DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This office action is responsive to the Applicant’s amendment filed on April 15, 2026. Claims 1, 3-5, 11, and 13-15 have been amended. Claims 2 and 12 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 are pending and will be considered for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 3, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo et al. (US 2014/0164948 A1) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2020/0379633 A1).
As in Claim 1, Joo teaches a method for sharing a digital pathological image (FIG. 1, pars. 32-33, a method for sharing a medical image), the method comprising:
providing a remote interactive service to a first terminal device and a second terminal device through a server (FIG. 1, pars. 32, 34, 62-63, a messenger-based medical image sharing system provides a remote collaborative diagnosis to a first a first viewer 110 and a second viewer 120 via a medical image server 130), wherein the first terminal device comprises a first interactive interface, the second terminal device comprises a second interactive interface (see FIGS. 3-4, see the first viewer 110 and the second viewer 120), the first terminal device has an editing permission, and the second terminal device has an observing permission (pars. 46-48, 49-52, 56, a first user of the first viewer 110 has an editing permission or control authorities, and a second user of the second viewer has observing permission, which can be set by the first user; further see pars. 105 and 107-108);
presenting the digital pathological image to the first interactive interface and the second interactive interface through the server (FIG. 1 and 3-4, pars. 32, 34, 62-63);
in the first terminal device, performing following steps:
in response to receiving an image adjustment operation performed on the digital pathological image through the first interactive interface, transmitting image adjustment information corresponding to the image adjustment operation to the second interactive interface of the second terminal device through the first interactive interface (pars. 47-51, the first user of the first viewer 110 can perform adjusting or editing operations on a sharing-target medical image – such as rotating, zooming, changing the field of view, or applying windowing—and these adjustments can be synchronized so that the second viewer 120 sees the same updated image in real time; further see pars. 36, 63-64, 79);
in response to receiving a tag adding operation performed on the digital pathological image through the first interactive interface, transmitting added tag information corresponding to the tag adding operation to the second interactive interface of the second terminal device through the first interactive interface (pars. 46, 54, 57-59, 63, 66-67, the first user of the first viewer 110 can perform annotation operations on the sharing-target medical image, and these annotations can be synchronized and transmitted to the second viewer 120, which sees the same updated image; further see pars. 36, 63-64, 79);
in the second terminal device, performing following steps:
in response to receiving the image adjustment information through the second interactive interface, adjusting the digital pathological image presented on the second interactive interface based on the image adjustment information (pars. 47-49, 62, the second user of the second viewer 120 can perform adjusting or editing operations on the sharing-target medical image (e.g., rotating, zooming, changing the field of view, etc.), and these adjustments can be synchronized so that the first viewer 120 sees the same updated image; further see pars. 36, 63-64, 79); and
in the second terminal device, in response to receiving the added tag information through the second interactive interface, adding a tag corresponding to the tag adding operation performed through the first interactive interface to the digital pathological image presented on the second interactive interface based on the added tag information (pars. 47-49, 62, the second user of the second viewer 120 can perform annotation operations on the sharing-target medical image, and these annotations can be synchronized and transmitted to the first viewer 110, which sees the same updated image; further see pars. 36, 63-64, 79).
Joo does not appear to explicitly teach: in response to receiving a window dividing operation through the first interactive interface, comprising: obtaining a plurality of divided windows; performing an image switching operation on each of the divided windows through the first interactive interface and presenting the corresponding digital pathological images in each of the divided windows; based on the window dividing operation and the image switching operation, recording window dividing information through the first interactive interface, wherein the window dividing information comprises the number of the divided windows, a window identification code of each of the divided windows, and image identification codes of the digital pathological images presented in the divided windows;
transmitting the window dividing information to the second interactive interface of the second terminal device through the first interactive interface; and in response to receiving the window dividing information through the second interactive interface, performing the window dividing operation through the second interactive interface based on the window dividing information to obtain the divided windows, and presenting the corresponding digital pathological images in each of the divided windows.
However, in the same field of the invention, Hasegawa teaches:
in response to receiving a window dividing operation through the first interactive interface, comprising: obtaining a plurality of divided windows (pars. 48-49, 125, a window can be divided into a plurality of windows or tiles (e.g., multi-window or three or more windows/viewers));
performing an image switching operation on each of the divided windows through the first interactive interface and presenting the corresponding digital pathological images in each of the divided windows (see at least FIGS. 11-12 and 20 with the accompanying paragraphs, with the user input, the user can select or input instructions on one of the windows for various request);
based on the window dividing operation and the image switching operation, recording window dividing information through the first interactive interface, wherein the window dividing information comprises the number of the divided windows, a window identification code of each of the divided windows, and image identification codes of the digital pathological images presented in the divided windows (see at least pars. 57-59, 63-66, 75, each view window (single or multi-window) is registered or recorded in a synchronous control table via the presenter window/viewer. Each record includes information such as viewer ID, Window ID, Operation Right Flag, the number of windows, and the like);
transmitting the window dividing information to the second interactive interface of the second terminal device through the first interactive interface (see at least 9 and 20 with the accompanying paragraphs, the information can be transmitted to the audience device in the synchronous mode; see pars. 124-127,129-141, 154, 174-177 ); and
in response to receiving the window dividing information through the second interactive interface, performing the window dividing operation through the second interactive interface based on the window dividing information to obtain the divided windows, and presenting the corresponding digital pathological images in each of the divided windows (see at least FIGS. 9 and 20 with the accompanying paragraphs, the audience window can present the divided windows (e.g., multi-window in this instance) to perform synchronous processing on the image on the audience window ; see pars. 124-127,129-141, 154, 174-177).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for collaboratively adjusting or annotating on the sharing-target medical image, as taught by Joo, and to incorporate the method for performing the window dividing operation in the synchronous mode between the presenter and audience windows, as taught by Hasegawa. The motivation is to ensure that all users can see and interact with the same information in real time, even when the screen is divided in to multiple sub-areas, enabling accurate collaboration.
As in Claim 11, Joo teaches a system for sharing a digital pathological image (FIG. 1, pars. 30-32), comprising:
a server, providing a remote interactive service (FIG. 1, pars. 32, 34, 62-63, a messenger-based medical image sharing system provides a remote collaborative diagnosis to a first a first viewer 110 and a second viewer 120 via a medical image server 130 );
a first terminal device, having an editing permission and comprising a first interactive interface provided by the remote interactive service (FIGS. 1 and 3-4, pars. 46-48, 49-52, 56, a first user of the first viewer 110 has an editing permission or control authorities; further see pars. 105 and 107-108); and
a second terminal device, having an observing permission and comprising a second interactive interface provided by the remote interactive service, wherein the server presents the digital pathological image to the first interactive interface and the second interactive interface (Figs. 1 and 3-4, pars. 46-48, 49-52, 56, a second user of the second viewer has observing permission, which can be set by the first user). Claim 11 is substantially similar to Claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As in Claim 3, Joo-Hasegawa teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Joo-Hasegawa further teaches that after performing the window dividing operation through the first interactive interface and obtaining the divided windows (see the rejection of claim 2), the method further comprising:
in a selected window of the divided windows on the first interactive interface, in response to receiving the image adjustment operation performed on the digital pathological image presented in the selected window through the first interactive interface, transmitting the image adjustment information corresponding to the image adjustment operation performed on the selected window to the second interactive interface of the second terminal device through the first interactive interface (Hasegawa, see the rejection of claim 2. Further see pars. 10, 51, 82, the image adjustment operations, such as moves, zoom factor changes, rotations, and the like); and
in response to receiving the image adjustment information through the second interactive interface, based on the image adjustment information, adjusting the digital pathological image presented in the selected window corresponding to the second interactive interface through the second interactive interface (Hasegawa, see the rejection of claim 2. Further see pars. 10, 51, 82, the image adjustment operations, such as moves, zoom factor changes, rotations, and the like).
Claim 13 is substantially similar to Claim 3 and rejected under the same rationale.
4. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo et al. (US 2014/0164948 A1) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2020/0379633 A1) and further in view of Deroo et al. (US 2018/0357982 A1).
As in Claim 4, Joo-Hasegawa teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Joo-Hasegawa does not teach: in a selected window of the divided windows on the first interactive interface, in response to the tag adding operation performed on the digital pathological image presented in the selected window through the first interactive interface, recording the added tag information through the first interactive interface, and transmitting the added tag information to the second interactive interface of the second terminal device through the first interactive interface.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Deroo teaches: in a selected window of the divided windows on the first interactive interface, in response to the tag adding operation performed on the digital pathological image presented in the selected window through the first interactive interface, recording the added tag information through the first interactive interface, and transmitting the added tag information to the second interactive interface of the second terminal device through the first interactive interface (pars. 30-31, 49, 131, annotations can be placed on any sub-areas and remain synchronized between a host display and an associated display; further see pars. 90-92, 97-98, 100 ).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for collaboratively adjusting or annotating on the sharing-target medical image, as taught by Joo, in view of Hasegawa’s teachings, and to incorporate the method for performing annotation operation in the synchronous mode between the host and the associated devices, as taught by Deroo. The motivation is to ensure that all users can see and interact with the same information in real time, even when the screen is divided in to multiple sub-areas, enabling accurate collaboration.
Claim 14 is substantially similar to Claim 4 and rejected under the same rationale.
5. Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo et al. (US 2014/0164948 A1) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2020/0379633 A1) and further in view of Walker et al. (US 2002/0065848 A1).
As in Claim 5, Joo-Hasegawa teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Joo-Hasegawa does not teach: in the first terminal device,
in response to enabling a lock function through the first interactive interface, locking a portion of the divided windows together; and
in response to the image adjustment operation performed on at least one of the portion of divided windows that is locked together through the first interactive interface, synchronously adjusting the digital pathological images presented in remaining divided windows of the portion of divided windows that is locked together, and recording and transmitting the image adjustment information to the second interactive interface of the second terminal device through the first interactive interface, so as to synchronously adjust the corresponding digital pathological images presented on the second interactive interface through the second interactive interface based on the image adjustment information.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Walker teaches: in the first terminal device, in response to enabling a lock function through the first interactive interface, locking a portion of the divided windows together; and in response to the image adjustment operation performed on at least one of the portion of divided windows that is locked together through the first interactive interface, synchronously adjusting the digital pathological images presented in remaining divided windows of the portion of divided windows that is locked together, and recording and transmitting the image adjustment information to the second interactive interface of the second terminal device through the first interactive interface, so as to synchronously adjust the corresponding digital pathological images presented on the second interactive interface through the second interactive interface based on the image adjustment information (at least pars. 4-7, 15-18, 60-62, 201-202, the system can break documents or images into independent editable section that can be locked without affecting any other section, The user can lock a desired section of the document or image while other users (or other users devices) can edit different sections).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for collaboratively adjusting or annotating on the sharing-target medical image, as taught by Joo, in view of Hasegawa’s teachings, and to incorporate the method for locking independent section of the document/image in collaborative environments, as taught by Walker. The motivation is to support multi-user, real-time collaboration across diverse document including images without conflicts or unnecessary blocking using locking function.
Claim 15 is substantially similar to Claim 5 and rejected under the same rationale.
6. Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo et al. (US 2014/0164948 A1) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2020/0379633 A1) in view of Osaki et al. (US 6675352 B1) and further in view of Goede, Patricia (US 2016/0253456 A1).
As in Claim 6, Joo-Hasegawa teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Joo-Hasegawa teaches: after transmitting the added tag information corresponding to the tag adding operation to the second interactive interface of the second terminal device through the first interactive interface (Joo, pars. 46, 54, 57-59, 63, 66-67, the first user of the first viewer 110 can perform annotation operations on the sharing-target medical image, and these annotations can be synchronized and transmitted to the second viewer 120, which sees the same updated image; further see pars. 36, 63-64, 79).
Joo-Hasegawa does not appear to explicitly teach that in response to a tag deleting operation performed on the digital pathological image through the first interactive interface, transmitting deleted tag information corresponding to the tag deleting operation to the second interactive interface of the second terminal device through the first interactive interface, wherein the deleted tag information comprises at least one of a tag identification code, a tag title, a tag descriptor, a tag length, a tag author, tag coordinate information, and a tag time, wherein in the second terminal device, in response to receiving the deleted tag information through the second interactive interface, removing the corresponding tag from the digital pathological image presented on the second interactive interface through the second interactive interface based on the deleted tag information.
However, in the same field of the invention, Osaki teaches that in response to a tag deleting operation performed on the digital pathological image through the first interactive interface, transmitting deleted tag information corresponding to the tag deleting operation to the second interactive interface of the second terminal device through the first interactive interface, wherein in the second terminal device, in response to receiving the deleted tag information through the second interactive interface, removing the corresponding tag from the digital pathological image presented on the second interactive interface through the second interactive interface based on the deleted tag information (col. 1, lines 9-29, col. 8, line 17 – col. 9, lines 39, col. 11, liens 32-62, col. 12, liens 30-39, the system records user annotations (lines, text, pointers) directly n images or videos along with voice and execution timings, storing them as sequential data block. Each data block contains an initial state of the screen and commands for annotations, allowing precise playback. When an annotation on first device is deleted, the system removes the corresponding intermediate data block, and the modified data block are then transmitted to the other device. As a result, the deleted annotation no longer appears on the other device, while all other annotations and commons remain synchronized and visually consistent, ensuring that playback across devices accurately reflects the edited session; further see col. 4, lines 27-40).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for collaboratively adjusting or annotating on the sharing-target medical image, as taught by Joo, in view of Hasegawa’s teachings, and to delete the annotations in the synchronized environment, as taught by Osaki. The reason is to ensure that when one user deletes an annotation on their system, the change is immediately reflected on other collaborator’s system, keeping everyone perfectly synchronized.
Joo-Hasegawa and Osaki do not teach that the deleted tag information comprises at least one of a tag identification code, a tag title, a tag descriptor, a tag length, a tag author, tag coordinate information, and a tag time.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Goede teaches that the deleted tag information comprises at least one of a tag identification code, a tag title, a tag descriptor, a tag length, a tag author, tag coordinate information, and a tag time (par. 35, annotations can include metadata such as the author’s name and the date and time when the annotation were performed).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for collaboratively adjusting or annotating on the sharing-target medical image, as taught by Joo, in view of Hasegawa’s and Osaki’s teachings, and to delete the annotations in the synchronized environment, as taught by Goede. The reason is to ensure that when one user deletes an annotation on their system, the change is immediately reflected on other collaborator’s system, keeping everyone perfectly synchronized.
Claim 16 is substantially similar to Claim 6 and rejected under the same rationale.
7. Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo et al. (US 2014/0164948 A1) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2020/0379633 A1) and further in view of Backhaus, Brent (US 2011/0015941 A1).
As in Claim 7, Joo-Hasegawa teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Joo-Hasegawa does not teach that the digital pathological image is provided by the first terminal device or the second terminal device, and an image format of the digital pathological image is converted into a standard format through the first interactive interface or the second interactive interface adopted by the first terminal device or the second terminal device providing the digital pathological image.
However, in the same field of the invention, Backhaus teaches that the digital pathological image is provided by the first terminal device or the second terminal device, and an image format of the digital pathological image is converted into a standard format through the first interactive interface or the second interactive interface adopted by the first terminal device or the second terminal device providing the digital pathological image (pars. 26-28, 40, 53, 112, the image provided by the first device (e.g., image order (IO) management system 102 that can be converted into the appropriate formats, including DICOM format).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for collaboratively adjusting or annotating on the sharing-target medical image, as taught by Joo, in view of Hasegawa’s teachings, and to include information, such as the author’s name and the date and time, in the annotations, as taught by Backhaus. The motivation is to give context and traceability, so collaborators know who made an annotation and when, which improves clarity in shared work.
Claim 17 is substantially similar to Claim 7 and rejected under the same rationale.
8. Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo et al. (US 2014/0164948 A1) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2020/0379633 A1) in view of Saikou, Masahiro (US 2023/0230364 A1).
As in Claim 8, Joo-Hasegawa teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Joo-Hasegawa does note teach providing an artificial intelligence module through the server; receiving the digital pathological image through the artificial intelligence module to identify a nidus location in the digital pathological image by the artificial intelligence module; in response to the tag adding operation performed on the digital pathological image through the first interactive interface and in response to a location where the tag adding operation is performed falling within the nidus location, providing nidus information associated with the nidus location as the added tag information through the first interactive interface.
However, in the same field of the invention, Saikou teaches providing an artificial intelligence module through the server (pars. 41-42, 45, 95, machine learning models is provided by the server-side image-processing device 1);
receiving the digital pathological image through the artificial intelligence module to identify a nidus location in the digital pathological image by the artificial intelligence module (FIGS. 5-9, pars. 58-80, the ML models (e.g., detection model) identify or detect lesion candidate areas on the target or captured image);
in response to the tag adding operation performed on the digital pathological image through the first interactive interface and in response to a location where the tag adding operation is performed falling within the nidus location, providing nidus information associated with the nidus location as the added tag information through the first interactive interface (FIGS. 5-9, pars. 58-80, the ML models generate annotations (e.g., line, shape, rectangles, etc.) on the top of the lesion candidate areas, and the system provides information associated with each annotation (i.e., candidate area) on a display device 2).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for collaboratively adjusting or annotating on the sharing-target medical image, as taught by Joo, in view of Hasegawa’s teachings, and to display annotations on the detected candidate areas and display information for the annotations using machine-learning models, as taught by Saikou. The motivation is to accurately highlight critical areas in medical images, improving diagnostic efficiency, consistency, and clinician support.
Claim 18 is substantially similar to Claim 8 and rejected under the same rationale.
9. Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo et al. (US 2014/0164948 A1) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2020/0379633 A1) and further in view of Rance et al. (US 2010/0058410 A1).
As in Claim 9, Joo-Hasegawa teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Joo-Hasegawa does not teach: in response to the first terminal device having the editing permission, enabling a poll function, establishing a poll menu and sending the poll menu to the server by the first terminal device, wherein the poll menu comprises a plurality of options; after displaying the poll menu in the first terminal device and the second terminal device through the server, sending poll information to the server by the first terminal device and the second terminal device according to the poll menu, wherein the poll information comprises a poll number, a poll time, a poll title, and a poll answer; receiving the poll information through the server, counting the poll information to obtain a poll result, and displaying the poll result through the first terminal device or the second terminal device.
However, in the same field of the invention, Rance teaches in response to the first terminal device having the editing permission, enabling a poll function, establishing a poll menu and sending the poll menu to the server by the first terminal device, wherein the poll menu comprises a plurality of options (at least pars. 30, 58-59, 76-79, a presenter or channel owner can creates a poll including a plurality of questions that can be send a server (e.g., a management server 110);
after displaying the poll menu in the first terminal device and the second terminal device through the server, sending poll information to the server by the first terminal device and the second terminal device according to the poll menu, wherein the poll information comprises a poll number, a poll time, a poll title, and a poll answer (at least pars. 30, 41, 61-62, 80, 76-79, 100-102, the poll can be presented to the presenter and other users, and the server collets information (e.g., answers or feedback) from the users (i.e., the presenter and other users));
receiving the poll information through the server, counting the poll information to obtain a poll result, and displaying the poll result through the first terminal device or the second terminal device (at least pars. 30, 41, 61-62, 80, 76-79, 100-102, the poll results can be pressed to the users (i.e., the presenter and other users)).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for collaboratively adjusting or annotating on the sharing-target medical image, as taught by Joo, in view of Hasegawa’s teachings, and to inculpate the way to present the poll and display the poll results, as taught by Rance. The motivation is to quickly gather opinions, answers, or detailed feedback from participants or audience to guide or inform decisions or actions
Claim 19 is substantially similar to Claim 9 and rejected under the same rationale.
10. Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joo et al. (US 2014/0164948 A1) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2020/0379633 A1) and further in view of Goede, Patricia (US 2016/0253456 A1).
As in Claim 10, Joo-Hasegawa teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Joo-Hasegawa further teaches that the image adjustment information comprises at least one of a coordinate location of a middle point of the digital pathological image relative to a display frame of the first interactive interface, a zoom ratio for zooming the digital pathological image, and a rotation angle for rotating the digital pathological image (Joo, pars. 47, 79, angle of the rotation).
Joo-Hasegawa does not appear to explicitly teach that the added tag information comprises at least one of a tag identification code, a tag title, a tag descriptor, a tag length, a tag author, tag coordinate information, and a tag time.
However, in the same filed of the invention, Goede teaches that the added tag information comprises at least one of a tag identification code, a tag title, a tag descriptor, a tag length, a tag author, tag coordinate information, and a tag time (par. 35, annotations can include metadata such as the author’s name and the date and time when the annotation were performed).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method for collaboratively adjusting or annotating on the sharing-target medical image, as taught by Joo, in view of Hasegawa’s teachings, and to include information, such as the author’s name and the date and time, in the annotations, as taught by Goede. The motivation is to give context and traceability, so collaborators know who made an annotation and when, which improves clarity in shared work.
Claim 20 is substantially similar to Claim 10 and rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 have been fully considered, but are deemed unpersuasive.
Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant appears to argue that Joo and Hasegawa fail to disclose the features "in response to receiving a window dividing operation through the first interactive interface, comprising: obtaining a plurality of divided windows; performing an image switching operation on each of the divided windows through the first interactive interface and presenting the corresponding digital pathological images in each of the divided windows; based on the window dividing operation and the image switching operation, recording window dividing information through the first interactive interface, wherein the window dividing information comprises the number of the divided windows, a window identification code of each of the divided windows, and image identification codes of the digital pathological images presented in the divided windows; transmitting the window dividing information to the second interactive interface of the second terminal device through the first interactive interface" and "in response to receiving the window dividing information through the second interactive interface, performing the window dividing operation through the second interactive interface based on the window dividing information to obtain the divided windows, and presenting the corresponding digital pathological images in each of the divided windows" as recited in claim 1. The Examiner respectively disagrees. Please see the rejection of claim 1 above.
Applicant first appears to argue that Table of Hasegawa does not function to dynamically transmit a “window dividing layout + Window ID” to a remote receiving terminal to facilitate the reconstruction of a divided windows. However, the claims do not require transmission of both the layout and the ID.
Applicant next appears to argue that Hasegawa does not define which specific image file should be loaded into which divided window. However, the window ID identifies the synchronization group. It tells the system which corresponding windows should receive synchronization updates or operation-right changes. After an image is copied into a window, the window ID of that destination window determines which other windows are synchronized to that updated image. (see at least pars. 63-66, 75, 135-141).
Applicant next appears to argue that Hasegawa fails to disclose the one-directional operation recited in claim 1. However, the claim do not require only one-directional operation. Although the reference allows the operation right to be transferred between viewers, the synchronization itself is performed only from the current presenter window to the corresponding audience window(s). At any given time, only one window in a corresponding window group holds the operation right, and only that window initiates synchronization. Accordingly, the disclosed bidirectional capability merely allows the direction of synchronization to be changed by transferring the operation right, which the actual synchronization remains one-directional during operation (see pars. 63-34, 75, 124-126).
Applicant next appears to argue that Hasegawa only discloses information such as viewer ID, window ID, operation right flag, the number of window, not including image identification codes as defined in claim 1. However, an image name serves as an identifier of an image in compunction with the image server. Paragraph [0046] explains that an image data request my include an “image name” and image location information, indicating that the image name identifies which image to be retrieved from image storage.
Therefore, the combination of Joo and Hasegawa still teaches the limitations recited in claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/RINNA YI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179