Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/21/2024 and 5/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim does not have a “.” at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-12, 14-15, 18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Czinger (US20170050677A1), henceforth referred to as Czinger.
Regarding claim 1, Czinger discloses a vehicle structural component comprising: an additively-manufactured (AM) structure with a first end and a second end opposing the first end (Paragraph [0097]: "3-D printing can be used to form nodes (e.g., joints)" and Figure 17A: Node 1703 formed with first and second ends), wherein the AM structure includes a pathway from the first end to the second end, and a non-AM structure passing along the pathway from the first end to the second end (Paragraph [0124]: "FIG. 17A shows an example of connecting a tube 1701 (e.g., a connector) with a node 1703 (e.g., a joint) using a slip-on structure 1700. The node may have a hollow structure for the tube to insert through the hollow center of the node"), wherein the non-AM structure and the AM structure are fixedly connected to one another at a connection (Paragraph [0124]: "In some cases, after the tube is inserted through the node, additional fixing means such as adhesives may be applied to further enable a coupling between the tube and the node").
Regarding claim 2, Czinger discloses the connection includes at least an adhesive, a weld, a cold-spray weld, or a deformable feature (Paragraph [0124]: "In some cases, after the tube is inserted through the node, additional fixing means such as adhesives may be applied to further enable a coupling between the tube and the node").
Regarding claim 5, Czinger discloses at least the AM structure or the non-AM structure further include a deformation feature configured to deform to form at least part of the connection (Paragraph [0156]: "The tolerance between the inner tube diameter and the protrusion may be such that the joint and tube form a force fit connection. In the case of a force fit connection, centering features may or may not deform upon tube insertion in to the joint").
Regarding claim 7, Czinger discloses the deformation feature is configured to deform in response to pressure variations caused by at least a fluid pressure or a mechanical force (Paragraph [0156]: "The tolerance between the inner tube diameter and the protrusion may be such that the joint and tube form a force fit connection. In the case of a force fit connection, centering features may or may not deform upon tube insertion in to the joint").
Regarding claim 8, Czinger discloses the pathway includes a hollow pathway through the AM structure (Paragraph [0124]: "The node may have a hollow structure for the tube to insert through the hollow center of the node"), and a portion of the non-AM structure passes through the AM structure through the pathway (Paragraph [0124]: "FIG. 17A shows an example of connecting a tube 1701 (e.g., a connector) with a node 1703 (e.g., a joint) using a slip-on structure 1700. The node may have a hollow structure for the tube to insert through the hollow center of the node").
Regarding claim 9, Czinger discloses the pathway includes an open pathway (Paragraph [0124]: "The node may have a hollow structure for the tube to insert through the hollow center of the node").
Regarding claim 10, Czinger discloses the non-AM structure is at least: a stamped component, an extruded component, a drawn over mandrel formed component; a machined component, or a composite component (Paragraph [0126]: "Alternatively or additionally, standard or custom extrusions or tubes may be formed directly from the panels, using 3-D printing, braiding, composites, lithography, welding, milling, extrusion, molding, casting, or any other technique or combinations thereof. Nodes may be formed on the tubes to provide strong connection between two tubes").
Regarding claim 11, Czinger discloses the composite component comprises at least one of a carbon fiber, a para-aramid fiber, or a glass fiber (Paragraph [0126]: "Alternatively or additionally, standard or custom extrusions or tubes may be formed directly from the panels, using 3-D printing, braiding, composites, lithography, welding, milling, extrusion, molding, casting, or any other technique or combinations thereof. Nodes may be formed on the tubes to provide strong connection between two tubes" and paragraph [0145]: "Any part of the vehicle body components (e.g., tubes, connectors, joints, nodes, panels, sub-assemblies, and/or chassis modules) may be fabricated using any materials, such as metal, carbon fibers, or combinations thereof").
Regarding claim 12, Czinger discloses the non-AM structure is an elongated tube or closed shape (Figure 17A: tube 1701).
Regarding claim 14, Czinger discloses a method of forming a vehicle component comprising: obtaining an additively-manufactured (AM) structure with a first end and a second end opposing the first end (Paragraph [0097]: "3-D printing can be used to form nodes (e.g., joints)" and Figure 17A: Node 1703 formed with first and second ends), wherein the AM structure includes a pathway from the first end to the second end, and obtaining a non-AM structure passing along the pathway from the first end to the second end (Paragraph [0124]: "FIG. 17A shows an example of connecting a tube 1701 (e.g., a connector) with a node 1703 (e.g., a joint) using a slip-on structure 1700. The node may have a hollow structure for the tube to insert through the hollow center of the node"), and fixedly joining the AM structure and non-AM structure to one another at a connection (Paragraph [0124]: "In some cases, after the tube is inserted through the node, additional fixing means such as adhesives may be applied to further enable a coupling between the tube and the node").
Regarding claim 15, Czinger discloses fixedly joining the AM structure to the non-AM structure comprises at least using an adhesive, welding, cold-spray welding, or deforming a deformable feature (Paragraph [0124]: "In some cases, after the tube is inserted through the node, additional fixing means such as adhesives may be applied to further enable a coupling between the tube and the node").
Regarding claim 18, Czinger discloses at least the AM structure or the non-AM structure further include a deformation feature, wherein fixedly joining the AM structure and the non-AM structure comprises deforming the deformation feature to form at least part of the connection (Paragraph [0156]: "The tolerance between the inner tube diameter and the protrusion may be such that the joint and tube form a force fit connection. In the case of a force fit connection, centering features may or may not deform upon tube insertion in to the joint").
Regarding claim 20, Czinger discloses the deformation feature deforms in response to pressure variations caused by at least a fluid pressure or a mechanical force (Paragraph [0156]: "The tolerance between the inner tube diameter and the protrusion may be such that the joint and tube form a force fit connection. In the case of a force fit connection, centering features may or may not deform upon tube insertion in to the joint").
Regarding claim 21, Czinger discloses the pathway includes an open pathway (Paragraph [0124]: "FIG. 17A shows an example of connecting a tube 1701 (e.g., a connector) with a node 1703 (e.g., a joint) using a slip-on structure 1700. The node may have a hollow structure for the tube to insert through the hollow center of the node").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czinger.
Regarding claim 13, Czinger discloses the non-AM structure has a curved section, wherein the curved section is fixedly connected to the connection (Figure 17D: tubes 1717 comprise curved sections coupled to connection point 1723). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the non-AM structure whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claims 3-4 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czinger in view of Hasenauer (US-20200406984-A1), henceforth referred to as Hasenauer.
Regarding claim 3, Czinger does not teach an internal portion connecting the opening to the connection portion. Hasenauer discloses the connection includes the adhesive, and the non-AM structure includes an opening and an internal portion connecting the opening to the connection, wherein the internal portion is configured to flow the adhesive from the opening to the connection (Paragraph [0062]: "In order to be able to press or inject the adhesive into the respective connection joint, groove-shaped openings may alternatively be formed on the end faces 2a, 3a, 4a of the connection bodies 2, 3, 4 facing the connection node"). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame structure of Czinger with the internal portion of Hasenauer in order to more fully cover the joint in adhesive.
Regarding claim 4, Czinger does not teach an expanding adhesive. Hasenauer discloses the adhesive is an expanding adhesive, wherein an expansion of the expanding adhesive causes a flow of the expanding adhesive through the internal portion (Paragraph [0019]: "Preferably, the adhesive increases in volume after activation in order to compensate for possible tolerances between the connection element and the connection body"). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the joint of Czinger with the expanding adhesive of Hasenauer in order to compensate for tolerances in the joint (Paragraph [0019]: “Preferably, the adhesive increases in volume after activation in order to compensate for possible tolerances between the connection element and the connection body”).
Regarding claim 16, Czinger does not teach a passage connecting the opening and connection. Hasenauer discloses the non-AM structure further comprises a passage and an opening at the connection that is in fluid communication with the passage, wherein using an adhesive comprises: providing an adhesive to the passage so that the adhesive flows from the opening to the connection (Paragraph [0062]: "In order to be able to press or inject the adhesive into the respective connection joint, groove-shaped openings may alternatively be formed on the end faces 2a, 3a, 4a of the connection bodies 2, 3, 4 facing the connection node"). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame structure of Czinger with the internal portion of Hasenauer in order to more fully cover the joint in adhesive.
Regarding claim 17, Czinger does not teach an expanding adhesive. Hasenauer discloses the adhesive is an expanding adhesive, wherein an expansion of the expanding adhesive causes the flow of the expanding adhesive through the passage and opening (Paragraph [0019]: "Preferably, the adhesive increases in volume after activation in order to compensate for possible tolerances between the connection element and the connection body"). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the joint of Czinger with the expanding adhesive of Hasenauer in order to compensate for tolerances in the joint (Paragraph [0019]: “Preferably, the adhesive increases in volume after activation in order to compensate for possible tolerances between the connection element and the connection body”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the “flow of the adhesive through the internal portion deforms the deformation feature to form at least part of the connection” and the “the deformation feature is deformed via a force provided by a flow of adhesive” as found in dependent claims 6 and 19 respectively, is not found in prior art, nor is an obvious combination of prior art.
Cited Prior Art not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes Woleader (US-20140241790-A1), which discloses a glued joint.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW JAMES O'NEILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614