DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed May 19th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-12 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 19th, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a modulating element in claim 1, ln. 13.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. It will be interpreted that a modulating element is a control valve, an orifice plate, a modulating nozzle, or the like as described in Paragraph 0013 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemann et al. (US 20210307312 A1) in view of Van De Woestyne (US 20210299692 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Klemann discloses a supplementing spraying system (entire system, Fig. 1) for an agricultural sprayer (“field sprayer”, not explicitly shown, but entire system is connected to a field sprayer, Paragraph 0028) comprising:
a base nozzle array (bar that main dispensing units 12a-12g are connected to, annotated in Fig. 1) configured to spray an agricultural product (main dispensing units 12a-12g can dispense liquid onto agricultural land, Paragraph 0029), the base nozzle array (bar that main dispensing units 12a-12g are connected to, annotated in Fig. 1) includes:
a plurality of base nozzles (12a-12g, Fig. 1) configured for installation along a sprayer boom (10, main dispensing units 12a-12g are attached to sprayer boom 10, shown in Fig. 1, Paragraph 0028); and
a base nozzle controller (“control unit”, Paragraph 0034) in communication with the plurality of base nozzles (12a-12g, not explicitly shown but main dispensing units 12a-12g are connected to a control unit, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0034), the base nozzle controller (“control unit”, Paragraph 0034) configured to control application of a base flow rate of the agricultural product from the plurality of base nozzles (12a-12g, the control unit determines the amount of liquid to be provided to an individual main dispensing unit 12a-12g for a planned dispensing operation, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0034);
a plurality of supplemental nozzle assemblies (14a-14e, Fig. 1) configured to spray a supplemental agricultural product (interpreting as an agricultural product that completes or makes an addition, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, auxiliary dispensing units 14a-14e are adapted to dispense liquid onto agricultural land, and liquid can be dispensed from auxiliary dispensing units 14a-14e in addition to main dispensing units 12a-12g, Paragraphs 0030-0031), each supplemental nozzle assembly (14a-14e, Fig. 1) of the plurality of supplemental nozzles assemblies (14a-14e, Fig. 1) includes:
a supplemental spray nozzle (not explicitly shown, but the auxiliary dispensing units each have a spray nozzle, Paragraphs 0002, 0008) configured for installation between respective base nozzles (12a-12g, Fig. 1) of the plurality of base nozzles (12a-12g, shown in Fig. 1); and
a modulating element (“valve units”, Paragraph 0040) in communication with the supplemental spray nozzle (spray nozzle of auxiliary dispensing units 14a-14e, not explicitly shown, but there are valve units that can unblock, block, or adjust a defined flow rate of respective flow coming through outlet 20d, 22d connecting to auxiliary dispensing units 14a, 14b and switch auxiliary dispensing units 14a, 14b on and off, shown in Fig. 2, Paragraphs 0002, 0008, 0040), the modulating element (“valve units”, Paragraph 0040) configured to control a supplemental flow rate of the supplemental agricultural product from the respective supplemental spray nozzle (spray nozzle of auxiliary dispensing units 14a-14e, valve units connecting to auxiliary dispensing units 14a, 14b can be adjusted to a defined flow rate through a control unit, Paragraphs 0002, 0008, 0040); and
a supplemental nozzle controller (“control unit”, Paragraph 0040) in communication with the plurality of supplemental nozzle assemblies (14a-14e, Fig. 1), wherein the supplemental nozzle controller (“control unit”, Paragraph 0040) is configured to control respective modulating elements (“valve units”, Paragraph 0040) of the plurality of supplemental nozzle assemblies (14a-14e, a control unit can control valve units that can unblock, block, or adjust a defined flow rate of respective flow coming through outlet 20d, 22d connecting to auxiliary dispensing units 14a, 14b and switch auxiliary dispensing units 14a, 14b on and off, Figs. 1-2, Paragraph 0040),
However, Klemann does not disclose wherein the supplemental nozzle controller is further configured to determine a target location of a target, receive a nozzle location of a supplemental nozzle assembly of the plurality of supplemental nozzle assemblies, compare the target location and the nozzle location, and transmit an application initiation instruction to the supplemental nozzle assembly when a difference between the target location and nozzle location satisfies a threshold condition.
Van De Woestyne teaches a supplementing spraying system (102, 200, Figs. 1, 3) comprising the supplemental nozzle controller (224, Figs. 3-4) is further configured to determine a target location of a target (sensors 128 provide information of the location and position of target plants to the control system, Paragraphs 0024, 0085), receive a nozzle location of a supplemental nozzle assembly of the plurality of supplemental nozzle assemblies (sprayer operation system 310, which is a part of spray control system 224, includes position logic 339 which determines position information, such as height, orientation, distance, etc., relative to various components of the sprayer, such as nozzle(s) 112, Paragraph 0085), compare the target location and the nozzle location (position logic 339 can determine the distance between a spray nozzle(s) 112 and the target plant, Paragraph 0085), and transmit an application initiation instruction to the supplemental nozzle assembly when a difference between the target location and nozzle location satisfies a threshold condition (based on known position of the target plant at a given geographic location, control system 208 generates control signals to control operation and/or position of spray nozzle(s) 112 to apply substance to the target plant, and spray quality comparison logic 356 within sprayer performance system 312 of spray control system 224 can be used to compare an actual distance between a nozzle and the target plant to a threshold value which can be an acceptable deviation from the desired location of substances applied to the target, Paragraphs 0085, 0092).
Klemann and Van De Woestyne are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of supplementing spraying systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the supplemental nozzle controller taught in Van De Woestyne’s system to Klemann’s system, to have the motivation to prevent spray material wastage that can lead to increased costs and reduced yields (Van De Woestyne, Paragraph 0016).
With respect to claim 4, Klemann, as modified by Van De Woestyne, discloses the supplementing spraying system of claim 1. Klemann further discloses the supplemental nozzle controller (“control unit”, Paragraph 0040) is configured to independently control the modulating elements (“valve units”, Paragraph 0040) of the plurality of supplemental nozzle assemblies (14a-14e, a control unit can control valve units that can unblock, block, or adjust a defined flow rate of respective flow coming through individual outlets connecting to auxiliary dispensing units and switch auxiliary dispensing units on and off, Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 12, Klemann, as modified by Van De Woestyne, discloses the supplementing spraying system of claim 1. Klemann further discloses the base nozzle arrays are configured to apply the base flow rate of the agricultural product (the control unit determines the amount of liquid to be provided to an individual main dispensing unit 12a-12g for a planned dispensing operation, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0034) and the supplemental nozzle assemblies are configured to selectively apply the supplemental flow rate of the supplemental agricultural product to overlap the application of the base flow rate (valve units connecting to auxiliary dispensing units 14a, 14b can be adjusted to a defined flow rate through a control unit, and spray from the auxiliary dispensing units can be used for row-related dispensing in addition to the spray from the main dispensing units for the entire land, Paragraphs 0002, 0007-0008, 0019, 0040).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemann et al. (US 20210307312 A1) in view of Van De Woestyne (US 20210299692 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Funseth et al. (US 20150375247 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Klemann, as modified by Van De Woestyne, discloses the supplementing spraying system of claim 1. However, Klemann and Van De Woestyne do not teach the supplemental nozzle controller includes a plurality of supplemental nozzle controllers, wherein the modulating element of each supplemental nozzle assembly in communication with a respective supplemental nozzle controller of the plurality of supplemental nozzle controllers.
Funseth teaches a supplementing spraying system (600, Fig. 2, Paragraph 0091) comprising the supplemental nozzle controller (620, Fig. 2) includes a plurality of supplemental nozzle controllers (not explicitly shown, but each individual nozzle 100 has a local nozzle controller circuit, Paragraph 0073), wherein the modulating element (30, 32, not explicitly shown, but each nozzle 100 has a valve, Figs. 3-4, Paragraph 0073) of each supplemental nozzle assembly (100, Fig. 2) in communication with a respective supplemental nozzle controller (not explicitly shown, but each individual nozzle 100 has a local nozzle controller circuit, Paragraph 0073) of the plurality of supplemental nozzle controllers (not explicitly shown, but each individual nozzle 100 has a local nozzle controller circuit that can modulate pulse width duration of signals to open and close the valves of each nozzle 100, Paragraph 0073).
Klemann, Van De Woestyne, and Funseth are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of supplementing spraying systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the plurality of supplemental nozzle controllers taught in Funseth’s system to Klemann’s system, as modified by Van De Woestyne, to have the motivation of the system covering a larger dynamic range of performance to individual nozzle bodies (Funseth, Paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 3, Klemann, as modified by Van De Woestyne and Funseth, discloses the supplementing spraying system of claim 2. Funseth further teaches the respective supplemental nozzle controller (not explicitly shown, but each individual nozzle 100 has a local nozzle controller circuit, Paragraph 0073) is configured to independently control the associated modulating element (not explicitly shown, but each individual nozzle 100 has a local nozzle controller circuit that can modulate pulse width duration of signals to open and close the valves of each nozzle 100, Paragraph 0073).
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klemann et al. (US 20210307312 A1) in view of Van De Woestyne (US 20210299692 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sibley et al. (US 20230124667 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Klemann, as modified by Van De Woestyne, discloses the supplementing spraying system of claim 1. However, Klemann and Van De Woestyne do not teach the supplemental nozzle controller is configured to detect one or more target locations.
Sibley teaches a supplementing spraying system (400, 2408, Figs. 4, 21) comprising the supplemental nozzle controller (420, not explicitly shown, but each treatment module 2444 has a compute unit, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0258) is configured to detect one or more target locations (treatment system 400 identifies a target plant to spray and sends signals to compute unit 420, and compute units of the treatment modules 2444 can detect and identify an object and its location, Paragraphs 0143, 0258).
Klemann, Van De Woestyne, and Sibley are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of supplementing spraying systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the supplemental nozzle controller taught in Sibley’s system to Klemann’s system, as modified by Van De Woestyne, to have the motivation of the system applying treatment to a target by selectively activating the treatment mechanism based on a result of determining the target (Sibley, Paragraph 0007).
With respect to claim 6, Klemann, as modified by Van De Woestyne and Sibley, discloses the supplementing spraying system of claim 5. Sibley further teaches the supplemental nozzle controller (420, “compute unit”, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0258) includes a target comparator configured to compare a target location of the one or more target locations with at least one supplemental nozzle location of the plurality of supplemental spray nozzles (470, 2444a-c, compute units of the treatment modules 2444 can detect and identify an object and its location relative to the treatment module, Figs. 4, 21, Paragraph 0258).
Regarding claim 7, Klemann, as modified by Van De Woestyne and Sibley, discloses the supplementing spraying system of claim 6. Sibley further teaches the supplemental nozzle controller (420, “compute unit”, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0258) is configured to control one or more modulating elements (not explicitly shown, but the treatment unit 470 has a valve, Paragraph 0143) of the supplemental nozzle assemblies (470, 2444a-c, Figs. 4, 21) based on the comparison of the target location with the at least one supplemental nozzle location (compute unit 420 can calculate a direction and orientation of the treatment unit 470 to activate and open its valve based on detection of an object and determination of its location relative to treatment unit 470, Paragraphs 0141, 0143).
In regards to claim 8, Klemann, as modified by Van De Woestyne, discloses the supplementing spraying system of claim 1. However, Klemann and Van De Woestyne do not teach a target sensor as claimed.
Sibley teaches a supplementing spraying system (400, 2408, Figs. 4, 21) comprising a target sensor (432, Fig. 4) in communication with the supplemental nozzle controller (420, compute unit 420 can fuse sensing signals received by sensors 432, Paragraph 0131), the target sensor (432, Fig. 4) configured to monitor a preceding area relative to one or more of the supplemental nozzle assemblies (470, 2444a-c, sensors 432 can identify a position and location of the agricultural treatment system 400 and its treatment units 470, and can include simultaneous visualization and mapping (SLAM) to generate images of the terrain or ground scene using images, which can include a preceding area relative to one or more of the supplemental nozzle assemblies, Figs. 4, 21, Paragraph 0131); and
wherein the supplemental nozzle controller (420, “compute unit”, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0258) is configured to identify a target and determine a target location of the target based on information from the target sensor (432, compute unit 420 can fuse sensing signals received by sensors 432, which can identify and determine an object of interest, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0131).
Klemann, Van De Woestyne, and Sibley are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of supplementing spraying systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the target sensor taught in Sibley’s system to Klemann’s system, as modified by Van De Woestyne, to have the motivation of the system applying treatment to a target by selectively activating the treatment mechanism based on a result of determining the target (Sibley, Paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 9, Klemann, as modified by Van De Woestyne and Sibley, discloses the supplementing spraying system of claim 8. Sibley further teaches the supplemental nozzle controller (420, “compute unit”, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0258) is configured to compare observations of the target sensor with one or more target identification characteristics to identify the target (an agricultural object can be identified through growth stages, characteristics and objects of a scene/geographic boundary, environment characteristics, or a combination of characteristics, Paragraph 0081-0082).
With respect to claim 10, Klemann, as modified by Van De Woestyne and Sibley, discloses the supplementing spraying system of claim 9. Sibley further teaches the supplemental nozzle controller (420, “compute unit”, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0258) includes a target comparator configured to compare a target location of the one or more target locations with at least one supplemental nozzle location of the plurality of supplemental spray nozzles (470, 2444a-c, compute units of the treatment modules 2444 can detect and identify an object and its location relative to the treatment module, Figs. 4, 21, Paragraph 0258).
With respect to claim 11, Klemann, as modified by Van De Woestyne and Sibley, discloses the supplementing spraying system of claim 9. Sibley further teaches the one or more target identification characteristics include one or more crop characteristics, weed characteristics, or pest characteristics (an agricultural object can be identified through crop growth stages, characteristics and objects of a scene/geographic boundary, environment characteristics, or a combination of characteristics, Paragraph 0081-0082).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752