Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/28/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 13, and 25 have been amended. Claims 37 to 43 have been added. Claims 1-43 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C.§102
Regarding to newly amended claim 1, Applicant argues that “Oracle does not teach or disclose the first option and the second option as claimed, much less receiving user inputs via a user interface presenting the first option and the second option. Oracle does not teach or disclose a "first option for creating the cloned database to a point in time recovery" and a "second option for creating the cloned database to a snapshot." Oracle provides for "Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard." Oracle, 14.1.1. Oracle describes how a RMAN backup image can be selected from multiple RMAN backup images: "If you selected Prior Point in Time, a carousel of RMAN Backup images appear. Select the appropriate RMAN backup by clicking Select on the image." Oracle, 14.1.1. However, Oracle is altogether silent as to receiving user input "via a user interface presenting a first option for creating the cloned database to a point in time recovery by specifying a time and a second option for creating the cloned database to a snapshot by selecting from a set of snapshots." Oracle does not provide for a user interface providing these two options, much less receiving user input selecting one of these options via such a user interface. “
In response, the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections of claims 1-2, 5-8, 10-14, 17-20, 22-26, 29-32 and 34-36 has been withdrawn. However, Examiner relies on a combination of references.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 10, 12-22, 24-34 and 36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory anticipatory type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of co-pending Application No. 18/489,838. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variants of each other.
The chart below shows the correspondence between the claims in the current application and the patent claims.
Current Application (18/490,720)
Co-pending Application No. 18/489,838
1. A method comprising: receiving a request for creating a cloned database from a source database;
1. A system comprising: present a first user interface to receive a user request to create a cloned database from a source database;
receiving, in response to receiving the request, via a user interface presenting a first option for creating the cloned database to a point in time recovery by specifying a time and a second option for creating the cloned database to a snapshot by selecting from a set of snapshots:
a first user input of either the first option for creating the cloned database to a point in time recovery or the second option for creating the cloned database to a snapshot;
in response to receiving the user request, present at least one second user interface to: receive a first user input of either a first option to create the cloned database from a point in time or a second option to create the cloned database from an available snapshot;
5. The system of claim 1,
receive selection of the first option;
receive selection of a time indicating the point in time at which the cloned database is to be created responsive to receiving selection of the first option; retrieve the snapshot based on the time that is selected;
and a second user input indicative of a location where the cloned database is to be created;
and receive a second user input indicative of a location where the cloned database is to be created;
retrieving a snapshot based on the first user input;
5. retrieve the snapshot based on the time that is selected;
and creating the cloned database using the snapshot at the location indicated by the second user input.
and display, responsive to creating the cloned source database based on the first user input and the second user input, the cloned database on a third user interface.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, in response to receiving the request, a third user input of a date selected from a series of dates.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors further execute computer- readable instructions to receive via the at least one second user interface, in response to receiving the user request, a third user input of a date selected from a series of dates.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein at least some of the series of dates provide a visual representation indicating a level of protection available for the at least some of the series of dates.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein at least some of the series of dates provide a visual representation indicating a level of protection available for the at least some of the series of dates.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the at least some dates of the series of dates comprises a first date providing a first visual representation indicative of a continuous protection, a second date providing a second visual representation indicative of protection based on a daily snapshot, a third date providing a third visual representation indicative of protection based on a weekly snapshot, a fourth date providing a fourth visual representation indicative of protection based on a monthly snapshot, a fifth date providing a fifth visual representation indicative of protection based on a quarterly snapshot, and a sixth date providing a sixth visual representation indicative of protection based on a manually captured snapshot.
4. The system of claim 2, wherein the at least some dates of the series of dates comprises a first date that provides a first visual representation indicative of a continuous protection, a second date that provides a second visual representation indicative of protection based on a daily snapshot, a third date that provides a third visual representation indicative of protection based on a weekly snapshot, a fourth date that provides a fourth visual representation indicative of protection based on a monthly snapshot, a fifth date that provides a fifth visual representation indicative of protection based on a quarterly snapshot, and a sixth date that provides a sixth visual representation indicative of protection based on a manually captured snapshot.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving selection of the first option;
receiving selection of a time indicating the point in time at which the cloned database is to be created;
retrieving the snapshot based on the time that is selected;
retrieving a transactional log based on the time that is selected;
and creating the cloned database based on the snapshot and the transactional log.
5. The system of claim 1,
receive selection of the first option;
receive selection of a time indicating the point in time at which the cloned database is to be created responsive to receiving selection of the first option;
retrieve the snapshot based on the time that is selected;
retrieve a transactional log based on the time that is selected;
and create the cloned database based on the snapshot and the transactional log.
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising: presenting a time scale for receiving the selection of the point in time;
and receiving the selection of the time from the time scale, wherein the time scale comprises a time slot that is available for creating the cloned database to the point in time.
6. The system of claim 5,
present a time scale to receive the selection of the time;
and receive the selection of the time from the time scale, wherein the time scale comprises a time slot that is available to create the cloned database to the point in time.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the location where the cloned database is to be created comprises a cloud location.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the location where the cloned database is to be created comprises a cloud location.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, in response to receiving the request, a third user input of a name for the cloned database.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors further execute computer- readable instructions to receive via the at least one second user interface, in response to receiving the user request, a third user input of a name for the cloned database.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising creating a new database server for creating the cloned database in response to receiving the second user input.
9. The system of claim 1,
to create a new database server to create the cloned database in response to receiving the second user input.
10. The method of claim 1, further comprising creating the cloned database on an existing database server in response to receiving the second user input.
10. The system of claim 1,
to create the cloned database on an existing database server in response to receiving the second user input.
12. The method of claim 1, further comprising displaying a progress of creation of the cloned database.
11. The system of claim 1,
to display a progress of creation of the cloned database on the third user interface.
The underlined parts in the above table show the differences between the instant application and U.S. Co-pending Application No. 18/489,838. Instant application is recited more broadly than the U.S. Co-pending Application No. 18/489,838.
Claims 13 and 25 correspond to claim 1, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 14 and 26 correspond to claim 2, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 15 and 27 correspond to claim 3, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 16 and 28 correspond to claim 4, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 17 and 29 correspond to claim 5, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 18 and 30 correspond to claim 6, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 19 and 31 correspond to claim 7, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 20 and 32 correspond to claim 8, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 21 and 33 correspond to claim 9, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 22 and 34 correspond to claim 10, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 24 and 36 correspond to claim 12, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 13-18, 20-22, 25-30 and 32-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory anticipatory type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11 and 37 of U.S. Patent No. 11816066.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variants of each other.
The chart below shows the correspondence between the claims in the current application and the patent claims.
Current Application (18/490,720)
U.S. Patent No. 11816066.
1. A method comprising: receiving a request for creating a cloned database from a source database;
1. A method comprising:
receiving a request, via a dashboard, for creating a cloned database from a source database;
receiving, in response to receiving the request, via a user interface presenting a first option for creating the cloned database to a point in time recovery by specifying a time and a second option for creating the cloned database to a snapshot by selecting from a set of snapshots:
a first user input of either the first option for creating the cloned database to a point in time recovery or the second option for creating the cloned database to a snapshot;
in response to receiving the request, presenting at least one user interface for receiving: a second selection of either a first option to create the cloned database from a point in time or a second option to create the cloned database from a snapshot;
11. a second selection of a time from a time scale indicating a point in time for creating the cloned database; …retrieving a snapshot and a transactional log based on the first selection and the second selection;
and a second user input indicative of a location where the cloned database is to be created;
a third selection of either creating the cloned database on an existing virtual machine
retrieving a snapshot based on the first user input;
retrieving a snapshot based on the first selection and the second selection;
and creating the cloned database using the snapshot at the location indicated by the second user input.
and creating the cloned database using the snapshot on a virtual machine indicated in the third selection.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, in response to receiving the request, a third user input of a date selected from a series of dates.
1. in response to receiving the request, presenting at least one user interface for receiving:
a first selection of a date from a series of dates, wherein at least some dates of the series of dates provide a visual representation;
3. The method of claim 2, wherein at least some of the series of dates provide a visual representation indicating a level of protection available for the at least some of the series of dates.
37. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least some dates of the series of dates comprises a first date that provides a first visual representation indicative of a continuous protection, a second date that provides a second visual representation indicative of protection based on a daily snapshot,
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the at least some dates of the series of dates comprises a first date providing a first visual representation indicative of a continuous protection, a second date providing a second visual representation indicative of protection based on a daily snapshot, a third date providing a third visual representation indicative of protection based on a weekly snapshot, a fourth date providing a fourth visual representation indicative of protection based on a monthly snapshot, a fifth date providing a fifth visual representation indicative of protection based on a quarterly snapshot, and a sixth date providing a sixth visual representation indicative of protection based on a manually captured snapshot.
37. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least some dates of the series of dates comprises a first date that provides a first visual representation indicative of a continuous protection, a second date that provides a second visual representation indicative of protection based on a daily snapshot, a third date that provides a third visual representation indicative of protection based on a weekly snapshot, a fourth date that provides a fourth visual representation indicative of protection based on a monthly snapshot, a fifth date that provides a fifth visual representation indicative of protection based on a quarterly snapshot, and a sixth date that provides a sixth visual representation indicative of protection based on a manually captured snapshot.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving selection of the first option;
receiving selection of a time indicating the point in time at which the cloned database is to be created; retrieving the snapshot based on the time that is selected;
retrieving a transactional log based on the time that is selected;
and creating the cloned database based on the snapshot and the transactional log.
11. A method comprising: receiving a request, via a dashboard, for creating a cloned database from a source database; in response to receiving the request, presenting at least one user interface for receiving:…; a second selection of a time from a time scale indicating a point in time for creating the cloned database; …retrieving a snapshot and a transactional log based on the first selection and the second selection; and
creating the cloned database using the snapshot and the transactional log on a virtual machine indicated in the third selection.
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising: presenting a time scale for receiving the selection of the point in time; and receiving the selection of the time from the time scale, wherein the time scale comprises a time slot that is available for creating the cloned database to the point in time.
11. A method comprising: receiving a request, via a dashboard, for creating a cloned database from a source database; in response to receiving the request, presenting at least one user interface for receiving:…; a second selection of a time from a time scale indicating a point in time for creating the cloned database;
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, in response to receiving the request, a third user input of a name for the cloned database.
39. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a fourth selection comprising a name for the cloned database.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising creating a new database server for creating the cloned database in response to receiving the second user input.
1.in response to receiving the request, presenting at least one user interface for receiving: ..a third selection of either creating the cloned database on an existing virtual machine or creating a new virtual machine for the cloned database;
10. The method of claim 1, further comprising creating the cloned database on an existing database server in response to receiving the second user input.
1.in response to receiving the request, presenting at least one user interface for receiving:...a third selection of either creating the cloned database on an existing virtual machine or creating a new virtual machine for the cloned database;
The underlined parts in the above table show the differences between the instant application and U.S. Patent No. 11816066. Instant application is recited more broadly than the U.S. Patent No.11816066.
Claims 13 and 25 correspond to claim 1, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 14 and 26 correspond to claim 2, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 15 and 27 correspond to claim 3, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 16 and 28 correspond to claim 4, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 17 and 29 correspond to claim 5, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 18 and 30 correspond to claim 6, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 20 and 32 correspond to claim 8, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 21 and 33 correspond to claim 9, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 22 and 34 correspond to claim 10, and are rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10-14,17,20, 22-26, 29-32, and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (https://web.archive.org/web/20170829005212/https://docs.oracle.com/cd/E24628_01/em.121/e27046/cloning_database.htm#EMLCM93230, hereinafter Oracle)
in view of (Oracle® Enterprise Manager Cloud Administration Guide 12c Release 5 (12.1.0.5)E28814-19, hereinafter Oracle2)
Regarding claim 1, Oracle discloses: A method comprising: receiving a request for creating a cloned database from a source database; (Oracle , section 14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard (Note: Examiner interprets that “using the clone wizard” is corresponding to “a request for creating a cloned database”), 1. On the Databases page, you can access the Full Clone database wizard by following any one method: Select the database that you want to clone from the list of the databases displayed. On the Database home page, click the Database menu, select Cloning, and then select Create Full Clone; 2.On the Create Full Clone Database: Source and Destination page, do the following: In the Source section, launch the credentials selector by selecting the search icons for SYSDBA Database and Database Host credentials.)
receiving, in response to receiving the request, via a user interface presenting a first option for creating the cloned database to a point in time recovery by specifying a time and a second option for creating the cloned database to a snapshot (Oracle ,section 14.2.1 Creating a Test Master Database Using the Clone Wizard, A test master can be created from a snapshot (corresponding to “a second option”) or an RMAN Backup (corresponding to “a first option”)profile taken at a prior point in time and refreshed at specific intervals; section 14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard, 2.On the Create Full Clone Database: Source and Destination page, do the following: In the Source section, launch the credentials selector by selecting the search icons for SYSDBA Database and Database Host credentials. In the Data Time Series section, select Now (corresponding to “a second option”) or Prior Point in Time (corresponding to “a first option”). If you selected Now (corresponding to “a first user input”) , specify or search and select the SYSASM ASM Credentials. Now refers to Live Clone.
If you selected Prior Point in Time (corresponding to “a first user input”), a carousel of RMAN Backup images appear. Select the appropriate RMAN backup by clicking Select on the image.
a first user input of either the first option for creating the cloned database to a point in time recovery or the second option for creating the cloned database to a snapshot; (Oracle ,section 14.2.1 Creating a Test Master Database Using the Clone Wizard, A test master can be created from a snapshot (corresponding to “a second option”) or an RMAN Backup (corresponding to “a first option”)profile taken at a prior point in time and refreshed at specific intervals; section 14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard, 2.On the Create Full Clone Database: Source and Destination page, do the following: In the Source section, launch the credentials selector by selecting the search icons for SYSDBA Database and Database Host credentials. In the Data Time Series section, select Now (corresponding to “a second option”) or Prior Point in Time (corresponding to “a first option”). If you selected Now (corresponding to “a first user input”) , specify or search and select the SYSASM ASM Credentials. Now refers to Live Clone.
If you selected Prior Point in Time (corresponding to “a first user input”), a carousel of RMAN Backup images appear. Select the appropriate RMAN backup by clicking Select on the image.
and a second user input indicative of a location where the cloned database is to be created; (Oracle , section14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard, 3. In the Destination Database Definition section (corresponding to “a location”) , do the following: Specify a display name. Specify a global database name and SID. A database is uniquely identified by a Global Database Name. The typical form of a name is name. domain. A database is referenced by at least one Oracle instance which is uniquely identified by SID. Select one of the following types of databases: Single Instance Database. In the Hosts section, specify the Oracle Home location. The host gets specified by default. Next, select the Database Home credentials and the SYSASM ASM credentials.
retrieving a snapshot based on the first user input; (Oracle ,section 14.2.1 Creating a Test Master Database Using the Clone Wizard, A test master can be created from a snapshot (corresponding to “a second option”) or an RMAN Backup (corresponding to “a first option”)profile taken at a prior point in time and refreshed at specific intervals; section 14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard, 2.On the Create Full Clone Database: Source and Destination page, do the following: In the Source section, launch the credentials selector by selecting the search icons for SYSDBA Database and Database Host credentials. In the Data Time Series section, select Now (corresponding to “a second option”) or Prior Point in Time (corresponding to “a first option”). If you selected Now (corresponding to “a first user input”) , specify or search and select the SYSASM ASM Credentials. Now refers to Live Clone.
If you selected Prior Point in Time (corresponding to “a first user input”), a carousel of RMAN Backup images appear. Select the appropriate RMAN backup by clicking Select on the image.
and creating the cloned database using the snapshot at the location indicated by the second user input. (Oracle ,section 14.2.1 Creating a Test Master Database Using the Clone Wizard, A test master can be created from a snapshot or an RMAN Backup profile taken at a prior point in time and refreshed at specific intervals; section 14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard, 2.On the Create Full Clone Database: Source and Destination page, do the following: In the Source section, launch the credentials selector by selecting the search icons for SYSDBA Database and Database Host credentials. In the Data Time Series section, select Now or Prior Point in Time. If you selected Now (corresponding to “snapshot”) , specify or search and select the SYSASM ASM Credentials. Now refers to Live Clone.
If you selected Prior Point in Time, a carousel of RMAN Backup images appear. Select the appropriate RMAN backup by clicking Select on the image.
Section 14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard, 3. In the Destination Database Definition section (corresponding to “a location”) , do the following: Specify a display name. Specify a global database name and SID. A database is uniquely identified by a Global Database Name. The typical form of a name is name. domain. A database is referenced by at least one Oracle instance which is uniquely identified by SID. Select one of the following types of databases: Single Instance Database. In the Hosts section, specify the Oracle Home location (corresponding to “second user input”). The host gets specified by default. Next, select the Database Home credentials and the SYSASM ASM credentials.
However, Oracle does not clearly disclose: and a second option for creating the cloned database to a snapshot by selecting from a set of snapshots:
However Oracle2 discloses:
and a second option for creating the cloned database to a snapshot by selecting from a set of snapshots: (Oracle2, page 842, section 47.6.1 About Database Provisioning Profile Types- Given below are the four types of Database provisioning profiles used in Database as a Service and Schema as a Service: DBCA Template, RMAN, Snapclone, Schema; page 366, section 19.1.2.2
page 381, section 20.3.1 Creating a Snap Clone Database, … On the Database homepage, click the Database menu, select Cloning, and then select Create Snap Clone…In the Data Time Series section, select Now or Prior Point in Time…If you selected Prior Point in Time, a carousel of Storage Snapshot images appear. Select the appropriate RMAN backup by clicking Select on the image. You can create snap clones by selecting a storage snapshot from the carousel. You can modify this in case you have to create a new clone between these two time periods. Similarly, you can do the same for SCN by selecting the Select SCN option.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Oracle with the teaching of Oracle 2 to simplify database provisioning and administration of databases through automated workflows using different cloning technologies and also to provide IT agility and save time and storage space and reduce the database management overhead. (Oracle 2, page 1153)
Claims 13 and 25 correspond to claim 1, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 2, Oracle in view of Oracle2 discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Claim 2 further recites: receiving, in response to receiving the request, a third user input of a date selected from a series of dates. (Oracle, section 14.1.1, If you selected Prior Point in Time, a carousel of RMAN Backup images appear. Select the appropriate RMAN backup by clicking Select on the image. (Note: Examiner interprets that the dates displayed in the RMAN Backup images correspond to “a series of dates”)
Claims 14 and 26 correspond to claim 2, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 5, Oracle in view of Oracle2 discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Claim 5 further recites: receiving selection of the first option; receiving selection of a time indicating the point in time at which the cloned database is to be created; retrieving the snapshot based on the time that is selected; (Oracle ,section 14.2.1 Creating a Test Master Database Using the Clone Wizard, A test master can be created from a snapshot or an RMAN Backup profile taken at a prior point in time and refreshed at specific intervals; section 14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard, 2.On the Create Full Clone Database: Source and Destination page, do the following: In the Source section, launch the credentials selector by selecting the search icons for SYSDBA Database and Database Host credentials. In the Data Time Series section, select Now or Prior Point in Time. If you selected Now (corresponding to “snapshot”) , specify or search and select the SYSASM ASM Credentials. Now refers to Live Clone.
If you selected Prior Point in Time, a carousel of RMAN Backup images appear. Select the appropriate RMAN backup by clicking Select on the image.
retrieving a transactional log based on the time that is selected; (Section 14.5.1 Overview of Classic Cloning Methods, Table 14-1 Oracle Database Cloning Methods, Creates cloned database as of specified point-in-time or SCN, Validates backups prior to the clone operation, Transfers required archived redo log files (corresponding to “a transactional log”) to destination host, Recovers and opens the cloned database
Oracle ,section 14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard, step 2. In the Data Time Series section, select Now or Prior Point in Time. If you selected Prior Point in Time, a carousel of RMAN Backup images appear. Select the appropriate RMAN backup by clicking Select on the image. You can create full clones by selecting a backup and optionally modify the time and SCN to do a point in time restore. The Select Time option has the minimum limit set to the current backups time and maximum time limit set to the next backup time. You can modify this in case you have to create a new clone between these two time periods; step 4. On the Create Full Clone Database: Configuration page, do the following: In the Database Files Location, specify the location where you want the data files, temp files, redo log files (corresponding to “a transactional log”), and control files to be created. You can select File System or Automatic Storage Management (ASM), and then specify the common location for the database files. In the Recovery Files location, specify the location where you want the recovery files, such as archived redo logs (corresponding to “a transactional log”), RMAN backups, and other related files to be created. You can choose to use the fast area recovery by selecting Use Fast Recovery Area
(Oracle , section 14.1.2 Creating a Full Clone Database Using EM CLI, “ARCHIVE_LOG_MODE=NO” (Note: Examiner interprets that “ARCHIVE_LOG” corresponds to “a transactional log”)
and creating the cloned database based on the snapshot and the transactional log. (Oracle, Section 14.5.1 Overview of Classic Cloning Methods, Table 14-1 Oracle Database Cloning Methods, Creates cloned database as of specified point-in-time or SCN, Validates backups prior to the clone operation, Transfers required archived redo log files (corresponding to “a transactional log”) to destination host, Recovers and opens the cloned database
(Oracle ,section 14.2.1 Creating a Test Master Database Using the Clone Wizard, A test master can be created from a snapshot or an RMAN Backup profile taken at a prior point in time and refreshed at specific intervals; section 14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard, 2.On the Create Full Clone Database: Source and Destination page, do the following: In the Source section, launch the credentials selector by selecting the search icons for SYSDBA Database and Database Host credentials. In the Data Time Series section, select Now or Prior Point in Time. If you selected Now (corresponding to “snapshot”) , specify or search and select the SYSASM ASM Credentials. Now refers to Live Clone.
Claims 17 and 29 correspond to claim 5, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 6, Oracle in view of Oracle2 discloses all of the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above. Claim 6 further recites: presenting a time scale for receiving the selection of the point in time; (Oracle ,section 14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard, step 2. In the Data Time Series section, select Now or Prior Point in Time. If you selected Prior Point in Time, a carousel of RMAN Backup images (corresponding to “a time scale) appear. Select the appropriate RMAN backup by clicking Select on the image. You can create full clones by selecting a backup and optionally modify the time and SCN to do a point in time restore. The Select Time option has the minimum limit set to the current backups time and maximum time limit set to the next backup time. You can modify this in case you have to create a new clone between these two time periods; (Note: a carousel of RMAN Backup images is presented, each displaying a timestamp, thereby forming a time scale from which the user can make a selection.)
and receiving the selection of the time from the time scale, wherein the time scale comprises a time slot that is available for creating the cloned database to the point in time. (Oracle ,section 14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard, step 2. In the Data Time Series section, select Now or Prior Point in Time. If you selected Prior Point in Time, a carousel of RMAN Backup images appear. Select the appropriate RMAN backup by clicking Select on the image. You can create full clones by selecting a backup and optionally modify the time and SCN to do a point in time restore. The Select Time option has the minimum limit set to the current backups time and maximum time limit set to the next backup time. You can modify this in case you have to create a new clone between these two time periods;
Claims 18 and 30 correspond to claim 6, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 7, Oracle in view of Oracle2 discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Claim 7 further recites: wherein the location where the cloned database is to be created comprises a cloud location. (Oracle, section 14.3.1 Creating a Full Clone Pluggable Database Using the Clone Wizard, Step 6. If you do not need to specify anymore details, click Clone. This submits the deployment procedure to clone a PDB to a CDB that is deployed in a public cloud setup.)
Claims 19 and 31 correspond to claim 7, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 8, Oracle in view of Oracle2 discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Claim 8 further recites: receiving, in response to receiving the request, a third user input of a name for the cloned database. (Oracle, section 14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard step 3. In the Destination Database Definition section, do the following: Specify a display name. Specify a global database name and SID. A database is uniquely identified by a Global Database Name. The typical form of a name is name.domain. A database is referenced by at least one Oracle instance which is uniquely identified by SID.
Claims 20 and 32 correspond to claim 8, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 10, Oracle in view of Oracle2 discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Claim 10 further recites: creating the cloned database on an existing database server in response to receiving the second user input. (Oracle, section 14.5.1 Overview of Classic Cloning Methods, You can use the Enterprise Manager Clone Database wizard to clone an Oracle database instance to an existing Oracle home. After you have an Oracle database instance in a known state (for example, you've configured it, tuned it, and tested it), you may want to clone that database to another existing Oracle home; section 14.1.1 Creating a Full Clone Database Using the Clone Wizard, step 3. In the Destination Database Definition section, do the following: In the Hosts section, specify or select the cluster target. The Oracle Home location gets specified by default.)
Claims 22 and 34 correspond to claim 10, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 11, Oracle in view of Oracle2 discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Claim 11 further recites: displaying the source database and the cloned database on a dashboard. (Oracle, section 14.2.1 Creating a Test Master Database Using the Clone Wizard, step 8. On the Create Test Master Database: Review page, review and verify the information specified and click Submit to create the test master.) (Note: both the source and destination (corresponding to “cloned”) databases are presented in the review screen; Examiner interprets that the layout, under tab such as “Review” is corresponding to “a dashboard” )
Claims 23 and 35 correspond to claim 11, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 12, Oracle in view of Oracle2 discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Claim 12 further recites: displaying a progress of creation of the cloned database. (Oracle, section 14.3.1 Creating a Full Clone Pluggable Database Using the Clone Wizard, step 10. In the Notification section, select the deployment procedure states for which you want to receive e-mail notifications. For example, if you select Scheduled and Succeeded (corresponding to “ progress”) for Status for Notification, you will receive e-mail notifications when the cloning deployment procedure is scheduled, and when it succeeds. )
Claims 24 and 36 correspond to claim 12, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 3-4, 15-16 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (https://web.archive.org/web/20170829005212/https://docs.oracle.com/cd/E24628_01/em.121/e27046/cloning_database.htm#EMLCM93230, hereinafter Oracle) in view of (Oracle® Enterprise Manager Cloud Administration Guide 12c Release 5 (12.1.0.5)E28814-19, hereinafter Oracle2) in further view of (https://secure.backupassist.com/support/en/backupassist/manage/calendar.htm, hereinafter BackupAssist)
Regarding claim 3, Oracle in view of Oracle2 discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Oracle in view of Oracle2 does not clearly disclose: wherein at least some of the series of dates provide a visual representation indicating a level of protection available for the at least some of the series of dates.
However BackupAssist discloses:
wherein at least some of the series of dates provide a visual representation indicating a level of protection available for the at least some of the series of dates. (BackupAssist ,‘Key Symbol’ section- Selecting the Key symbol in the top right will open a legend. The Calendar Legend demonstrates the various colors used in the calendar view to denote the different backup days you have scheduled; (Note: Examiner interprets that a “legend” is corresponding to a “visual representation”; As shown in following snapshot of BackupAssist, “Calendar Key” section is including “Backup frequency”, e.g. Daily, Weekly, Monthly, Quarterly and Yearly with corresponding colors in the calendar view. Also the calendar view shows that some dates provides calendar key which shows respective date has daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly or yearly backup )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Oracle in view of Oracle2 with the teaching of BackupAssist to offer an easy to follow visual representation of the selected media rotation scheme and also to help you see when and what types of backups are scheduled to occur, as well as details about each backup day in the rotation scheme. (BackupAssist, Calendar section)
Claims 15 and 27 correspond to claim 3, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 4, Oracle in view of Oracle2 in view of BackupAssist discloses all of the features with respect to claim 3 as outlined above. Oracle in view of Oracle2 does not clearly disclose: wherein the at least some dates of the series of dates comprises a first date providing a first visual representation indicative of a continuous protection, a second date providing a second visual representation indicative of protection based on a daily snapshot, a third date providing a third visual representation indicative of protection based on a weekly snapshot, a fourth date providing a fourth visual representation indicative of protection based on a monthly snapshot, a fifth date providing a fifth visual representation indicative of protection based on a quarterly snapshot, and a sixth date providing a sixth visual representation indicative of protection based on a manually captured snapshot.
However BackupAssist discloses:
wherein the at least some dates of the series of dates comprises a first date providing a first visual representation indicative of a continuous protection (BackupAssist, backup methods, “TLog”), a second date providing a second visual representation indicative of protection based on a daily snapshot, a third date providing a third visual representation indicative of protection based on a weekly snapshot, a fourth date providing a fourth visual representation indicative of protection based on a monthly snapshot, a fifth date providing a fifth visual representation indicative of protection based on a quarterly snapshot, and a sixth date providing a sixth visual representation indicative of protection based on a manually captured snapshot. (BackupAssist ,‘Key Symbol’ section- Selecting the Key symbol in the top right will open a legend. The Calendar Legend demonstrates the various colors used in the calendar view to denote the different backup days you have scheduled; (Note: Examiner interprets that a “legend” is corresponding to a “visual representation”; As shown in following snapshot of BackupAssist, “Calendar Key” section is including “Backup frequency”, e.g. Daily, Weekly, Monthly, Quarterly and Yearly with corresponding colors in the calendar view. Also the calendar view shows that some dates provides calendar key which shows respective date has daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly or yearly backup )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Oracle in view of Oracle2 with the teaching of BackupAssist to offer an easy to follow visual representation of the selected media rotation scheme and also to help you see when and what types of backups are scheduled to occur, as well as details about each backup day in the rotation scheme. (BackupAssist, Calendar section)
Claims 16 and 28 correspond to claim 4, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 9, 21 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (https://web.archive.org/web/20170829005212/https://docs.oracle.com/cd/E24628_01/em.121/e27046/cloning_database.htm#EMLCM93230, hereinafter Oracle) in view of (Oracle® Enterprise Manager Cloud Administration Guide 12c Release 5 (12.1.0.5)E28814-19, hereinafter Oracle2) in view of Yung (US 2013/0232470 Al)
Regarding claim 9, Oracle in view of Oracle2 discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Oracle in view of Oracle2 does not clearly disclose: creating a new database server for creating the cloned database in response to receiving the second user input.
However Yung discloses:
creating a new database server for creating the cloned database in response to receiving the second user input. (Yung [0021] Each dependency setting selected by a user is associated with an action attribute. The action attribute specifies actions to be taken during workload operation; [0022] For example, suppose the action attribute is "follow new host" for a database host "db host". During a cloning operation, the "db host" setting is replaced with the hostname of the new launched database server that appears in the cloud platform environment into which the application stack is cloned.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Oracle in view of Oracle2 with the teaching of Yung to facilitate enterprise IT to adjust resources, such as servers, storage and networking, to meet fluctuations in business demands (Yung, [0005])
Claims 21 and 33 correspond to claim 9, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 37-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (https://web.archive.org/web/20170829005212/https://docs.oracle.com/cd/E24628_01/em.121/e27046/cloning_database.htm#EMLCM93230, hereinafter Oracle)
in view of in view of (Oracle® Enterprise Manager Cloud Administration Guide 12c Release 5 (12.1.0.5)E28814-19, hereinafter Oracle2) in further view of Little (US 2017/0322827 Al)
Regarding claim 37, Oracle in view of Oracle2 discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Oracle in view of Oracle2 does not clearly disclose: wherein the source database and the cloned database are hosted within a hyperconverged infrastructure system comprising a plurality of nodes, each node including compute resources, storage resources, and virtualization resources.
However Little discloses:
wherein the source database and the cloned database are hosted within a hyperconverged infrastructure system comprising a plurality of nodes, each node including compute resources, storage resources, and virtualization resources.
(Little, Fig. 1A, [0015] Each hardware node l00a-c runs virtualization software, such as VMWARE ESX(I), MICROSOFT HYPER-V, or REDHAT KYM. The virtualization software includes hypervisor 130a-c to manage the interactions between the underlying hardware and the one or more user VMs 101a, 102a, 101b, 102b, 101c, and 102c that run client software. Though not depicted in FIG. lA, a hypervisor may connect to network 140.; [0038] provide unified, standardized, automated hyperconverged platform; [0016] the storage resources, including DAS 124a-c; [0024] Feature Set: ideal features include clones for VM provisioning)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Oracle in view of Oracle2 with the teaching of Little to facilitate the performance of the I/O command, facilitate I/O operations between a user VM and a vDisk and to facilitate I/O operations, (Little, [0020]) and also to provide unified, standardized, automated hyperconverged platform qualification by way of a user interface-driven tool that can run standardized qualification tasks and procedures in a completely or partially automated manner, to discover errors, performance issues, and verify functionality or behavior and to simulate realistic workloads for hyperconverged clients for any purpose, such as benchmarking and testing, (Little, [0038]).
Regarding claim 38, Oracle in view of Oracle2 in view of Little discloses all of the features with respect to claim 37 as outlined above. Oracle in view of Oracle2 does not clearly disclose: wherein the plurality of nodes are interconnected to form a cluster, each node comprising one or more database virtual machines; a hypervisor configured to manage the database virtual machines; and a controller virtual machine configured to manage communications and data operations between the nodes.
However Little discloses:
wherein the plurality of nodes are interconnected to form a cluster, each node comprising one or more database virtual machines; (Little, Fig. 1A, [0015] item Each hardware node l00a-c runs virtualization software, such as VMWARE ESX(I), MICROSOFT HYPER-V, or REDHAT KYM. The virtualization software includes hypervisor 130a-c to manage the interactions between the underlying hardware and the one or more user VMs 101a, 102a, 101b, 102b, 101c, and 102c that run client software. Though not depicted in FIG. lA, a hypervisor may connect to network 140; [0016] Special VMs llOa-c are used to manage storage and input/output ("I/O") activities according to particular embodiments, which are referred to herein as "Controller/Service VMs". These special VMs act as the storage controller in the currently described architecture. Multiple such storage controllers coordinate within a cluster to form a single-system.)
a hypervisor configured to manage the database virtual machines; (Little, [0015] Fig. 1A , hypervisors 130a-c; [0015] item Each hardware node l00a-c runs virtualization software, such as VMWARE ESX(I), MICROSOFT HYPER-V, or REDHAT KYM. The virtualization software includes hypervisor 130a-c to manage the interactions between the underlying hardware and the one or more user VMs 101a, 102a, 101b, 102b, 101c, and 102c that run client software. Though not depicted in FIG. lA, a hypervisor may connect to network 140.)
and a controller virtual machine configured to manage communications and data operations between the nodes. (Little, Fig. 1A, Controller/Service VMs 110a-c; [0014] that contains multiple hardware nodes l00a-c that manage multiple tiers of storage [0016] Special VMs llOa-c are used to manage storage and input/output ("I/O") activities according to particular embodiments, which are referred to herein as "Controller/Service VMs". These special VMs act as the storage controller in the currently described architecture. Multiple such storage controllers coordinate within a cluster to form a single-system.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Oracle in view of Oracle2 with the teaching of Little to facilitate the performance of the I/O command, facilitate I/O operations between a user VM and a vDisk and to facilitate I/O operations, (Little, [0020]) and also to provide unified, standardized, automated hyperconverged platform qualification by way of a user interface-driven tool that can run standardized qualification tasks and procedures in a completely or partially automated manner, to discover errors, performance issues, and verify functionality or behavior and to simulate realistic workloads for hyperconverged clients for any purpose, such as benchmarking and testing, (Little, [0038]).
Regarding claim 39, Oracle in view of Oracle2 in view of Little discloses all of the features with respect to claim 38 as outlined above. Oracle in view of Oracle2 does not clearly disclose: wherein the hyperconverged infrastructure system further comprises a distributed storage pool including direct-attached storage on each node and network-attached storage accessible by the nodes.
However Little discloses:
wherein the hyperconverged infrastructure system further comprises a distributed storage pool including direct-attached storage on each node and network-attached storage accessible by the nodes. (Little, Fig. 1A, direct-attached storage (DAS) 124a-c; [0014] The architecture of FIG. lA can be implemented for a distributed platform that contains multiple hardware nodes l00a-c that manage multiple tiers of storage. The multiple tiers of storage may include network-attached storage (NAS) that is accessible through network 140, such as, by way of example and not limitation, cloud storage 126, which may be accessible through the Internet, or local network-accessible star …direct-attached storage (DAS) 124a-c that is within or directly attached to the server and/or appliance to be managed as part of storage pool 160; [0038] provide unified, standardized, automated hyperconverged platform)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Oracle in view of Oracle2 with the teaching of Little to facilitate the performance of the I/O command, facilitate I/O operations between a user VM and a vDisk and to facilitate I/O operations, (Little, [0020]) and also to provide unified, standardized, automated hyperconverged platform qualification by way of a user interface-driven tool that can run standardized qualification tasks and procedures in a completely or partially automated manner, to discover errors, performance issues, and verify functionality or behavior and to simulate realistic workloads for hyperconverged clients for any purpose, such as benchmarking and testing, (Little, [0038]).
Regarding claim 40, Oracle in view of Oracle2 discloses all of the features with respect to claim 13 as outlined above. Oracle in view of Oracle2 does not clearly disclose: wherein the system is implemented within a hyperconverged infrastructure system comprising a plurality of interconnected nodes, each node including compute, storage, and virtualization resources configured to be managed as a unified system.
However Little discloses:
wherein the system is implemented within a hyperconverged infrastructure system comprising a plurality of interconnected nodes, each node including compute, storage, and virtualization resources configured to be managed as a unified system. (Little, Fig. 1A, [0015] Each hardware node l00a-c runs virtualization software, such as VMWARE ESX(I), MICROSOFT HYPER-V, or REDHAT KYM. The virtualization software includes hypervisor 130a-c to manage the interactions between the underlying hardware and the one or more user VMs 101a, 102a, 101b, 102b, 101c, and 102c that run client software. Though not depicted in FIG. lA, a hypervisor may connect to network 140.; [0038] provide unified, standardized, automated hyperconverged platform; [0016] the storage resources, including DAS 124a-c;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Oracle in view of Oracle2 with the teaching of Little to facilitate the performance of the I/O command, facilitate I/O operations between a user VM and a vDisk and to facilitate I/O operations, (Little, [0020]) and also to provide unified, standardized, automated hyperconverged platform qualification by way of a user interface-driven tool that can run standardized qualification tasks and procedures in a completely or partially automated manner, to discover errors, performance issues, and verify functionality or behavior and to simulate realistic workloads for hyperconverged clients for any purpose, such as benchmarking and testing, (Little, [0038]).
Regarding claim 41, Oracle in view of Oracle2 in view of Little discloses all of the features with respect to claim 40 as outlined above. Oracle in view of Oracle2 does not clearly disclose: wherein each node comprises: one or more database virtual machines executing on a hypervisor; and a controller virtual machine configured to coordinate operations with other nodes in a cluster.
However Little discloses:
wherein each node comprises: one or more database virtual machines executing on a hypervisor; (Little, Fig. 1A, [0015] item Each hardware node l00a-c runs virtualization software, such as VMWARE ESX(I), MICROSOFT HYPER-V, or REDHAT KYM. The virtualization software includes hypervisor 130a-c to manage the interactions between the underlying hardware and the one or more user VMs 101a, 102a, 101b, 102b, 101c, and 102c that run client software. Though not depicted in FIG. lA, a hypervisor may connect to network 140; [0016] Special VMs llOa-c are used to manage storage and input/output ("I/O") activities according to particular embodiments, which are referred to herein as "Controller/Service VMs". These special VMs act as the storage controller in the currently described architecture. Multiple such storage controllers coordinate within a cluster to form a single-system.)
and a controller virtual machine configured to coordinate operations with other nodes in a cluster. (Little, Fig. 1A, Controller/Service VMs 110a-c; [0014] that contains multiple hardware nodes l00a-c that manage multiple tiers of storage [0016] Special VMs llOa-c are used to manage storage and input/output ("I/O") activities according to particular embodiments, which are referred to herein as "Controller/Service VMs". These special VMs act as the storage controller in the currently described architecture. Multiple such storage controllers coordinate within a cluster to form a single-system.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Oracle in view of Oracle2 with the teaching of Little to facilitate the performance of the I/O command, facilitate I/O operations between a user VM and a vDisk and to facilitate I/O operations, (Little, [0020]) and also to provide unified, standardized, automated hyperconverged platform qualification by way of a user interface-driven tool that can run standardized qualification tasks and procedures in a completely or partially automated manner, to discover errors, performance issues, and verify functionality or behavior and to simulate realistic workloads for hyperconverged clients for any purpose, such as benchmarking and testing, (Little, [0038]).
Regarding claim 42, Oracle in view of Oracle2 discloses all of the features with respect to claim 25 as outlined above. Oracle in view of Oracle2 does not clearly disclose: wherein the instructions are executed within a hyperconverged infrastructure system comprising a plurality of nodes, each node integrating compute resources, storage resources, and virtualization resources.
However Little discloses:
wherein the instructions are executed within a hyperconverged infrastructure system comprising a plurality of nodes, each node integrating compute resources, storage resources, and virtualization resources. (Little, Fig. 1A, [0015] Each hardware node l00a-c runs virtualization software, such as VMWARE ESX(I), MICROSOFT HYPER-V, or REDHAT KYM. The virtualization software includes hypervisor 130a-c to manage the interactions between the underlying hardware and the one or more user VMs 101a, 102a, 101b, 102b, 101c, and 102c that run client software. Though not depicted in FIG. lA, a hypervisor may connect to network 140.; [0038] provide unified, standardized, automated hyperconverged platform; [0016] the storage resources, including DAS 124a-c; [0024] Feature Set: ideal features include clones for VM provisioning)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Oracle in view of Oracle2 with the teaching of Little to facilitate the performance of the I/O command, facilitate I/O operations between a user VM and a vDisk and to facilitate I/O operations, (Little, [0020]) and also to provide unified, standardized, automated hyperconverged platform qualification by way of a user interface-driven tool that can run standardized qualification tasks and procedures in a completely or partially automated manner, to discover errors, performance issues, and verify functionality or behavior and to simulate realistic workloads for hyperconverged clients for any purpose, such as benchmarking and testing, (Little, [0038]).
Regarding claim 43, Oracle in view of Oracle2 in view of Little discloses all of the features with respect to claim 42 as outlined above. Oracle in view of Oracle2 does not clearly disclose: wherein each node comprises one or more database virtual machines running on a hypervisor; and a controller virtual machine configured to communicate with controller virtual machines of other nodes.
However Little discloses:
wherein each node comprises one or more database virtual machines running on a hypervisor; (Little, Fig. 1A, [0015] item Each hardware node l00a-c runs virtualization software, such as VMWARE ESX(I), MICROSOFT HYPER-V, or REDHAT KYM. The virtualization software includes hypervisor 130a-c to manage the interactions between the underlying hardware and the one or more user VMs 101a, 102a, 101b, 102b, 101c, and 102c that run client software. Though not depicted in FIG. lA, a hypervisor may connect to network 140; [0016] Special VMs llOa-c are used to manage storage and input/output ("I/O") activities according to particular embodiments, which are referred to herein as "Controller/Service VMs". These special VMs act as the storage controller in the currently described architecture. Multiple such storage controllers coordinate within a cluster to form a single-system.)
and a controller virtual machine configured to communicate with controller virtual machines of other nodes. (Little, Fig. 1A, Controller/Service VMs 110a-c; [0014] that contains multiple hardware nodes l00a-c that manage multiple tiers of storage [0016] Special VMs llOa-c are used to manage storage and input/output ("I/O") activities according to particular embodiments, which are referred to herein as "Controller/Service VMs". These special VMs act as the storage controller in the currently described architecture. Multiple such storage controllers coordinate within a cluster to form a single-system.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Oracle in view of Oracle2 with the teaching of Little to facilitate the performance of the I/O command, facilitate I/O operations between a user VM and a vDisk and to facilitate I/O operations, (Little, [0020]) and also to provide unified, standardized, automated hyperconverged platform qualification by way of a user interface-driven tool that can run standardized qualification tasks and procedures in a completely or partially automated manner, to discover errors, performance issues, and verify functionality or behavior and to simulate realistic workloads for hyperconverged clients for any purpose, such as benchmarking and testing, (Little, [0038]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.F. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2166
/SANJIV SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166