DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
It is noted that new claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 2018/0158976) in view of Lv et al. (“Bromine Doping as an Efficient Strategy to Reduce the Interfacial Defects in Hybrid Two-Dimensional/Three-Dimensional Stacking Perovskite Solar Cells”).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Ahn discloses a solar cell (abstract) comprising: a first electrode (150 in Fig. 12; [0138]); a photelectric conversion layer (122 in Fig. 3; [0057]; 120 in Fig. 12; [0133]); a hole transport layer (123 in Fig. 3; [0057]); and a second electrode in this order (142 in Fig. 12; [0135]).
Ahn does not explicitly disclose an intermediate layer between the photoelectric conversion layer and the hole transport layer, the intermediate layer includes at least one compound selected from the group consisting of butylammonium bromide, hexylammonium bromide, octylammonium bromide, and phenylethylammonium bromide.
Lv discloses a solar cell and further discloses an intermediate layer including phenylethylammonium bromide between a photoelectric conversion layer and a hole transport layer (page 31757, left column, line 5 of first full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the interface layer of Lv between the photoelectric conversion layer and the hole transport layer of Ahn, because as taught by Lv, the PCE is enhanced along with improved stability (page 31762, right column, lines 1 and 2). Lv further discloses the bromine-containing layer can improve the long-term durability of PSC’s efficiently. Additionally, LV discloses the direct exposure to moisture is prevented and thus an increase in moisture resistance (page 31762, left column, first full paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ahn discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ahn further discloses the photoelectric conversion layer includes a perovskite compound (Ahn – [0057] L2; Lv – abstract).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ahn discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ahn further discloses the oxide includes a conductive oxide of which a matrix is indium oxide (Ahn – [0072], layer 142; [0065]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ahn discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ahn further discloses wherein the oxide includes an indium-zinc composite oxide (Ahn – [0072], layer 142; [0065]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Ahn discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ahn further discloses the hole transport layer includes a hole transport material, and the hole transport material includes poly[bis(4-phenyl)(2,4,6-triphenylmethyl)amine] (Ahn – [0061]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ahn discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ahn further discloses the second electrode is in contact with the hole transport layer (Ahn – [0072], 142 on 123 in Fig. 3; Fig. 12; it is noted that that limitation “in contact” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 2018/0158976) in view of Lv et al. (“Bromine Doping as an Efficient Strategy to Reduce the Interfacial Defects in Hybrid Two-Dimensional/Three-Dimensional Stacking Perovskite Solar Cells”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN 111987218 A – see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ahn discloses all the claim limitations as set forth
above.
Modified Ahn does not explicitly disclose the at least one compound included in the intermediate layer includes butylammonium bromide.
Li discloses a solar cell ([0008]) and further discloses an intermediate layer between a photoelectric conversion layer and a hole transport layer (BABr-PEAI modification layer 40 – [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include BABr, as disclosed by Li, in the PEAI and PEABr layer of modified Ahn (Lv – page 31757, left column, lines 4 and 5 of first full paragraph), because as taught by Li, the light absorption efficiency of the light absorbing layer is promoted, thereby promoting the increase of photogenerated carriers in PSC’s ([0091]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ahn discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ahn further discloses the intermediate layer further comprises phenylethylammonium iodide (Lv – page 31757, left column, lines 4 and 5 of first full paragraph; Li - BABr-PEAI modification layer 40 – [0087]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 9-14, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that with regard to Applicant’s arguments pertaining to unexpected results, the limitations claimed are not commensurate in scope with the materials/parameters described in the as-filed specification which lead to the disclosed results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726