DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Rejections withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOZOIL et al (WO 2022161608) in view of ALPERT et al (US 2022/0346007) further in view of ALIZADEH et al (US 2022/0225325).
Regarding claim 1, 16, KOZOIL et al (WO 2022161608) discloses communication processing method for data transmission/apparatus, applied to a terminal-side device, the method comprising:
receiving first information indicating at least one of the following:
time at which an uplink data burst of the terminal-side device is transmitted from an access stratum of the terminal-side device (KOIZOL: Pages 11-13, Page 11, lines 11-15, Fig. 2, configuration parameters are received by the UE (the terminal side device) which includes at least an implicit indication of a time at which the data burst for uplink transmission is transmitted from the modem (access stratum) of the UE), wherein the uplink data burst comprises at least one data packet that belongs to a same quality of service (QoS) flow of a same service (KOIZOL: Page 16, lines 1-5, the data burst (multiple packets of the burst) belong to a same QoS flow), and
KOZOIL et al (WO 2022161608) remains silent regarding the indicated time being an adjustment time when the data arrives at the access stratum, and adjusting data transmission of the uplink data burst based on the first information.
However, ALPERT et al (US 2022/0346007) discloses the indicated time being an adjustment time when the data arrives at the access stratum (ALPERT: ¶5, Fig. 4, Fig .2, ¶36-37, the timing/sync information received by the terminal-side device is to achieve an arrival time of the data at the access layer/communication module), and adjusting data transmission of the uplink data burst based on the first information (ALPERT: ¶5, Fig. 4, Fig .2, ¶36-37, transmission of uplink data burst is according to the target arrival time (time at which an event interval begins, e.g.) of the data at the access layer/communication module).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KOZOIL would have been motivated to use the teachings of ALPERT as it provides a way to improve battery conservation and enhance interference cancellation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KOZOIL with teachings of ALPERT in order to optimize power consumption at battery operated devices (¶3).
KOZOIL modified by ALPERT remains silent regarding wherein the adjustment time is configured to stagger, in terms of time, the terminal-side device and a second terminal-side device that does not support simultaneous transmission with the terminal-side device, or the adjustment time is configured to enable, in a multi-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) scenario, the terminal-side device and a third terminal-side device MIMO-paired with the terminal-side device to simultaneously perform data transmission.
However, ALIZADEH et al (US 2022/0225325) discloses the adjustment time is configured to stagger, in terms of time, the terminal-side device and a second terminal-side device that does not support simultaneous transmission with the terminal-side device, or the adjustment time is configured to enable, in a multi-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) scenario, the terminal-side device and a third terminal-side device MIMO-paired with the terminal-side device to simultaneously perform data transmission (ALIZADEH: ¶20-22, timing alignment is so that a terminal side device can perform simultaneous uplink transmission with at least one other terminal side device (STA) in a MU-MIMO scenario)
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KOZOIL modified by ALPERT would have been motivated to use the teachings of ALIZADEH as it improves synchronization between the network side device and a group of terminal side devices minimizing the interference with other stations (¶24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KOZOIL modified by ALPERT with teachings of ALIZADEH in order to optimize quality by improving synchronization and minimizing interference (¶24).
Regarding claim 2, 17 KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH discloses method/apparatus of claim 1/16, wherein the first information is carried in access stratum signaling from the access-network-side device (KOZOIL: Pages 11-12, bridging paragraph, the configuration information is receive from the access node through the modem/transmitter i.e. access stratum signaling); and
the adjusting data transmission of the uplink data burst based on the first information comprises:
sending the first information to an application layer function for processing the uplink data burst, and adjusting the data transmission of the uplink data burst based on the first information in the application layer function (ALPERT: ¶24, ¶31-33, Fig. 3, the burst arrival time adjustment is received by the terminal side device (STA) at an host application (part of application layer) which indicates a time at which the uplink data burst reaches the modem; the host application decides based on the received information, how to adjust the data transmission of the uplink data burst).
Regarding claim 5, KOZOIL et al (WO 2022161608) discloses communication system comprising an access-network-side device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions, wherein the instructions are executed by the at least one processor to cause the access-network-side device to perform operations of:
sending access stratum signaling to a terminal-side device (KOZOIL: Page 12, Lines 25-30, assistance/configuration information is transmitted via access signaling/to the communication module of the UE from the network node/gNB based which includes maximum burst size (equivalent to MDBV)),
wherein the access stratum signaling comprises first information indicating at least one of the following:
time at which an uplink data burst of the terminal-side device is transmitted by an access stratum of the terminal-side device, a maximum peak rate that the access-network-side device is allowed to provide for the uplink data burst on an air interface, or a maximum data burst volume that the access-network-side device can bear for the uplink data burst within a packet delay budget of the air interface (KOIZOL: Page 11, lines 10-26, Page 13, Fig. 2, configuration parameters are received by the UE (the terminal side device) which includes at least an implicit indication of a time at which the data burst for uplink transmission transmitted by the modem (access stratum) of the UE), wherein the uplink data burst comprises at least one data packet that belongs to a same quality of service (QoS) flow of a same service (KOIZOL: Page 16, lines 1-5, the data burst (multiple packets of the burst) belong to a same QoS flow), and
KOZOIL et al (WO 2022161608) remains silent regarding the indicated adjusting time being an adjustment time when the data arrives at the access stratum.
However ALPERT et al (US 2022/0346007) discloses the indicated adjusting time being an adjustment time when the data arrives at the access stratum (ALPERT: ¶5, Fig. 4, Fig .2, ¶36-37, the timing/sync information received by the terminal-side device is to achieve an arrival time of the data at the access layer/communication module), and adjusting data transmission of the uplink data burst based on the first information (ALPERT: ¶5, Fig. 4, Fig .2, ¶36-37, transmission of uplink data burst is according to the target arrival time (time at which an event interval begins, e.g.) of the data at the access layer/communication module).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KOZOIL would have been motivated to use the teachings of ALPERT as it provides a way to improve battery conservation and enhance interference cancellation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KOZOIL with teachings of ALPERT in order to optimize power consumption at battery operated devices (¶3).
KOZOIL modified by ALPERT remains silent regarding wherein the adjustment time is for staggering, in terms of time, the terminal-side device and a second terminal-side device that does not support simultaneous transmission with the terminal-side device, or
the adjustment time is for enabling, in a multi-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) scenario, the terminal-side device and a third terminal-side device MIMO-paired with the terminal-side device to simultaneously perform data transmission;
However, ALIZADEH et al (US 2022/0225325) discloses the adjustment time is for staggering, in terms of time, the terminal-side device and a second terminal-side device that does not support simultaneous transmission with the terminal-side device, or the adjustment time is for enabling, in a multi-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) scenario, the terminal-side device and a third terminal-side device MIMO-paired with the terminal-side device to simultaneously perform data transmission (ALIZADEH: ¶20-22, timing alignment is so that a terminal side device can perform simultaneous uplink transmission with at least one other terminal side device (STA) in a MU-MIMO scenario)
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KOZOIL modified by ALPERT would have been motivated to use the teachings of ALIZADEH as it improves synchronization between the network side device and a group of terminal side devices minimizing the interference with other stations (¶24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KOZOIL modified by ALPERT with teachings of ALIZADEH in order to optimize quality by improving synchronization and minimizing interference (¶24).
Claim(s) 3, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH as applied to claim 1/16 above, further in view of SHARIAT et al (US 2022/0124160)
Regarding claim 3, 18, KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH method of claim 1/16,
wherein the adjusting data transmission of the uplink data burst based on the first information comprises:
receiving signaling at an application layer of the terminal-side device, and adjusting the data transmission of the uplink data burst based on the first information in an application layer function for processing the uplink data burst at the application layer (ALPERT: ¶24, ¶31-33, Fig. 3, the burst arrival time adjustment is received by the terminal side device (STA) at an host application (part of application layer) which indicates a time at which the uplink data burst reaches the modem; the host application decides based on the received information, how to adjust the data transmission of the uplink data burst).
KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH remains silent regarding the first information is carried in application layer signaling sent by an application server of the terminal-side device.
However, SHARIAT et al (US 2022/0124160) discloses the first information is carried in application layer signaling sent by an application server of the terminal-side device (SHARIAT: ¶41, configuration information is sent to the UE ‘s application via application layer signaling).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH would have been motivated to use the teachings of SHARIAT as it improves policy enforcement using a preconfigured policy at the application level which is particularly important for service charging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH with teachings of SHARIAT in order to optimize user charging and policy enforcement at application level.
Claim(s) 4, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH modified by SHARIAT as applied to claim 3/17 above, further in view of MOON et al (US 2022/0330185).
Regarding claim 4, 19 KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH modified by SHARIAT discloses a method of claim 3/17, the method further comprising:
receiving access stratum signaling from the access-network-side device, wherein the access stratum signaling comprises second information indicating at least one of the following reference information determined by the access-network-side device:
reference adjustment time at which the uplink data burst of the terminal-side device arrives at the access stratum of the terminal-side device, a reference maximum peak rate that the access-network-side device is allowed to provide for the uplink data burst on the air interface, or a reference maximum data burst volume that the access-network-side device can bear for the uplink data burst within the packet delay budget of the air interface (KOZOIL: Page 12, Lines 25-30, assistance/configuration information is transmitted via access signaling/to the communication module of the UE from the network node/gNB based which includes maximum burst size (equivalent to MDBV)).
KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH modified by SHARIAT remains silent regarding, however, MOON et al (US 2022/0330185) discloses sending the second information via non-access stratum signaling to a control plane of a core network system, wherein the second information is a reference for determining the first information (MOON: Fig. 9, Fig. 10, Fig. 4A, ¶183-184, ¶10, the timing offset or burst size/reference) information is sent to the core network via non-access stratum signaling to the core network system).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH modified by SHARIAT would have been motivated to use the teachings of MOON as it efficiently process traffic for time-sensitive communication when clock synchronization between nodes is provided in a wireless communication system (¶2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH modified by SHARIAT with teachings of MOON in order to improve time-sensitive communication when clock synchronization between nodes is provided in a wireless communication system (¶2).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH as applied to claim 3/17 above, further in view of MOON et al (US 2022/0330185).
Regarding claim 6 KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH discloses communication system of claim 5, wherein the access-network-side device is configured to perform operations:
sending access stratum signaling to the terminal-side device, wherein the access stratum signaling comprises second information indicating at least one of the following reference information determined by the access-network-side device:
reference adjustment time at which uplink data burst of the terminal-side device arrives at an access stratum of the terminal-side device, a reference maximum peak rate that the access-network-side device is allowed to provide for the uplink data burst on an air interface, or a reference maximum data burst volume that the access-network-side device can bear for the uplink data burst within a packet delay budget of the air interface, wherein the uplink data burst comprises at least one data packet that belongs to a same QoS flow of a same service (KOZOIL: Page 12, Lines 25-30, assistance/configuration information is transmitted via access signaling/to the communication module of the UE from the network node/gNB based which includes maximum burst size (equivalent to MDBV); Page 16, lines 1-5, the data burst (multiple packets of the burst) belong to a same QoS flow);
KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH remains silent regarding, however, MOON et al (US 2022/0330185) discloses sending, from the terminal-side device to a control plane of a core network system, non-access stratum signaling comprising the second information. (MOON: Fig. 9, Fig. 10, Fig. 4A, ¶183-184, ¶10, the timing offset or burst size/reference) information is sent to the core network via non-access stratum signaling to the core network system).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH would have been motivated to use the teachings of MOON as it efficiently process traffic for time-sensitive communication when clock synchronization between nodes is provided in a wireless communication system (¶2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH with teachings of MOON in order to improve time-sensitive communication when clock synchronization between nodes is provided in a wireless communication system (¶2).
Regarding claim 7, KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH discloses communication system of claim 5, wherein the operations further comprise: determining second information , wherein the second information indicates at least one of the following reference information determined by the access-network-side device: reference adjustment time at which uplink data burst of the terminal-side device arrives at the access stratum of the terminal-side device, a reference maximum peak rate that the access-network-side device is allowed to provide for the uplink data burst on the air interface, or a reference maximum data burst volume that the access-network-side device can bear for the uplink data burst within a packet delay budget of the air interface, wherein the uplink data burst comprises at least one data packet that belongs to a same QoS flow of a same service, wherein the reference adjustment time is for staggering, in terms of time, the terminal-side device and the second terminal-side device, or the reference adjustment time is for enabling, in the MU-MIMO scenario, the terminal-side device and the third terminal-side device to simultaneously perform data transmission (KOZOIL: Page 12, Lines 25-30, assistance/configuration information is transmitted via access signaling/to the communication module of the UE from the network node/gNB based which includes maximum burst size (equivalent to MDBV); ALIZADEH: ¶20-22, timing alignment is so that a terminal side device can perform simultaneous uplink transmission with at least one other terminal side device (STA) in a MU-MIMO scenario).
KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH remains silent regarding the information being the second information and sending the second information to a control plane of a core network system on an interface between the access-network-side device and the control plane of the core network system.
However, MOON et al (US 2022/0330185) discloses information being the second information and sending the second information to a control plane of a core network system on an interface between the access-network-side device and the control plane of the core network system (MOON: Fig. 9, Fig. 10, Fig. 4A, ¶183-184, ¶10, the timing offset or burst size/reference) information is sent to the core network via non-access stratum/core signaling to the core network system from the UE via the gNB).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH would have been motivated to use the teachings of MOON as it efficiently process traffic for time-sensitive communication when clock synchronization between nodes is provided in a wireless communication system (¶2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH with teachings of MOON in order to improve time-sensitive communication when clock synchronization between nodes is provided in a wireless communication system (¶2).
Regarding claim 8, KOZOIL modified by ALPERT modified by ALIZADEH modified by MOON discloses communication system of claim 5, wherein the communication system further comprises a control plane of a core network system configured to perform operations of:
receiving second information indicating at least one of the following reference information determined by the access-network-side (MOON: Fig. 9, Fig. 10, Fig. 4A, ¶183-184, ¶10, the timing offset or burst size/reference information is sent to the core network via non-access stratum/core signaling to the core network system from the UE via the gNB after being received by the eNB determined to be for the for network) device:
reference adjustment time at which uplink data burst of the terminal-side device arrives at the access stratum of the terminal-side device, a reference maximum peak rate that the access-network-side device is allowed to provide for the uplink data burst on the air interface, or a reference maximum data burst volume that the access-network-side device can bear for the uplink data burst within a packet delay budget of the air interface, wherein the uplink data burst comprises at least one data packet that belongs to a same QoS flow of a same service (KOIZOL: Page 11, lines 10-26, Fig. 2, configuration parameters are received by the UE (the terminal side device) which includes at least an implicit indication of a time at which the data burst for uplink transmission arrives at the modem (access stratum) of the UE; Page 16, lines 1-5, the data burst (multiple packets of the burst) belong to a same QoS flow); and
sending the second information or updated information of the second information to an application server of the terminal-side device (MOON: Fig. 9, Fig. 10, Fig. 4A, ¶183-184, ¶10, the timing offset or burst size/reference information is sent to the core network via non-access stratum/core signaling to the core network and in turn sent to the AF/Application server of the UE).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues,
“
”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments. Applicants take a position that KOZOIL modified by ALPERT does not disclose “controlling an arrival time of data at the access stratum.” Examiner respectfully submits that KOZOIL expressly discloses that the UE receives an exact burst arrival time from the application. Also, this is this, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, is the same as an information indicating when this data arrives at the transmitter of the UE. The transmitter is at the access stratum layer communicating with the access node (RAN) of the network. See Fig. 2 and 3.
Further, Page 11 of KOZOIL recites that “the burst descriptor received from the network, includes an arrival time of a burst at the transmitter of the UE. A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably interpret this as “…a time at which an uplink data burst of the terminal-size devices arrives at an access stratum of the terminal-side device.”
KOZOIL, as previously admitted by the Office, remains silent regarding the time being an adjustment time. However, ALPERT discloses that the time information is an adjustment time at which the communications module (access stratum) of the UE receives data from the application, to be transmitted to the network/AP.
ALPERT discloses:
[0031] To help reduce power usage of the communications module 304, the communications module 304 may pass a sync message 320 to the host application 302. This sync message 320 may be directed, for example, to the scheduler 306 or other application 308 executing on the host application 302 and capable of modifying the scheduler 306. The sync message 320 may include timing information related to one or more scheduled reference events and/or other operations related to the communications layer and the communications module 304. These scheduled reference events may include upcoming beacon reception times, TWT window for transmitting, etc.
…
[0039] The scheduler 306 may determine an amount of time that will elapse during the trigger 412 of an application and the generation of data 410 for transmission corresponding to the application event and combine this time with the timing information to determine a back off time 408 from a TWT interval 404B. In some cases, the amount of time needed to trigger 412 the application includes an amount of time used to exit a lower power state for one or more components of the wireless device. The wireless device may be configured to determine the back off time 408 by summing the time durations for the trigger 412 and the data generation 410, plus or minus an optional buffer time duration so that the data is ready for transmission 406 just before or just after the beginning of TWT interval 404B.
An adjustment time is at least indirectly received by the wireless device of ALPERT based on which an arrival of the data at the communication module (the access stratum) of the wireless device is determined. This time is an adjusted time determined by the scheduler of the device.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably interpret this as “…an adjustment time at which an uplink data burst of the terminal-side device arrives at an access stratum of the termina-side device…”
KOZOIL modified by ALPERT already discloses that the adjustment time comprises a time for a tr interval start. See Fig. 4.
As for the second position taken by the Applicants, ALIZADEH discloses that a timing adjustment is to align the “uplink concurrent transmission” so that an MU-MIMO uplink transmission of one wireless device can be aligned with another OFDMA uplink transmission of another wireless device.
Furthermore, in response to the third position, Examiner respectfully submits that ALIZADEH in ¶24 indicates that using the coordinated uplink transmission prevents interference.
[0024] Most of the above techniques, e.g. null steering, can require the channel state information of clients (e.g., desired/intended and undesired clients) be sent to all APs, which has made the sounding procedure very challenging. Thus, there is a need to find other procedures to enable the Multi-AP efforts. Enabling coordinated uplink transmissions is particularly important to prevent interference that could occur and affect service quality.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, above reasons would be a reasonable motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify and combine ALIZADEH’s teachings with KOZOIL and ALPERT.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
See the previous office action for details of the reason for allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/OMER S MIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461