DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings as submitted by Applicant on 10/20/2023 has been accepted.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending in the instant application. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. No claims have been amended. The rejection of the pending claims is hereby made non-final in view of telephonic interview filed 04/01/2026.
Response to Remarks
101
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been considered by the examiner, and are found to be persuasive. The rejection of pending claim 11 in view of 35 USC 101 is hereby withdrawn.
103
Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been considered by the examiner, but are found to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powers et al (US 2022/0122031) in view of Kito et al (US 2020/0267878).
Regarding claim 1, the prior art discloses a physical distribution system comprising a sorting apparatus comprising a pickup unit, further comprising: a creation unit configured to create a layout for storage of objects to be sorted in a storage container to be delivered to the sorting apparatus(see at least paragraph [0012] to Powers et al, wherein a layout determiner configured for determining layout configurations for packing the plurality of products into at least one container); an output unit configured to output the created layout (see at least paragraph [0012] to Powers et al, wherein a layout visualizer configured for generating a visual illustration of the layout configuration); a notification unit configured to transmit, when there is, in the storage container, an object that cannot be picked up by the pickup unit, a notice for requesting a person to take out that object from the storage container to a terminal apparatus used by that person (see at least paragraph [0012] to Powers et al, wherein packing instructor configured for providing a packing instruction comprising the visual illustration to the user via the user interface); and a pickup control unit configured to control the pickup unit so that it picks up an object that has been put in the storage container according to the layout (see at least paragraph [0036] to Powers et al), and move the object to a sorting destination in accordance with the object, wherein the creation unit creates the layout (see at least paragraph [0012] to Powers et al) in which, among objects to be delivered to the sorting apparatus, only objects that are registered in advance as those that cannot be picked up by the pickup unit are collectively stored in a predetermined storage area (see at least paragraph [0093] to Powers et al).
Powers et al does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein only objects that are registered in advance as those that cannot be picked up by the pickup unit are collectively stored in a predetermined storage area, however the examiner submits that Powers et al discloses determining, based on the first ranking list and the custom-container machine information, a plurality of layout configurations for packing the plurality of products into at least one container selected from the one or more containers, wherein the available one or more containers is based on the custom-container machine information and wherein determining each of the plurality of layout configurations comprises: picking a product on top of the first ranking list, retrieving, from a database, rules related to: existing products already assigned for packing, the product, the container, and the rate table, determining whether a container is found in the second ranking list to satisfy the rules, when the container is found in the second ranking list to satisfy the rules, assigning the product to a location within the container for packing. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the system and method as disclosed by Powers et al takes into account the rules and criteria associated with each item and determines how and where to place the items. It is clear that the determination that an item may only be moved by a human worker would be criteria that could reasonably be taken into consideration, based on the disclosure of the applied prior art reference Powers et al, and as such, would be an obvious variant of the disclosure of Powers et al.
The examiner further submits that the secondary reference Kito et al discloses a component mounting machine and retry method for picking up components, wherein the control device 6 performs control relating to determination of dropped components P and control relating to a retry operation when a component P cannot be picked up. Control device 6 has component detecting section 71 and holding detecting section 72 as functional units relating to both the dropped determination and the retry operation. Control device 6 includes remaining detecting section 73, dropped determining section 74, retraction control section 75, and retraction operation notification section 76 as functional units relating to the dropped determination. Control device 6 includes retry performing section 77, countermeasure setting section 78, and component type registration section 79 as functional units related to the retry operation (see at least paragraph [0046] to Kito et al).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the system and method for packing optimization and visualization, as disclosed by Powers et al and the component mounting machine and retry method for picking up components as taught by Kito et al, in order to provide a system and method to remediate issues associated with robot failure within a warehouse environment to further streamline pick and packing operations (see at least paragraph [0009] to Kito et al), could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Examiner’s Note:
All claim limitations have been considered. Additionally, all words in the claims have been considered in judging the patentability of the claims against the prior art. See MPEP 2106 II C. The following language is interpreted as not further limiting the scopeof the claimed invention. See MPEP 2106 II C. Language in a method claim that states only the intended use or intended result, but does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. If the prior art reference is structurally capable of performing the intended use of the claimed invention, it meets the limitations of the claim.
Claim limitations that contain statement(s) such as "when, if, may, might, can, or could”, contain optional language. As matter of linguistic precision, optional claim elements do not narrow claim limitations, since they can always be omitted.Claim limitations that contain statement(s) such as "wherein, whereby”, that fail to further define the steps or acts to be performed in method claims or the discrete physical structure required of system claims.USPTO personnel should begin claim analysis by identifying and evaluating each claim limitation. For processes, the claim limitations will define steps or acts to be performed. For products, the claim limitations will define discrete physical structures or materials. Product claims are claims that are directed to machines, manufactures or compositions of matter. See MPEP § 2106 II C.The subject matter of a properly construed claim is defined by the terms that limit its scope. It is this subject matter that must be examined. As a general matter, the grammar and intended meaning of terms used in a claim will dictate whether the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes optional, but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. The examiner submits that claim 1 recites “when there is, in the storage container, an object that cannot be picked up by the pick up unit, a notice for requesting a person to take out that object from the storage container to a terminal apparatus used by the person,” is found to be conditional language. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art discloses the physical distribution system according to claim 1, wherein the notification unit transmits, to the terminal apparatus, the notice for requesting the person to take out the object from the storage container along with information indicating a feature for identifying the object (see at least paragraph [0012], to Powers et al, wherein a packing instructor configured for providing a packing instruction comprising the visual illustration to the user via the user interface).
Regarding claim 3, the prior art discloses the physical distribution system according to claim 2, wherein the feature is a name of the object (see at least Figure 5, to Powers et al, item reference).
Regarding claim 4, the prior art discloses the physical distribution system according to claim 2, wherein the feature is an external feature of the object (see at least paragraph [0013] to Powers et al).
Regarding claim 5, the prior art discloses the physical distribution system according to claim 2, wherein the feature is a weight of the object (see at least paragraph [0044] to Powers et al).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art discloses the physical distribution system according to claim 1, further comprising a pickup determination unit configured to determine whether or not an object contained in the storage container can be picked up by the pickup unit (see at least paragraph [0012] to Powers et al, wherein a layout determiner configured for determining layout configurations for packing the plurality of products into at least one container).
Regarding claim 7, the prior art discloses the physical distribution system according to claim 6, wherein when it is detected that an area where an object to be sorted is stored is the predetermined storage area, the pickup determination unit determines that the object cannot be picked up (see at least paragraph [0010] to Powers et al, wherein products are moved to a leftover array as not being able to be packed).
Regarding claim 8, the prior art discloses the physical distribution system according to claim 1, wherein the pickup control unit controls the pickup unit so that it picks up and sorts only objects stored in an area other than the predetermined storage area (see at least paragraph [0106] to Powers et al), wherein the automated retrieval device retrieves items from the bin).
Regarding claim 9, the prior art discloses the physical distribution system according to claim 1, further comprising a take-out determination unit configured to determine whether or not the object to be sorted that cannot be picked up has been taken out from the storage container, wherein when it is determined that the object to be sorted that cannot be picked up has not been taken out from the storage container, the notification unit transmits a notice again (see at least paragraph [0069] to Powers et al, wherein the sorted information is placed in a leftover queue).
Regarding claim 10, the prior art discloses the physical distribution system according to claim 1, wherein when the layout for storage of objects including an object that cannot be picked up by the pickup unit is created, the notification unit transmits the notice to the terminal apparatus (see at least paragraph [0093] to Powers et al, wherein The packing instruction may then generate picking orders for workers).
Claim 11 contains recitations substantially similar to those addressed above and, therefore, are likewise rejected.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art discloses the physical distribution system according to claim 1, wherein the pickup unit comprises a robot (see at least paragraph [0025] to Kito et al, wherein the component transfer device 4 is an XY robot type device).
Regarding claim 13, the prior art discloses the physical distribution system according to claim 12, wherein the robot comprises an end effector for grasping the object or adsorbing the object (see at least paragraph [0036] to Kito et al, wherein component transfer agent device 4 performs mounting operation by repeating the pickup and mounting cycle).
Regarding claim 14, the prior art discloses the processing method according to claim 11, wherein the pickup unit comprises a robot (see at least paragraph [0025] to Kito et al, wherein component transfer device 4 performs component mounting operation. Component transfer device 4 is an XY robot type device that is capable of moving horizontally in the X-axis direction and the Y-axis direction).
Regarding claim 15, the prior art discloses the processing method according to claim 14, wherein the robot comprises an end effector for grasping the object or adsorbing the object (see at least paragraph [0029] to Kito et al, wherein the small suction nozzle 452 at pickup position 459 descends to supply position and picks up component P).
Regarding claim 16, the prior art discloses the processing method according to claim 14, wherein controlling the pickup unit comprises controlling movement of the robot (see at least paragraph [0042] to Kito et al, wherein there is a retraction control section 75 controlling head raising and lowering device).
Regarding claim 17, the prior art discloses the physical distribution system according to claim 1, wherein the creation unit creates the layout by referring to an object database that stores, for each object, information indicating whether the object is able to be picked up by the pickup unit (see at least paragraph [0062] to Kito et al, wherein in the case where information as to whether the component P is a target of retry operation is given in the component data, component type registration section 79 can search for the component data and perform registration. Alternatively, component type registration section 79 can perform registration based on an input operation by an operator. On the other hand, management method setting section 78 presets a handling method for when the retry operation is unsuccessful).
Regarding claim 18, the prior art discloses the processing method according to claim 11, wherein creating the layout comprises creating the layout by referring to an object database that stores, for each object, information indicating whether the object is able to be picked up by the pickup unit (see at least paragraph [0062] to Kito et al, wherein in the case where information as to whether the component P is a target of retry operation is given in the component data, component type registration section 79 can search for the component data and perform registration. Alternatively, component type registration section 79 can perform registration based on an input operation by an operator. On the other hand, management method setting section 78 presets a handling method for when the retry operation is unsuccessful).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The examiner has considered all references listed on the Notice of References Cited, PTO-892.
The examiner has considered all references cited on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted by Applicant, PTO-1449.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TALIA F CRAWLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627