3.2.5 and 3.3: reflections also synthesized by source signal attenuated and delayed and passed through another DirAC-monosynth block.)
Regarding claim 7, Laitinen teaches obtaining the at least one mono-channel audio signal from at least one close microphone comprises at least one of: obtaining the at least one mono-channel audio signal; and or beamforming at least two audio signals to generate the at least one mono- channel audio signal. (see e.g. fig. 9: obtains the mono channel audio signals of the virtual sources. Obtaining such a signal by beamforming is considered as a mere workshop modification which does not involve an inventive step.)
Regarding claim 8, Laitinen teaches wherein the at least one reverberation parameter compris.es at least one of: at least one impulse response; a preprocessed version of the at least one impulse response; at least one parameter based on at least one impulse response; at least one desired reverberation time; at least one reverberant-to-direct ratio; at least one room dimension; at least one room material acoustic parameter; at least one decay time; at least one early reflections level; at least one diffusion parameter; at least one predelay parameter; at least one damping parameter; [[and]] or at least one acoustics space descriptor. (page 10, section 3.2.5: the reflection direction being considered as an acoustic space descriptor. Additionally, the use of the other parameters defined in claim 8 is considered to come within the scope of the customary practice followed by persons skilled in the art.)
Regarding claim 9, Laitinen teaches obtaining the at least one mono-channel audio signal from the at least one close microphone comprises obtaining a first mono-channel audio signal and a second mono-channel audio signal. (page 7, sections 3.1 and 3.1.1: at least mono-channel audio signal is obtained from at least one close microphone)
Regarding claim 10, Laitinen teaches the first mono-channel audio signal is obtained from a first close microphone and the second mono-channel audio signal is obtained from a second close microphone. (page 7, sections 3.1 and 3.1.1: at least mono-channel audio signal is obtained from at least one close microphone)
Regarding claim 11, Laitinen teaches the first close microphone is a microphone located on or near a first user and the second close microphone is a microphone located on or near a second user. (page 7, sections 3.1 and 3.1.1: at least mono-channel audio signal is obtained from at least one close microphone)
Regarding claim 12, Laitinen teaches generating the at least one reverberated audio signal from a the respective at least one mono-channel audio signal comprises: generating a first reverberant audio signal from the first mono-channel audio signal; and generating a second reverberant audio signal from the second mono-channel audio signal. (page 10, section 3.2.5: synthesized by generating reverberated audio signal from mono-channel audio signal)
Regarding claim 13, Laitinen teaches further comprising: generating a first audio signal based on a combination of the first mono-channel audio signal and respective first reverberant audio signal; generating a second audio signal based on a combination of the second mono- channel audio signal and respective second reverberant audio signal; and combining the first audio signal and the second audio signal to generate the at least one reverberated audio signal. (see page 10, section 3.2.5; fig. 9: combines all the source signals and their reflections. Some implementations using pairwise combinations would yield the features)
Regarding claim 18, Laitinen teaches at least one reverberated audio signal is a reverberated mono-channel audio signal. (page 9-10, sections 3.2.4 and 3.2.5; page 11 , section 3.4; fig. 9; the reverberated audio signal is equated to the B-format signal);
Regarding claim 19, the claimed limitation is an apparatus claim directly corresponding to the method claim 1; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claim 1 as discussed above.
Regarding claims 20-22, the claimed limitation is an apparatus claim directly corresponding to the method claims 1-2 and 9; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claims 1-2 and 9 as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikko-Ville Laitinen ET AL (hereinafter “Laitinen”) in view of Audfray (US 2019/387350 A1, hereinafter “Audfray”).
Regarding claim 3, Laitinen is silent to combing the at least one mono-channel audio signal and the respective at least one reverberant audio signal to generate the at least one reverberated audio signal comprises: obtaining at least one further control parameter configured to define a contribution of the at least one mono-channel audio signal and the respective at least one reverberant audio signal in the at least one reverberated audio signal; and generating the at least one reverberated audio signal based on the contribution of the at least one mono-channel audio signal and the respective at least one reverberant audio signal defined by with the at least one further control parameter.
However, Audfray teaches combing the at least one mono-channel audio signal and respective at least one reverberant audio signal to generate the at least one reverberated audio signal comprises: obtaining the at least one control parameter configured to determine a contribution of the at least one mono-channel audio signal and respective at least one reverberant audio signal in the at least one reverberated audio signal; and generating the at least one reverberated audio signal based on the contributions of the at least one mono-channel audio signal and the respective at least one reverberant audio signal defined by with the at least one control parameter. (see [0077], fig. 15: model 1500 example direct gain, reflection gains, reverberation, and direct sound characteristics. Direct sound, its reflections, and its reverberations.)
Laitinen and Audfray are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of spatial audio representations. They are directed to spatial audio processing for enhanced perceptual realism. Both addresses how special characteristics of sound, such as directionality, distance, and environmental interaction are synthesized to improve user experience. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of Audfray to Laitinen.
Regarding claim 14, Laitinen is silent to generating the at least one spatial metadata parameter comprises: generating a first at least one spatial metadata parameter associated with the first mono-channel audio signal; generating a second at least one spatial metadata parameter associated with the second mono-channel audio signal; determining which of the first mono-channel audio signal or the second mono-channel audio signal is more predominant; and selecting one or other of the first at least one spatial metadata parameter or the second at least one spatial metadata parameter based on the determining which of the first mono-channel audio signal or the second mono-channel audio signal is more predominant.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to generate spatial metadata parameters. The features defined in this claim are not used for the generation of the apparatus output (namely the spatial audio stream). Hence, these features have no other technical effect than adding complexity to the processing, and consequently cannot support the presence of an inventive step.
Regarding claim 15, Laitinen is silent to generating at least one reverberated audio signal from the respective at least one mono-channel audio signal comprises: generating a first gained audio signal from the first mono-channel audio signal, the first gained audio signal based on a first gain applied to the first mono-channel audio signal; generating a second gained audio signal from the second mono-channel audio signal, the second gained audio signal based on a second gain applied to the second mono-channel audio signal; applying a reverberation to a combined first gained audio signal and second gained audio signal to generate the at least one reverberant audio signal; generating a further first gained audio signal from the first mono-channel audio signal, the further first gained audio signal based on a further first gain applied to the first mono-channel audio signal; generating a further second gained audio signal from the second mono-channel audio signal, the further second gained audio signal based on a further second gain applied to the second mono-channel audio signal; and combining the at least one reverberant audio signal, the further first gained audio signal, and the further second gained audio signal to generate the at least one reverberated audio signal.
However, Audfray teaches generating at least one reverberated audio signal from [[a]]the respective at least one mono-channel audio signal comprises: generating a first gained audio signal from the first mono-channel audio signal, the first gained audio signal based on a first gain applied to the first audio signal; generating a second gained audio signal from the second mono-channel audio signal, the second gained audio signal based on a second gain applied to the second audio signal; applying a reverberation to a combined first gained audio signal and second gained audio signal to generate the at least one reverberant audio signal; generating a further first gained audio signal from the first mono-channel audio signal, the further first gained audio signal based on a further first gain applied to the first mono-channel audio signal; generating a further second gained audio signal from the second mono-channel audio signal, the further second gained audio signal based on a further second gain applied to the second mono-channel audio signal; and combining the reverberant audio signal, the further first gained audio signal, and the further second gained audio signal to generate the at least one reverberated audio signal (see Audfray, [0077] and fig. 15: model 1500 example direct gain, reflection gains, reverberation, and direct sound characteristics. Direct sound, its reflections, and its reverberations.).
Laitinen and Audfray are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of spatial audio representations. They are directed to spatial audio processing for enhanced perceptual realism. Both addresses how special characteristics of sound, such as directionality, distance, and environmental interaction are synthesized to improve user experience. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of Audfray to Laitinen (see Laitinen page 9-10, section 3.2.4; fig. 9 the use of respective gains to control the direct and reverberant signals being considered as a mere workshop modification, which come within the scope of the customary practice followed by persons skilled in the art and consequently do not involve an inventive step)
Regarding claim 16, the claimed limitation is a claim directly corresponding to the method claim 14; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claim 14 as discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 13, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 14-21 of applicant’s remarks, applicant mainly argues that the art of record fails to disclose or suggest generating, based on the at least one reverberation parameter, at least one reverberated audio signal from a respective at least one mono- channel audio signal of the at least one mono-channel audio signal; generating at least one spatial metadata parameter based on at least one of: the at least one mono-channel audio signal, the at least one reverberated audio signal, the at least one control parameter, or the at least one reverberation parameter; and encoding the at least one reverberated audio signal and the at least one spatial metadata parameter to generate the parametric spatial audio stream..
The Examiner disagrees and maintains as pointed out in the rejection above, Laitinen clearly teaches an apparatus for generating a parametric spatial audio stream (page 11 , section 3.4; fig. 9), the apparatus comprising means configured to: obtain at least one mono-channel audio signal (page 8, section 3.2.1) from at least one close microphone (the apparatus is suitable for using any audio source, including a close microphone);
obtaining at least one reverberation parameter or; (page 10, section 3.2.5: the direction for the early reflection)
obtaining at least one control parameter configured to control spatial features of the parametric spatial audio stream; (page 8, section 3.2.1: synthesizing direction for virtual sound source);
generating, based on the at least one reverberation parameter, at least one reverberated audio signal from a respective at least one mono-channel audio signal of the at least one mono-channel audio signal (page 9-10, sections 3.2.4 and 3.2.5; page 11 , section 3.4; fig. 9; the reverberated audio signal is equated to the B-format signal);
generate at least one spatial metadata parameter based on at least one of: the at least one mono-channel audio signal, the at least one reverberated audio signal, the at least one control parameter, and the at least one reverberation parameter (page 11 , section 3.4 );
and encode the at least one reverberated audio signal and the at least one spatial metadata parameter to generate the parametric spatial audio stream (page 11, section 3.4; fig. 9; encoding of the B-format bus).
First, applicant argues Laitinen discloses that a sum of monophonic sound tracks is reverberated with a reverberator instead of a reverberated audio signal generated from a mono-channel audio signal based on the direction for early reflection, hence reverberation is not disclosed or suggested to be based on an obtained reverberation parameter. However, obtaining a sum of monophonic audio tracks and processing them through a reverberator tuned to simulate a normal room inherently involves identifying and obtaining specific reverberation parameters, which reads on this limitation.
Second, applicant argues Laitinen does not disclose or suggest encoding of a reverberated audio signal and a spatial metadata parameter to generate a spatial audio stream, but rather only encoding of a B-format bus. However, a B-format bus typically involves combining audio signal, which may include reverberated audio signal with spatial metadata to generate a spatial audio stream. However, Laitinen discloses encoding a B-format bus into a mono DirAC stream which is the technical implementation of taking a sound field, reverberated audio signal, and encoding a signal and metadata.
Lastly, applicant argues the DirAC stream comprising a low-bit-rate metadata channel of Laitinen does not disclose or suggest that the low-bit-rate metadata channel is encoded together with a reverberated audio signal to generate a spatial audio stream. However, in a DirAC stream, the mono audio signal is considered reverberated because it captures the total sound of the room. It contains the reflection of the original B-format environment. By encoding them together, an audio signal and metadata is obtained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNABELLE KANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/VIVIAN C CHIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2695