DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11, 14-15, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biedermann et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0234902 A1, hereinafter “Biedermann”) in view of Chao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0196431 A1, hereinafter “Chao”).
Biedermann discloses, regarding claim 1, a pedicle screw assembly (see Figs. 1-2) of a modular construction (see Figs. 1-2, note multiple components) comprising: a bone screw (1) having a threaded bone shaft (2) adapted for insertion in a vertebra (see Fig. 1, see para. [0040]); a uniaxial inner collet (8) configured in an operative position (see Fig. 11) to clamp about a head (3) of the bone screw (see para. [0048]), said head being substantially ball-shaped (3), wherein the inner collet includes a plurality of claw elements (see annotated Fig. 5 below) together configured in the inoperative position of the inner collet to permit tilting of the inner collet about the tilt axis of the head of the bone screw (see para. [0047]); a seat (5) arranged to provide seating for retention of the uniaxial inner collet (via 9a-9b, see Fig. 8, see para. [0045]), the seat designed to tilt in conjunction with the inner collet in the inoperative position about the tilt axis (e.g. axis about which the bone anchor pivots, see para. [0047]) of the head of said bone screw (via 9a-9b, see Fig. 8, see para. [0045]); a rod (6, see Fig. 1) for securement to the seat (via 8, see Fig. 14); an inner collet actuator (7, see Fig. 1) configured to engage the seat (via threads 15) to activate the inner collet for movement into the operative position for clamping about the head of the bone screw to lock the uniaxial inner collet and the seat to the head of said bone screw (see Fig. 14, see paras. [0048] and [0053]); the seat including (a) a pair of legs (14a-b) defining a pair of opposing and axially oriented channels (13) arranged for receipt of the rod for locking to the seat via the inner collet actuator (via internal threads 15), and (b) a recess (12) within which the inner collet seats for retention in either the inoperative (see Figs. 8-10) or operative positions (see Figs. 11-14), the inner collet being movable via the inner collet actuator from i) the inoperative position where the head of the bone screw is received within the inner collet with radial separation of the inner collet into the recess of the seat (see Figs. 8-10, see also annotated Fig. 8 below), to ii) the operative position where the head of the bone screw is clamped within the inner collet (see Figs. 11-14); the inner collet including a pair of radially extending arms (see annotated Fig. 5 below) aligned with one another and arranged for seating within the pair of opposing channels of the seat thereby orienting the rod at a fixed angular disposition (see Fig. 9) relative to the tilt axis of the head of the bone screw (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the seat includes an aperture (18) formed continuous with the recess and arranged for receipt of the head of the bone screw into the inner collet which is retained in the inoperative position for seating in the recess of the seat (see Figs. 8-9).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the recess of the seat includes an annular rebate (19) configured, with the inner collet in the inoperative position, to permit the radial separation of the claw elements of the inner collet into the annular rebate on receipt of the head of the bone screw into the inner collet (see Fig. 9, see para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the seat includes an annular flange (16-17) defining the aperture through which the head of the bone screw is received (see Fig. 8), said flange configured with the inner collet in the operative position to urge the claw elements of the inner collet for clamping about the head of the bone screw (see Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 8, further comprising a locking element (7, see Fig. 1) operatively coupled to the seat to lock the rod to the seat (via threads 15, see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the inner collet actuator serves as the locking element wherein the inner collet actuator is in the form of a set screw (7) arranged to engage the seat for activation of the inner collet and to lock the rod to the seat (see para. [0048]).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the seat also includes a pair of legs (14a-b) defining a pair of opposing and axially oriented channels (13) arranged for receipt of the rod (6) for locking to the seat via the locking element (7, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the set screw (7) of the inner collet actuator threadably engages (via 15) the legs of the seat for contact with the inner collet to effect its movement in a sliding action (via 9a-b within 84, see Figs. 8-14, see paras. [0047]-[0048]) from the inoperative position (see Fig. 8) to the operative position (see Fig. 14) where the annular flange of the seat contacts the claw elements of the inner collet for clamping about the head of the bone screw with increasing pressure (see Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the radially extending arms of the inner collet are arranged to rest at a base (see annotated Fig. 14 below) of the respective channels of the seat within which they are seated when in the operative position the inner collet is clamped about the head of the bone screw with sufficient locking pressure (see Fig. 14, see paras. [0053]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the set screw of the inner collet actuator during movement of the inner collet from its inoperative to operative positions also effects locking of the rod to the seat (see Fig. 14, see paras. [0053]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the modular construction of the uniaxial pedicle screw assembly enables the uniaxial pedicle screw assembly to be intraoperatively installed (see Fig. 8, note bottom loading enables intraoperative installation).
Biedermann further discloses that the head of the bone screw can have another shape whereby a monoaxial bone screw is provided allowing rotation of the bone screw with respect to the seat around a single axis (see para. [0061]). However fails to explicitly disclose regarding claim 1, wherein the head of the bone screw has a truncated surface arranged to cooperate with a corresponding bearing surface of the uniaxial inner collet in an inoperative position to permit tilting of the uniaxial inner collet about a tilt axis of the head of the bone screw; said angular disposition determined by the angular position of the bearing surface of the uniaxial inner collet relative to the pair of radially extending arms; the uniaxial inner collet being selected from either (1) a first uniaxial inner collet wherein said pair of radial arms are directionally parallel with the selected bearing surface of the uniaxial inner collet; wherein the rod is oriented substantially perpendicular with the tilt axis of the head of the bone screw about which the selected uniaxial inner collet in the operative position is arranged to tilt, or (2) a second uniaxial inner collet wherein the pair of radial arms of the selected uniaxial inner collet are directionally perpendicular with the bearing surface of said selected inner collet wherein the rod is oriented substantially parallel with the tilt axis of the head of the bone screw, and wherein one of the claw elements includes a bearing surface defining the corresponding bearing surface of the uniaxial inner collet configured to cooperate with the truncated surface of the head of the bone screw to permit tilting of the uniaxial inner collet in the inoperative position about the fixed tilt axis of the head of said bone screw; regarding claim 4, wherein the bearing surface of the claw element is one of a pair of opposing bearing surfaces formed in respective of an opposing pair of the plurality of claw elements, the pair of opposing bearing surfaces arranged to cooperate with respective of a pair of the truncated surfaces in the head of the bone screw.
Chao discloses a uniaxial pedicle screw assembly (see Fig. 5), wherein the head of the bone screw has a truncated surface (163, 165, see Fig. 5) arranged to cooperate with a corresponding bearing surface (e.g. flat inner side surfaces of 192, 194) of the uniaxial inner collet in an inoperative position to permit tilting of the uniaxial inner collet about a tilt axis of the head of the bone screw (see para. [0051]); said angular disposition determined by the angular position of the bearing surface of the uniaxial inner collet relative to the pair of radially extending arms (see Figs. 5-7, see para. [0051]); the uniaxial inner collet being selected from either (1) a first uniaxial inner collet wherein said pair of radial arms are directionally parallel with the selected bearing surface of the uniaxial inner collet (see Figs. 5-7, see para. [0051]); wherein the rod is oriented substantially perpendicular with the tilt axis of the head of the bone screw about which the selected uniaxial inner collet in the operative position is arranged to tilt (see Figs. 5-7, see para. [0051]), or (2) a second uniaxial inner collet wherein the pair of radial arms of the selected uniaxial inner collet are directionally perpendicular with the bearing surface of said selected inner collet wherein the rod is oriented substantially parallel with the tilt axis of the head of the bone screw (see para. [0052], note preferred r-r axis, however other pivot directions considered); wherein one of the claw elements (192 and 194) includes a bearing surface (e.g. flat inner surfaces of 192 and 194) defining the corresponding bearing surface of the uniaxial inner collet configured to cooperate with the truncated surface of the head of the bone screw to permit tilting of the uniaxial inner collet in the inoperative position about the fixed tilt axis of the head of said bone screw (see Figs. 5-7, see para. [0051]); wherein the bearing surface of the claw element is one of a pair of opposing bearing surfaces formed in respective of an opposing pair of the plurality of claw elements (see Figs. 5-7, see para. [0051]), the pair of opposing bearing surfaces arranged to cooperate with respective of a pair of the truncated surfaces in the head of the bone screw (see Figs. 5-7, see para. [0051]) in order to allow for controlled angulation between the bone screw and the seat in one selected direction about an axis, while preventing pivoting along other directions (see ABSTRACT, see para. [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the bone screw assembly in Biedermann to have a uniaxial pedicle screw head with a truncated surface and to have a uniaxial inner collet with a corresponding bearing surface in view of Chao in order to allow for controlled angulation between the bone screw and the seat in one selected direction about an axis, while preventing pivoting along other directions.
Claim(s) 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biedermann in view of Chao, as applied to claims 1, 8 and 10, as applied above, and in further view of Spratt et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0094849 A1, hereinafter “Spratt”).
Biedermann in view of Chao discloses all of the features of the claimed invention, as previously presented above, except regarding claim 10, wherein the inner collet actuator is independent of the locking element wherein the inner collet actuator is in the form of an external set screw arranged to engage the seat for activation of the inner collet, and the locking element is in the form of an internal set screw arranged to engage the external set screw for locking of the rod to the seat; and regarding claim 18, wherein the external set screw includes a threaded aperture within which the internal set screw is received for independent locking of the rod to the seat.
Spratt discloses a pedicle screw assembly (10, see Fig. 1), with an inner collet (60) and an inner collet actuator (16), wherein the inner collet actuator (16) comprises an external set screw (70) with a threaded aperture (102) and an inner set screw (72) received within the threaded aperture (see Fig. 3) in order to enable fixation of the spinal rod relative to the seat separate of fixation of the bone screw relative to the seat (see claim 1, see para. [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the inner collet actuator in Biedermann in view of Chao to comprise an external set screw with a threaded aperture and an internal set screw in further view of Spratt in order to enable fixation of the spinal rod relative to the seat separate of fixation of the bone screw relative to the seat.
Claim(s) 12-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biedermann in view of Chao, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and in further view of Jackson et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0143266 A1, hereinafter “Jackson”).
Biedermann in view of Chao discloses all of the features of the claimed invention, as previously presented above, except regarding claim 12, wherein the inner collet also includes a pair of legs disposed either side of the pair of radially extending arms, said legs of the inner collet defining a pair of opposing and axially oriented channels substantially aligned with the channels of the seat and arranged for receipt of the rod; regarding claim 13, wherein each of the legs of the inner collet include a protrusion designed for releasable retention within a corresponding opening in the legs of the seat to retain the inner collet within the seat in both the inoperative and operative positions; and regarding claim 16, wherein the protrusion of each of the legs of the inner collet is retained for sliding movement within the corresponding opening of the legs of the seat during movement of the inner collet between the inoperative and operative positions.
Jackson discloses a pedicle screw assembly (see Fig. 1) with an inner collet (14), wherein the inner collet includes a pair of legs (see annotated Fig. 14 below) disposed either side of the pair of radially extending arms (156, see annotated Fig. 14 below), said legs of the inner collet defining a pair of opposing and axially oriented channels (153) substantially aligned with the channels of the seat and arranged for receipt of the rod (see Fig. 1); and wherein each of the legs of the inner collet include a protrusion (see annotated Fig. 15 below) designed for releasable retention within a corresponding opening in the legs of the seat to retain the inner collet within the seat in both the inoperative and operative positions (see para. [0137]); and wherein the protrusion of each of the legs of the inner collet is retained for sliding movement within the corresponding opening of the legs of the seat during movement of the inner collet between the inoperative and operative positions (see para. [0137]) in order to provide an inner collet with sized and shaped to closely receive the rod (see para. [0133]) and provide the inner collet a sliding engagement with the seat (see para. [0137]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the inner collet in Biedermann in view of Chao to include a pair of legs, each of the legs of the inner collet include a protrusion, and a pair of opposing axial oriented channels in further view of Jackson in order to provide an inner collet with sized and shaped to closely receive the rod and provide the inner collet a sliding engagement with the seat.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant asserts that Biedermann in view of Chao fails to disclose, regarding claim 1, “said uniaxial inner collet including a plurality of claw elements together configured in the inoperative position of the inner collet to permit tilting of the inner collet about the tilt axis of the head of the bone screw, one of the claw elements including a bearing surface defining the bearing surface of the uniaxial inner collet configured to cooperate with the truncated surface of the head of the bone screw to permit tilting of the uniaxial inner collet”. The Applicant asserts that although Biedermann mentions alternative embodiments to provide a so-called “monoaxial” bone screw, none of the alternatives suggest the claimed configuration in claim 1, and that the restriction protrusions 192 and 194 in Chao are separate and distinct members that engage with the compression and restriction member 180 and are not claw elements of a uniaxial inner collet.
The Office respectfully disagrees. While Biedermann fails to explicitly disclose in the alternative embodiments, the truncated surfaces of the head and the bearing surfaces in the uniaxial inner collet, Chao is relied upon to disclose these features in order to allow for controlled angulation between the bone screw and the seat in one selected direction about an axis, while preventing pivoting along other directions (see ABSTRACT, see para. [0051]). And further it is clear that the bearing surfaces in Chao are equivalent to the claw elements in Biedermann, since both enable desired movement of the bone screw and locking of the bone screw and Chao further discloses that they may be integrally formed with the inner collet (see para. [0055]).
The Applicant asserts Biedermann in view of Chao fails to disclose, regarding claim 1, “the uniaxial inner collet including a pair of radially extending arms aligned with one another and arranged for seating within the pair of opposing channels of the seat”. The Applicant asserts that Biedermann relies on pins to maintain alignment between the pressure element and receiving body.
The Office respectfully disagrees. The pair of arms of the inner collet in Biedermann are considered to be radially extending, since they extend radially outward from the recessed portion of 82 (see annotated Figs. 6-7 below) and are considered to meet the limitation “arranged for seating within the pair of opposing channels” since they are received between the legs 14a-b of the seat 5 and span the internal length of the channel 13 to its opposing ends and are retained in position via the pins 9a-b (see Fig. 1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.C.G/ Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773