DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/12/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 5/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/06/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: "build region during the build" in line 9 should read "build region during . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meixlsperger (DE102013215377A1; translation as provided).
Regarding claim 1, Meixlsperger teaches an additive manufacturing system (Figures 2-3; paragraph 0004, selective laser meting machine), comprising:
a build chamber (chamber 9) having an active build region (Figures, area at 10);
a support platform (power platform 2) positioned in the active build region and movable in a travel direction having upward and downward components (arrows denotate in Figures; paragraph 0039, the powder platform 2 can be adjusted in height, in particular lowered);
an energy beam source positioned to direct an energy beam at the active build region during a build (paragraph 0004, an energy beam 8 from an energy source 5 is applied to a coating 10);
a recoater arm positioned in the build chamber and movable in a lateral direction along a travel path above the active build region to spread one or more layers of a powder over the active build region during [a] build (application element 4; paragraph 0039, application element 4 serves to apply a powder layer 10 to the powder platform 2 or the existing powder bed 11); and
a chamber-purging system positioned in the build chamber (gas guide device 60 in Figures 2-3; paragraphs 0035-0036) and having at least a portion that is movable between a first position outside the travel path and a second position within the travel path (paragraph 0022, the gas guide device can be height-adjustable, i.e., movable in the z direction (i.e., first position being raised above and second position being at 10)).
Regarding claim 7, Meixlsperger further discloses the chamber-purging system is movable in an upward and downward direction between the first position and the second position, and wherein, in the first position, the chamber-purging system is positioned to allow the recoater arm to move beneath the chamber-purging system (paragraph 0022, the gas guide device can be height-adjustable, i.e., movable in the z direction (i.e., first position being raised above 10; hence, allowing application element 4 to move beneath)).
Regarding claim 8, Meixlsperger further discloses the chamber-purging system comprises one or more supply ports (gas supply part 64) and a return port (gas part 67), and wherein, in the second position, each of the one or more supply ports and the return port are positioned immediately above a most recent layer of the powder deposited by the recoater arm (paragraph 0022, the gas guide device can be height-adjustable, i.e., movable in the z direction (i.e., second position being at 10; hence, gas supply part 64 and gas part 67 being above a most recent layer 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meixlsperger, in view of Schilling (US 2017/0072468 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Meixlsperger further discloses a supply channel having one or more supply ports (gas supply part 64 having outlet 66) and fluidly couplable to a source of an inert gas (supply line 73) to deliver gas to the build chamber (shielding gas 54 in Figures 2-3; paragraph 0037, paragraph 0004, discloses nitrogen), the supply channel being movable between a first retracted state and a first extended state to move the one or more supply ports between the first position and the second position (paragraph 0022, the gas guide device can be height-adjustable; hence, gas supply part 64 having outlet 66 is movable); and
a return channel having a return port (gas part 67 having inlet 68) and fluidly couplable to a vacuum component (discharge line 74) to remove gas from the build chamber (fume gas 57), the return channel being movable between a second retracted state and a second extended state to move the return port between the first position and the second position (paragraph 0022, the gas guide device can be height-adjustable; hence, gas part 67 having inlet 68 is movable).
Meixlsperger does not disclose the supply channel of the return channel being telescoping.
Schilling teaches an additive manufacturing system (1 in Figure 1; paragraph 0032), comprising: a build chamber (processing chamber 3); a support platform (base plate 8) configured to move vertically (paragraph 0033, carrier 7 movable in a vertical direction V on which a base plate 8 is applied ); and energy beam source (irradiation device 20); a recoater (coating device 14); and a chamber-purging system configured to move between a first position and second position (nozzle 34d in Figure 6; paragraph 0053). Further, the chamber-purging system moves via a telescopic mechanism (Figure 6; paragraph 0053, comprises three legs 41 a, 41 b and 41 c which are adjustable in length and can, for example, be extended and retracted in accordance with the telescopic principle). Said telescopic mechanism allows precise control over the position of the nozzle.
As Meixlsperger discloses its chamber-purging system is height adjustable (paragraph 0022), one or ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the telescoping mechanism disclosed by Schilling for that of Meixlsperger and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. One would have motivated to use a telescopic mechanism for precise control over the position of the chamber-purging system, as disclosed by Shilling.
Regarding claim 3, Meixlsperger, as modified by Schilling, teaches all the elements of claim 2 and further discloses the lateral direction is a first lateral direction (Figures 2-3 of Meixlsperger), and wherein the return port is spaced apart from one or more supply ports in a second lateral direction (paragraph 0022, gas guidance device is movable in one plane, that is, in the x and y directions) .
Regarding claim 6, Meixlsperger further discloses the chamber-purging system is fluidly couplable to a source of gas to purge the build chamber while the energy beam source is in operation (paragraph 0073 of Meixlsperger, gas supply device has a flexible supply line 73 for supplying shielding gas 54 to the gas supply device 60), but does not disclose the gas being argon.
Schilling teaches an additive manufacturing system (1 in Figure 1; paragraph 0032), comprising: a build chamber (processing chamber 3); a support platform (base plate 8) configured to move vertically (paragraph 0033, carrier 7 movable in a vertical direction V on which a base plate 8 is applied ); and energy beam source (irradiation device 20); a recoater (coating device 14); and a chamber-purging system configured to move between a first position and second position (nozzle 34d in Figure 6; paragraph 0053). Further, the chamber-purging system supplies argon or nitrogen to the chamber during building of an object (paragraph 0039). Hence, the use of argon gas is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized argon as the gas in Meixlsperger over nitrogen for being more inert a for higher heat applications.
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meixlsperger, in view of Schilling, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sweetland (US 2020/0039000 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Meixlsperger, as modified by Schilling, teaches all the elements of claim 2 and further discloses the one or more supply ports and the return port are spaced apart to define, at least in part, a flow path therebetween (as shown in Figures 2-3 of Meixlsperger), but does not disclose sidewalls extending along lateral sides of the flow path, and wherein the sidewalls are positioned to impede a flow of the gas introduced into the build chamber away from the flow path.
Sweetland teaches an additive manufacturing system (Figure 1; paragraph 0047), comprising: a chamber-purging system (gas flow head 200) having one or more supply ports and a return port spaced apart to define, at least in part, a flow path therebetween (as shown in Figure 10). Further, the chamber-purging system comprises a sidewall (202) which impedes a flow of gas from the flow path (paragraph 0059, Such an arrangement may reduce and/or eliminate scavenge gas flow 205 or exhaust gas flow through the aperture). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meixlsperger/Schilling and provided a sidewall positioned to impede a flow of the gas from the flow path in order to contain the gas therein, as disclosed by Sweetland, thereby increasing efficiency of the gas chamber-purging system and preventing contamination of gases.
Regarding claim 5, Meixlsperger, as modified by Schilling, teaches all the elements of claim 2 and further discloses the one or more supply ports and the return port are spaced apart to define, at least in part, a flow path therebetween (as shown in Figures 2-3 of Meixlsperger), but does not disclose a backwall operably coupled to the return port and the telescoping return channel to move with the return port as the telescoping return channel expands, and wherein the backwall is positioned to impede a flow of the gas introduced into the build chamber away from the flow path.
Sweetland teaches an additive manufacturing system (Figure 1; paragraph 0047), comprising: a chamber-purging system (gas flow head 200) having one or more supply ports and a return port spaced apart to define, at least in part, a flow path therebetween (as shown in Figure 10). Further, the chamber-purging system comprises a backwall coupled to the return port which moves with the return port and impedes a flow of gas from the flow path (any of Figures 4-5, 8-11, showing return gas flow side of nozzle having a backwall which contains and impedes a flow of gas away from the flow path). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meixlsperger/Schilling and provided a backwall coupled to the return port positioned to impede a flow of the gas from the flow path in order to contain the gas therein, as disclosed by Sweetland, thereby increasing efficiency of the gas chamber-purging system and preventing contamination of gases.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tucker.
/VIRAK NGUON/Examiner, Art Unit 1741 6/22/2026