DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 included claims 1-10 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 02/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
3. Claims 1-3, 7-10 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hormis et al. (U.S PAT. 11,848,898) in view of Na (U.S PAT. 10,608,706).
Consider claim 1, Hormis teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1, 115) comprising: at least one antenna (Fig. 2, 205a-b, 210a-b); at least one radio frequency (RF) circuit including at least one radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) (Fig. 2, 235a-b), at least one power amplifier (PA) (Fig. 2, 260) connected to the at least one antenna (Fig. 2, 210), and at least one divider (Fig. 2, 230, 270) connected to the at least one RFIC and the at least one PA (Fig. 2, col. 15, lines 46-67); a connection part (Fig. 2, 225, 255) connected to the at least one divider; at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (Fig. 2, col. 15, lines 46-67); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: turn off (“Deep sleep” mode) the at least one PA based on a connection between the electronic device and an external electronic device (col. 8, lines 15-48); and direct the RF signal to the connection part via the at least one divider, the RF signal being directed to the external electronic device via the connection part (col. 24, lines 6-20).
Hormis does not explicitly show that convert, via the at least one RFIC, data for transmission to the external electronic device into an RF signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Na teaches convert, via the at least one RFIC, data for transmission to the external electronic device into an RF signal (Fig. 7, col. 14, line 58 through col. 15, line 2, i.e., The first RF circuit 711 may include a frequency up/down converter for up-converting a transmission signal (e.g., an IF signal) transmitted from the source RF circuit 707 into a radio signal (an RF signal) in an ultra-high frequency band or down-converting a reception signal in the ultra-high frequency band into an IF signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use, convert, via the at least one RFIC, data for transmission to the external electronic device into an RF signal, as taught by Na, in order to provide an interconnect of a plurality of RF circuits and delivers a feedback signal of any one of the RF circuits through a reception path of another RF circuit.
Consider claim 2, Hormis further teaches a connector, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: receive, via the connector, a connection request from the external electronic device, and set up the connection between the electronic device and the external electronic device based on the connection request (col. 12, lines 13-27).
Consider claim 3, Hormis further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: execute a set application to set up the connection between the electronic device and the external electronic device (col. 7, line 61 through col. 8, line 14).
Consider claim 7, Hormis further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: release the connection between the electronic device and the external electronic device, and turn on the at least one PA based on the release of the connection (col. 16, lines 1-16).
Consider claim 8, Hormis further teaches a connector, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: receive, via the connector, a connection release request from the external electronic device, and release the connection between the electronic device and the external electronic device based on the connection release request (col. 12, lines 13-27).
Consider claim 9, Hormis further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: execute a set application to release the connection between the electronic device and the external electronic device (col. 7, line 61 through col. 8, line 14).
Consider claim 10, Hormis further teaches wherein the at least one RF circuit further comprises at least one low noise amplifier (LNA) (Fig. 2, col. 15, lines 46-67).
Consider claim 16, the subject-matter of independent claim 16 relates to an operating method of an electronic device with features fully corresponding to the characteristics of claim 1. Therefore, the same argumentation presented in relation to claim 1 is, mutatis mutandis, of application to claim 16.
Consider claim 17, the previous rejections of claim 2 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 17.
Consider claim 18, the previous rejections of claim 3 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 18.
Consider claim 19, the previous rejections of claim 7 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 19.
Consider claim 20, Hormis further teaches wherein releasing the connection between the electronic device and the external electronic device comprises: receiving, via a connector, a connection release request from the external electronic device, and releasing the connection between the electronic device and the external electronic device based on the connection release request (col. 12, lines 13-27); or executing a set application to release the connection between the electronic device and the external electronic device (col. 7, line 61 through col. 8, line 14).
4. Claims 4-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hormis in view of Na and further in view of Park et al. (U.S PAT. 10,397,764, hereinafter, “Park”).
Consider claim 4, Hormis and Na in combination fail to teach wherein the at least one RFIC comprises: a Bluetooth circuit; and a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) circuit, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: convert, via the Bluetooth circuit, a first baseband signal into a first RF signal based on a Bluetooth scheme, and convert, via the Wi-Fi circuit, a second baseband signal into a second RF signal based on a Wi-Fi scheme.
However, Park teaches wherein the at least one RFIC comprises: a Bluetooth circuit; and a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) circuit, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: convert, via the Bluetooth circuit, a first baseband signal into a first RF signal based on a Bluetooth scheme, and convert, via the Wi-Fi circuit, a second baseband signal into a second RF signal based on a Wi-Fi scheme (col. 8, lines 19-45).
Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the disclosing of Park into view of Hormis and Na, in order to provide an electronic device and a method of controlling wireless communication thereof, which can control the use of an antenna by a plurality of communication modules based on occupancy information.
Consider claim 5, Park further teaches wherein the Bluetooth circuit supports a first frequency band and the Wi-Fi circuit supports the first frequency band and a second frequency band, and wherein the at least one divider is disposed on at least one of a first path corresponding to the first frequency band of the Bluetooth circuit, a second path corresponding to the first frequency band of the Wi-Fi circuit, or a third path corresponding to the second frequency band of the Wi-Fi circuit (col. 26, lines 4-16).
Consider claim 6, Hormis further teaches wherein the at least one RF circuit further comprises another PA, and wherein the another PA is disposed on a path other than the path on which the at least one divider is disposed (col. 15, lines 46-67).
Conclusion
5. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop_________ (Explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/TUAN H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649