DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: MULTIPLE PARAMETER SENSING DEVICES FOR HARSH ENVIRONMENTS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tennessen et al (US 8928327 B2) “hereinafter Tennessen”.
In regards to claim 1, the third embodiment of Tennessen as seen in Figure 3 teaches a system (300, i.e. mass distribution measuring system) for parameter monitoring comprising a first pressure sensor (122A) located at a first predetermined height relative to a predetermined position (123A, i.e. lower portion of a reservoir (103) as seen in Figure 3) within an electrolyte solution (114) (Column 5, lines 35-60; Figure 3), wherein the first pressure sensor (122A) detects a first pressure reading (Column 5, lines 35-60 & Column 6, lines 4-11); a second pressure sensor (122B) located at a second predetermined height relative to the predetermined position (123B, i.e. upper portion of the reservoir (103) as seen in Figure 3) within the electrolyte solution (114) (Column 5, lines 35-60; Figure 3), wherein the second pressure sensor (122B) detects a second pressure reading (Column 5, lines 35-60 & Column 6, lines 4-11). However, the third embodiment of Tennessen as seen in Figure 3 does not teach a parameter monitoring service that receives the first pressure reading and the second pressure reading, and maps the first pressure reading and the second pressure reading to at least one parameter value for at least one predetermined parameter.
The second embodiment of Tennessen as seen in Figure 1 teaches a parameter monitoring service (127, i.e. control system) that receives the first pressure reading and the second pressure reading, and maps the first pressure reading and the second pressure reading to at least one parameter value (i.e. density of the electrolyte) for at least one predetermined parameter (i.e. pressure difference measurement using a look-up table or database) (Column 5, line 65 – Column 6, line 3; Column 7, lines 27-51 & Column 8, lines 13-23; Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to provide a parameter monitoring service of the second embodiment of Tennessen into the third embodiment of Tennessen for the purpose of controlling one or more parameters by a system operator such as the current density provided in or out of the flow battery stack in respective charge and discharge modes (Column 8, lines 13-23).
In regards to claim 2, the third embodiment of Tennessen as seen in Figure 3 teaches wherein the at least one predetermined parameter comprises at least one of: a level of the electrolyte solution, and a density of the electrolyte solution (114) (Column 6, lines 4-11).
In regards to claim 5, the third embodiment of Tennessen as seen in Figure 3 teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the parameter monitoring service maps the first pressure reading and the second pressure reading to at least one parameter value using data that relates: the first pressure reading to a first variable depth of the first pressure sensor, the second pressure reading to a second variable depth of the second pressure sensor.
The second embodiment of Tennessen as seen in Figure 1 teaches a parameter monitoring service (127, i.e. control system) that maps the first pressure reading and the second pressure reading to at least one parameter value using data that relates: the first pressure reading to a first variable depth of the first pressure sensor (122A), the second pressure reading to a second variable depth of the second pressure sensor (122B) (Column 6, lines 11-21).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to provide a parameter monitoring service of the second embodiment of Tennessen into the third embodiment of Tennessen for the purpose of selectively effecting the pressure difference proportional to the average density of the electrolyte.
In regards to claim 6, the third embodiment of Tennessen as seen in Figure 3 teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the parameter monitoring service receives the first pressure reading and the second pressure reading from a wireless communication component.
The second embodiment of Tennessen as seen in Figure 1 teaches a parameter monitoring service (127, i.e. control system) that receives the first pressure reading and the second pressure reading from a wireless communication component (i.e. wireless data transmitter) (Column 8, lines 31-40).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to provide a parameter monitoring service of the second embodiment of Tennessen into the third embodiment of Tennessen for the purpose of providing a system operator to monitor the system in a remote location.
Claims 3, 4, 8, 11-15 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tennessen et al (US 8928327 B2) “hereinafter Tennessen” in view of Komiya et al (US 20100288635 A1) “hereinafter Komiya.
In regards to claim 3, the third embodiment of Tennessen in view of the second embodiment of Tennessen teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor being piezoelectric pressure sensors.
Komiya teaches a deformation sensor comprising a sheet composed of a nonaqueous polymer solid electrolyte (10) and at least a pair of electrodes (7, 8) sandwiching the nonaqueous polymer solid electrolyte (10) (Paragraph 0044) wherein the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor being piezoelectric pressure sensors (Paragraphs 0002 – 0004 & 0032).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to provide the pressure sensor being made of piezoelectric material as taught by Komiya into the system of the third embodiment of Tennessen in view of the second embodiment of Tennessen for the purpose of converting mechanical energy into electrical energy by piezoelectric effect to generate electric charge when pressured.
In regards to claim 4, the third embodiment of Tennessen in view of the second embodiment of Tennessen teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor are Aluminum Nitride piezoelectric pressure sensors, and the system monitors a nuclear facility comprising an electrorefiner.
Komiya teaches a deformation sensor comprising a sheet composed of a nonaqueous polymer solid electrolyte (10) and at least a pair of electrodes (7, 8) sandwiching the nonaqueous polymer solid electrolyte (10) (Paragraph 0044) wherein the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor being piezoelectric pressure sensors (Paragraphs 0002 – 0004 & 0032).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to provide the pressure sensor being made of piezoelectric material as taught by Komiya into the system of the third embodiment of Tennessen in view of the second embodiment of Tennessen for the purpose of converting mechanical energy into electrical energy by piezoelectric effect to generate electric charge when pressured. Also, the selection of a known material, such as a aluminum nitride, based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin,227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) See MPEP 2144.07.
In regards to claim 8, Tennessen teaches a system (200, i.e. mass distribution measuring system) comprising a housing (104, i.e. reservoir) of a multiple parameter sensing device (118, i.e. scale) that identifies temperature and pressure (Column 2, lines 32-53); a diaphragm (120) of the multiple parameter sensing device (118) (Column 4, line 61 & Column 5, line 35; Figure 2).
However, Tennessen does not teach a plurality of resonant sensors wherein a first resonant sensor is connected to the diaphragm and a second resonant sensor is connected to the housing, thereby enabling the identification of the temperature and compensation for temperature induced frequency shift.
Komiya teaches a deformation sensor comprising a sheet composed of a nonaqueous polymer solid electrolyte (10) and at least a pair of electrodes (7, 8) sandwiching the nonaqueous polymer solid electrolyte (10) (Paragraph 0044) wherein the first resonant sensor (i.e. vibration sensor) and the second resonant sensor (i.e. vibration sensor) being connected to the housing (i.e. structure) (Paragraph 0032).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to provide a plurality of resonant sensors as taught by Komiya into the system of Tennessen for the purpose of transforming information defected by a sensor into visual images.
In regards to claims 11 & 17, Tennessen in view of Komiya teaches the claimed invention except for the housing being a stainless steel housing.
It is well-known to one skilled in the art to provide the housing being made of stainless steel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to select a known material such a stainless steel as taught by Tennessen in view of Komiya’s housing for the purpose of resisting damage from high temperature environments. Also, the selection of a known material, such as a stainless steel material, based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) See MPEP 2144.07.
In regards to claims 12 & 18, Tennessen in view of Komiya teaches the claimed invention except for a tungsten carbide shielding on an inner surface of the housing of the multiple parameter sensing device.
It is well-known to one skilled in the art to provide the inner surface of the housing being made of tungsten carbide.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to select a known material such a tungsten carbide as taught by Tennessen in view of Komiya’s inner surface of the housing for the purpose of resisting damage from high temperature and pressure environments. Also, the selection of a known material, such as a tungsten carbide material, based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) See MPEP 2144.07.
In regards to claims 13 & 19, Tennessen in view of Komiya teaches the claimed invention except for the diaphragm being a stainless steel diaphragm.
It is well-known to one skilled in the art to provide the diaphragm being made of stainless steel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to select a known material such a stainless steel as taught by Tennessen in view of Komiya’s diaphragm for the purpose of resisting damage from high temperature environments. Also, the selection of a known material, such as a stainless steel material, based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) See MPEP 2144.07.
In regards to claims 14 & 20, Tennessen in view of Komiya teaches the claimed invention except for wherein a respective resonant sensor comprises two tines comprising Aluminum Nitride.
It is well-known to one skilled in the art to provide the resonant sensor being made of aluminum nitride.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to select a known material such a aluminum nitride as taught by Tennessen in view of Komiya’s resonant sensor for the purpose of resisting damage from high temperature environments. Also, the selection of a known material, such as an aluminum nitride material, based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) See MPEP 2144.07.
In regards to claim 15, Tennessen teaches a system (200, i.e. mass distribution measuring system) comprising a housing (104, i.e. reservoir) of a multiple parameter sensing device (118, i.e. scale) (Column 2, lines 32-53); a diaphragm (120) of the multiple parameter sensing device (118) (Column 4, line 61 & Column 5, line 35; Figure 2).
However, Tennessen does not teach a plurality of resonant sensors wherein a first resonant sensor is connected to the diaphragm and a second resonant sensor is connected to the housing, thereby enabling identification of temperature, pressure, and compensation for temperature induced frequency shift.
Komiya teaches a deformation sensor comprising a sheet composed of a nonaqueous polymer solid electrolyte (10) and at least a pair of electrodes (7, 8) sandwiching the nonaqueous polymer solid electrolyte (10) (Paragraph 0044) wherein the first resonant sensor (i.e. vibration sensor) and the second resonant sensor (i.e. vibration sensor) being connected to the housing (i.e. structure) (Paragraph 0032).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to provide a plurality of resonant sensors as taught by Komiya into the system of Tennessen for the purpose of transforming information defected by a sensor into visual images.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In the Examiner’s opinion in regards to claim 7, Tennessen teaches a system (300, i.e. mass distribution measuring system) for parameter monitoring comprising a first pressure sensor (122A) located at a first predetermined height relative to a predetermined position (123A, i.e. lower portion of a reservoir (103) as seen in Figure 3) within an electrolyte solution (114) (Column 5, lines 35-60; Figure 3), wherein the first pressure sensor (122A) detects a first pressure reading (Column 5, lines 35-60 & Column 6, lines 4-11); a second pressure sensor (122B) located at a second predetermined height relative to the predetermined position (123B, i.e. upper portion of the reservoir (103) as seen in Figure 3) within the electrolyte solution (114) (Column 5, lines 35-60; Figure 3), wherein the second pressure sensor (122B) detects a second pressure reading (Column 5, lines 35-60 & Column 6, lines 4-11).
However, Tennessen does not teach the structural limitations of the system further comprising a housing, a diaphragm, and a plurality of resonant sensors wherein a first resonant sensor is connected to the diaphragm and a second resonant sensor is connected to the housing thereby enabling compensation for temperature induced frequency shift where the stated limitations are not suggested in addition to not being anticipated or taught in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claim 1 upon overcoming the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
In the Examiner’s opinion in regards to claim 9, Tennessen teaches a system (200, i.e. mass distribution measuring system) comprising a housing (104, i.e. reservoir) of a multiple parameter sensing device (118, i.e. scale) that identifies temperature and pressure (Column 2, lines 32-53); a diaphragm (120) of the multiple parameter sensing device (118) (Column 4, line 61 & Column 5, line 35; Figure 2).
However, Tennessen does not teach the structural limitations of the system further comprising a parameter monitoring service that receives the first pressure reading and the second pressure reading and maps the first pressure reading and the second pressure reading to at least one parameter value for at least one predetermined parameter wherein at least one of the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor is provided using at least one resonant sensor of the multiple parameter sensing device where the stated limitations are not suggested in addition to not being anticipated or taught in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claim 8 upon overcoming the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. The remaining claims are allowed due to their dependency.
In the Examiner’s opinion in regards to claim 16, Tennessen teaches a system (200, i.e. mass distribution measuring system) comprising a housing (104, i.e. reservoir) of a multiple parameter sensing device (118, i.e. scale) (Column 2, lines 32-53); a diaphragm (120) of the multiple parameter sensing device (118) (Column 4, line 61 & Column 5, line 35; Figure 2).
However, Tennessen does not teach the structural limitations of the system further comprising the plurality of resonant sensors of the multiple parameter sensing device providing at least one of a first pressure sensor located at a first predetermined height relative to a predetermined position within an electrolyte solution, and a second pressure sensor located at a second predetermined height relative to the predetermined position within the electrolyte solution wherein a first pressure reading of the first pressure sensor and a second pressure reading of the second pressure sensor are mapped to at least one parameter value where the stated limitations are not suggested in addition to not being anticipated or taught in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claim 15 upon overcoming the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mills (US 20250015309 A1) - The present disclosure is directed to a battery or fuel cell system that generates an electromotive force (EMF) from the catalytic reaction of hydrogen to lower energy (hydrino) states providing direct conversion of the energy released from the hydrino reaction into electricity, the system comprising: reactants that constitute hydrino reactants during cell operation with separate electron flow and ion mass transport, a cathode compartment comprising a cathode, an anode compartment comprising an anode, and a source of hydrogen.
/J.L.J/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855