DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2022/0191824), hereafter Kumar824 in view of Kumar et al. (US 2022/0007330), hereafter Kumar330.
Regarding Claim 12, Kumar teaches an information processing method, comprising: receiving a paging message from a first network (Abstract); and performing a fourth operation based on the paging message, wherein the fourth operation comprises at least one of the following: determining whether to perform paging rejection (Claim 16, determining whether to accept the paging message comprises determining whether a paging acceptance procedure or paging rejection procedure will be conducted); determining whether to perform a paging acceptance response (Claim 16, determining whether to accept the paging message comprises determining whether a paging acceptance procedure or paging rejection procedure will be conducted); determining whether to initiate paging rejection through AS signaling (Section 0109, Claim 20); determining whether to initiate paging rejection through NAS signaling (Section 0109, Claim 20); sending, through AS signaling, information used for paging rejection or sending, through NAS signaling, information used for paging rejection (Section 0109, Claim 20).
Kumar824 does not teach sending, through AS signaling, information used for a paging acceptance response or sending, through NAS signaling, information used for a paging acceptance response.
Kumar330, which also teach multi-sim UEs, teaches sending, through AS signaling, information used for a paging acceptance response or sending, through NAS signaling, information used for a paging acceptance response (Section 0128, the NAS message comprises the allowed PDU session status information element to indicate the at least one PDU session of non-3GPP access for which the UE allows the user-plane resources to be re-established over 3GPP access, said NAS message reads on the paging acceptance response).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kumar824 with the above features of Kumar330 for the purpose of handling messages with non-3GPP access as taught by Kumar330.
Regarding Claim 15, Kumar combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 12. Kumar824 further teaches wherein the information used for paging rejection comprises one of the following: reject paging indication information and release indication information, wherein the release indication information is used to request a connection between the terminal and the first network to enter a non-connected state (Section 0109, the reject cause value reads on the reject paging indication).
Claim(s) 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar824 in view of Kumar330, as applied to Claim 12 set forth above, and further in view of Dhanapal et al. (US 2018/0084601) in view of Kadiri et al. (US 2020/0053602)
Regarding Claim 13, Kumar combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 12. Kumar824 further teaches wherein the determining to initiate paging rejection through NAS signaling and/or the sending, through NAS signaling, information used for paging rejection comprises: in a case that a fourteenth condition is met, determining to initiate paging rejection through NAS signaling and/or sending, through NAS signaling, the information used for paging rejection, wherein the fourteenth condition comprises at least one of the following: it is determined to perform paging rejection (Section 0109, Claim 20); the paging message is not accepted by first tendency information; the paging message is rejected by the first tendency information (Section 0109, determination of higher priority service reads on the tendency information); the paging message is a paging message initiated by a network entity (Abstract, paging message initiated by a network entity); the terminal supports a NAS paging rejection function (Section 0109, Claim 20, the UE sends a paging rejection message via NAS signaling); the first network supports a NAS paging rejection function (Section 0109, Claim 20, the network receives the paging rejection message sent by the UE via NAS signaling).
Kumar combination does not teach the paging message is a paging message initiated by a CN, the paging message is a paging message initiated by a RAN; the terminal does not support an AS paging rejection function; and the first network docs not support an AS paging rejection function.
Dhanapal, which also teaches a wireless network, teaches a network made up of a CN and RAN which can communicate with the UE (Figure 1, Section 0071, core network (130) and E-UTRAN (105)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Kumar combination with the above features Dhanapal for the purpose of providing improvements in performing a connection release procedure in order to synchronize a UE and a base station and to prevent battery draining as taught by Dhanapal. The combination of Kumar combination and Dhanapal teaches the paging message is a paging message initiated by a CN and the paging message is a paging message initiated by a RAN.
Kumar combination in view of Dhanapal does not teach the terminal does not support an AS paging rejection function; and the first network docs not support an AS paging rejection function.
Kadiri, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches the terminal does not support an AS paging rejection function; and the first network docs not support an AS paging rejection function (Section 0121, dedicated, NAS, or RRC signaling can be the capability of the UE and the network element with which said UE communicates thus rendering a scenario wherein the UE supports dedicated, NAS, or RRC signaling as opposed to AS signaling thus rendering a scenario wherein AS paging rejection is not supported).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kumar/Dhanapal combination with the above features of Kadiri for the purpose of saving power and increasing battery life as taught by Kadiri.
Regarding Claim 14, The above Kumar combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 13. Kumar824 further teaches wherein the sending, through the NAS signaling, the information used for paging rejection comprises sending a service request message, wherein the service request message comprises the information used for paging rejection (Section 0109, the reject cause value is the information used for paging rejection).
Conclusion
/RAYMOND S DEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
February 12, 2026