DETAILED ACTION
In Reply filed on 06/08/2026, claims 1-14 and 20 are pending. Claim 20 is newly added. Claims 1, 3, and 5 are currently amended. Claims 1-14 and 20 are considered in the current Office Action.
Status of Previous Objections/Rejections
Previous objections to the specification are withdrawn based on the Applicant’s amendment to the specification.
Previous 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections have been withdrawn based on the Applicant’s amendment. However, new rejections have been established.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2024/0316648 (“Calefati et al” hereinafter Calefati).
Regarding Claim 1, Calefati teaches a powder recycling system (Figure 1) for an additive manufacturing system (abstract), the powder recycling system (Figure 1) comprising:
a powder receptacle (Figure 1, collection area 110) positioned peripheral (Figure 1) to an active build region in a build chamber (Figure 1, working plate 105) of the additive manufacturing system and to receive a volume of powder (Figure 1, collection area 110 receive powders [0023]); and a recycling element (Figure 1, piston 102) positioned entirely in the powder receptacle (Figure 1), the recycling element to move at least a portion of the volume of powder toward the active build region ([0032]) movable by moving between a first position (Figure 1) laterally displaced from the active build region, and a second position (Figure 2) spaced apart from the first position and laterally closer to the active build region (Figures 1-2 and [0032]).
Regarding Claim 2, Calefati teaches the powder recycling system of claim 1, further comprising an actuating component operably coupled to the recycling element to move ([0032], moving piston through mechanical action implied the present of an actuating element) the recycling element between the first position and the second position (Figures 1-2 and [0032]).
Regarding Claim 3, Calefati teaches the powder recycling system of claim 1, wherein the powder receptacle is a first powder receptacle positioned peripheral to a first side of the active build region (see annotated Figure 2), wherein the recycling element is a first recycling element (see annotated Figure 2), and further comprising an overflow space (see annotated Figure 2), and wherein the powder recycling system (Figure 2) further comprises:
a second powder receptacle positioned peripheral to a second side of the active build region opposite the first side (see annotated Figure 2); and a second recycling element positioned at least partially in the second powder receptacle (see annotated Figure 2, piston 102), the recycling element movable between a third position (Figure 4) and a fourth position (Figure 5) spaced apart from the third position and closer to the active build region (Figures 4-5 and [0032]).
Regarding Claim 5, Calefati teaches an additive manufacturing system (Figure 1 and abstract), comprising:
a build chamber having a central portion and a peripheral portion (see annotated Figure 1);
a support platform (Figure 1, working plate 105) positioned in the central portion (see annotated Figure 1) and movable in an upward direction (Figure 1, working plate is connected to piston 106 and move vertically [0027]);
a recoater arm (Figure 1, doctor plate or recoater 103) positioned in the build chamber (Figure 1) and movable in a lateral direction over the support platform between a first region in the peripheral portion and a second region in the peripheral portion to spread a powder over the central portion during a build (Figure 1 and [0033]-[0034]); and
a powder recycling system (see annotated Figure 1) positioned to redirect excess amounts of the powder during the build, the powder recycling system (Figure 1) comprising: a powder receptacle (Figure 1, collection area 110) positioned in the second region of the peripheral portion adjacent to the central portion (see annotated Figure 1); and
a recycling element (Figure 1, piston 102) positioned entirely in the powder receptacle (Figure 1), the recycling element to move at least a portion of the volume of powder toward the central portion ([0032]) movable by moving between a first position (Figure 1) laterally displaced from the central portion and a second position (Figure 2) spaced apart from the first position and laterally closer to the central portion (Figures 1-2 and [0032]).
Regarding Claim 14, Calefati teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5, wherein the powder receptacle is a first powder receptacle and the recycling element is a first recycling element (see annotated Figure 2 above), and wherein the powder recycling system (Figure 2) further comprises:
a second powder receptacle positioned in the first region of the peripheral portion adjacent to the central portion (see annotated Figure 2); and
a second recycling element positioned at least partially in the second powder receptacle (see annotated Figure 2, piston 102), the recycling element movable between a third position (Figure 4) and a fourth position (Figure 5) spaced apart from the third position and closer to the central portion (Figures 4-5 and [0032]).
Regarding Claim 21, Calefati teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5, further comprising a downward sloped surface between the central portion and the powder receptacle (see annotated Figure 1, a vertical sloped surface between the central portion and the collection area 110) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2024/0316648 (“Calefati et al” hereinafter Calefati) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2022/0212411 (Lebed).
Regarding Claim 4, Calefati teaches the powder recycling system of claim 1, Calefati teaches wherein the recycling element is configured to push the volume of excess powder between the blade and the active build region while moving from the first position to the second position (Figures 1-2 and [0032]) but fails to explicitly teach wherein, in the first position, the recycling element is positioned to allow a blade of a recoater arm in the additive manufacturing system to move at least partially over the recycling element.
However, Lebed teaches in the first position, the recycling element is positioned to allow a blade of a recoater arm in the additive manufacturing system to move at least partially over the recycling element (Figure 1, the first shutter 22 and the second shutter 24 function as recycling element to collect overflow materials [0031]-[0032], and in the closed position allows the recoater 20, comprises of a scraper [0028], to move over the shutters).
Calefati and Lebed are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of manufacturing 3D object using powder with a recoater assembly to distribute the powder materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus of Calefati such that it discloses all of the above limitations as taught by Lebed to spray an even layer of powder material ([0029]) and to remove excess powders ([0012]).
Claim(s) 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2024/0316648 (“Calefati et al” hereinafter Calefati) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US2019/0091921 (“Paternoster et al” hereinafter Paternoster).
Regarding Claim 6, Calefati teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5, wherein the lateral direction is a first lateral direction (Calefati, Figure 1 and [0033]-[0034], where the first lateral direction is the length of the entire build platform as the recoater 103 moves from one end of the build platform to another end) but fails to teach wherein the recoater arm comprises a single blade extending in a second lateral direction perpendicular to the first lateral direction, the single blade having a width equal to or greater than the support platform.
However, Paternoster teaches wherein the recoater arm comprises a single blade extending in a second lateral direction perpendicular to the first lateral direction (Figure 2, first blade 41 extend in the width direction of the build platform which is perpendicular to the length direction of the build platform [0034]), the single blade having a width equal to or greater than the support platform ([0034], the two blades 41, 42 and thus also the intermediate space confined by them extend across the entire width of the area to be recoated, preferably across the entire build area 8).
Calefati and Paternoster are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of manufacturing 3D object using powder and recoating device to evenly distribute the dispended powder. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus of Calefati such that it discloses all of the above limitations as taught by Paternoster to spread a uniform powder layer ([0043]).
Regarding Claim 7, the modified Calefati teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 6, further comprising a powder deposition component positioned to deposit a volume of the powder in between the single blade and the central portion when the recoater arm is in the first region (Paternoster, Figure 2, powder discharge unit 50 and [0034], said two blades 41, 42 at least partially confine an intermediate space in the first application direction B 1 and in its opposite direction. Said intermediate space confined by the two blades 41 , 42 is configured to receive a supply of building material in powder form 15).
Regarding Claim 8, the modified Calefati teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 6, wherein moving the recycling element from the first position to the second position pushes the excess amounts of the powder between the single blade and the central portion (Calefati, Figures 1-2 and [0032]).
Regarding Claim 9, Calefati teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5, wherein the lateral direction is a first lateral direction (Calefati, Figure 1 and [0033]-[0034], where the first lateral direction is the length of the entire build platform as the recoater 103 moves from one end of the build platform to another end), but fails to teach wherein the recoater arm comprises two blades extending in a second lateral direction perpendicular to the first lateral direction, and wherein the two blades define a space between the two blades.
However, Paternoster teaches wherein the recoater arm comprises two blades extending in a second lateral direction perpendicular to the first lateral direction (Figure 2, first blade 41 and second blade 42 extend in the width direction of the build platform which is perpendicular to the length direction of the build platform [0034]), and wherein the two blades define a space between the two blades ([0034], said two blades 41, 42 at least partially confine an intermediate space in the first application direction B 1 and in its opposite direction).
Calefati and Paternoster are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of manufacturing 3D object using powder and recoating device to evenly distribute the dispended powder. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus of Calefati such that it discloses all of the above limitations as taught by Paternoster to spread a uniform powder layer ([0043]).
Regarding Claim 10, the modified Calefati teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 9, further comprising a powder deposition component positioned to deposit a volume of the powder into the space between the two blades (Paternoster, Figure 2, discharge unit 50 and [0034], said two blades 41, 42 at least partially confine an intermediate space in the first application direction B 1 and in its opposite direction. Said intermediate space confined by the two blades 41, 42 is configured to receive a supply of building material in powder form 15).
Regarding Claim 11, the modified Calefati teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 9, wherein actuating the recycling element from the first position to the second position pushes the excess amounts of the powder into the space between the two blades (Calefati, Figures 1-2 and [0032]).
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2024/0316648 (“Calefati et al” hereinafter Calefati) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US2022/0314545 (“Bromberg et al” hereinafter Bromberg) and US2025/0001504 (“Valdes et al” hereinafter Valdes).
Regarding Claim 12, the modified Calefati teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 5, but fails to teach wherein the recoater arm comprises a powder wave sensor comprising a paddle and an active sensor, wherein the paddle is movable between a baseline position and a pivoted position, wherein the paddle is positioned to be pushed toward the pivoted position via contact with a volume of the powder being spread when the recoater arm is traveling from the second region to the first region, and wherein the active sensor is positioned to generate a signal when the paddle is in the baseline position.
However, Bromberg teaches the recoater arm comprises a sensor (Figure 2, [0234], the recoat head may comprise as least one sensor for detecting a property of the build material distributed on the build platform or the binder material deposited on the build platform and [0236], the recoat head 140 further comprises at least one working axis proximity sensor to detect the relative position). Valdes further teaches the sensor might be a powder wave sensor ([0123], the sensor may comprise a material level sensor such as a powder level sensor. The sensor (e.g., material level sensor) may comprise a guided wave radar) comprising a paddle and an active sensor ([0224], the GWR sensor may comprise (a) an internal component (e.g., rod) configured to guide preparation of the radar waves), wherein the paddle is movable between a baseline position and a pivoted position (function of the rod in a GWR sensor), wherein the paddle is positioned to be pushed toward the pivoted position via contact with a volume of the powder being spread when the recoater arm is traveling from the second region to the first region (function of the rod in a GWR sensor), and wherein the active sensor is positioned to generate a signal when the paddle is in the baseline position ([0224], the powder level sensor may comprise a guided wave radar (GWR) sensor. The GWR sensor may comprise (a) an internal component (e.g., rod) configured to guide preparation of the radar waves and (b) an external component encasing the internal component, distanced from the internal component by a gap).
Calefati, Bromberg, and Valdes are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of manufacturing 3D object using powder and recoating device to evenly distribute the dispended powder. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus of Calefati such that it discloses all of the above limitations as taught by Bromberg in view of Valdes to detect characteristic and/or properties associated with the build material distributed on the build platform and implement feedback control of the apparatus based on the information collected by the sensor (Bromberg, [0234]).
Regarding Claim 13, the modified Calefati teaches the additive manufacturing system of claim 12, further comprising a controller operably coupled to the powder wave sensor (Valdes, [0010]) and configured to:
detect, based on at least a shortfill, when the paddle is in the baseline position based on the signal from the active sensor ([0224]); and
generate instructions for spreading a second volume of the powder over the central portion to correct for the shortfill ([0010] and [0224], controller configured to operatively coupled with the device and adjusting the powder level based on the radar wave).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
XINWEN (CINDY) YE
Examiner
Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754