DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 13–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites:
13. The filter according to Claim 1, wherein a ratio of an area occupied by the one or more curved portions in the first main surface is 1% to 100%. Emphasis added.
Claims 13 is indefinite because it is unclear what the “ratio” refers to as the claim only lists a single variable (area occupied by the one or more curved portions in the first main surface).
Claims 14 and 15 have the same issue as claim 13, and are rejected as indefinite for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rosa, US 2022/0395772 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Rosa teaches a vent 40 that is covered with a screen 10. See Rosa Fig. 4C, [0041]. The combined structure reads on the claimed “filter.” The “filter” 40/10 comprises:
The vent screen 10, which reads on the “filtering portion.” See Rosa Fig. 4C, [0041]. The screen 10 has an upstream surface (the “first main surface”) and a downstream surface (the “second main surface opposite to the first main surface”), and a plurality of openings (the “through holes”) connecting the upstream and downstream surfaces with each other, as claimed. See Rosa Fig. 4C, [0039], [0041].
The vent 40, which reads on the “reinforcement on the filtering portion.” See Rosa Fig. 4A, [0041].
The vent screen 10 includes a convex portion (adjacent the convex portion 41) wrapped in a direction toward a side of the downstream surface (the “one or more curved portions wrapped in a direction toward a side of…the second main surface”), as claimed. See Rosa Fig. 4C, [0041].
The convex portion of the screen 10 includes at least a portion of the openings in the screen 10 and the convex portion extends across a plurality of the openings, as claimed. See Rosa Fig. 4C, [0041].
The vent 40 includes a grid (in convex portion 41) formed of vertical members (the “first reinforcement members extending in a first direction”) and horizontal members (the “second reinforcement members extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction when viewed from the side of the first main surface”), as claimed. See Rosa Fig. 4A, [0041].
The convex portion 41 of vent 40 is located on the convex portion of the screen 10 (the “one or more curved portions”), as claimed, because the convex portion 41 corresponds to the convex portions of the screen 10. See Rosa Fig. 4C, [0041].
The convex portion of the screen 10 is wrapped to the side of the downstream surface in the z-direction (the “third direction”) intersecting the vertical and horizontal directions when viewed from the upstream side of the screen 10, as claimed. See Rosa Fig. 4C, [0041].
Regarding claim 2, Rosa teaches tape strips 21, 22 that can extend along both the long edges (seen in Fig. 4B) and the short edges (not illustrated) to provide complete perimeter sealing. See Rosa Fig. 4B, [0040], [0046]. The tape strips read on the “frame surrounding a periphery of the filtering portion and extending along an outer peripheral shape of the filtering portion.”
Regarding claim 4, Rosa teaches that a thickness of the vent 40 (from front to back) is greater than of the screen 10, as claimed, as seen in Fig. 4C.
Regarding claim 6, Rosa teaches that the vertical and horizontal grid members of the vent 40 are arranged at equal intervals, as claimed, as seen in Fig. 4A.
Regarding claims 13–15, Rosa teaches that a ratio of an area occupied by the convex portion of the screen 10 (adjacent convex portion 41) is about 33% of the total area of the screen 10, which is within the claimed ranges of 1% to 100% (claim 13), 5% to 50% (claim 14), and 15% to 50% (claim 15).
Regarding claim 16, Rosa teaches that the screen 10 contains metal as a main component thereof, as claimed. See Rosa [0039].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosa, US 2022/0395772 A1.
Regarding claims 7–9, Rosa teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Rosa differs from claims 7–9 because it is silent as to the amount of warpage of the convex portions of the screen 10. But Rosa teaches that the screen 10 is a flexible material that is intended to cover a vent (e.g., 40) of a home to prevent embers from a fire from entering through the vent. See Rosa [0033]–[0034]. The amount of warpage of the screen 10 therefore depends on the shape of the vent being covered. It would have been obvious to use routine experimentation to determine the optimal warpage of the screen 10 depending on the shape of the vent being covered. See MPEP 2144.05, subsection II (where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Claims 10–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosa, US 2022/0395772 A1 in view of Meyer, US 5,722,181.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Rosa teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Rosa differs from claims 10 and 11 because it is silent as to the filtering portion having a flat portion that is located between first and second curved portions, as claimed.
But Rosa teaches that the screen 10 is a flexible material that is intended to cover a vent (e.g., 40) of a home to prevent embers from a fire from entering through the vent. See Rosa [0033]–[0034]. The screen 10 conforms to the shape of the vent when the screen 10 is placed on the vent. Id.
With this in mind, Meyer teaches an exhaust vent of a home comprising a weather guard 20 (having a plurality of horizontal and vertical grid, i.e., reinforcement, members) having a flat portion (extending at the front of the guard 20) and two curved portions (the transition between the front and sides of the guard 20) with the flat portion being located the curved portions in a cross-sectional view of the filter, with the curved portions being located at a part of an outer periphery of the guard 20. See Meyer Fig. 1, col. 3, ll. 26–41.
It would have been obvious for the screen 10 of Rosa to be placed over the weather guard 20 of Meyer with the screen 10 conforming to the shape of the weather guard 20 because the screen 10 of Rosa is intended to cover a ventilation member of a home to prevent embers from entering the home during a fire. With this modification, the weather guard 20 of Meyer reads on the “reinforcement.”
Regarding claim 12, Rosa teaches tape strips 21, 22 that can extend along both the long edges (seen in Fig. 4B) and the short edges (not illustrated) to provide complete perimeter sealing. See Rosa Fig. 4B, [0040], [0046]. The tape strips read on the “frame surrounding a periphery of the filtering portion and extending along an outer peripheral shape of the filtering portion.” The tape strips include a part of the flat portion and parts of the first and second curved portions, as claimed, because the tape strips extend around the periphery of the screen 10.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosa, US 2022/0395772 A1 in view of Nakao et al., US 2021/0257684 A1.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Rosa teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Rosa differs from claims 17 and 18 because it is silent as to the dimensions of the screen 10. Therefore, the reference fails to provide enough information to teach that the screen 10 has a thickness ranging from 0.5 to 20 µm or 1.0 to 3 µm, as claimed.
But Rosa teaches that the screen 10 comprises a layer of pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) to attach the screen 10 to the vent 40. See Rosa [0037]. Also, Nako teaches a gas adsorption sheet comprising a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer having a thickness of 1 to 100 µm. See Nakao [0061]. It would have been obvious for the PSA layer of Rosa to have a thickness of 1 to 100 µm because this is a suitable range for a pressure sensitive adhesive layer for a filter material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takamura et al., US 2020/0292206 A1 (Fig. 8 illustrating curved filter); Sierra, US 2019/0255472 A1 (Fig. 12 illustrating curved filter); Kleitman, US 10,117,457 B1 (Fig. 1 illustrating curved filter); Li et al., US 2018/0021716 A1 (Fig. 7 illustrating curved filter).
T. BENNETT MCKENZIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1776
/T. BENNETT MCKENZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776