DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-16, in the reply filed on 07/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/19/2023, 05/20/2024, 01/16/2025, 06/26/2025, and 11/17/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 10/19/2023 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 10/19/2023 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 3, 5, 7, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omura (US 20200251699 A1, hereinafter Omura), in view of Muranaga et al. (JP 2018056235 A, hereinafter Muranaga).
Regarding Claim 1, Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract]) comprising:
a plurality of battery cells arranged side by side in a first direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 below),
each of the plurality of battery cells having a prismatic shape (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 below); and
two restraint members that each restrain the plurality of battery cells along the first direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 below),
each of the two restraint members being provided to be arranged side by side with the plurality of battery cells in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 below), wherein
each of the two restraint members includes a plate-shaped portion extending in a plane direction including the first direction and a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 below), and
the plate-shaped portion is provided with an opening (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 below).
Omura discloses that the restraint members 6 are made of a first metal that has a Young’s modulus, such as Fe or SUS (Omura, [0041], Annotated Figure 2 below).
Omura is silent regarding the plate-shaped portion is constituted of a metal member having a rolling line along the third direction.
Muranaga discloses the plate-shaped portion is constituted of a metal member having a rolling line (Muranaga, a metal sheet is formed by rolling, lines called roll marks appear on the surface of the metal sheet, running in the direction of rolling, [0011]) along the third direction (Muranaga, the roll patterns are perpendicular, [0026]).
Muranaga teaches that when bending a metal sheet, bending it so that the bending line is perpendicular to the rolling direction results in greater strength than bending it so that the bending line is parallel to the rolling direction. (Muranaga, [0011]).
Omura and Muranaga are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards metal plates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to roll the metal plates of Omura in the perpendicular direction, as taught by Muranaga, because bending a metal plate so that the bending line is perpendicular to the rolling direction results in greater strength than bending it so that the bending line is parallel to the rolling direction.
The Examiner notes that the bending lines of Omura are in the first direction and second direction, as shown in Annotated Figure 2 below, so in order for the rolling line to be perpendicular to the bending line, the rolling line must be done in the third direction, in order to achieve improved strength, as taught by Muranaga.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), further comprising
a coupling member in a form of a strip (Omura, wall 14b that covers top surface n of battery 12 particularly prevents short circuit between adjacent batteries 12 or between battery 12 and end plate 4 caused by condensation on a surface of battery 12, [0031], Figure 4),
the coupling member extending in the second direction at an intermediate portion in the first direction to couple the two restraint members to each other (Omura, Top surfaces of the plurality of batteries 12 are in contact with respective separators 14, and separators 14 are in contact with upper eaves portions 6b of restraint members 6, [0039], Figure 4), wherein
the coupling member has a first engagement portion and a second engagement portion that are respectively engaged with the two restraint members in directions of sandwiching the two restraint members along the second direction (Omura, a pair of supports 54 are on wall 14b that covers top surface n of battery, [0033]).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), wherein a first bending-processed portion obtained by bending the metal member from the third direction to the second direction is provided at an end portion of the plate-shaped portion in the third direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 above).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), further comprising
a coupling member in a form of a strip (Omura, wall 14b that covers top surface n of battery 12 particularly prevents short circuit between adjacent batteries 12 or between battery 12 and end plate 4 caused by condensation on a surface of battery 12, [0031], Figure 4),
the coupling member extending in the second direction at an intermediate portion in the first direction to couple the two restraint members to each other (Omura, Top surfaces of the plurality of batteries 12 are in contact with respective separators 14, and separators 14 are in contact with upper eaves portions 6b of restraint members 6, [0039], Figure 4), wherein
the coupling member has a first engagement portion and a second engagement portion that are respectively engaged with the two restraint members in directions of sandwiching the two restraint members along the second direction (Omura, a pair of supports 54 are on wall 14b that covers top surface n of battery, [0033]), and
a first bending-processed portion obtained by bending the metal member from the third direction to the second direction is provided at an end portion of the plate-shaped portion in the third direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 above).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), further comprising a case that accommodates the plurality of battery cells, that supports the plurality of battery cells in at least the first direction, and that forms a unit including the plurality of battery cells (Omura, the structure of a battery module includes cover 8, pair of end plates 4, and pair of restraint members 6 fasten the plurality of batteries 12, which would form the claimed case, [0016], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), further comprising a coupling member in a form of a strip (Omura, wall 14b that covers top surface n of battery 12 particularly prevents short circuit between adjacent batteries 12 or between battery 12 and end plate 4 caused by condensation on a surface of battery 12, [0031], Figure 4),
the coupling member extending in the second direction at an intermediate portion in the first direction to couple the two restraint members to each other (Omura, Top surfaces of the plurality of batteries 12 are in contact with respective separators 14, and separators 14 are in contact with upper eaves portions 6b of restraint members 6, [0039], Figure 4), wherein
the coupling member has a first engagement portion and a second engagement portion that are respectively engaged with the two restraint members in directions of sandwiching the two restraint members along the second direction (Omura, a pair of supports 54 are on wall 14b that covers top surface n of battery, [0033]),
the battery module further comprising a case that accommodates the plurality of battery cells, that supports the plurality of battery cells in at least the first direction, and that forms a unit including the plurality of battery cells (Omura, the structure of a battery module includes cover 8, pair of end plates 4, and pair of restraint members 6 fasten the plurality of batteries 12, which would form the claimed case, [0016], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), wherein a first bending-processed portion obtained by bending the metal member from the third direction to the second direction is provided at an end portion of the plate-shaped portion in the third direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 above).
the battery module further comprising a case that accommodates the plurality of battery cells, that supports the plurality of battery cells in at least the first direction, and that forms a unit including the plurality of battery cells (Omura, the structure of a battery module includes cover 8, pair of end plates 4, and pair of restraint members 6 fasten the plurality of batteries 12, which would form the claimed case, [0016], Figure 1).
Claim(s) 4, 6, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omura (US 20200251699 A1, hereinafter Omura), in view of Muranaga et al. (JP 2018056235 A, hereinafter Muranaga), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito (US 20200106065 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), wherein a second bending-processed portion obtained by bending the metal member from the first direction to the second direction is provided at an end portion of the plate-shaped portion in the first direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 above).
Modified Omura is silent regarding a bending radius of the first bending-processed portion is smaller than a bending radius of the second bending-processed portion.
Ito discloses a battery module (Ito, battery module, Abstract), wherein a bending radius of the first bending-processed portion is smaller than a bending radius of the second bending-processed portion (Ito, two end portions of the outer metal plate layers are gently curved and bent toward the inner metal plate layers, [0053]).
Ito teaches that excessive bending stress acts on sites which are bent at a substantially right angle in the restraint members, and there is a risk of causing damage to the restraint members (Ito, [0006]).
Modified Omura and Ito are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery module comprising of bent metals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to bend the metal plates such that there is a gently curve, in order to prevent excessive bending stress acts on sites which are bent at a substantially right angle.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), wherein a second bending-processed portion obtained by bending the metal member from the first direction to the second direction is provided at an end portion of the plate-shaped portion in the first direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 above), and
a bending radius of the first bending-processed portion is smaller than a bending radius of the second bending-processed portion (Ito, two end portions of the outer metal plate layers are gently curved and bent toward the inner metal plate layers, [0053]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), wherein a first bending-processed portion obtained by bending the metal member from the third direction to the second direction is provided at an end portion of the plate-shaped portion in the third direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 above).
a second bending-processed portion obtained by bending the metal member from the first direction to the second direction is provided at an end portion of the plate-shaped portion in the first direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 above), and a
bending radius of the first bending-processed portion is smaller than a bending radius of the second bending-processed portion (Ito, two end portions of the outer metal plate layers are gently curved and bent toward the inner metal plate layers, [0053]),
the battery module further comprising a case that accommodates the plurality of battery cells, that supports the plurality of battery cells in at least the first direction, and that forms a unit including the plurality of battery cells (Omura, the structure of a battery module includes cover 8, pair of end plates 4, and pair of restraint members 6 fasten the plurality of batteries 12, which would form the claimed case, [0016], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), further comprising a coupling member in a form of a strip (Omura, wall 14b that covers top surface n of battery 12 particularly prevents short circuit between adjacent batteries 12 or between battery 12 and end plate 4 caused by condensation on a surface of battery 12, [0031], Figure 4),
the coupling member extending in the second direction at an intermediate portion in the first direction to couple the two restraint members to each other (Omura, Top surfaces of the plurality of batteries 12 are in contact with respective separators 14, and separators 14 are in contact with upper eaves portions 6b of restraint members 6, [0039], Figure 4), wherein
the coupling member has a first engagement portion and a second engagement portion that are respectively engaged with the two restraint members in directions of sandwiching the two restraint members along the second direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 above),
a first bending-processed portion obtained by bending the metal member from the third direction to the second direction is provided at an end portion of the plate-shaped portion in the third direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 above),
a second bending-processed portion obtained by bending the metal member from the first direction to the second direction is provided at an end portion of the plate-shaped portion in the first direction (Omura, Annotated Figure 2 above), and
a bending radius of the first bending-processed portion is smaller than a bending radius of the second bending-processed portion (Ito, two end portions of the outer metal plate layers are gently curved and bent toward the inner metal plate layers, [0053]),
the battery module further comprising a case that accommodates the plurality of battery cells, that supports the plurality of battery cells in at least the first direction, and that forms a unit including the plurality of battery cells (Omura, the structure of a battery module includes cover 8, pair of end plates 4, and pair of restraint members 6 fasten the plurality of batteries 12, which would form the claimed case, [0016], Figure 1).
Claim(s) 8, 10, 12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omura (US 20200251699 A1, hereinafter Omura), in view of Muranaga et al. (JP 2018056235 A, hereinafter Muranaga), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Son et al. (US 20160181604 A1, hereinafter Son).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), wherein the unit includes two or more battery cells (Omura, plurality of batteries, [0038]).
Omura is silent regarding each of the two or more battery cells has an output density of 8000 W/L or more.
Son discloses two or more battery cells has an output density of 8000 W/L or more (Son, lithium-ion battery cells having up to 8800 watts per liter (W/L), [0041]).
Son teaches that battery cells having up to 8800 watts per liter have excellent discharge and charge power (Son, [0041]; the disclosed range of up to 8800 W/L overlaps the claimed range of 8000 W/L or more).
Modified Omura and Son are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards battery cells.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the batteries of Son that have up to 8800 W/L in the battery module of modified Omura, in order to improve discharge and charge power.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed because the battery can have improved discharge and charge power selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), wherein the unit includes two or more battery cells (Omura, plurality of batteries, [0038]), and each of the two or more battery cells has an output density of 8000 W/L or more (Son, lithium-ion battery cells having up to 8800 watts per liter (W/L), [0041]; the disclosed range of up to 8800 W/L overlaps the claimed range of 8000 W/L or more).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed because the battery can have improved discharge and charge power selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), wherein the unit includes two or more battery cells, and each of the two or more battery cells has an output density of 8000 W/L or more (Son, lithium-ion battery cells having up to 8800 watts per liter (W/L), [0041]; the disclosed range of up to 8800 W/L overlaps the claimed range of 8000 W/L or more).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed because the battery can have improved discharge and charge power selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), wherein the unit includes two or more battery cells (Omura, plurality of batteries, [0038]), and each of the two or more battery cells has an output density of 8000 W/L or more (Son, lithium-ion battery cells having up to 8800 watts per liter (W/L), [0041]; the disclosed range of up to 8800 W/L overlaps the claimed range of 8000 W/L or more).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed because the battery can have improved discharge and charge power selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Omura discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Omura discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Omura, battery module, Abstract), wherein the unit includes two or more battery cells (Omura, plurality of batteries, [0038]), and each of the two or more battery cells has an output density of 8000 W/L or more (Son, lithium-ion battery cells having up to 8800 watts per liter (W/L), [0041]; the disclosed range of up to 8800 W/L overlaps the claimed range of 8000 W/L or more).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed because the battery can have improved discharge and charge power selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20110117409 A1 discloses a battery module having improved end plate (Title);
US 20200243815 A1 discloses a battery module comprising a pair of end plates disposed respectively at end faces of a battery stack and are connected by bind bars (Abstract).
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752