DETAILED ACTION
In Reply filed on 05/21/2026, claims 1-2 and 5-13 are pending. Clam 1 is currently amended. Claims 3-4 are canceled, and no claim is newly added. Claims 5-9 and 11-13 are withdrawn. Claims 1-2 and 10 are considered in this Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recite the limitation “a/the photothermally active material.” The limitation would be interpreted as “a material that acts as a light absorber and transfers light energy into heat,”1 and such interpretation is consistent with Instant Specification ([0024]: “photothermally active materials … include those that generate heat upon exposure to actinic radiation,” as published).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the newly added limitation of “the carbon black generates localized heat upon exposure to the actinic radiation to drive crosslinking between the vinyl groups and Si-H groups to cure the thermosetting formulation” in lines 13-15. Although “generating localized heat upon exposure to the actinic radiation” contributes to the intrinsic property of the carbon black, Instant Specification does NOT support that the localized heat from the carbon black drives “crosslinking between the vinyl groups and Si-H groups to cure the thermosetting formulation.” The Applicant’s alleged support for the limitation is para. [0020, 0029, 0030, 0034] (see page 4 of Reply filed on 05/21/2026). The corresponding paragraphs only support that (1) carbon black is a component of the thermosetting formulation comprising a compound with one or more vinyl functional groups and a curing agent having functional groups reactive to the one or more vinyl groups, (2) photothermally active material generate heats upon actinic radiation, and the generated heat enables the formation of a bond between reactive functional groups upon surface plasmon resonance, which quickly dephases in femtoseconds, transferring energy as heat, and such rapid cooling of particles provides a mechanism (e.g., crosslinking) but no time for reversing itself, (3) photothermal curing of the thermosetting formulation as recited with “AuNPs.” Here, Instant Specification does not support that the carbon black in the thermosetting formulation derives “crosslinking between the vinyl groups and Si-H groups to cure the thermosetting formulation” because, at least, carbon black does generate heat by broad band light absorption rather than localized surface plasmon resonance, and there is no support that the heat from carbon black generated by different mechanism would behave as the same way as the one from AuNPs to derive, in particular, “crosslinking between the vinyl groups and Si-H groups to cure the thermosetting formulation.”
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as being dependent from claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a polysiloxane having one or more Si-H groups as the curing agent” in lines 1-2. There is ambiguous antecedent basis on this claim. It is unclear whether the underlined limitation means (1) the same as “Si-H groups” (claim 1 line 15), or (2) another new Si-H group(s). For the purpose of examination, either of these limitations would read on the claim.
Appropriate clarification or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rolland (US 20160137838 A1) in view of Walters (US 20160333220 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rolland teaches a method of forming a 3D object (abstract), the method comprising:
depositing a thermosetting formulation (a polymerizable liquid including thermosetting materials) onto a target (build surface) and applying actinic radiation (light) to the deposited thermosetting formulation to cure the thermosetting formulation to form a first layer of a cured formulation (abstract, [0003]: in conventional additive or three-dimensional fabrication techniques, construction of a three-dimensional object is performed in a step-wise or layer-by-layer manner, in particular, layer formation is performed through solidification of photo-curable resin under the action of visible or UV light irradiation; [0017], also see [0162-0165]: top-down 3D fabrication; [0167-0170]: bottom-up 3D fabrication; [0174]: 3D fabrication in a layer-by-layer manner; [0177-0178]: continuous liquid interface production (CLIP); [0011]: the polymerizable liquid comprising a mixture of: (i) a light polymerizable liquid first component, and (ii) a second solidifiable (or second reactive) component different from the first component; [0273]: a 3D product of the foregoing methods comprises (i) a linear thermoplastic polyurethane, polyurea, or copolymer thereof (e.g., poly(urethane-urea)), (ii) a cross-linked thermoset polyurethane, polyurea, or copolymer thereof (e.g., poly(urethane-urea)), or (iii) combinations thereof; [0339-0340]: a silicone rubber 3D object may be formed in use of silicone polyurethanes, polyureas, or poly(urethane-urea)); and
repeating the deposition of the thermosetting formulation with the application of the actinic radiation to the first layer to cure additional formulation on the first layer including the cured thermosetting formulation (abstract, [0003]: conventional additive or three-dimensional fabrication techniques; [0162-0165]: top-down 3D fabrication; [0167-0170]: bottom-up 3D fabrication; [0174]: 3D fabrication in a layer-by-layer manner; [0177]- [0178]: continuous liquid interface production (CLIP)).
wherein the thermosetting formulation comprises:
(a) polysiloxane having one or more vinyl groups (e.g., Sylgard 194 Part A) ([0349], [0602]; TABLE 33: in particular, Sylgard 184 is used; of note, the Instant Application ([0039], as published) discloses that the PDMS polymer system employed was Sylgard 184 (DOW Corning, Midland, Mich.), a two component system in which the elastomer contains vinyl-terminated siloxane oligomers, while the curing agent possesses Si—H moieties along a siloxane backbone, and the Sylgard 184 of Instant Application is the same as the one of Rolland).,
(b) a curing agent having functional groups reactive with the one or more vinyl groups (e.g., Sylgard 194 Part B) (id.), and
(c) a photothermally active material, wherein the photothermally active material is carbon black and is present at [a concentration of 0.001-0.02 percent by weight of the thermosetting formulation], and [wherein the carbon black generates localized heat upon exposure to the actinic radiation to drive crosslinking between the vinyl groups and Si-H groups to cure the thermosetting formulation] ([0129, 0130]: a non-reactive pigment or dye that absorbs light, particularly UV light, and suitable examples of such light absorbers include, but are not limited to: carbon black (e.g., included in an amount of from 0.05 or 0.1 to 1 or 5 percent by weight); of note, here, the carbon black, which is the same material as recited, is intrinsically a photothermally active material).
Rolland does not specifically teach the bracketed limitation(s) as presented above, i.e., the photothermally active material (i.e., carbon black) is present at “a concentration of 0.001-0.02 percent by weight of the thermosetting formulation,” and “the carbon black generates localized heat upon exposure to the actinic radiation to drive crosslinking between the vinyl groups and Si-H groups to cure the thermosetting formulation,” but Walters teaches the limitation as follows:
Walters teaches a UV curable thermosetting formulation for forming a cured film ([0006-0007, 0025-0026]), and the formulation comprises (a) polysiloxane having one or more vinyl groups ([0052]), (b) a polysilane (i.e., compound having one or more Si-H groups) as a curing agent ([0006]), (c) a photothermally active material , wherein the photothermally active material is carbon and is present at a concentration of 0.001-0.02 percent by weight of the thermosetting formulation ([0079]: carbon; [0084]: 0.001 to 10 percent by weight). Although the disclosed wt. % range of Walters does not anticipate the recited range, the disclosed range overlaps with the recited range at the range of 0.001 – 0.02 wt. %. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Therefore, in the same field of endeavor of curing a UV curable thermosetting formulation for making a cured object in use of a photothermally active material (Rolland: [0129-0130, 0349, 0602]; Walters: [0005-0008, 0025-0026]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the content of the photothermally active material (e.g., carbon black) in the polymerizable liquid of Rolland with the another known content of the photothermally active material as taught by Walters in order to yield known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of properly controlling the thermosetting polymerization reaction of a UV curable thermosetting formulation not only by actinic radiation but also by fast, and/or local heating of the formulation upon the activation of the photothermally active material to form a cured object (Walters: derived from [0003]).
Upon the modification, although modified Rolland is silent that the generated heat from the carbon black upon exposure to the actinic radiation drives “crosslinking between vinyl groups and Si-H groups to cure the thermosetting formulation,” in this case, the thermosetting formulation of modified Rolland comprises the same two components of (Sylgard 184) as the ones of the instant invention (Instant Specification: [0039]) with and the same type and the same content of the carbon black as a photothermally active material, and the formulation is exposed to the same level of the actinic radiation as the one of Instant Invention (see below, the 103 rejection of claim 10). Therefore, a prima facie case of anticipation is established to the claimed property/function (i.e., the heat generated from carbon black upon exposure to the actinic radiation drives “crosslinking between the vinyl groups and Si-H groups to cure the formulation”) of the thermosetting formulation comprising the carbon black by modified Rolland. See MPEP 2112.01 I. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention that the generated heat from the carbon black upon exposure to the actinic radiation would contribute to the possible chemical reactions that could be initiated or undergo upon thermal energy within the thermosetting formulation, for example, the crosslinking between the vinyl groups and Si-H groups
Regarding claim 2, modified Rolland teaches that the thermosetting formulation comprises a polysiloxane having one or more Si-H groups as the curing agent (Rolland: [0349], [0602], TABLE 33; Sylgard 184 Part B).
Regarding claim 10, modified Rolland teaches that the actinic radiation is applied at an intensity at a range of 1 to 108 W/cm2 (Walters: [0124]: intensity of actinic radiation is from 1 to 108 W/cm2). Here, the disclosed range of Walters anticipates the recites range.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the intensity of the actinic radiation of modified Rolland with the known range of the radiation intensity activating photothermally active material as taught by Walters in order to yield known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of properly activate the photothermally active material so as to maximize heat emission for the given photothermally active material so as to control the polymerization reaction of the UV curable thermosetting liquid not only by actinic radiation directly but also by fast, and/or local heating of the polymerizable liquid due to heat to form a cured object (Walters: derived from [0111]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot or not persuasive. It is noted that the applicant has modified the claims with the latest amendment dated 05/21/2026.
Of note, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because Instant Specification does not support the limitation the generated heat from the carbon black upon exposure to the actinic radiation “to drive crosslinking between the vinyl groups and Si-H groups to cure the thermosetting formulation.”
RE: the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection by Rolland in view of Buskens
Applicant's arguments (pages 4-7 of Remarks) have been fully considered but they are moot, as the claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
RE: the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection by Rolland in view of Walters
Applicant's arguments (page 7) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Upon further review, the affidavit under 37 CFR 1.130(a) filed on 09/27/2022 in the parent patent application (ASN: 16/610249), is NOT sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-2 and 10 as the reference Walters is qualified as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), and the exception 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1) does not applies due to non-identical inventor(s).
The declaration contains only conclusory statements and does not provide sufficient underlying facts or support to establish that the subject matter relied upon the rejection was made by, or obtained from the common inventor(s).
Applicant is invited to submit a supplemental declaration setting forth specific facts demonstrating that relied-upon subject matter demonstrating that the relied upon subject matter originated from the common inventor(s) (i.e., “Lear”), including, an explanation distinguishing the contributions of any additional inventor(s) (i.e., “Walters”, “Makowski”, “Thomas”, “Zalich”, “Haas,” and “Rardon” ) named in the cited reference of Walters.
Thereby, after reconsideration, claims 1, 2 and 10 remain rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AzoNano ("Titanium Oxide (Titania, TiO2) Nanoparticles - properties, Applications," https://www.azonano.com/article.aspx?ArticleID=3357, available in public on 07/09/2013) teaches properties and applications of titanium oxide nanoparticles, and the titanium oxide nanoparticles are commercially available by DuPont.
Cullen (US 20200055233 A1) teaches a method and system for 3D printing of electronically conductive polymer structure (abstract) including a reference citation of “In situ synthesis of polymer embedded silver nanoparticles via photopolymerization” Macromolecular Materials and Engineering, 300(2), 226-233 ([0180]).
Park (US 20100323298 A1) teaches a photosensitive composition and a microfabrication method using the composition (abstract), and in the composition, nanoparticles may be simultaneously formed and crosslinked with a photosensitive resin ([0076]).
/INJA SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744
1 See page 6892, I. Introduction, 1st paragraph of Cui et. al. “Photothermal Nanomaterials: A Powerful Light-to-Heat Converter”, Chem Rev. 2023 May 3; 123(11):6891–6952. Available at https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC10273250/pdf/cr3c00159.pdf.