DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
1. This office action is a response to Applicant's election filed on 07/14/2026 without traverse of Group II, claims 14-27 for further examination. Claims 1-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 7-13 are cancelled. Claims 21-27 are new.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “vacuum generating device” recited in claims 14 & 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “vacuum generating device” in claims 14, 17, 21 & 24.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner' s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 14 & 20 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Szapucki et al. (US 6,244,641 B1) hereinafter Szapucki (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Szapucki are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 14, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18), comprising:
a bottom support block (14) (col 4, ln 1-49; fig 2);
a transfer arm module (2/30) disposed over the bottom support block (14), wherein the transfer arm module (2/30) includes a flat bottom surface (36) and an opening (38) formed through the flat bottom surface (36) (col 4, ln 1-49; col 5, ln 17-col 6, ln 17; fig 2-8); and
a vacuum generating device (col 4, ln 1-49; col 5, ln 17-col 6, ln 17) coupled to the opening (38) of the transfer arm module (2/30) (col 4, ln 1-49; col 5, ln 17-col 6, ln 17; fig 2-8).
As regards to claim 20, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18), wherein the bottom support block (14) includes a locating sensor (20) for supporting and focusing the vacuum suction (col 4, ln 1-49; col 5, ln 17-col 6, ln 17; fig 2-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szapucki as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Magariya (JP 2016179669 A) hereinafter Magariya (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Magariya are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 15, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18) and the transfer arm module (2/30) (col 4, ln 1-49; col 5, ln 17-col 6, ln 17; fig 2-8), however Szapucki does not disclose a printing pallet module comprising a printing pallet disposed adjacent to the transfer arm module (2/30).
Magariya discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-16), comprising a printing pallet module (1) comprising a printing pallet (30) ([0011]-[0014]; fig 2-6, 8-16). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a printing pallet module (1) comprising a printing pallet (30) in the system of Szapucki, because Magariya teaches the use of a printing pallet module (1) comprising a printing pallet (30) that holds the printed wiring board (5) and the stencil mask (4) that covers the surface of the printed wiring board (5) in a superimposed state ([0013]), wherein disposing the printing pallet module (1) comprising the printing pallet (30) of Magariya adjacent to the transfer arm module (2/30) of Szapucki to have the configuration recited in the claim is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way since “the particular placement of structural components was held to be an obvious matter of design choice.” In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
As regards to claim 16, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18), however Szapucki does not disclose wherein the printing pallet includes a recessed positioning area.
Magariya discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-16), wherein the printing pallet (30) includes a recessed positioning area (30a) ([0011]-[0014]; fig 2-6, 8-16). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include wherein the printing pallet (30) includes a recessed positioning area (30a) in the system of Szapucki, because Magariya teaches the use of wherein the printing pallet (30) includes a recessed positioning area (30a) that holds the printed wiring board (5) and the stencil mask (4) that covers the surface of the printed wiring board (5) in a superimposed state ([0013]).
As regards to claim 17, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18), however Szapucki does not disclose a second opening formed through the recessed positioning area; and a second vacuum generating device coupled to the second opening.
Magariya discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-16), comprising a second opening (3) formed through the recessed positioning area (30a) and a second vacuum generating device ([0014]) coupled to the second opening (3) ([0011]-[0014]; [0016]-[0020]; [0024]-[0029]; fig 2-6, 8-16). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a second opening (3) formed through the recessed positioning area (30a) and a second vacuum generating device ([0014]) coupled to the second opening (3) in the system of Szapucki, because Magariya teaches the use of a second opening (3) formed through the recessed positioning area (30a) and a second vacuum generating device ([0014]) coupled to the second opening (3) for vacuuming the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and holding the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and the stencil mask (4) that covers the surface of the printed wiring board (substrate 5) in a superimposed state ([0013]-[0014]).
Regarding claim 18, the recitation “a substrate disposed in…is less than a thickness of the substrate”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Magariya since Magariya meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having a substrate disposed in the recessed positioning area, wherein a depth of the recessed positioning area into the printing pallet is capable of being less than a thickness of the substrate, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 18, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18), however Szapucki does not disclose a substrate disposed in the recessed positioning area, wherein a depth of the recessed positioning area into the printing pallet is less than a thickness of the substrate.
Magariya discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-16), comprising a substrate (5) disposed in the recessed positioning area (30a), wherein a depth of the recessed positioning area (30a) into the printing pallet (30) can be less than a thickness of the substrate (5) ([0011]-[0014]; [0016]-[0020]; [0024]-[0029]; fig 2-6, 8-16). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a substrate (5) disposed in the recessed positioning area (30a), wherein a depth of the recessed positioning area (30a) into the printing pallet (30) can be less than a thickness of the substrate (5) in the system of Szapucki, because Magariya teaches the use of a substrate (5) disposed in the recessed positioning area (30a), wherein a depth of the recessed positioning area (30a) into the printing pallet (30) can be less than a thickness of the substrate (5) for vacuuming the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and holding the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and the stencil mask (4) that covers the surface of the printed wiring board (substrate 5) in a superimposed state ([0013]-[0014]).
As regards to claim 19, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18), however Szapucki does not disclose a base carrier delivery module disposed adjacent to the printing pallet module.
Magariya discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-16), comprising further including a base carrier vacuum delivery module (20) disposed adjacent to (see fig 1) the printing pallet module (1) ([0011]-[0014]; [0016]-[0020]; [0024]-[0029]; fig 2-6, 8-16). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a base carrier vacuum delivery module (20) disposed adjacent to (see fig 1) the printing pallet module (1) in the system of Szapucki, because Magariya teaches the use of a base carrier vacuum delivery module (20) disposed adjacent to (see fig 1) the printing pallet module (1) for vacuuming the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and holding the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and the stencil mask (4) that covers the surface of the printed wiring board (substrate 5) in a superimposed state ([0013]-[0014]).
13. Claims 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szapucki et al. (US 6,244,641 B1) hereinafter Szapucki in view of Magariya (JP 2016179669 A) hereinafter Magariya (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Szapucki and Magariya are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 21, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18), comprising:
a bottom support block (14) (col 4, ln 1-49; fig 2);
a transfer arm module (2/30) disposed over the bottom support block (14), wherein the transfer arm module (2/30) includes a flat bottom surface (36) and an opening (38) formed through the flat bottom surface (36) (col 4, ln 1-49; col 5, ln 17-col 6, ln 17; fig 2-8); and
a vacuum generating device (col 4, ln 1-49; col 5, ln 17-col 6, ln 17) coupled to the opening (38) of the transfer arm module (2/30) (col 4, ln 1-49; col 5, ln 17-col 6, ln 17; fig 2-8), however Szapucki does not disclose a printing pallet disposed adjacent to the transfer arm module (2/30), wherein the printing pallet includes a recessed positioning area configured to receive a substrate.
Magariya discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-16), comprising a printing pallet module (1) comprising a printing pallet (30), wherein the printing pallet (30) includes a recessed positioning area (30a) configured to receive a substrate (5) ([0011]-[0014]; fig 2-6, 8-16). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a printing pallet module (1) comprising a printing pallet (30), wherein the printing pallet (30) includes a recessed positioning area (30a) configured to receive a substrate (5) in the system of Szapucki, because Magariya teaches the use of a printing pallet module (1) comprising a printing pallet (30), wherein the printing pallet (30) includes a recessed positioning area (30a) configured to receive a substrate (5) that holds the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and the stencil mask (4) that covers the surface of the printed wiring board (substrate 5) in a superimposed state ([0013]), wherein disposing the printing pallet module (1) comprising the printing pallet (30) of Magariya adjacent to the transfer arm module (2/30) of Szapucki to have the configuration recited in the claim is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way since “the particular placement of structural components was held to be an obvious matter of design choice.” In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
As regards to claim 22, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18), the bottom support block (14) and the substrate (16) (col 4, ln 1-49; fig 2), however Szapucki does not disclose the bottom support block (14) is configured to be raised to physically contact the substrate when the substrate is disposed over the bottom support block (14).
Magariya discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-16), wherein the bottom support block (42) is configured to be raised to physically contact the substrate (5) via printing pallet module (1) comprising a printing pallet (30) when the substrate (5) is disposed over the bottom support block (42) ([0011]-[0014]; [0016]-[0021]; [0024]-[0029]; fig 2-6, 8-16). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include wherein the bottom support block (42) is configured to be raised to physically contact the substrate (5) via printing pallet module (1) comprising a printing pallet (30) when the substrate (5) is disposed over the bottom support block (42) in the system of Szapucki, because Magariya teaches the use of wherein the bottom support block (42) is configured to be raised to physically contact the substrate (5) via printing pallet module (1) comprising a printing pallet (30) when the substrate (5) is disposed over the bottom support block (42) for raising and vacuuming the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and holding the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and the stencil mask (4) that covers the surface of the printed wiring board (substrate 5) in a superimposed state ([0013]-[0014]).
As regards to claim 23, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18), wherein the bottom support block (14) includes a locating sensor (20) for supporting and detecting/focusing the vacuum suction securing the substrate 16 (col 4, ln 1-49; col 5, ln 17-col 6, ln 17; fig 2-8).
As regards to claim 24, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18), however Szapucki does not disclose a second opening formed through the recessed positioning area; and a second vacuum generating device coupled to the second opening.
Magariya discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-16), comprising a second opening (3) formed through the recessed positioning area (30a) and a second vacuum generating device ([0014]) coupled to the second opening (3) ([0011]-[0014]; [0016]-[0020]; [0024]-[0029]; fig 2-6, 8-16). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a second opening (3) formed through the recessed positioning area (30a) and a second vacuum generating device ([0014]) coupled to the second opening (3) in the system of Szapucki, because Magariya teaches the use of a second opening (3) formed through the recessed positioning area (30a) and a second vacuum generating device ([0014]) coupled to the second opening (3) for vacuuming the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and holding the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and the stencil mask (4) that covers the surface of the printed wiring board (substrate 5) in a superimposed state ([0013]-[0014]).
As regards to claim 25, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18), however Szapucki does not disclose wherein the printing pallet further includes a release channel extending from within the recessed positioning area to outside of the recessed positioning area.
Magariya discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-16), wherein the printing pallet (30) further includes a release channel (3) extending from within the recessed positioning area (30a) to outside of the recessed positioning area (30a)([0011]-[0014]; [0016]-[0020]; [0024]-[0029]; fig 2-6, 8-16). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include wherein the printing pallet (30) further includes a release channel (3) extending from within the recessed positioning area (30a) to outside of the recessed positioning area (30a) in the system of Szapucki, because Magariya teaches the use of wherein the printing pallet (30) further includes a release channel (3) extending from within the recessed positioning area (30a) to outside of the recessed positioning area (30a) for vacuuming the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and holding the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and the stencil mask (4) that covers the surface of the printed wiring board (substrate 5) in a superimposed state ([0013]-[0014]).
As regards to claim 26, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18), however Szapucki does not disclose a substrate disposed in the recessed positioning area.
Magariya discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-16), comprising a substrate (5) disposed in the recessed positioning area (30a) ([0011]-[0014]; [0016]-[0020]; [0024]-[0029]; fig 2-6, 8-16). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a substrate (5) disposed in the recessed positioning area (30a) in the system of Szapucki, because Magariya teaches the use of a substrate (5) disposed in the recessed positioning area (30a) for vacuuming the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and holding the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and the stencil mask (4) that covers the surface of the printed wiring board (substrate 5) in a superimposed state ([0013]-[0014]).
As regards to claim 27, Szapucki discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-18), however Szapucki does not disclose a base carrier delivery module disposed adjacent to the printing pallet module.
Magariya discloses a manufacturing system (abs; fig 1-16), comprising further including a base carrier vacuum delivery module (20) disposed adjacent to (see fig 1) the printing pallet (30) ([0011]-[0014]; [0016]-[0020]; [0024]-[0029]; fig 2-6, 8-16). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a base carrier vacuum delivery module (20) disposed adjacent to (see fig 1) the printing pallet (30) in the system of Szapucki, because Magariya teaches the use of a base carrier vacuum delivery module (20) disposed adjacent to (see fig 1) the printing pallet (30) for vacuuming the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and holding the printed wiring board (substrate 5) and the stencil mask (4) that covers the surface of the printed wiring board (substrate 5) in a superimposed state ([0013]-[0014]).
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: all references cited on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited excluding the above relied upon references.
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717