DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action for U.S. Patent Application No. 18/490,763 is responsive to communications filed on 04/10/2026, in reply to the Final Rejection of 01/13/2026. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
In regard to claims 1 and 19, the Applicant submits that the disclosure of Kreiselmaier does not teach or suggest that a control element having one or more processors for generating control commands based on measurement data relating to the amount of push-cable dispensed from at least one of the cable-handling device and a cable-storage drum device to control dispensing and retracting forces imparted by the drive element in generating push-cable movements that correspond with the dispensing/retracting movements imparted by the cable storage drum device. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The above limitations essentially require generating control commands that control dispensing or retracting forces that cause dispensing/retracting of the push-cable based on measurements related to the length/amount of push-cable that has been dispensed. The teachings of Kreiselmaier, in paragraph 33, note that the control unit can be programmed with respect to feed length, feed speed, and retraction speed of the application hose. Additionally, in paragraph 20, it is noted that this arrangement enables the application hose to be precisely advanced and retracted and exerts sufficient pressure to move the application hose into a cooling pipe even to a length of 20 meters, and in paragraph 22 it is noted that the apparatus is arranged to monitor the movement and, as the case may be, the speed of the application hose. As such, it can be seen that the teachings of Kreiselmaier include that of a control unit sending control signals for dispensing/retracting the application hose, it can be programmed with respect to feed length, and the apparatus is arranged to monitor the movement of the application hose. As such, it is disclosed, or at the very least implicit, that a control command that would be signaled to dispense, e.g. 20 meters of hose would do such by monitoring/measuring the amount of movement of the hose to be able to dispense exactly 20 meters. As such, it can be seen that the teachings of Kreiselmaier include that of generating control commands based on measurements relating to the amount of push-cable dispensed to control the dispensing of the push-cable, and as such, includes all of the limitations presented in claim 1 and claim 19.
In regard to claim 17, the Applicant submits that the claim has been amended in order to further prosecution, and as such, the rejection of the claim should be withdrawn. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The amendments to the claim add clarifying description of what an “impulsive movement” is, and includes limitations related to pauses between successive movements. These limitations are similar to limitations presented in claim 19, and as such, the claim shall be rejected similarly to those of the rejection of claim 19. Thus, the grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 of claim 17 has been withdrawn, and instead the claim is now rejected with a new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 similar to the rejection of claim 19.
In regard to claim 20, this claim has been newly added, and as such, it’s rejection can be found in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kreiselmaier (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0287943), hereinafter referred to as Kreis.
In regard to claim 1, Kreis teaches a motorized cable-handling device (Kreis paragraph 51 noting the guiding hose 21 is subdivided, with the drive unit 26 for application hose 18 being arranged within the gap, said drive unit comprising a total of 6 guide and drive rollers 27. Drive unit 26 is movably arranged on traversing carriage 55 and follows the windings of the application hose 18), comprising;
a coupling element (Kreis paragraph 51 noting elements 27, said drive unit comprising a total of 6 guide and drive rollers 27) for coupling the cable-handling device about a push-cable (Kreis paragraph 51 noting drive unit 26 is movably arranged on traversing carriage 55 and follows the windings of the application hose 18);
a drive element for imparting force (Kreis paragraph 51 noting rollers 27 of the application hose drive are rotated by servomotor 29 coupled with the reel motor 19 so that in this case as well the feed movement of the application hose is synchronous with the hose unwinding from reel 17) in generating dispensing and retracting movements of the push-cable (Kreis paragraph 51 noting drive unit 26 is movably arranged on traversing carriage 55 and follows the windings of the application hose 18; and Paragraph 20 of Kreiselmaier discloses that the hose is moved forward and back via a driving means with a motor such as a servomotor, that enables the hose to be advanced and retracted, and the motor exerts sufficient pressure to move the hose into a pipe to lengths of 20 meters or more. As such, it can be seen that the driving element is producing forces that generate cable movements for dispensing and retracting movements);
a measurement element for generating measurement data relating to a measure of the amount of push-cable dispensed (Kreis paragraph 22 noting a metering roll is arranged on the traversing carriage serving to monitor the movement and, as the case may be, the speed of the application hose);
an input element for receiving input relating to the dispensing and retracting movements of the push-cable (Kreis paragraph 22 noting a metering roll is arranged on the traversing carriage serving to monitor the movement and, as the case may be, the speed of the application hose);
a control element having one or more processors for generating control commands based on measurement data relating to the amount of push-cable dispensed from at least one of the cable-handling device and a cable-storage drum device to control dispensing and retracting forces imparted by the drive element (Kreis paragraph 33, note that the control unit can be programmed with respect to feed length, feed speed, and retraction speed of the application hose; Kreis paragraph 20 noting that this arrangement enables the application hose to be precisely advanced and retracted and exerts sufficient pressure to move the application hose into a cooling pipe even to a length of 20 meters; and Kreis paragraph 22 noting that the apparatus is arranged to monitor the movement and, as the case may be, the speed of the application hose. As such, it can be seen that the teachings of Kreiselmaier include that of a control unit sending control signals for dispensing/retracting the application hose, it can be programmed with respect to feed length, and the apparatus is arranged to monitor the movement of the application hose. As such, it is disclosed, or at the very least implicit, that a control command that would be signaled to dispense, e.g. 20 meters of hose would do such by monitoring/measuring the amount of movement of the hose to be able to dispense exactly 20 meters. As such, it can be seen that the teachings of Kreiselmaier include that of generating control commands based on measurements relating to the amount of push-cable dispensed to control the dispensing of the push-cable) in generating push-cable movements that correspond with the dispensing/retracting movements imparted by a cable-storage drum device and one or more non-transitory memories for storing instructions and data relating to push-cable movements (Kreis paragraphs 15, 20, 32-34, and 50-51; Kreis paragraph 33 noting a control unit that in particular monitors, controls and indicates the intake and discharge volumes and the pressure. The control unit ensures the proper functioning as well as trouble-free operation of the apparatus. It can also be programmed with respect to feed length, feed speed, and retraction speed of the application hose; Paragraph 20 of Kreiselmaier discloses that the hose is moved forward and back via a driving means with a motor such as a servomotor, that enables the hose to be advanced and retracted, and the motor exerts sufficient pressure to move the hose into a pipe to lengths of 20 meters or more. As such, it can be seen that the driving element is producing forces that generate cable movements for dispensing and retracting movements. Additionally, paragraph 33 notes that a control system can control feed lengths, feed speed, retraction amount, retraction speed. These are control signals that are related to the action of dispensing or retracting the hose, and as such, are related to the dispensing and retracting forces that the drive element would be imparting. For example, setting control signals to feed the hose a certain length or at a certain speed would be related to the drive element imparting forces to achieve dispensing the hose to such a length as requested);
a communication element for communicating control commands relating to the dispensing/retracting movement control with a cable-storage drum device (implicit in the disclosure of Kreis as the drives are synchronized; Kreis paragraph 51 noting drive 24 of the traversing carriage 55 is brought about via a toothed belt 28 which is driven by reel motor 19 and in this manner ensures the traversing carriage moves synchronously via a spindle with trapezoidal thread. Rollers 27 of the application hose drive are rotated by servomotor 29 coupled with the reel motor 19 so that in this case as well the feed movement of the application hose is synchronous with the hose unwinding from reel 17; and Kreis paragraph 33 noting a control unit that in particular monitors, controls and indicates the intake and discharge volumes and the pressure. The control unit ensures the proper functioning as well as trouble-free operation of the apparatus. It can also be programmed with respect to feed length, feed speed, and retraction speed of the application hose); and
a power element for supplying of electrical power to powered elements of the cable-handling device (Kreis paragraph 49 noting power supply appliance 53).
In regard to claim 2, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Kreis teaches configured for use in a pipe inspection system (Kreis abstract noting the invention relates to a device for the internal treatment of pipes).
In regard to claim 4, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Kreis teaches wherein the drive element includes one or more electric motors for moving a push-cable (Kreis paragraph 51 noting the drive unit 26 for application hose 18 being arranged within the gap, said drive unit comprising a total of 6 guide and drive rollers 27. Drive unit 26 is movably arranged on traversing carriage 55 and follows the windings of the application hose 18 on reel 17, Drive 24 of the traversing carriage 55 is brought about via a toothed belt 28 which is driven by reel motor 19 and in this manner ensures the traversing carriage moves synchronously via a spindle with trapezoidal thread. Rollers 27 of the application hose drive are rotated by servomotor 29 coupled with the reel motor 19 so that in this case as well the feed movement of the application hose is synchronous with the hose unwinding from reel 17).
In regard to claim 6, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Kreis teaches wherein the power element includes one or more batteries (Kreis paragraph 15 noting an embodiment of a cable handling device with an automatic motorized wheel feeder powered by an external battery).
In regard to claim 7, Kreis teaches wherein the control element is governed by measurement data of the amount of push-cable dispensed produced by a cable-storage drum device to ensure synchronous movement of the push-cable from the cable-handling device and the cable-storage drum device (Kreis paragraph 33 noting a control unit that in particular monitors, controls and indicates the intake and discharge volumes and the pressure. The control unit ensures the proper functioning as well as trouble-free operation of the apparatus. It can also be programmed with respect to feed length, feed speed, and retraction speed of the application hose).
In regard to claim 8, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Kreis teaches wherein the control element is governed by the measurement data produced by the measurement element of the cable-handling device (Kreis paragraph 22 noting a metering roll is arranged on the traversing carriage serving to monitor the movement and, as the case may be, the speed of the application hose) that is further shared with a cable-storage-drum device to ensure synchronous movement of the push- cable from the cable-handling device and the cable-storage drum device (implicit in the disclosure of Kreis as the drives are synchronized; Kreis paragraph 51 noting drive 24 of the traversing carriage 55 is brought about via a toothed belt 28 which is driven by reel motor 19 and in this manner ensures the traversing carriage moves synchronously via a spindle with trapezoidal thread. Rollers 27 of the application hose drive are rotated by servomotor 29 coupled with the reel motor 19 so that in this case as well the feed movement of the application hose is synchronous with the hose unwinding from reel 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreiselmaier (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0287943), hereinafter referred to as Kreis.
In regard to claim 3, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Kreis does not expressly disclose configured for use in a utility locating system.
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, that the system of Kreis could be configured for use in a utility locating system as no additional technical features are involved, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987). As such, incorporating that which would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, the teachings of Kreis include all of the limitations presented in claim 3.
In regard to claim 5, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Kreis teaches that the control unit can be operated remotely (Kreis paragraph 34). However, Kreis does not expressly disclose wherein the communication element includes Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, or other wireless communication apparatus.
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that wireless communication protocols such as Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, or others could be used to communicate remotely, as these methods of remote communication of apparatuses with digital controllers are common knowledge to those having ordinary skill in the art. As such, incorporating that which would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, the teachings of Kreis include all of the limitations presented in claim 5.
Claims 9, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreiselmaier (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0287943), hereinafter referred to as Kreis, in view of Warren et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0071803), hereinafter referred to as Warren.
In regard to claim 9, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Kreis does not expressly disclose further including a cleaning element to wipe or clean the push-cable during dispensing or retracting movements.
In the same field of endeavor, Warren teaches further including a cleaning element to wipe or clean the push-cable during dispensing or retracting movements (Warren paragraph 32 noting cleaning could be provided as well, by implementing a capture O-ring in the supplemental bore, to wipe the flex-shaft sheathing pulled back into the O-ring; and Warren paragraph 55 noting cleaning elements (e.g. sponges, cloth, etc.) 1030 to come in contact with one or more cables/hoses 110 which will be wiped off as they are drawn through the cleaning elements 1030).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Kreis with the teachings of Warren, because both disclosures relate to pipeline inspection apparatuses that comprise a drum including a cable, reel, method of deploying or retracting the cable for the purposes of inspecting and cleaning pipes, and the use of motorized automatic feeders for the push-cable. The teachings of Warren would benefit the teachings of Kreis by providing specifics on the clutches and mechanical mechanisms used in the deployment of the cable. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Warren, the teachings of Kreis include all of the limitations of claim 9.
In regard to claim 15, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Kreis does not expressly disclose wherein the drive element includes a clutch element to engage and disengage with the push-cable.
In the same field of endeavor, Warren teaches wherein the drive element includes a clutch element to engage and disengage with the push-cable (Warren paragraphs 45-46 noting the use of clutch mechanisms to control one or more cables and/or hoses).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Kreis with the teachings of Warren for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 9.
In regard to claim 17, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Kreis teaches wherein the drive element imparts forces to cause impulsive movements of the push-cable (Kreis paragraph 48 noting Reel 17 accommodates the application hose 18 capable of being unwound and retracted by means of motor 19; and Kreis paragraph 51 noting Rollers 27 of the application hose drive are rotated by servomotor 29 coupled with the reel motor 19 so that in this case as well the feed movement of the application hose is synchronous with the hose unwinding from reel 17. Maximum feed/retraction speed rates of up to 4.5 m/sec are achieved. Kreis claim 9 noting the application hose (18) can be controllably extended and retracted over the entire length of the pipe to be treated; and claim 14 noting the control unit is programmable with respect to feed length, feed speed, and/or retraction speed of the application hose. As discussed in paragraph 33 of Kreiselmaier, control signals can be sent to control feed length, feed speed, retraction amount, retraction speed, etc. As discussed above regarding claim 1, these control signals are inherently related to the motor imparting forces on the hose to achieve the control signals given, and sending a control signal to move the hose a certain distance can be described as a force that causes an impulsive movement. The claim limitations require that the drive element imparts forces to cause impulsive movements, and it can be seen that the drive element disclosed by Kreiselmaier is capable of imparting forces to cause impulsive movements, as a drive motor causing a hose to move any amount from a stopped position would be imparting an impulsive force, and the apparatus of Kreiselmaier is capable of imparting an impulsive force, and is capable of being programmed with respect to length/amount/speed of the hose, so it is implied that any two control signals relating to movement could be spaced apart and considered two impulsive movements), wherein the push-cable movements are generated (As discussed in paragraph 33 of Kreiselmaier, control signals can be sent to control feed length, feed speed, retraction amount, retraction speed, etc. As discussed above regarding claim 1, these control signals are inherently related to the motor imparting forces on the hose to achieve the control signals given, and sending a control signal to move the hose a certain distance can be described as a force that causes an impulsive movement. The claim limitations require that the drive element imparts forces to cause impulsive movements, and it can be seen that the drive element disclosed by Kreiselmaier is capable of imparting forces to cause impulsive movements, as a drive motor causing a hose to move any amount from a stopped position would be imparting an impulsive force, and the apparatus of Kreiselmaier is capable of imparting an impulsive force, and is capable of being programmed with respect to length/amount/speed of the hose, so it is implied that any two control signals relating to movement could be spaced apart and considered two impulsive movements).
However, Kreis does not expressly disclose and cause periodic push-cable movements with pauses between successive movements. It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art, that the teachings of Kreis include that control signals can be programmed as desired to impart movements on the push-cable via the drive motor, and that it would be a mere matter of design choice to program the signals to make multiple movements, which could be described as periodic movements with pauses. Additionally, a programmed signal to feed the push-cable, followed by a pause in movement to perform any other tasks, and then a programmed signal to retract the push-cable could be described as two periodic movements with a pause in between. As such, it would be a mere matter of design choice to use the programmable control signals to send multiple movement signals instead of one if that’s the desired operation of the push-cable. Additionally, in the same field of endeavor, Warren discloses wherein the drive element includes a clutch element to engage and disengage with the push-cable (Warren paragraphs 45-46 noting the use of clutch mechanisms to control one or more cables and/or hoses) and remote control of the clamp (Warren paragraphs 36-37). Thus, it can be seen that an apparatus that allows for remote control of push-cable movements, especially with the inclusion of a remote-controlled clutch mechanism would be capable of causing periodic movements of the push cable.
Thus, modified to incorporate that which would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, as well as the teachings of Warren, the teachings of Kreis include all of the limitations presented in claim 17. It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Kreis with the teachings of Warren for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 9.
In regard to claim 18, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Kreis does not expressly disclose including a flexure or compliant mechanism in moving a push-cable.
In the same field of endeavor, Warren teaches including a flexure or compliant mechanism in moving a push-cable (Warren paragraph 23 noting A flex-shaft provides a flexible shaft that allows rotational power to be supplied at one end and transmitted to a rotationally operated mechanism at the other end; and Warren paragraph 40 noting one or more of the cables and/or hoses 110 may be a flex-shaft).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Kreis with the teachings of Warren for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 9.
In regard to claim 19, Kreis teaches a motorized cable-handling device (Kreis paragraph 51 noting the guiding hose 21 is subdivided, with the drive unit 26 for application hose 18 being arranged within the gap, said drive unit comprising a total of 6 guide and drive rollers 27. Drive unit 26 is movably arranged on traversing carriage 55 and follows the windings of the application hose 18), comprising;
a coupling element (Kreis paragraph 51 noting elements 27, said drive unit comprising a total of 6 guide and drive rollers 27) for coupling the cable-handling device about a push-cable (Kreis paragraph 51 noting drive unit 26 is movably arranged on traversing carriage 55 and follows the windings of the application hose 18);
a drive element for imparting force (Kreis paragraph 51 noting rollers 27 of the application hose drive are rotated by servomotor 29 coupled with the reel motor 19 so that in this case as well the feed movement of the application hose is synchronous with the hose unwinding from reel 17) in generating dispensing and retracting movements of the push-cable (Kreis paragraph 51 noting drive unit 26 is movably arranged on traversing carriage 55 and follows the windings of the application hose 18; and Paragraph 20 of Kreiselmaier discloses that the hose is moved forward and back via a driving means with a motor such as a servomotor, that enables the hose to be advanced and retracted, and the motor exerts sufficient pressure to move the hose into a pipe to lengths of 20 meters or more. As such, it can be seen that the driving element is producing forces that generate cable movements for dispensing and retracting movements);
a measurement element for generating measurement data relating to a measure of the amount of push-cable dispensed (Kreis paragraph 22 noting a metering roll is arranged on the traversing carriage serving to monitor the movement and, as the case may be, the speed of the application hose);
an input element for receiving input relating to the dispensing and retracting movements of the push-cable (Kreis paragraph 22 noting a metering roll is arranged on the traversing carriage serving to monitor the movement and, as the case may be, the speed of the application hose);
a control element having one or more processors for generating control commands based on measurement data relating to the amount of push-cable dispensed from at least one of the cable-handling device and a cable-storage drum device to control dispensing and retracting forces imparted by the drive element (Kreis paragraph 33, note that the control unit can be programmed with respect to feed length, feed speed, and retraction speed of the application hose; Kreis paragraph 20 noting that this arrangement enables the application hose to be precisely advanced and retracted and exerts sufficient pressure to move the application hose into a cooling pipe even to a length of 20 meters; and Kreis paragraph 22 noting that the apparatus is arranged to monitor the movement and, as the case may be, the speed of the application hose. As such, it can be seen that the teachings of Kreiselmaier include that of a control unit sending control signals for dispensing/retracting the application hose, it can be programmed with respect to feed length, and the apparatus is arranged to monitor the movement of the application hose. As such, it is disclosed, or at the very least implicit, that a control command that would be signaled to dispense, e.g. 20 meters of hose would do such by monitoring/measuring the amount of movement of the hose to be able to dispense exactly 20 meters. As such, it can be seen that the teachings of Kreiselmaier include that of generating control commands based on measurements relating to the amount of push-cable dispensed to control the dispensing of the push-cable) in generating push-cable movements that correspond with the dispensing/retracting movements imparted by a cable-storage drum device and one or more non-transitory memories for storing instructions and data relating to push-cable movements (Kreis paragraphs 15, 20, 32-34, and 50-51; Kreis paragraph 33 noting a control unit that in particular monitors, controls and indicates the intake and discharge volumes and the pressure. The control unit ensures the proper functioning as well as trouble-free operation of the apparatus. It can also be programmed with respect to feed length, feed speed, and retraction speed of the application hose; Paragraph 20 of Kreiselmaier discloses that the hose is moved forward and back via a driving means with a motor such as a servomotor, that enables the hose to be advanced and retracted, and the motor exerts sufficient pressure to move the hose into a pipe to lengths of 20 meters or more. As such, it can be seen that the driving element is producing forces that generate cable movements for dispensing and retracting movements. Additionally, paragraph 33 notes that a control system can control feed lengths, feed speed, retraction amount, retraction speed. These are control signals that are related to the action of dispensing or retracting the hose, and as such, are related to the dispensing and retracting forces that the drive element would be imparting. For example, setting control signals to feed the hose a certain length or at a certain speed would be related to the drive element imparting forces to achieve dispensing the hose to such a length as requested), wherein the dispensing and retracting forces are impulsive (Kreis claim 9 noting the application hose (18) can be controllably extended and retracted over the entire length of the pipe to be treated; and claim 14 noting the control unit is programmable with respect to feed length, feed speed, and/or retraction speed of the application hose. These control signals are inherently related to the motor imparting forces on the hose to achieve the control signals given, and sending a control signal to move the hose a certain distance can be described as a force that causes an impulsive movement. The claim limitations require that the drive element imparts forces to cause impulsive movements, and it can be seen that the drive element disclosed by Kreiselmaier is capable of imparting forces to cause impulsive movements, as a drive motor causing a hose to move any amount from a stopped position would be imparting an impulsive force),
a communication element for communicating control commands relating to the dispensing/retracting movement control with a cable-storage drum device (implicit in the disclosure of Kreis as the drives are synchronized; Kreis paragraph 51 noting drive 24 of the traversing carriage 55 is brought about via a toothed belt 28 which is driven by reel motor 19 and in this manner ensures the traversing carriage moves synchronously via a spindle with trapezoidal thread. Rollers 27 of the application hose drive are rotated by servomotor 29 coupled with the reel motor 19 so that in this case as well the feed movement of the application hose is synchronous with the hose unwinding from reel 17; and Kreis paragraph 33 noting a control unit that in particular monitors, controls and indicates the intake and discharge volumes and the pressure. The control unit ensures the proper functioning as well as trouble-free operation of the apparatus. It can also be programmed with respect to feed length, feed speed, and retraction speed of the application hose); and
a power element for supplying of electrical power to powered elements of the cable-handling device (Kreis paragraph 49 noting power supply appliance 53).
However, Kreis does not expressly disclose and cause periodic push-cable movements with pauses. It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art, that the teachings of Kreis include that control signals can be programmed as desired to impart movements on the push-cable via the drive motor, and that it would be a mere matter of design choice to program the signals to make multiple movements, which could be described as periodic movements with pauses. Additionally, a programmed signal to feed the push-cable, followed by a pause in movement to perform any other tasks, and then a programmed signal to retract the push-cable could be described as two periodic movements with a pause in between. As such, it would be a mere matter of design choice to use the programmable control signals to send multiple movement signals instead of one if that’s the desired operation of the push-cable. Additionally, in the same field of endeavor, Warren discloses wherein the drive element includes a clutch element to engage and disengage with the push-cable (Warren paragraphs 45-46 noting the use of clutch mechanisms to control one or more cables and/or hoses) and remote control of the clamp (Warren paragraphs 36-37). Thus, it can be seen that an apparatus that allows for remote control of push-cable movements, especially with the inclusion of a remote-controlled clutch mechanism would be capable of causing periodic movements of the push cable.
Thus, modified to incorporate that which would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, as well as the teachings of Warren, the teachings of Kreis include all of the limitations presented in claim 19. It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Kreis with the teachings of Warren for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 9.
In regard to claim 20, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Kreis teaches wherein the drive element imparts forces to cause push-cable movements (Kreis paragraph 48 noting Reel 17 accommodates the application hose 18 capable of being unwound and retracted by means of motor 19; and Kreis paragraph 51 noting Rollers 27 of the application hose drive are rotated by servomotor 29 coupled with the reel motor 19 so that in this case as well the feed movement of the application hose is synchronous with the hose unwinding from reel 17. Maximum feed/retraction speed rates of up to 4.5 m/sec are achieved. Kreis claim 9 noting the application hose (18) can be controllably extended and retracted over the entire length of the pipe to be treated; and claim 14 noting the control unit is programmable with respect to feed length, feed speed, and/or retraction speed of the application hose. As discussed in paragraph 33 of Kreiselmaier, control signals can be sent to control feed length, feed speed, retraction amount, retraction speed, etc. As discussed above regarding claim 1, these control signals are inherently related to the motor imparting forces on the hose to achieve the control signals given, and sending a control signal to move the hose a certain distance can be described as a force that causes an impulsive movement. The claim limitations require that the drive element imparts forces to cause impulsive movements, and it can be seen that the drive element disclosed by Kreiselmaier is capable of imparting forces to cause impulsive movements, as a drive motor causing a hose to move any amount from a stopped position would be imparting an impulsive force, and the apparatus of Kreiselmaier is capable of imparting an impulsive force, and is capable of being programmed with respect to length/amount/speed of the hose, so it is implied that any two control signals relating to movement could be spaced apart and considered two impulsive movements), wherein the push-cable movements are generated (As discussed in paragraph 33 of Kreiselmaier, control signals can be sent to control feed length, feed speed, retraction amount, retraction speed, etc. As discussed above regarding claim 1, these control signals are inherently related to the motor imparting forces on the hose to achieve the control signals given, and sending a control signal to move the hose a certain distance can be described as a force that causes an impulsive movement. The claim limitations require that the drive element imparts forces to cause impulsive movements, and it can be seen that the drive element disclosed by Kreiselmaier is capable of imparting forces to cause impulsive movements, as a drive motor causing a hose to move any amount from a stopped position would be imparting an impulsive force, and the apparatus of Kreiselmaier is capable of imparting an impulsive force, and is capable of being programmed with respect to length/amount/speed of the hose, so it is implied that any two control signals relating to movement could be spaced apart and considered two impulsive movements).
However, Kreis does not expressly disclose and cause periodic push-cable movements with pauses, and by repeated engagement and disengagement of a clutch element with the push-cable. It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art, that the teachings of Kreis include that control signals can be programmed as desired to impart movements on the push-cable via the drive motor, and that it would be a mere matter of design choice to program the signals to make multiple movements, which could be described as periodic movements with pauses. Additionally, a programmed signal to feed the push-cable, followed by a pause in movement to perform any other tasks, and then a programmed signal to retract the push-cable could be described as two periodic movements with a pause in between. As such, it would be a mere matter of design choice to use the programmable control signals to send multiple movement signals instead of one if that’s the desired operation of the push-cable. Additionally, in the same field of endeavor, Warren discloses wherein the drive element includes a clutch element to engage and disengage with the push-cable (Warren paragraphs 45-46 noting the use of clutch mechanisms to control one or more cables and/or hoses) and remote control of the clamp (Warren paragraphs 36-37). Thus, it can be seen that an apparatus that allows for remote control of push-cable movements, especially with the inclusion of a remote-controlled clutch mechanism would be capable of causing periodic movements of the push cable.
Thus, modified to incorporate that which would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, as well as the teachings of Warren, the teachings of Kreis include all of the limitations presented in claim 20. It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Kreis with the teachings of Warren for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 9.
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreiselmaier (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0287943), hereinafter referred to as Kreis, in view of Turner et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,110,495), hereinafter referred to as Turner.
In regard to claim 10, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Kreis does not expressly disclose wherein the control element is fully or in part in one or more other wirelessly connected smartphones, tablets, laptops, or other computers or devices.
In the same field of endeavor, Turner teaches wherein the control element is fully or in part in one or more other wirelessly connected smartphones, tablets, laptops, or other computers or devices (Turner column 9, lines 1-5 noting user interface 270 may be on a user mobile device, such as through an application on a phone. This may allow a user to control the operation of the pipeline inspection device 10 through the application on the phone).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Kreis with the teachings of Turner, because both disclosures relate to pipeline inspection apparatuses that comprise a drum including a cable, and a controller for operating the apparatus in a pipeline inspection system. The teachings of Turner would benefit the teachings of Kreis, because the controller and user interface can be a separate device that can control the operation of the pipeline inspection system remotely from a unit such as a smartphone or other mobile device. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Turner, the teachings of Kreis include all of the limitations presented in claim 10.
In regard to claim 11, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Kreis does not expressly disclose wherein the input element is fully or in part in one or more other wirelessly connected smartphones, tablets, laptops, or other computers or devices.
In the same field of endeavor, Turner teaches wherein the input element is fully or in part in one or more other wirelessly connected smartphones, tablets, laptops, or other computers or devices (Turner column 9, lines 1-5 noting user interface 270 may be on a user mobile device, such as through an application on a phone. This may allow a user to control the operation of the pipeline inspection device 10 through the application on the phone).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Kreis with the teachings of Turner for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 10.
In regard to claim 12, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Kreis does not expressly disclose wherein the input element is fully or in part located in one or more other wirelessly connected smartphones, tablets, laptops, or other computers or devices.
In the same field of endeavor, Turner teaches wherein the input element is fully or in part located in one or more other wirelessly connected smartphones, tablets, laptops, or other computers or devices (Turner column 9, lines 1-5 noting user interface 270 may be on a user mobile device, such as through an application on a phone. This may allow a user to control the operation of the pipeline inspection device 10 through the application on the phone).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Kreis with the teachings of Turner for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 10.
In regard to claim 13, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Kreis does not expressly disclose wherein the input element includes a trigger, buttons, or mechanism by which a user can input commands.
In the same field of endeavor, Turner teaches wherein the input element includes a trigger, buttons, or mechanism by which a user can input commands (Turner Fig. 21 showing a controller including buttons).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Kreis with the teachings of Turner for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 10.
In regard to claim 14, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Kreis does not expressly disclose wherein the input element includes mechanisms for voice command.
In the same field of endeavor, Turner teaches wherein the input element includes mechanisms for voice command (Turner column 9, lines 34-44 noting the user interface can comprise a microphone for voice input).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Kreis with the teachings of Turner for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 10.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreiselmaier (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0287943), hereinafter referred to as Kreis, in view of Mavros et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0291238), hereinafter referred to as Mavros.
In regard to claim 16, Kreis teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Kreis does not expressly disclose wherein the drive element is provided by a power drill removably coupled to the cable-handling device.
In the same field of endeavor, Mavros teaches wherein the drive element is provided by a power drill removably coupled to the cable-handling device (Mavros paragraph 40 noting drain cleaning machine of the present subject matter further includes a rotary power transmission assembly to which a rotary power source such as a powered hand drill can be operatively engaged. An illustrative transmission assembly is capable of effectively transmitting rotational motion from the powered hand drill (“power drill”) or alternative power source directly to an input for the transmission assembly which could be a flexible shaft or other input component for the transmission assembly).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Kreis with the teachings of Mavros, because both disclosures relate to the field of drain cleaning devices meant for cleaning pipes, and use push-cable systems that are deployed with a powered motor. The teachings of Mavros would benefit the teachings of Kreis by providing alternate methods of powering the motors, and note that multiple types of rotary power sources can be used, including a hand drill. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Mavros, the teachings of Kreis include all of the limitations presented in claim 16.
Conclusion
/TYLER B. EDWARDS/
Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/SATH V PERUNGAVOOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2488