DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 10-15 in the reply filed on 12/8/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/8/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/19/2023 and 12/8/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hulings et al (US 2022/0249024, hereinafter Hulings) in view of Gustavson et al. (US 2018/0221648, hereinafter Gustavson).
Regarding claims 10, 11 and 15, Hulings discloses a wearable defibrillator including a defibrillation electrode pad 1346 that can sense ECG and provide shock treatment, as well as a wearable article comprising a flexible support material 1342 configured to hold a containment portion 1344 that is sized to house the electrode pad (figure 13C, par. 0186, 0222). A spacer structure 1348 is positioned to provide a cushioned area for pressure on the electrode pad 1346 (par. 0186 and fig. 13C). A processor determines and delivers shock treatment (par. 0081). However, Hulings is silent as to the exact structure of the spacer. Gustavson also discloses a wearable defibrillator and thus is analogous art with Hulings. Gustavson discloses a wearable article as seen in figures 6-7 with an electrode 648 and a spacer structure that provides a cushioned area for pressure on the electrode (par. 0053). Gustavson discloses that the spacer structure for providing pressure to an electrode can be made of foam and/or a mesh (par. 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the spacer structure of Hulings to be made from spacer mesh, as taught by Gustavson, as Gustavson demonstrates that this is a known material in the art that would predictably result in a spacer structure to provide a cushioned area for pressure on an electrode, and the use of the mesh would not affect the overall purpose or functionality of Hulings.
Once the spacer structure 1348 of Hulings is made of mesh material, the spacer structure can be subdivided as shown in the annotated figure below to inherently include a top air-permeable layer, a bottom air-permeable layer, and a compressible middle layer with a plurality of springy mesh elements that would allow for airflow:
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hulings and Gustavson in view of Skalos et al. (US 2022/0104566, hereinafter Skalos).
Hulings, as described and modified above, discloses the applicant’s basic invention but is silent as to making the containment portion out of conductive material. Skalos also discloses a wearable defibrillator and thus is analogous art with Hulings. Skalos discloses a wearable article with a containment portion 56/57 for receiving electrode 11 that is made of conductive material (figure 4A and par. 0186). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the containment portion of Hulings to be made from conductive material, as taught by Skalos, as Skalos demonstrates that this is a known material in the art that would predictably result in a containment structure sized to house an electrode, and the use of the material would not affect the overall purpose or functionality of Hulings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796