DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al (US PG Pub. No. 20220199940) in view of Shim et al (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0023671).
Regarding Claim 1, Oh discloses, at least in figure 3: A display device (title) comprising: a first body (below 111) having a first substrate (110, ¶ [0046]) and a display area (within the boundaries of (111)) and a non-display area (outside of 111 on both sides) on the first substrate (110), the display area including a plurality (¶ [0054]) of subpixels (within PP, ¶ [0046]); a flexible film (130, ¶ [0046]) on an end of the non-display area and electrically connected to the non-display area (117 is conductive, ¶ [0084]); a bonding member (117) on the first body, including a conductive adhesive material (¶ [0084]), and bonding the first body and the flexible film(it is an adhesive); a second substrate (111, ¶ [0046]) on the first body, the flexible film (130) and the bonding member (117) at least partially exposed from the second substrate (111) , and the second substrate (111) including a metallic material (¶ [0078]); an adhesive layer (160, ¶ [0079]) between the first body and the second substrate (111); and a blocking film (170b, ¶ [0099], it contains a metal and an insulator and is a sealing layer which would block the entry of moisture and contamination as well as the exit of light) on a lower surface of the second substrate (111) that faces the first body, the blocking film (170b) including an insulating material (¶ [0099]).
Oh fails to disclose that the blocking layer is on the lower surface of the second substrate
Shim teaches a blocking layer (light blocking layer BK) is on the lower surface of the second substrate. (claim 22, pg. 23, right column).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a light blocking layer on the lower substrate of Oh, as taught by Shim, to block or absorb unwanted light transmissions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al (US PG Pub. No. 20220199940).
Regarding Claim 20, Oh discloses in figure 3: A display device (title) comprising: a first body (below 111); a flexible film (130) on the first body; a bonding member (117) between the first body and the flexible film (130); a second body (111) on the first body(below 111), the second body (111) including a metallic material(¶ [0078]); an adhesive layer (160) between the first body (below 111)and the second body (111), an undercut region (160 is in it) positioned between the second body (111) and the first body (below 111); and a blocking film (170b) on a surface of the second body (the end of 111) adjacent to the undercut region, the blocking film (170b) including an insulating material.(¶ [0099]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 2, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in Claim 2, and specifically comprising the limitation of “wherein the blocking film is disposed between the bonding member and the second substrate“ including the remaining limitations.
Claims 3-10 are allowable, at least, because of their dependencies on claim 2.
Examiner Note: The blocking film of Shim, above, in the device of OH, cannot be on the bottom of the upper substrate and between the bonding member and the substrate at the same time.
Regarding Claim 11, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in Claim 11, and specifically comprising the limitation of “a hole in the bank, the overcoating layer, and an uppermost layer of the inorganic insulation layer, wherein the bonding member extends in(to) the hole” including the remaining limitations.
Claims 12-19 are allowable, at least, because of their dependencies on claim 11.
CONTACT INFORMATION
/DONALD L RALEIGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875