DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 10/20/2023.
Claims 1-6 are currently pending and have been examined below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following feature(s) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1 - “a seal base section installed along the periphery of the front windshield”. This objection is set forth because the figures only show the sealing material installed on portions of the windshield and not along the periphery of the windshield.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In par. 4, “For example, it is possible to adopt a vehicle structure in which a front windshield and a headlamp are laid out to be close to a front part of a vehicle body” is brought to applicant’s attention for further clarification. This objection is set forth as examiner notes that a front windshield and a headlamp are typically close to a front part of a vehicle body in a conventional vehicle, i.e., both parts are usually located at the front of the vehicle body. What does applicant mean by ‘laid out to be close to a front part of a vehicle body’?
In line 6 of par. 30, “ehicle” should read --vehicle--.
Appropriate correction is required. Above provides non-limiting examples, the applicant(s) must find and correct all issues similar to those discussed above.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3 of claim 1, “the periphery of the front windshield” should read --a periphery of the front windshield--.
In lines 9-10 of claim 1, “the front windshield installing direction” should read --a front windshield installing direction-- and in lines 11-12, “the headlamp replacing direction” should read --a headlamp replacing direction--.
In lines 3-4 of claim 3, “to which one the oblique lip section and the connecting lip section are connected” seems that it should read --at which one of the oblique lip section and the connecting lip section are connected--.
In line 5 of claim 3, “the virtual contact circle” should read --a virtual contact circle--.
In lines 5-6 of claim 3, “the virtual contact circle contacting the front windshield and the headlamp, respectively” is objected. The limitation ‘contact’ requires physical engagement or touching of elements (see definition below). This objection is set forth because the virtual contact circle is merely a reference circle (see par. 53) and not a tangible element of the invention. Applicant can add an intended use language such as ‘configured to contact’ to establish the connection of the virtual contact circle to both the front windshield and headlamp.
In lines 2-3 of claim 5, “wherein the seal base section and the lip base section are formed of hard rubber material” is objected as it questions the clarity of the claim. Claim 4, to which claim 5 depends, recites that the lip base section, the seal base section, and a part of seal lip section are formed of the same material. The objection is set forth to further clarify whether the part of the seal lip section in claim 4 is also formed of the same hard rubber material in claim 5. Note that the scope of the claim is clear such that not 112(b) issues set forth.
Source: American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition. Copyright © 2016 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. All rights reserved.
Appropriate correction is required. Above provides non-limiting examples, the applicant(s) must find and correct all issues similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kakito (JP 2006021547).
Claim 1
(Kakito discloses) A vehicle sealing material (6; figure 4) to be mounted between a front windshield (1) and a headlamp (3), comprising:
a seal base section (13; figure 4) installed along the periphery of the front windshield (note that ‘windshield’ was interpreted as --A shield placed to protect an object from the wind--); and
a seal lip section (28 and 30) extending from one end of the seal base section, contacting a part of the headlamp (see broken lines in figure 4), and having a hollow cross-sectional shape that is elastically deformable (figure 4),
wherein the seal lip section is same elastic deformation shape during installing the front windshield to a vehicle body (3) by bringing the front windshield with the vehicle sealing material close to the headlamp pre-installed on the vehicle body along the front windshield installing direction (Annotated figure 4 below), and while replacing the headlamp by bringing the headlamp close to the front windshield with the vehicle sealing material along the headlamp replacing direction (Annotated figure 4 below), being different from the front windshield installing direction (this was interpreted as product-by-process limitation; see MPEP 2113 (I); such that the final deformed shape of the seal lip section when all parts are installed and mounted is the same as shown in Annotated figure 4 below whether the windshield is being installed or the headlamp is being replaced).
Annotated figure 4
Claim 2
(Kakito discloses) The vehicle sealing material according to claim 1,
wherein the seal lip section further comprising:
a lip base section (28) extending from the seal base section;
a pair of oblique lip sections (Annotated figure 4 above) extending along an oblique direction from a lip tip end section and lip base end section of the lip base section (both shown in Annotated figure 4 above), respectively; and
a connecting lip section (Annotated figure 4 above) connecting between the pair of oblique lip sections, wherein the hollow cross-sectional shape of the seal lip section is formed by the lip base section, the pair of oblique lip sections, and the connecting lip section to form a cross-sectional quadrilateral shape (Annotated figure 4 above), and
wherein the cross-sectional quadrilateral shape is changed by elastic deformation of the seal lip section (Annotated figure 4 above).
Claim 3
(Kakito discloses) The vehicle sealing material according to claim 2, in the seal lip section mounted between the front windshield and the headlamp and is in a state of elastic deformation (figure 4), a protruding position of a seal protruding end section (protruding position of 34) to which one the oblique lip section and the connecting lip section are connected is located within a predetermined range with reference to the virtual contact circle contacting the front windshield and the headlamp, respectively (note that applicant’s own seal protruding end section is located outside of an intangible reference virtual contact circle, as such this was interpreted similarly as shown in Annotated figure 4 (II) below).
Annotated figure 4 (II)
Claim 4
(Kakito discloses) The vehicle sealing material according to claim 2,
wherein the lip base section including the seal base section and a part of seal lip section, are formed of same material (solid rubber mounting base; Excerpt 1 from page 5 below), and
wherein the pair of oblique lip sections and the connecting lip section are formed of same material (sponge rubber seal; Excerpt 1 below; note that Excerpt 1 discusses the other embodiment 14) and are formed of different material from the seal base section and the lip base section (Excerpt 1 below).
Excerpt 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakito, as applied to claims 1-4 above, in view of Hikichi et al. (US 20200238804) (hereinafter “Hikichi”).
Claim 5
(Kakito discloses) The vehicle sealing material according to claim 4,
wherein the seal base section and the lip base section are formed of hard rubber material (Excerpt 1 above), and
wherein the pair of oblique lip sections and the connecting lip section are formed of soft foam sponge material (Excerpt 1 above).
Kakito is silent regarding the soft foam sponge material having different specific gravity and hardness from the hard rubber material.
(However, Hikichi teaches) A vehicle sealing material (17; Hikichi figures 1-2) comprising a soft foam sponge material (21; Hikichi figure 2) having different specific gravity and hardness from a hard rubber material (20; Excerpt 2 from par. 26 below discussing the lower specific gravity and ‘easily deformable’ property of 21 which indicates difference in hardness compared to 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the soft foam sponge material and hard rubber material of Kakito such that they have different specific gravity and hardness as taught by Hikichi, with a reasonable expectation of success, for effectively allowing the pair of oblique sections and connecting lip section to deform and create an effective seal against the headlamp without affecting the durability of the seal base section and lip base section.
Excerpt 2
Claim 6
(Kakito, as modified above, discloses) The vehicle sealing material according to claim 5.
Modified Kakito is silent regarding:
(i) wherein the hard rubber material is hard rubber made from ethylene-propylene-diene-rubber, and
(ii) wherein the soft foam sponge material is a spongy ethylene-propylene-diene rubber made from ethylene-propylene-diene rubber.
(However, Hikichi teaches) A vehicle sealing material (17 Hikichi figure 2) having a hard rubber material (20) and a soft foam sponge material (21) both made from ethylene-propylene-diene rubber (Excerpt 3 from pars. 20 and 23 below discussing the entire sealing material 17 including both hard rubber material 20 and soft foam sponge material 21 being made of EPDM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the hard rubber material and soft foam sponge material of Kakito such that they are formed of ethylene-propylene-diene rubber as taught by Hikichi, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the predictable and expected benefits of using EPDM such as being highly resistant to sunlight and temperature extremes while being durable, flexible, and cost-effective material.
Excerpt 3
Conclusion
/PATRICK B. PONCIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634