DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, and 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20240380487A1) in view of Coleman et al. (US9826292B2) and Ren et al. (Thulium-doped all-PM fiber chirped pulse amplifier delivering 314 W average power, August 2023).
Regarding claim 15, Wang et al. discloses A dual-hop system for optical wireless communication between a base station on Earth and satellite, the system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a base station (Fig. 1; the ground transmitting terminal) located on the surface of Earth (Fig. 1; the ground transmitting terminal is located on the surface of Earth as shown), wherein the base station is configured to wirelessly transmit the signal to a high-altitude platform station (HAPS) (Fig. 1; Para. 35; The ground transmitting terminal 1 includes a laser transmitter 101 and a MZ modulator 102. The laser transmitter 101 is configured to transmit laser beams to the MZ modulator 102. The MZ modulator 102 is configured to modulate the laser beams to obtain laser signals with different intensities after receiving the laser beams and transmit the different laser signals to the HAP 2) installed at a specified altitude from the surface of Earth (Fig. 1; Para. 36; The HAP 2 is a geostationary satellite as a relay station, the HAP 2 is located on stratosphere); and
the HAPS (Fig. 1; high-altitude platform (HAP)), wherein the HAPS is configured to further transmit the output optical signal to a satellite wirelessly (Fig. 1; Para. 36; The HAP 2 includes a multi-aperture receiver 201 configured to receive the laser signals from branches of the multi-aperture receiver 201, the multi-aperture receiver 201 is further configured to perform in-phase processing on the laser signals to obtain processed laser signals, then combine the processed laser signals by using an equal gain combination (EGC) method to obtain combined laser signals, and transmit the combined laser signals to the satellite terminal 3 through a vacuum channel).
However, the present system does not expressly disclose a second amplifier installed in the HAPS, wherein the second amplifier is: configured to compensate for attenuation of the signal by amplifying the signal to generate an output optical signal.
Coleman et al. discloses a second amplifier installed in the HAPS (Fig. 3; the optical amplifier 310), wherein the second amplifier is: configured to compensate for attenuation of the signal by amplifying the signal to generate an output optical signal (Fig. 3; Column 6, lines 23-26; An optical diplexer 308 separates transmitting and received optical beams and an optical amplifier 310 restores the signal level of the received optical beam to a predetermined level for a transmitting beam). (Coleman et al. teaches that the processing of the optical data stream is accomplished without ever converting to electrical signals within each satellite payload, and transparently to data modulation schemes (Column 5, lines 57-60)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the receiver of HAP in Wang et al. with the relay system of Coleman et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to process the received optical data stream without ever converting to electrical signals within the high-altitude platform payload, thereby enabling a transparent free-space optical communication system onboard the HAP.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a first thulium-doped fiber amplifier (TDFA) installed in a base station comprising a first thulium-doped fiber (TDF) and a first set of optical pumps, wherein the first TDFA is: configured to amplify an input optical signal to generate an amplified signal, wherein the first TDF and the first set of optical pumps are further configured based on a mode of operation of the first TDFA to provide a power amplification, or gain in amplifying the input optical signal, that satisfies a specified criterion.
Ren et al. discloses a first thulium-doped fiber amplifier (TDFA) installed in a base station (Fig. 1; the all polarization-maintaining thulium-doped fiber (PM-TDF) amplifier is shown. It is implied that the amplifier is installed at the source station) comprising a first thulium-doped fiber (TDF) (Fig. 1; a PM-TDF of main-amplifier is shown) and a first set of optical pumps (Fig. 1; a plurality of 793 nm laser diode (LD) is shown), wherein the first TDFA is: configured to amplify an input optical signal to generate an amplified signal (Fig. 1; Fig. 3(a); Page 3, section 3. Results and discussion, first paragraph; the input optical signal is delivered to the main amplifier as shown. The evolution of output power with the enhancement of pump power is shown in Fig. 3(a), in which the output power scales linearly without any sign of saturation. A maximum output power of 314 W was obtained under the pump power of around 600 W), wherein the first TDF and the first set of optical pumps are further configured based on a mode of operation of the first TDFA to provide a power amplification, or gain in amplifying the input optical signal, that satisfies a specified criterion (Fig. 1; Page 3, left column, first paragraph; Six commercial 793 nm laser diodes were connected. The PM-TDF of main amplifier is 4.5m long which as a core/cladding diameter of 25/400 mm and a core NA of 0.09 and an absorption coefficient of 2.4 dB/m at 793 nm. It is noted that the length of the gain fiber was selected by considering the trade-off between the nonlinear phase shift accumulation and the amplification efficiency).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the thulium-doped fiber amplifier, as taught by Ren et al., in the present combination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because thulium-doped fiber amplifiers (TDFAs) offer a broader amplification bandwidth, especially in the 1900–2100 nm range. Furthermore, the TDFA of Ren et al. provides very high average power amplification.
Regarding a second TDFA installed in the HAPS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a second TDFA in HAP. Since the ground station employing a TDFA transmits signals in 1900-2100 nm range, it would have been obvious to also use a TDFA to amplify the signals in the same range. Furthermore, the present combination discloses the claimed invention except for the second TDFA comprising second set of optical pumps. However, the claim limitations only introduce the mere duplication of essential working parts without any unexpected result or an unexpected advantage.
According to MPEP 2144.04 section VI, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the second TDFA installed in the HAP. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 16, the present combination discloses The system of claim 15, as described and applied above, wherein the specified criterion includes (a) output power provided by the first TDFA, or (b) the gain provided by the second TDFA, being the highest among output power or gain provided for various wavelengths of the input optical signal (Ren et al., Fig. 1; Fig. 2 (a); Fig. 3(a); Page 3, section 3. Results and discussion, first paragraph; The range of wavelength is shown in Fig. 2 (a). A maximum output power of 314 W was obtained under the pump power of around 600 W. The output power of 314 W is the highest as shown in Fig. 3 (a)).
Regarding claim 17, the present combination discloses The system of claim 15, as described and applied above, wherein the first TDFA is configured to operate in a booster amplifier mode of operation (Ren et al., Fig. 1; Fig. 3(a); Page 3, section 3. Results and discussion, first paragraph; the input optical signal is delivered to the main amplifier as shown. The evolution of output power with the enhancement of pump power is shown in Fig. 3(a), in which the output power scales linearly without any sign of saturation. A maximum output power of 314 W was obtained under the pump power of around 600 W. (This is equivalent to booster amplifier mode because the TDFA in the ground station increases the strength and level of an incoming signal before it reaches the HAP)) and the second TDFA is configured to operate in an in-line amplifier mode of operation (Coleman et al., Fig. 3; Column 6, lines 23-26; Column 5, lines 57-60; An optical diplexer 308 separates transmitting and received optical beams and an optical amplifier 310 restores the signal level of the received optical beam to a predetermined level for a transmitting beam. The processing of the optical data stream is accomplished without ever converting to electrical signals).
Regarding claim 18, the present combination discloses The system of claim 17, as described and applied above, wherein the length of the first TDF is configured to provide the power amplification by the first TDFA that satisfies the specified criterion, and wherein the length of the second TDF is configured to provide the gain that satisfies the specified criterion (Ren et al., Fig. 1; Page 3, left column, first paragraph; The PM-TDF of main amplifier is 4.5m long which as a core/cladding diameter of 25/400 mm and a core NA of 0.09 and an absorption coefficient of 2.4 dB/m at 793 nm. It is noted that the length of the gain fiber was selected by considering the trade-off between the nonlinear phase shift accumulation and the amplification efficiency).
Regarding claim 19, the present combination discloses The system of claim 17, as described and applied above, wherein the first TDF has a first thulium concentration amount that enables the first TDFA to provide the power amplification that satisfies the specified criterion (Ren et al., Fig. 1; a plurality of amplifiers with thulium-doped fibers (TDF) are shown. A thulium-doped fiber is a type of optical fiber where the core is doped with thulium ions to act as a gain medium for lasers and amplifiers. Thus, the thulium-doped fibers inherently have certain amount of thulium concentration. The three TDF amplifiers generates signal with 314 W), and wherein the second TDF has a second thulium concentration amount that enables the second TDFA to provide the gain that satisfies the specified criterion (Ren et al., Fig. 1; a plurality of amplifiers with thulium-doped fibers (TDF) are shown. A thulium-doped fiber is a type of optical fiber where the core is doped with thulium ions to act as a gain medium for lasers and amplifiers. Thus, the thulium-doped fibers inherently have certain amount of thulium concentration. The three TDF amplifiers generates signal with 314 W).
Regarding claim 1, the present combination teaches a device that necessarily performs this method claim in light of the rejection described and applied in claim 15.
Regarding claim 2, the present combination teaches a device that necessarily performs this method claim in light of the rejection described and applied in claim 17.
Regarding claim 3, the present combination teaches a device that necessarily performs this method claim in light of the rejection described and applied in claim 16.
Regarding claim 4, the present combination teaches a device that necessarily performs this method claim in light of the rejection described and applied in claim 18.
Regarding claim 9, the present combination teaches a device that necessarily performs this method claim in light of the rejection described and applied in claim 18.
Regarding claim 12, the present combination discloses The method of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the first TDFA (Ren et al., Fig. 1; Fig. 3(a); Page 3, section 3. Results and discussion, first paragraph; the input optical signal is delivered to the main amplifier as shown. The evolution of output power with the enhancement of pump power is shown in Fig. 3(a), in which the output power scales linearly without any sign of saturation. A maximum output power of 314 W was obtained under the pump power of around 600 W. (This is equivalent to booster amplifier mode because the TDFA in the ground station increases the strength and level of an incoming signal before it reaches the HAP)) and the second TDFA are configured to operate in booster amplifier mode of operation (Coleman et al., Fig. 3; second optical amplifier is shown placed in LRM#2 which operates as a booster amplifier as shown).
Regarding claim 13, the present combination discloses The method of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the first TDFA (Ren et al., Fig. 1; the pre-amplifiers are shown which are operated in in-line amplifier mode) and the second TDFA are configured to operate in in-line amplifier mode of operation (Coleman et al., Fig. 3; Column 6, lines 23-26; Column 5, lines 57-60; An optical diplexer 308 separates transmitting and received optical beams and an optical amplifier 310 restores the signal level of the received optical beam to a predetermined level for a transmitting beam. The processing of the optical data stream is accomplished without ever converting to electrical signals).
Regarding claim 14, the present combination discloses The method of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein configuring the first TDFA or the second TDFA includes: configuring at least one of:(a) a length of a first TDF of the first TDFA and a second TDF of the second TDFA (Ren et al., Fig. 1; Page 3, left column, first paragraph; The PM-TDF of main amplifier is 4.5m long which as a core/cladding diameter of 25/400 mm and a core NA of 0.09 and an absorption coefficient of 2.4 dB/m at 793 nm. It is noted that the length of the gain fiber was selected by considering the trade-off between the nonlinear phase shift accumulation and the amplification efficiency), (b) a thulium concentration amount of the first TDF and the second TDF, (c) a wavelength of light input by optical pumps of the first TDFA and the second TDFA, or (d) a wavelength or power of the input optical signal.
Claim(s) 6, 8, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20240380487A1), Coleman et al. (US9826292B2), and Ren et al. (Thulium-doped all-PM fiber chirped pulse amplifier delivering 314 W average power, August 2023) in view of Lenski et al. (Inband-pumped, high-power thulium-doped fiber amplifiers for an ultrafast pulsed operation, 2022).
Regarding claim 6, the present combination discloses The method of claim 2, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose determining a gain of the first TDFA for different wavelengths of the input optical signal, and selecting a wavelength among the different wavelengths for which the gain satisfies the specified criterion as the wavelength of the input optical signal.
Lenski et al. discloses determining a gain of the first TDFA for different wavelengths of the input optical signal (Fig. 5; measured spectral power density at the highest output power with the 794 nm and with the 1692 nm pump wavelength is shown. Signal wavelengths power below 1940 nm or above 1980 nm is significantly lower), and selecting a wavelength among the different wavelengths for which the gain satisfies the specified criterion as the wavelength of the input optical signal (Fig. 5; Page 44274; section, 3.1 Experimental setup, first paragraph; the signal bandwidth is 52 nm spanning from 1934 nm to 1986 nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select wavelengths in the range that can be amplified by the thulium-doped amplifier in order to increase the reach of the signals and to better counteract atmospheric signal attenuation.
Regarding claim 20, the present combination discloses The system of claim 17, as described and applied above, wherein the first set of optical pumps and the second set of optical pumps are configured to input light of a specified wavelength, wherein the specified wavelength is one of different wavelengths of the input light (Ren et al., Fig. 1; the pump lasers are input at wavelengths 1550 nm and 793 nm. Because the optical signals are in the range of 2.0 mm, the pump wavelengths and the optical input signals are at different wavelengths).
The present combination does not expressly disclose the specified wavelength above which a degree of change in an output power or the gain of the first TDFA or the second TDFA is below a specified threshold.
Lenski et al. discloses the specified wavelength above which a degree of change in an output power or the gain of the first TDFA or the second TDFA is below a specified threshold (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; Page 44272, second paragraph; two absorption transitions (790 nm and 1550 nm to 1910 nm) and the cross-relaxation transitions of Tm3+ are shown. The figures shows beyond 1910 nm, there is no significant power gain. It shows that beneath a pump wavelength of 1600 nm and above 1800 nm the absorption cross-sections gets significantly lower compared to 790 nm or 1650 nm pumping).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the pump wavelength to below 1910 nm since beyond this wavelength there is no significant optical amplification gain.
Regarding claim 8, the present combination teaches a device that necessarily performs this method claim in light of the rejection described and applied in claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 10-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JAI M. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 2634
/JAI M LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2634