DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12, 14-16, 38-41, 43 and 46 (all pending claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The independent claims recite “a distillation range of 152-198 °C,” which is not supported in the original disclosure. The isoparaffin distillation range in Table II is specific for the commercial IsoPar products and does not include this range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12, 14-16, 38-41, 43 and 46 (all pending claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP-(4139178B2), submitted by applicant in an IDS, with evidence from ENTEK ppt brochure and Miller et al (US 2017/0072610.)
Claims are generally in the product-by-process format, directed at a self-supporting polyolefin/polyethylene microporous membrane. The membrane is also biaxially stretched. Additional elements in the dependent claims include web thickness.
Product-by-process claims, MPEP 2113: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A rejection based alternatively on 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 for product-by-process claims has been approved by the courts. Therefore, all the process steps in these claims are given no patentable weight. Only structural elements and any process step that appears to influence the structure are only considered in the following analysis.
JP teaches microporous battery separators [0001] of high-density polyethylene of Mol. Wt. 500,000 or more [0008]; and 2 million in examples. It uses mineral oils of flash point about 250C (240C or greater: [0005], examples.) Extracting solvent, isoparaffin, has flash point 46-50C (examples.) The microporous structure would be inherently having interconnected pores. JP also teaches that biaxial stretching is well-known in the art of battery separators [0002.] Isoparaffin is halogen-free.
The JP battery separator also has silica in similar proportions as in the disclosed and claimed invention. See the Examples.
Characteristics such as aniline point, and the boiling point difference inherently follows the flash point and the type of oils used, unless otherwise shown.
Residual solvent and plasticizer would be inherent, depending on the process and the stage of the process, unless otherwise shown. JP, [0025] teaches residuals as 1% or less, though it can also be 1-20%.
Thickness: JP teaches 100 microns in examples. The 25 microns or less, or 150-300 microns of thickness is not patentable unless otherwise shown, because this can be engineered based on the separator thickness required for the desired application.
Applicant uses ENTEK 800 oil: Calumet in the examples, which appear to be a commercially available mineral oil used for the purpose of making battery separators. Entek is known for its battery separators (source: internet: << https://entek.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/150909_ENTEK_-16ABCWeb.pdf >>). Copy attached in an 892.
Additional evidence that the battery separators are biaxially stretched is available from Miller, the previously applied prior art. Miller teaches free-standing UHMWPE microporous polyethylene membrane (abstract) that can be used for battery separator (claim 25) having TiO2, silica, etc., as filler [0008], [0021], and biaxially stretched [0044]. The molecular weight, by applicant’s own disclosure, of UHMWPE >> 0.5 million g/mol. Microporous matrix having Interconnecting pores: [0008]. Miller also teaches thickness 25 microns or less and 150-300 microns – see Table 3 which shows examples that have thickness within this thickness range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Arguments are directed to individual references, materials used in making and to the process of making the membrane. The claims are for a product. Therefore, MPEP 2113 applies as cited Id. Moreover, the argument applicant cited as having an advantage is that the plasticizer used is non-volatile and would prevent any fire hazard from the residual plasticizer in the membrane during storage. The claims were allowed on this premise, but then applicant produced a reference that is now cited, and which taught the same or similar plasticizer for making HDPE membranes.
Further, since the claims are for a product, and the product can be made using non-flammable plasticizers and solvents such as halocarbons, the examiner, on hindsight, realizes that the allowance issued earlier also was in error.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777