DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1, 2, and 5-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,828,568. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements as the patented claim with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cash (US 4793532) in view of Sampson (US 2023792) and Welke et al. (US 2008/0237245, hereinafter ‘Welke’).
Cash discloses a utility case capable of storing firearms, comprising: a flexible body having a first end opposite a second end (12); a pair of pockets having an open proximal end and a closed distal end, the pair of pockets disposed on the flexible body extending between the first end and the second end (36s); except does not expressly disclose the pockets having first/second panels with a connecting fastener, the aperture reinforcing members, or the distances between pocket and body ends as claimed.
However, Sampson teaches a similar device wherein some of the elongated pockets (18) comprise a first panel removably securable to a second panel via complementary fasteners (19) disposed on each of the first and second panels (see Figs. 1, 3).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the zipper taught by Sampson to length of the pockets taught by Cash, in order to allow the pockets to be opened for any desired portion of their length as taught by Sampson (page 2, ll. 2-5).
Sampson further discloses a linear distance between the open proximal end of its pockets and the first end of the body is greater than a linear distance between the closed distal end of the pockets and the second end of the body (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to relocate the Cash as modified above pockets closer to the second end as taught by Sampson, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Further, Welke teaches a bag with a plurality of grommets, the plurality of apertures further comprises a reinforcing member along a perimeter thereof (para 0017, metal disclosed).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the metal reinforcement taught by Welke to apertures taught by Cash as modified above, in order to transfer the loads placed on the aperture to the supporting structure as taught by Welke (para 0017).
Cash as modified above further discloses wherein the pair of pockets are disposed parallel to each other (see Fig. 2); and a plurality of apertures disposed along the first end (66, 68); a carrying strap disposed on a first side of the flexible body (30).
6. Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cash (US 4793532) in view of Sampson (US 2023792) and Welke et al. (US 2008/0237245, hereinafter ‘Welke’) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Smith (US 4951816).
Cash as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the pair of support straps as claimed.
However, Smith teaches providing a carrying device with a pair of support straps (5s) disposed on a second side of the flexible body, wherein each support strap forms a loop (see Figs. 1, 8).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to attach a pair of support strap members taught by Smith to the carrying device taught by Cash, in order to allow the bag to be easily carried by hand via a rearrangeable strap system as taught by Smith (col. 3, ll. 49-55).
7. Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cash (US 4793532) in view of Sampson (US 2023792) and Welke et al. (US 2008/0237245, hereinafter ‘Welke’) as applied to claims 4 and 12 above, and further in view of Bruffey (US 2016/0095417).
Cash as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the buckle/length adjuster as claimed.
However, Bruffey teaches providing a carrying strap with a buckle thereon, the buckle configured to selectively adjust a length of the carrying strap (para 0029).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the adjustment buckles taught by Bruffey to the carrying strap taught by Cash, in order to allow adjustment of the strap length for different size users as taught by Bruffey (para 0029).
8. Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cash (US 4793532) in view of Sampson (US 2023792), Welke et al. (US 2008/0237245, hereinafter ‘Welke’), and Smith (US 4951816) as applied to claim 5 and 13 above, and further in view of Bruffey (US 2016/0095417).
Cash as modified above as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the buckle/length adjuster as claimed.
However, Bruffey teaches providing a carrying strap with a buckle thereon, the buckle configured to selectively adjust a length of the carrying strap (para 0029).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the adjustment buckles taught by Bruffey to the carrying strap taught by Cash as modified above, in order to allow adjustment of the strap length for different size users as taught by Bruffey (para 0029).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
December 3, 2025