DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
2. Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without being integrated into a practical application and do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Utilizing the two step process adopted by the Supreme Court (Alice Corp vs CLS Bank Int'l, US Supreme Court, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014) and the recent 101 guideline, Federal Register Vol. 84, No., Jan 2019)), determination of the subject matter eligibility under the 35 USC 101 is as follows: Specifically, the Step 1 requires claim belongs to one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). If Step 1 is satisfied, then in the first part of Step 2A (Prong one), identification of any judicial recognized exceptions in the claim is made. If any limitation in the claim is identified as judicial recognized exception, then proceeding to the second part of Step 2A (Prong two), determination is made whether the identified judicial exception is being integrated into practical application. If the identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, then in Step 2B, the claim is further evaluated to see if the additional elements, individually and in combination, provide “inventive concept” that would amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. If the element and combination of elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial recognized exception itself, then the claim is ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Looking at the claims, the claims satisfy the first part of the test 1A, namely the claims are directed to one of the four statutory class, apparatus and method. In Step 2A Prong one, we next identify any judicial exceptions in the claims. In Claim 1 (as a representative example), we recognize that the limitations “comparing a first effective modal bandwidth at a first wavelength of a multimode optical fiber with a first effective modal bandwidth threshold at the first wavelength, the multimode optical fiber being in a group of multimode optical fibers meeting a first OM standard, wherein the first wavelength is from 844 nm to 863 nm, and categorizing the multimode optical fiber as passing a transmission distance requirement if the first effective modal bandwidth of the first multimode optical fiber is greater than or equal to the first effective modal bandwidth threshold, wherein the transmission distance is defined in a transceiver specification, wherein the transceiver specification is one or more of: (a) an 800G bidirectional (BiDi) transceiver specification, or (b) a 100G/lane based MM VCSEL transceiver specification, or (c) a 25Gbaud based transceiver specification, or (d) 50G PAM4 based transceiver specification,” are abstract ideas, as they involve mental process, under the BRI. The rest of the dependent claims, 2-25 are also abstract ideas, as they are merely defined specification of values. With the identification of abstract ideas, we proceed to Step 2A, Prong two, where with additional elements and taken as a whole, we evaluate whether the identified abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application.
In Step 2A, Prong two, the claims do not recite additional elements. As such, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. Consequently, with the identified abstract idea not being integrated into a practical application, we proceed to Step 2B and evaluate whether the additional elements provide “inventive concept” that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In Step 2B, the claims do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In Summary, the claims recite abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As such, taken as a whole, the claims are ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Molin et al., US-PGPUB 2017/0176285 (hereinafter Molin) in view of Chen et al., US-PGPUB 2021/0032153 (hereinafter Chen)
Regarding Claim 1. Molin discloses selecting a group of multimode optical fibers (Title, Abstract), comprising
comparing a first effective modal bandwidth at a first wavelength of a multimode
optical fiber with a first effective modal bandwidth threshold at the first wavelength (Paragraph [0032]), the
multimode optical fiber being in a group of multimode optical fibers meeting a first OM
standard, wherein the first wavelength is from 844 nm to 863 nm (Paragraphs [0014]-[0016], VCSEL and OM4 fibers, [0019], [0034], wavelength ranges), and
categorizing the multimode optical fiber as passing a transmission distance
requirement if the first effective modal bandwidth of the first multimode optical fiber is
greater than or equal to the first effective modal bandwidth threshold (Paragraph [0033], [0043]; Figs. 3-7);
Molin does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmission distance is defined in a transceiver specification, wherein the transceiver specification is one or more of: (a) an 800G bidirectional (BiDi) transceiver specification, or (b) a 100G/lane based MM VCSEL transceiver specification, or (c) a 25Gbaud based transceiver specification, or (d) 50G PAM4 based transceiver specification.
Chen discloses optical fiber transmission system (Abstract; Paragraph [0003], multimode light source, such as VCSEL); including driving the VCSEL by 50G PAM4 (Paragraphs [0115]-[0117])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Chen in Molin and define the transmission distance in a transceiver specification, wherein the transceiver specification is one or more of: (a) an 800G bidirectional (BiDi) transceiver specification, or (b) a 100G/lane based MM VCSEL transceiver specification, or (c) a 25Gbaud based transceiver specification, or (d) 50G PAM4 based transceiver specification, and thereby efficiently couple the multimode optical fibers with VCSEL for optical transmission and select the high effective modal bandwidth multimode fiber.
Regarding Claim 2. Molin discloses comparing a second effective modal bandwidth at a second wavelength of the multimode optical fiber with a second effective modal bandwidth threshold at the second wavelength, the multimode optical fiber being in a group of multimode optical fibers meeting the first OM standard, wherein the second wavelength is from 900 nm to 915 nm (Paragraph [0032], [0034]; Figs. 3-8), and categorizing the multimode optical fiber as passing the transmission distance requirement if the first effective modal bandwidth of the first multimode optical fiber is greater than or equal to the first effective modal bandwidth threshold and the second effective modal bandwidth of the first multimode optical fiber is greater than or equal to the second effective modal bandwidth threshold (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0033], [0043]);
Regarding Claim 3. Molin discloses the first OM-standard comprises one of an OM3-standard or an OM4-standard (Paragraphs [0014]-[0016], [0019]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Molin, US-PGPUB 2017/0176285 in view of Chen, US-PGPUB 2021/0032153 as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Bookbinder et al., US-PGPUB 2017/0336559 (hereinafter Bookbinder)
Regarding Claim 4. Molin discloses the first OM-standard comprises one of an OM3-standard or an OM4-standard (Paragraphs [0014]-[0016], [0019]).
Molin does not explicitly disclose the transmission distance is greater than or equal to 70 meters, or greater than or equal to 80 meters, or greater than or equal to 85 meters, or greater than or equal to 90 meters, or greater than or equal to 100 meters, or greater than or equal to 150 meters.
Bookbinder discloses typical transmission distance for OM4 multimode optical fiber from 10 m to 500m (Paragraph [0004])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to use the teaching of Bookbinder in the modified Molin and have the transmission distance greater than or equal to 70 meters, or greater than or equal to 80 meters, or greater than or equal to 85 meters, or greater than or equal to 90 meters, or greater than or equal to 100 meters, or greater than or equal to 150 meters, so as to properly select the high effective modal bandwidth multimode fiber at various distances and conditions.
Claims 5-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Molin et al., US-PGPUB 2017/0176285 in view of Chen, US-PGPUB 2021/0032153 as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in views of Bookbinder, US-PGPUB 2017/0336559 and Chen et al., US-PGPUB 2014/0086577 (hereinafter Chen-2)
Regarding Claim 5. Molin discloses a VCSEL at various wavelengths, including at 850 nm (Paragraph [0034]; Figs. 4-7), and at various effective modal bandwidth thresholds ([0050]-[0054]).
The modified Molin does not explicitly disclose the transmission distance is 70 meters, the first wavelength is 850 nm, and the first effective modal bandwidth threshold is 2310 MHz.km when the first wavelength is provided by a laser having an RMS line width of 0.60 nm or less.
Bookbinder discloses typical transmission distance for OM4 multimode optical fiber from 10 m to 500m (Paragraph [0004])
Chen-2 discloses RMS linewidth of the VCSEL to be generally less than or equal to about 0.65 nm (Paragraph [0060]-[0061]; Abstract, multimode optical fiber)
At the time of the invention filed, absent criticality, it would have been obvious to use the teachings of Bookbinder, Chen-2 in the modified Molin and have the transmission distance is 70 meters, the first wavelength is 850 nm, and the first effective modal bandwidth threshold is 2310 MHz.km when the first wavelength is provided by a laser having an RMS line width of 0.60 nm or less, so as to properly select the high effective modal bandwidth multimode fiber at various distances and conditions.
Regarding Claims 6-25. Similar to the rejection in claim 5, the rest of the claims 6-25 are merely obvious variation of the transmission distances with respect to various effective modal bandwidths, wavelength RMS line width values, absent criticality, in the endeavor to select the high effective bandwidth fiber. As such, it would have been obvious to use the teachings of Chen, Bookbinder, Chen-2 in Molin and use the varying conditions recited in Claim 6-25, so as to make the proper selection of a high effective modal bandwidth, based on the designer’s choice and objectives.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al., US-PGPUB 2021/0026063
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857