DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Driving unit” in claim 1 because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder (i.e., “unit”) that is coupled with functional language (i.e., “driving” and “to drive the light emitting element”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The limitation is being interpreted to correspond to a LED driver board, as indicated in ¶ [0036] of the published application, and equivalents thereof.
“Control unit” in claim 1 because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder (i.e., “unit”) that is coupled with functional language (i.e., “control” and “for sending signals to the driving unit or receiving signals from the driving unit”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The limitation is being interpreted to correspond to a circuit board, as indicated in ¶ [0036] of the published application, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0207581 A1 (Shen) (previously cited) in view of US 2024/0374155 A1 (Endoh) (previously cited) and US 8,786,689 B1 (Liu)
With regards to claim 1, Shen teaches a non-invasive blood glucose monitoring device (¶ [0027] discloses the optical sensing device for measuring blood sugar concentration; Fig. 12B and ¶ [0081] depict an embodiment of the optical sensing device), comprising: a flexible substrate (¶ [0081] depict a flexible substrate 609), at least one blood glucose monitoring module, arranged on the flexible circuit board (see annotated Fig. 12B below; Fig. 12B and ¶ [0082] depict a combination of optical structure 604 which covers cavities 605 in which light receiver 601 and the light emitter 602 reside), each blood glucose monitoring module including a barrier structure, having a first space and a second space isolated from each other (Fig. 12B and ¶ [0081] depict the housing 606 forming walls which define the cavities 605), a light emitting element, located in the first space (Fig. 12B and ¶ [0081] depict a cavity 605 in which a light emitter 602 resides), a light sensing element, located in the second space (Fig. 12B and ¶ [0081] depict a cavity 605 in which a light receiver 601 resides) and a cover, combined with the barrier structure to enclose the first space and the second space (Fig. 12B and ¶ [0082] depict an optical structure 604 which covers the cavities 605), and an adhesive layer (Fig. 12B and ¶ [0082] depict an adhesive layer 608).
Annotated Fig. 12B of Shen
The above embodiment of Shen is silent regarding whether the flexible substrate is a flexible circuit board.
In a related embodiment, Shen teaches a substrate being a flexible circuit board (Fig. 1 and ¶ [0029] depict a substrate 103 being a flexible circuit board). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate of the embodiment of Fig. 12B of Shen to incorporate that it is a flexible circuit board as taught in ¶ [0029] of Shen. The motivation would have been to provide the structure for electrically connecting the light receiver and emitter to other electronic elements (see ¶ [0029] of Shen).
The above combination is silent regarding whether the cover is transparent.
In a related embodiment, Shen teaches a cover being transparent (¶ [0032] and Fig. 1 depict light emitted by light emitter 102 passing through covers 104). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical structure 604 of the above combination of Shen to incorporate that it is transparent as taught by ¶ [0032] of Shen. The motivation would have been to allow for a more accurate diagnostic measurement.
The above combination is silent regarding whether the adhesive layer is arranged on the flexible circuit board and located around the at least one blood glucose monitoring module.
In a system relevant to the problem of adhering optical sensors to a subject, Endoh teaches an adhesive layer arranged on a flexible substrate and located around at least one monitoring module (Figs. 2-3 and ¶¶ [0051], [0068] depict an adhesive layer 111 on a substrate 110 and surrounding light emitters 11 and light receiving element array 12). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above combination of Shen to incorporate an adhesive layer arranged on the flexible circuit board and located around the at least one blood glucose monitoring module based on the teachings of Endoh. The motivation would have been to reduce discomfort to the skin (see ¶ [0068] of Endoh).
The Examiner notes that “driving unit” is being interpreted to correspond to a LED driver board, as indicated in ¶ [0036] of the published application, and equivalents thereof. “Control unit” is being interpreted to correspond to a circuit board, as indicated in ¶ [0036] of the published application, and equivalents thereof.
Although the above combination teaches a power module electrically connected to the flexible circuit board (Fig. 12B and ¶ [0081] of Shen depict a power module 611 electrically connected to the flexible substrate 609) and the power module is electrically connected to the light emitting element (see the related embodiment in Fig. 12A in which the conductor 509C electrically connects the power module 511 to the light emitter 502), the above combination is silent regarding a driving unit, electrically connected to the flexible circuit board to drive the light emitting element, and a control unit, electrically connected to the driving unit for sending signals to the driving unit or receiving signals from the driving unit.
In a system relevant to the problem of electrically powering LED’s, Liu teaches a driving unit, electrically connected to an element to drive the light emitting element (Figs. 4, 5a-b and Col. 5, lines 18-38 depict a LED drive board 412a connected to LED via an electrical line), and a control unit, electrically connected to the driving unit for sending signals to the driving unit or receiving signals from the driving unit (Figs. 4, 5a-b and Col. 5, lines 18-38 depict a control circuit board 440 for controlling the LED 210 via LED drive board 412a). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure for powering the light emitter of above combination to incorporate, based on the teachings of Liu, a driving unit, electrically connected to the flexible circuit board to drive the light emitting element, and a control unit, electrically connected to the driving unit for sending signals to the driving unit or receiving signals from the driving unit. Because both the elements of Shen and Liu are capable of powering the light emitter, it would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results.
With regards to claim 4, the above combination is silent regarding whether the flexible circuit board defines an installation area, the at least one blood glucose monitoring module is arranged on the installation area, and the adhesive layer is located outside the installation area and surrounds the at least one blood glucose monitoring module.
In a system relevant to the problem of adhering optical sensors to a subject, Endoh teaches a flexible substrate defines an installation area, the at least one monitoring module is arranged on the installation area (see annotated Fig. 2 of Endoh below; Figs. 2-3 and ¶ [0068] depict an area of the substrate 110 which is not covered by the adhesive layer 11 but contains the light emitters 11 and light receiving element array 12), and the adhesive layer is located outside the installation area and surrounds the at least one monitoring module (Figs. 2-3 depict the adhesive layer 111 being disposed outside the area comprising 11 and 12 and surrounds the area comprising 11 and 12). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above combination, based on the teachings of Endoh, to incorporate the flexible circuit board defines an installation area, the at least one blood glucose monitoring module is arranged on the installation area, and the adhesive layer is located outside the installation area and surrounds the at least one blood glucose monitoring module. The motivation would have been to shield the optical module from outside light (see ¶ [0068] of Endoh).
Annotated Fig. 2 of Endoh
With regards to claim 5, the above combination teaches or suggest a height of the adhesive layer is not less than an overall height of each blood glucose monitoring module (Fig. 3 of Endoh depicts the adhesive layer 111 having the same height as the optical measurement elements 11 and 12).
With regards to claim 8, the above combination is silent regarding whether the barrier structure is made of non-transparent materials.
In a related embodiment, Shen teaches a barrier structure is made of non-transparent materials (Fig. 1 and ¶ [0030] depict a housing 106 forming a barrier structure, wherein the housing 106 is an opaque structure to prevent ambient stray lights from entering the cavities 105 through lateral sides of the housing 106). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the barrier structure of Shen of the above combination to incorporate that it is opaque as taught by ¶ [0030] of Shen. The motivation would have been to prevent ambient stray lights from entering the cavities through lateral sides of the housing (¶ [0030] of Shen).
With regards to claim 9, the above combination teaches or suggests the first space and the second space is filled with a transparent packaging material for protecting the light emitting element and the light sensing element (¶ [0081] of Shen discloses the cavities 605 in which the light emitter 602 and the light receiver 601 reside can also be filled with a light-transmittable material 6051).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Endoh and Liu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0121116 A1 (Kreuzer) (previously cited).
With regards to claim 2, the above combination is silent regarding whether the
the flexible circuit board includes a base layer, a first conductive layer, and a first protective layer, and the base layer has a first surface and a second surface, and wherein the first conductive layer is disposed on the first surface, and the first protective layer is disposed on the first conductive layer.
In a system relevant to the problem of forming flexible circuit boards, Kreuzer teaches a flexible circuit board (Fig. 2 and ¶ [0058] depict a flexible printed circuit board FPCB 5) which includes a base layer (Fig. 2 and ¶ [0058] depict a further dielectric layer 55), a first conductive layer (Fig. 2 and ¶ [0058] depict a signal layer 53 being a conductive layer), and a first protective layer (Fig. 2 and ¶ [0058] depict a first dielectric layer 52), and the base layer has a first surface and a second surface (Fig. 2 depicts further dielectric layer 55 having bottom and top surfaces), and wherein the first conductive layer is disposed on the first surface (¶ [0058] and Fig. 2 depict an optional adhesive layer 54 between signal layer 53 and further dielectric layer 55. Because Kreuzer teaches the adhesive layer 54 is optional, Kreuzer also contemplates an embodiment in which the signal layer 53 is directly on top of the further dielectric layer 55), and the first protective layer is disposed on the first conductive layer (Fig. 2 depicts first dielectric layer 52 being on the signal layer 53). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the flexible circuit board of Shen of the above combination with the flexible circuit board of Kreuzer. Because both circuit boards are flexible and are capable of providing a connection between elements, it would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results.
With regards to claim 3, the above combination teaches or suggests the
the flexible circuit board further includes a second conductive layer and a second protective layer (Fig. 2 and ¶ [0058] depict an optional further signal layer 56 (i.e., a second conductive layer) and a solder mask layer 57 and dielectric coating 58 (i.e., second protective layers), and wherein the second conductive layer is disposed on the second surface (Fig. 2 depicts the further signal layer 56 being disposed on the bottom surface of the further dielectric layer 55), and the second protective layer is disposed on the second conductive layer (Fig. 2 and ¶ [0058] depict or contemplate both solder mask layer 57 and dielectric coating 58 on the further signal layer 56).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Endoh and Liu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2015/0238098 A1 (Park) (previously cited).
With regards to claim 6, the above combination is silent regarding whether a quantity of the at least one blood glucose monitoring module is plural, and wherein the blood glucose monitoring modules are arranged in pairs at intervals on the flexible circuit board.
In the same field of endeavor of optical measurements of a subject, Park teaches a plurality of light sensor/detector modules, wherein the modules are arranged in pairs at intervals (Fig. 2B and ¶ [0061] depict a first pair of light sensor/detector modules comprising 210-1, 220-1, 210-2, 220-2 and a second pair comprising 210-3, 220-3, 210-4, 220-4). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the glucose monitoring module of Shen of the above combination to incorporate, based on the teachings of Park, that there are a plurality of blood glucose monitoring modules, wherein the blood glucose monitoring modules are arranged in pairs at intervals on the flexible circuit board. The motivation would have been to increase the number of modules such that diagnostic information of the object may be more precisely acquired (see ¶ [0061] of Park).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Endoh and Liu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2002/0026108 A1 (Colvin) (previously cited).
With regards to claim 7, the above combination is silent regarding whether each of the at least one blood glucose monitoring module further includes a ceramic substrate, and each of the at least one blood glucose monitoring module is connected to the flexible circuit board through the ceramic substrate.
In the same field of endeavor of electro-optical sensing devices, Colvin teaches at least one monitoring module further includes a ceramic substrate (Fig. 14C and ¶¶ [0147], [0148] depict a radiation source 18 and photosensitive element 20 arranged on a circuit board 70 made of a ceramic material), and each monitoring module is connected to the flexible circuit through the ceramic substrate (Fig. 14C and ¶ [0148] depict the sensors connected toa flexible circuit 70’ via the circuit board 70 and electrical leads or contacts 71). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the blood glucose monitoring modules of Shen of the above combination, based on the teachings of Colvin, such that each of the at least one blood glucose monitoring module further includes a ceramic substrate, and each of the at least one blood glucose monitoring module is connected to the flexible circuit board through the ceramic substrate. The motivation would have been to allow for the module to be detachable, thereby allowing for more flexibility in the circuit design.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Endoh and Liu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of 2024/0159949 A1 (Shih) (previously cited).
With regards to claim 10, the above combination is silent regarding whether the transparent cover has a coating film, and the coating film is a layered structure formed by alternately stacking of silicon monohydride layers and silicon dioxide layers.
In a system relevant to the problem of selectively transmitting light, Shih teaches an transparent substrate having a coating film (Fig. 1 and ¶ [0035] depicts a substrate 100 having a filtering stack 110 thereon; ¶ [0032] depicts the substrate 100 being made of glass and being transparent) and the coating film is a layered structure formed by alternately stacking of silicon monohydride layers and silicon dioxide layers (¶¶ [0035]-[0036] depicts the filtering stack 110 including layers 112 and 114’ alternately arranged, wherein first layers 112 and second layers 114’ made of silicon hydride (SiH) and silicon dioxide, respectively). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the transparent cover of Shen of the above combination to incorporate that the transparent cover has a coating film, and the coating film is a complex layered structure formed by alternately stacking of silicon monohydride layers and silicon dioxide layers, as taught by Shih. The motivation would have been to provide an optical filter that would allow for the transmission of desired incident light to transmit (see ¶ [0004] of Shih), thereby improving the accuracy of the optical blood glucose monitoring modules.
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b)
In view of the claim amendments filed 03/04/2026, the rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) was withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant' s amendment and arguments filed 03/04/2026 with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 12/04/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 8,786,689 B1 (Liu). See the above rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.C.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791