DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In Applicant’s response dated 8/28/2026, Claims 1 and 13 are amended. Claims 1-21 are pending and examined.
Status of Application
Rejections provided in the Office Action dated 6/1/26 are modified as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell et al. [US20110207002A1], hereinafter Powell.
Regarding Claim 1, Powell discloses a fuel cell system [Powell throughout] comprising:
a fuel source configured to provide a fuel input stream [Powell 0005-0019, 0085, and throughout, methane-enriched raw product stream 50, Figs. 1-5];
a first carbon dioxide removal system configured to receive the fuel input stream and remove carbon dioxide from the fuel input stream [Powell 0087-0088 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, first acid gas removal unit 400 receives the fuel input 50 and removes a predominant portion of the carbon dioxide];
a fuel cell stack comprising [Powell 0087 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, stack 730]:
an anode section comprising an anode inlet configured to receive an anode input stream [Powell 0087-0088 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, anode section 732 with inlet on the side with fuel mixture 76 as the input stream], and an anode outlet configured to output an anode exhaust stream [Powell 0095 and throughout, outlet on the side of exhaust stream 95 ], and
a cathode section comprising a cathode inlet configured to receive a cathode input stream [Powell 0092-0094 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, cathode 734 with inlet on the side with input stream 92], and a cathode outlet configured to output a cathode exhaust stream [Powell 0092-0094, Figs. 2-5, outlet is on the side of cathode 734 with the cathode exhaust 94];
an anode exhaust gas recycle system comprising a second carbon dioxide removal system configured to receive the anode exhaust stream and remove carbon dioxide from the anode exhaust stream [Powell 0095, 0222-0235 and throughout, Fig. 4, recycled back to anode mixture on the inlet side of anode 732 as shown in Fig. 4 and second acid gas removal unit 410 removes carbon dioxide ];
a combining junction configured to receive (i) the fuel input stream at the first carbon dioxide removal system, and (ii) the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system, and to output a mixed stream to the anode inlet as the anode input stream [Powell 0222-0235, Fig. 4, Powell teaches an embodiment shown in Fig. 4 where the combining junction is where regenerated stream 42 from the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 is recycled back to the first acid gas removal unit 400. Powell teaches the combining junction receives the fuel input stream at the first carbon dioxide removal system and does not explicitly teach the combining junction receives the fuel input stream from the first carbon dioxide; however, such modification would merely require the regeneration stream 42 to be joined with the fuel input line just after the first carbon dioxide removal system 400 instead of at the first carbon dioxide removal system 400 as shown in Fig. 4. See modified Fig. 4 below for clarity on such modification of Powell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that such modification would be a design choice utilized if the amount of carbon dioxide removed by the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 is sufficient for input into the fuel cell or if there is no additional benefit for the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 to pass through the first carbon dioxide removal system 400. Further, the claimed combining junction with such configuration would serve the same purpose of recycling the anode exhaust whether it is positioned at the first carbon dioxide removal system or just after it. Thus, such modification is obvious per MPEP 2144.04, VI, C rearrangement of parts.]; and
a heat recovery steam generator configured to (i) receive the anode input stream and the anode exhaust stream and heat the anode input stream using heat from the anode exhaust stream and (ii) output the anode input stream directly into the anode section [Powell 0033, 0090, 0095-0096, 0219-0221, Figs. 1-5, and throughout, Powell does not explicitly teach a heat recovery steam generator; however, Powell teaches the fuel mixture for anode 732 may be heated by the recycle stream 95a from anode exhaust stream 95 [0033, 0090, 0219-0221], which includes heat energy and steam [0095], to the preheat fuel mixture 76, which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Further, Powell teaches an embodiment of Fig. 5 where a anode input stream 76 is made into a preheated fuel mixture 76a through heat exchanger 145 [0033, 0090, 0219-0221], which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Powell further teaches the heat energy recovered from the anode exhaust is used to generate superheated hydromethanation gas feed stream 12 that is fed to the hydromethanation reactor 200, which as shown in Fig. 1-2 provides the fuel stream 50 to the portions of the system shown in Figs. 3-5, which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Powell further teaches that heat exchangers can be steam boilers or steam generators [Powell 0179], which reads on the claimed heat recovery steam generators. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Powell’s embodiment of Fig. 5 and teachings about heat exchangers to heat exchanger 145 to Powell’s fuel cell for the predictable result of a fuel stream heated to the operation temperature of the fuel cell using heat from the anode exhaust stream [Powell 0218-0221].].
Alternative rejection of claim 1, for purpose of compact prosecution, showing the modification of Powell (above) is known in the art:
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell et al. [US20110207002A1], hereinafter Powell, and in view of Jamal et al. [US2013118735A1, as provided on the IDS dated 4/20/2024], hereinafter Jamal.
Regarding Claim 1, Powell discloses a fuel cell system [Powell throughout] comprising:
a fuel source configured to provide a fuel input stream [Powell 0005-0019, 0085, and throughout, methane-enriched raw product stream 50, Figs. 1-5];
a first carbon dioxide removal system configured to receive the fuel input stream and remove carbon dioxide from the fuel input stream [Powell 0087-0088 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, first acid gas removal unit 400 receives the fuel input 50 and removes a predominant portion of the carbon dioxide];
a fuel cell stack comprising [Powell 0087 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, stack 730]:
an anode section comprising an anode inlet configured to receive an anode input stream [Powell 0087-0088 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, anode section 732 with inlet on the side with fuel mixture 76 as the input stream], and an anode outlet configured to output an anode exhaust stream [Powell 0095 and throughout, outlet on the side of exhaust stream 95 ], and
a cathode section comprising a cathode inlet configured to receive a cathode input stream [Powell 0092-0094 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, cathode 734 with inlet on the side with input stream 92], and a cathode outlet configured to output a cathode exhaust stream [Powell 0092-0094, Figs. 2-5, outlet is on the side of cathode 734 with the cathode exhaust 94];
an anode exhaust gas recycle system comprising a second carbon dioxide removal system configured to receive the anode exhaust stream and remove carbon dioxide from the anode exhaust stream [Powell 0095, 0222-0235 and throughout, Fig. 4, recycled back to anode mixture on the inlet side of anode 732 as shown in Fig. 4 and second acid gas removal unit 410 removes carbon dioxide ];
a combining junction configured to receive (i) the fuel input stream at the first carbon dioxide removal system, and (ii) the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system, and to output a mixed stream to the anode inlet as the anode input stream [Powell 0222-0235, Fig. 4, Powell teaches an embodiment shown in Fig. 4 where the combining junction is where regenerated stream 42 from the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 is recycled back to the first acid gas removal unit 400. Powell teaches the combining junction receives the fuel input stream at the first carbon dioxide removal system and does not explicitly teach the combining junction receives the fuel input stream from the first carbon dioxide; however, such modification would merely require the regeneration stream 42 to be joined with the fuel input line just after the first carbon dioxide removal system 400 instead of at the first carbon dioxide removal system 400 as shown in Fig. 4. See modified Fig. 4 below for clarity on such modification of Powell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that such modification would be a design choice utilized if the amount of carbon dioxide removed by the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 is sufficient for input into the fuel cell or if there is no additional benefit for the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 to pass through the first carbon dioxide removal system 400. Further, the claimed combining junction with such configuration would serve the same purpose of recycling the anode exhaust whether it is positioned at the first carbon dioxide removal system or just after it. Thus, such modification is obvious per MPEP 2144.04, VI, C rearrangement of parts.]; and
a heat recovery steam generator configured to (i) receive the anode input stream and the anode exhaust stream and heat the anode input stream using heat from the anode exhaust stream and (ii) output the anode input stream directly into the anode section [Powell 0033, 0090, 0095-0096, 0219-0221, Figs. 1-5, and throughout, Powell does not explicitly teach a heat recovery steam generator; however, Powell teaches the fuel mixture for anode 732 may be heated by the recycle stream 95a from anode exhaust stream 95 [0033, 0090, 0219-0221], which includes heat energy and steam [0095], to the preheat fuel mixture 76, which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Further, Powell teaches an embodiment of Fig. 5 where a anode input stream 76 is made into a preheated fuel mixture 76a through heat exchanger 145 [0033, 0090, 0219-0221], which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Powell further teaches the heat energy recovered from the anode exhaust is used to generate superheated hydromethanation gas feed stream 12 that is fed to the hydromethanation reactor 200, which as shown in Fig. 1-2 provides the fuel stream 50 to the portions of the system shown in Figs. 3-5, which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Powell further teaches that heat exchangers can be steam boilers or steam generators [Powell 0179], which reads on the claimed heat recovery steam generators. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Powell’s embodiment of Fig. 5 and teachings about heat exchangers to heat exchanger 145 to Powell’s fuel cell for the predictable result of a fuel stream heated to the operation temperature of the fuel cell using heat from the anode exhaust stream [Powell 0218-0221].].
For purpose of compact prosecution, Jamal teaches the combining junction as described in modifying Powell such that the combining junction is after the first carbon dioxide removal system [Jamal 0029, 0035 and throughout, Fig. 1, combining junction at hydrodesulfurization system 20 receives input stream from first carbon dioxide removal system 10 throughout conduit 18 and the anode exhaust stream from second carbon dioxide removal system 24 where a coupled stream is provided to the anode inlet through conduit 28]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching with Powell’s fuel cell system for the predictable result of a fuel cell system with sufficient carbon dioxide removal prior to the fuel cell [Jamal abstract and throughout, Carbon dioxide removal is taught throughout. Powell claim 1, 0019, and throughout, Carbon dioxide removal is taught throughout.].
End of alternative rejection of claim 1 for purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim(s) 2-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Powell as provided for claim 1 above (either the first rejection over Powell or alternatively the rejection over Powell in view of Jamal).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Powell discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the fuel cell stack is a solid oxide fuel cell stack [Powell 0215 , and throughout; Alternatively, Jamal abstract and throughout. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching with Powell for the predictable result of a fuel for a known type of fuel cell stack.].
Regarding Claim 3, modified Powell discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the fuel input stream comprises syngas [Powell 0110, claims 13, 18-19, and throughout; Alternatively, Jamal 0037, 0060, 0062 and throughout, Jamal teaches a synthetic gas feed and reformed syngas. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching with Powell for the predictable result of a fuel for a fuel cell.].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Powell discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first carbon dioxide removal system is a carbon dioxide absorption system configured for use with an acid gas removal solvent [Powell 0197; Alternatively, Jamal 0028, 0046 Fig. 1: Jamal teaches an acid gas removal system 10 [0028] using a solvent [0046] as a first carbon dioxide removal system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching with Powell for the predictable result of a fuel for a fuel cell with carbon dioxide removal.] .
Regarding Claim 5, modified Powell discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second carbon dioxide removal system is an amine-type carbon dioxide adsorption system [Powell 0211, 0227-0235, Powell teaches amine-type carbon dioxide adsorption can be used if needed [0211]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply this teaching to either the first or second carbon dioxide removal system if required for the predictable result of a fuel for a fuel cell with sufficient removal of carbon dioxide. Alternatively, Jamal 0029, 0045, 0073-0075, Jamal teaches a second CO2 separation system 24 [0029 and throughout]. Jamal further teaches the CO2 separation system preferably uses a reactive liquid such as those described as useable with the acid gas removal system [Jamal 0075], which include amines [Jamal 0045]. Thus, Jamal also meets the limitation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching with Powell’s fuel cell for the predictable result of a fuel for a fuel cell with sufficient removal of carbon dioxide.].
Regarding Claim 6, modified Powell discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first carbon dioxide removal system is a carbon dioxide absorption system configured for use with an acid gas removal solvent [Powell 0197; Alternatively, Jamal 0028, 0046 Fig. 1: Jamal teaches an acid gas removal system 10 [0028] using a solvent [0046] as a first carbon dioxide removal system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching with Powell for the predictable result of a fuel for a fuel cell with carbon dioxide removal.], and the second carbon dioxide removal system is an amine-type carbon dioxide adsorption system [Powell 0211, 0227-0235, Powell teaches amine-type carbon dioxide adsorption can be used if needed [0211]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply this teaching to either the first or second carbon dioxide removal system if required for the predictable result of a fuel for a fuel cell with sufficient removal of carbon dioxide. Alternatively, Jamal 0029, 0045, 0073-0075, Jamal teaches a second CO2 separation system 24 [0029 and throughout]. Jamal further teaches the CO2 separation system preferably uses a reactive liquid such as those described as useable with the acid gas removal system [Jamal 0075], which include amines [Jamal 0045]. Thus, Jamal also meets the limitation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching with Powell’s fuel cell for the predictable result of a fuel for a fuel cell with sufficient removal of carbon dioxide.].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Powell discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the anode exhaust gas recycle system further comprises a shift reactor configured to receive the anode exhaust stream and to convert carbon monoxide and water in the anode exhaust stream into carbon dioxide and hydrogen [Powell 0011 (formula II), 0189-0226 Powell teaches the shift reactor 715 in the anode exhaust stream 95 to 96 to 97 {0222-0226] and teaches water-gas shift reactor conversion of carbon monoxide and water [0011, 0189]. Alternatively, Jamal 0034-0035, 0069-0072, Fig. 1 and throughout, shift reactor 50 conversion of carbon monoxide and water to carbon dioxide and hydrogen. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching to Powell’s fuel cell for the predictable result of efficient use of the anode exhaust gas for fuel without carbon monoxide [Powell 0015 and throughout; Jamal 0034-0035, 0069].
Regarding Claim 8, modified Powell discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a second heat recovery steam generator configured to receive the cathode exhaust stream [Powell 0033, 0090, 0179, 0220-0221, Fig. 5, heat exchanger 146 reads on the claimed second heat recovery steam generator, Powell teaches the cathode exhaust stream 94 can be received by heat exchanger 146. Further, Powell further teaches that heat exchangers can be steam boilers or steam generators [Powell 0179], which reads on the claimed heat recovery steam generators. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Powell’s embodiment of Fig. 5 and teachings about heat exchangers to heat exchanger 146 to Powell’s fuel cell for the predictable result of use of process heat as applied to the use of a heat exchanger.] to heating a water stream using heat from the cathode exhaust stream [Powell 0221, Fig. 4].
Regarding Claim 10, modified Powell discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the second heat recovery steam generator is configured to receive the cathode exhaust stream directly from the cathode outlet [Powell 0221, Fig. 5, heat exchanger 146 as the second heat recovery steam generator as described in claim 8 receives exhaust stream 94 from the outlet of cathode 734].
Regarding Claim 11, modified Powell discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system does not comprise an anode gas oxidizer [Powell, none is taught. Alternatively, none is taught in Jamal.].
Regarding Claim 12, modified Powell discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a separating junction configured to receive the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system to output (i) a first portion of the anode exhaust stream to the combining junction [Powell as provided in Claim 1 above and the embodiment of Fig. 4 as described [0227-0235]where a first portion of the anode exhaust stream 95/96/97/ 93/41/42 is provided to the combining junction near first carbon dioxide removal system 400 (see above) after the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 (as described above)], and (ii) a second portion of the anode exhaust stream to a waste fuel heat recovery system [Powell 0220-0221, 0247-0248, Fig. 1, Fig. 4, Powell teaches a superheated feed gas stream 12a to 12, which is further processed as shown in Fig. 1, which reads on a waste heat fuel recovery system since the advantage of the superheated gas after the second carbon dioxide removal system is used to supplement the hydromethanation feed system [0247-0248, Fig. 1]. Thus, the claimed separating junction is where the anode exhaust stream separates after the second carbon dioxide removal system 410. Thus, Powell meets the limitation .]
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell, or alternatively Powell in view of Jamal, as provided above in claims 1 and 8, and in further view of Matake et al. [US20210299609A1], hereinafter Matake.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Powell discloses the system of claim 8 but is silent to further comprising an energy generation system, the energy generation system comprising a steam turbine and a generator, wherein the steam turbine is configured to receive the water stream from the second heat recovery steam generator. However, Matake teaches a fuel cell system as claimed [Matake 0326, 0411, Fig. 18 and throughout, Matake teaches the generation of electric power [0411, Fig. 18], which reads on an energy generation system. Matake’s energy generation system includes steam turbine 242 and a generator 244, which is driven by the steam turbine 242 using steam from a waste heat recovery boiler 240 [0326, 0411]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Matake’s teaching in modified Powell’s fuel cell system for the predictable result of producing energy using waste heat [Matake 0411 and throughout] from the heat from Powell’s cathode exhaust stream [Powell 0033, 0090, 0179, 0220-0221, Fig. 5].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell et al. [US20110207002A1], hereinafter Powell.
Regarding Claim 13, Powell discloses a method of generating electrical energy using a fuel cell system, the method comprising [Powell 0019 and throughout]:
providing the fuel cell system [Powell 0019 and throughout], which comprises:
a fuel source [Powell 0005-0019, 0085, and throughout, methane-enriched raw product stream 50, Figs. 1-5],
a first carbon dioxide removal system [Jamal 0026-0028 and throughout, Fig. 1, acid gas system 10 receive process gas after condensate removal 4 through conduit 8],
a fuel cell stack [Powell 0087 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, stack 730] comprising:
an anode section comprising an anode inlet [Powell 0087-0088 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, anode section 732 with inlet on the side with fuel mixture 76 as the input stream], and an anode outlet [Powell 0095 and throughout, outlet on the side of exhaust stream 95], and a cathode section comprising a cathode inlet [Powell 0092-0094 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, cathode 734 with inlet on the side with input stream 92], and a cathode outlet [Powell 0092-0094, Figs. 2-5, outlet is on the side of cathode 734 with the cathode exhaust 94];
an anode exhaust gas recycle system comprising a second carbon dioxide removal system [Powell 0095, 0222-0235 and throughout, Fig. 4, recycled back to anode mixture on the inlet side of anode 732 as shown in Fig. 4 and second acid gas removal unit 410 removes carbon dioxide],
a combining junction [Powell 0095, 0222-0235 and throughout, Fig. 4 shows the anode recycle loop combining with the fuel supply to the inlet side of the anode compartment 732 (where regenerated stream 42 from the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 is recycled back to the first acid gas removal unit 400)] and
a heat recovery steam generator [Powell 0033, 0090, 0095-0096, 0219-0221, Figs. 1-5, and throughout, Powell does not explicitly teach a heat recovery steam generator; however, Powell teaches the fuel mixture for anode 732 may be heated by the recycle stream 95a from anode exhaust stream 95 [0033, 0090, 0219-0221], which includes heat energy and steam [0095], to the preheat fuel mixture 76, which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Further, Powell teaches an embodiment of Fig. 5 where a anode input stream 76 is made into a preheated fuel mixture 76a through heat exchanger 145 [0033, 0090, 0219-0221], which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Powell further teaches the heat energy recovered from the anode exhaust is used to generate superheated hydromethanation gas feed stream 12 that is fed to the hydromethanation reactor 200, which as shown in Fig. 1-2 provides the fuel stream 50 to the portions of the system shown in Figs. 3-5, which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Powell further teaches that heat exchangers can be steam boilers or steam generators [Powell 0179], which reads on the claimed heat recovery steam generators. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Powell’s embodiment of Fig. 5 and teachings about heat exchangers to heat exchanger 145 to Powell’s fuel cell method for the predictable result of a method for a fuel stream heated to the operation temperature of the fuel cell using heat from the anode exhaust stream [Powell 0218-0221].];
at the first carbon dioxide removal system, receiving a fuel input stream from the fuel source, and removing carbon dioxide from the fuel input stream [Powell 0087-0088 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, first acid gas removal unit 400 receives the fuel input 50 and removes a predominant portion of the carbon dioxide];
at the anode section of the fuel cell stack, receiving an anode input stream into the anode inlet, and outputting an anode exhaust stream from the anode outlet [Powell 0087-0088 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, anode section 732 with inlet on the side with fuel mixture 76 as the input stream; outlet on the side of exhaust stream 95];
at the cathode section of the fuel cell stack, receiving a cathode input stream into the cathode inlet, and outputting a cathode exhaust stream from the cathode outlet [Powell 0092-0094 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, cathode 734 with inlet on the side with input stream 92; outlet is on the side of cathode 734 with the cathode exhaust 94] ;
at the second carbon dioxide removal system, receiving the anode exhaust stream and removing carbon dioxide from the anode exhaust stream [Powell 0095, 0222-0235 and throughout, Fig. 4, recycled back to anode mixture on the inlet side of anode 732 as shown in Fig. 4 and second acid gas removal unit 410 removes carbon dioxide from anode exhaust stream 95 and removing the carbon dioxide [230]];
at the combining junction, receiving (i) the fuel input stream from the first carbon dioxide removal system, and (ii) the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system, and outputting a mixed stream to the anode inlet as the anode input stream [Powell 0222-0235, Fig. 4, Powell teaches an embodiment shown in Fig. 4 where the combining junction is where regenerated stream 42 from the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 is recycled back to the first acid gas removal unit 400. Powell teaches the combining junction receives the fuel input stream at the first carbon dioxide removal system and does not explicitly teach the combining junction receives the fuel input stream from the first carbon dioxide; however, such modification would merely require the regeneration stream 42 to be joined with the fuel input line just after the first carbon dioxide removal system 400 instead of at the first carbon dioxide removal system 400 as shown in Fig. 4. See modified Fig. 4 below for clarity on such modification of Powell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that such modification would be a design choice utilized if the amount of carbon dioxide removed by the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 is sufficient for input into the fuel cell or if there is no additional benefit for the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 to pass through the first carbon dioxide removal system 400. Further, the claimed combining junction with such configuration would serve the same purpose of recycling the anode exhaust whether it is positioned at the first carbon dioxide removal system or just after it. Thus, such modification is obvious per MPEP 2144.04, VI, C rearrangement of parts.]; and
at the heat recovery steam generator, receiving the anode input stream and the anode exhaust stream [Powell 0033, 0090, 0095-0096, 0219-0221, Figs. 1-5, and throughout, Powell does not explicitly teach a heat recovery steam generator; however, Powell teaches the fuel mixture for anode 732 may be heated by the recycle stream 95a from anode exhaust stream 95 [0033, 0090, 0219-0221], which includes heat energy and steam [0095], to the preheat fuel mixture 76, which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Further, Powell teaches an embodiment of Fig. 5 where a anode input stream 76 is made into a preheated fuel mixture 76a through heat exchanger 145 [0033, 0090, 0219-0221], which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Powell further teaches the heat energy recovered from the anode exhaust is used to generate superheated hydromethanation gas feed stream 12 that is fed to the hydromethanation reactor 200, which as shown in Fig. 1-2 provides the fuel stream 50 to the portions of the system shown in Figs. 3-5, which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Powell further teaches that heat exchangers can be steam boilers or steam generators [Powell 0179], which reads on the claimed heat recovery steam generators. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Powell’s embodiment of Fig. 5 and teachings about heat exchangers to heat exchanger 145 to Powell’s fuel cell method for the predictable result of a method for a fuel stream heated to the operation temperature of the fuel cell using heat from the anode exhaust stream [Powell 0218-0221].].
Alternative rejection of claim 13, for purpose of compact prosecution, showing the modification of Powell (above) is known in the art:
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell et al. [US20110207002A1], hereinafter Powell, and in view of Jamal et al. [US2013118735A1, as provided on the IDS dated 4/20/2024], hereinafter Jamal.
Regarding Claim 13, Powell discloses a method of generating electrical energy using a fuel cell system, the method comprising [Powell 0019 and throughout]:
providing the fuel cell system [Powell 0019 and throughout], which comprises:
a fuel source [Powell 0005-0019, 0085, and throughout, methane-enriched raw product stream 50, Figs. 1-5],
a first carbon dioxide removal system [Jamal 0026-0028 and throughout, Fig. 1, acid gas system 10 receive process gas after condensate removal 4 through conduit 8],
a fuel cell stack [Powell 0087 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, stack 730] comprising:
an anode section comprising an anode inlet [Powell 0087-0088 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, anode section 732 with inlet on the side with fuel mixture 76 as the input stream], and an anode outlet [Powell 0095 and throughout, outlet on the side of exhaust stream 95], and a cathode section comprising a cathode inlet [Powell 0092-0094 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, cathode 734 with inlet on the side with input stream 92], and a cathode outlet [Powell 0092-0094, Figs. 2-5, outlet is on the side of cathode 734 with the cathode exhaust 94];
an anode exhaust gas recycle system comprising a second carbon dioxide removal system [Powell 0095, 0222-0235 and throughout, Fig. 4, recycled back to anode mixture on the inlet side of anode 732 as shown in Fig. 4 and second acid gas removal unit 410 removes carbon dioxide],
a combining junction [Powell 0095, 0222-0235 and throughout, Fig. 4 shows the anode recycle loop combining with the fuel supply to the inlet side of the anode compartment 732 (where regenerated stream 42 from the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 is recycled back to the first acid gas removal unit 400)] and
a heat recovery steam generator [Powell 0033, 0090, 0095-0096, 0219-0221, Figs. 1-5, and throughout, Powell does not explicitly teach a heat recovery steam generator; however, Powell teaches the fuel mixture for anode 732 may be heated by the recycle stream 95a from anode exhaust stream 95 [0033, 0090, 0219-0221], which includes heat energy and steam [0095], to the preheat fuel mixture 76, which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Further, Powell teaches an embodiment of Fig. 5 where a anode input stream 76 is made into a preheated fuel mixture 76a through heat exchanger 145 [0033, 0090, 0219-0221], which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Powell further teaches the heat energy recovered from the anode exhaust is used to generate superheated hydromethanation gas feed stream 12 that is fed to the hydromethanation reactor 200, which as shown in Fig. 1-2 provides the fuel stream 50 to the portions of the system shown in Figs. 3-5, which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Powell further teaches that heat exchangers can be steam boilers or steam generators [Powell 0179], which reads on the claimed heat recovery steam generators. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Powell’s embodiment of Fig. 5 and teachings about heat exchangers to heat exchanger 145 to Powell’s fuel cell method for the predictable result of a method for a fuel stream heated to the operation temperature of the fuel cell using heat from the anode exhaust stream [Powell 0218-0221].];
at the first carbon dioxide removal system, receiving a fuel input stream from the fuel source, and removing carbon dioxide from the fuel input stream [Powell 0087-0088 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, first acid gas removal unit 400 receives the fuel input 50 and removes a predominant portion of the carbon dioxide];
at the anode section of the fuel cell stack, receiving an anode input stream into the anode inlet, and outputting an anode exhaust stream from the anode outlet [Powell 0087-0088 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, anode section 732 with inlet on the side with fuel mixture 76 as the input stream; outlet on the side of exhaust stream 95];
at the cathode section of the fuel cell stack, receiving a cathode input stream into the cathode inlet, and outputting a cathode exhaust stream from the cathode outlet [Powell 0092-0094 and throughout, Figs. 2-5, cathode 734 with inlet on the side with input stream 92; outlet is on the side of cathode 734 with the cathode exhaust 94] ;
at the second carbon dioxide removal system, receiving the anode exhaust stream and removing carbon dioxide from the anode exhaust stream [Powell 0095, 0222-0235 and throughout, Fig. 4, recycled back to anode mixture on the inlet side of anode 732 as shown in Fig. 4 and second acid gas removal unit 410 removes carbon dioxide from anode exhaust stream 95 and removing the carbon dioxide [230]];
at the combining junction, receiving (i) the fuel input stream from the first carbon dioxide removal system, and (ii) the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system, and outputting a mixed stream to the anode inlet as the anode input stream [Powell 0222-0235, Fig. 4, Powell teaches an embodiment shown in Fig. 4 where the combining junction is where regenerated stream 42 from the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 is recycled back to the first acid gas removal unit 400. Powell teaches the combining junction receives the fuel input stream at the first carbon dioxide removal system and does not explicitly teach the combining junction receives the fuel input stream from the first carbon dioxide; however, such modification would merely require the regeneration stream 42 to be joined with the fuel input line just after the first carbon dioxide removal system 400 instead of at the first carbon dioxide removal system 400 as shown in Fig. 4. See modified Fig. 4 below for clarity on such modification of Powell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that such modification would be a design choice utilized if the amount of carbon dioxide removed by the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 is sufficient for input into the fuel cell or if there is no additional benefit for the anode exhaust stream from the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 to pass through the first carbon dioxide removal system 400. Further, the claimed combining junction with such configuration would serve the same purpose of recycling the anode exhaust whether it is positioned at the first carbon dioxide removal system or just after it. Thus, such modification is obvious per MPEP 2144.04, VI, C rearrangement of parts.]; and
at the heat recovery steam generator, receiving the anode input stream and the anode exhaust stream [Powell 0033, 0090, 0095-0096, 0219-0221, Figs. 1-5, and throughout, Powell does not explicitly teach a heat recovery steam generator; however, Powell teaches the fuel mixture for anode 732 may be heated by the recycle stream 95a from anode exhaust stream 95 [0033, 0090, 0219-0221], which includes heat energy and steam [0095], to the preheat fuel mixture 76, which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Further, Powell teaches an embodiment of Fig. 5 where a anode input stream 76 is made into a preheated fuel mixture 76a through heat exchanger 145 [0033, 0090, 0219-0221], which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Powell further teaches the heat energy recovered from the anode exhaust is used to generate superheated hydromethanation gas feed stream 12 that is fed to the hydromethanation reactor 200, which as shown in Fig. 1-2 provides the fuel stream 50 to the portions of the system shown in Figs. 3-5, which reads on the claimed configuration and provides the same functions as a heat recovery steam generator. Powell further teaches that heat exchangers can be steam boilers or steam generators [Powell 0179], which reads on the claimed heat recovery steam generators. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Powell’s embodiment of Fig. 5 and teachings about heat exchangers to heat exchanger 145 to Powell’s fuel cell method for the predictable result of a method for a fuel stream heated to the operation temperature of the fuel cell using heat from the anode exhaust stream [Powell 0218-0221].].
For purpose of compact prosecution, Jamal teaches the combining junction as described in modifying Powell such that the combining junction is after the first carbon dioxide removal system [Jamal 0029, 0035 and throughout, Fig. 1, combining junction at hydrodesulfurization system 20 receives input stream from first carbon dioxide removal system 10 throughout conduit 18 and the anode exhaust stream from second carbon dioxide removal system 24 where a coupled stream is provided to the anode inlet through conduit 28]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching with Powell’s fuel cell method for the predictable result of a method for a fuel cell system with sufficient carbon dioxide removal prior to the fuel cell [Jamal abstract and throughout, Carbon dioxide removal is taught throughout. Powell claim 1, 0019, and throughout, Carbon dioxide removal is taught throughout.].
End of alternative rejection of claim 13 for purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim(s) 14-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Powell as provided for claim 13 above (either the first rejection over Powell or alternatively the rejection over Powell in view of Jamal).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Powell discloses the method of claim 13, wherein, at the first carbon dioxide removal system, the step of removing the carbon dioxide from the fuel input stream is performed using an acid gas removal solvent [Powell 0197; Alternatively, Jamal 0028, 0046 Fig. 1: Jamal teaches an acid gas removal system 10 [0028] using a solvent [0046] as a first carbon dioxide removal system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching with Powell for the predictable result of a method for a fuel for a fuel cell with carbon dioxide removal.] .
Regarding Claim 15, modified Powell discloses the method of claim 13, wherein, at the second carbon dioxide removal system, the step of removing the carbon dioxide from the anode exhaust stream is performed using an amine-type carbon dioxide adsorption system [Powell 0211, 0227-0235, Powell teaches amine-type carbon dioxide adsorption can be used if needed [0211]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply this teaching to either the first or second carbon dioxide removal system if required for the predictable result of a method for a fuel for a fuel cell with sufficient removal of carbon dioxide. Alternatively, Jamal 0029, 0045, 0073-0075, Jamal teaches a second CO2 separation system 24 [0029 and throughout]. Jamal further teaches the CO2 separation system preferably uses a reactive liquid such as those described as useable with the acid gas removal system [Jamal 0075], which include amines [Jamal 0045]. Thus, Jamal also meets the limitation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching with Powell’s fuel cell for the predictable result of a method for a fuel for a fuel cell with sufficient removal of carbon dioxide.].
Regarding Claim 16, modified Powell discloses the method of claim 13, wherein:
at the first carbon dioxide removal system, the step of removing the carbon dioxide from the fuel input stream is performed using an acid gas removal solvent [Powell 0197; Alternatively, Jamal 0028, 0046 Fig. 1: Jamal teaches an acid gas removal system 10 [0028] using a solvent [0046] as a first carbon dioxide removal system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching with Powell for the predictable result of a method for a fuel for a fuel cell with carbon dioxide removal.]; and
at the second carbon dioxide removal system, the step of removing the carbon dioxide from the anode exhaust stream is performed using an amine-type carbon dioxide adsorption system [Powell 0211, 0227-0235, Powell teaches amine-type carbon dioxide adsorption can be used if needed [0211]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply this teaching to either the first or second carbon dioxide removal system if required for the predictable result of a method for a fuel for a fuel cell with sufficient removal of carbon dioxide. Alternatively, Jamal 0029, 0045, 0073-0075, Jamal teaches a second CO2 separation system 24 [0029 and throughout]. Jamal further teaches the CO2 separation system preferably uses a reactive liquid such as those described as useable with the acid gas removal system [Jamal 0075], which include amines [Jamal 0045]. Thus, Jamal also meets the limitation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching with Powell’s fuel cell for the predictable result of a method for a fuel for a fuel cell with sufficient removal of carbon dioxide.].
Regarding Claim 17, modified Powell discloses the method of claim 13, wherein:
the fuel cell system further comprises a shift reactor; and the method further comprises, at the shift reactor, converting carbon monoxide and water in the anode exhaust stream into carbon dioxide and hydrogen [Powell 0011 (formula II), 0189-0226 Powell teaches the shift reactor 715 in the anode exhaust stream 95 to 96 to 97 {0222-0226] and teaches water-gas shift reactor conversion of carbon monoxide and water [0011, 0189]. Alternatively, Jamal 0034-0035, 0069-0072, Fig. 1 and throughout, shift reactor 50 conversion of carbon monoxide and water to carbon dioxide and hydrogen. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jamal’s teaching to Powell’s fuel cell for the predictable result of a method for efficient use of the anode exhaust gas for fuel without carbon monoxide [Powell 0015 and throughout; Jamal 0034-0035, 0069].
Regarding Claim 18, modified Powell discloses the method of claim 13, wherein:
the fuel cell system further comprises a second heat recovery steam generator [Powell 0033, 0090, 0179, 0220-0221, Fig. 5, heat exchanger 146 reads on the claimed second heat recovery steam generator, Powell teaches the cathode exhaust stream 94 can be received by heat exchanger 146. Further, Powell further teaches that heat exchangers can be steam boilers or steam generators [Powell 0179], which reads on the claimed heat recovery steam generators. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Powell’s embodiment of Fig. 5 and teachings about heat exchangers to heat exchanger 146 to Powell’s fuel cell for the predictable result of a method for use of process heat as applied to the use of a heat exchanger.]; and
the method further comprises, at the second heat recovery steam generator, heating a water stream using heat from the cathode exhaust stream [Powell 0221, Fig. 4].
Regarding Claim 19, modified Powell discloses the method of claim 18, wherein:
the fuel cell system does not comprise an anode gas oxidizer [Powell and Jamal throughout, none is taught]; and
the method further comprises, at the second heat recovery steam generator, receiving the cathode exhaust stream directly from the cathode outlet [Powell 0221, Fig. 5, heat exchanger 146 as the second heat recovery steam generator as described in claim 8 receives exhaust stream 94 from the outlet of cathode 734].
Regarding Claim 21, modified Powell discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the fuel cell system further comprises a separating junction, and the method further comprises, at the separating junction, receiving the anode exhaust stream, and outputting (i) a first portion of the anode exhaust stream to the combining junction [Powell as provided in Claim 13 above and the embodiment of Fig. 4 as described [0227-0235] where a first portion of the anode exhaust stream 95/96/97/ 93/41/42 is provided to the combining junction near first carbon dioxide removal system 400 (see above) after the second carbon dioxide removal system 410 (as described above)], and (ii) a second portion of the anode exhaust stream to a waste fuel heat recovery system [Powell 0220-0221, 0247-0248, Fig. 1, Fig. 4, Powell teaches a superheated feed gas stream 12a to 12, which is further processed as shown in Fig. 1, which reads on a waste heat fuel recovery system since the advantage of the superheated gas after the second carbon dioxide removal system is used to supplement the hydromethanation feed system [0247-0248, Fig. 1]. Thus, the claimed separating junction is where the anode exhaust stream separates after the second carbon dioxide removal system 410. Thus, Powell meets the limitations.]
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell, or alternatively Powell in view of Jamal, as provided above in claims 13 and 18, and in further view of Matake et al. [US20210299609A1], hereinafter Matake.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Powell discloses the method of claim 18 but is silent to further comprising an energy generation system, the energy generation system comprising a steam turbine and a generator, wherein the steam turbine is configured to receive the water stream from the second heat recovery steam generator. However, Matake teaches a fuel cell system as claimed [Matake 0326, 0411, Fig. 18 and throughout, Matake teaches the generation of electric power [0411, Fig. 18], which reads on an energy generation system. Matake’s energy generation system includes steam turbine 242 and a generator 244, which is driven by the steam turbine 242 using steam from a waste heat recovery boiler 240 [0326, 0411]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Matake’s teaching in modified Powell’s fuel cell system for the predictable result a method for producing energy using waste heat [Matake 0411 and throughout] from the heat from Powell’s cathode exhaust stream [Powell 0033, 0090, 0179, 0220-0221, Fig. 5].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, the prior art of Powell or alternatively Powell in view of Jamal was found to read on amended claims 1 and 13 and provided above. For the reasons provided above, evidence of obviousness outweighs evidence of novelty and nonobviousness of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724