Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 11, 15, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and addressing all the objections stated above.
Regarding claim 6, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “ wherein the overwriting of the defined control resource set comprises overwriting a first subgroup of a larger group of locations in the defined
control resource set, and not overwriting a second subgroup, of the larger group of locations in a defined symbol, which comprises a portion of the punctured scheduled physical downlink shared channel data” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 7, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “wherein the operations further comprise determining a coding rate that is able to be used to increase a likelihood that the user equipment receives sufficient data according to a defined sufficiency criterion, and wherein the coding rate corresponds to the transmitting of the slot data, to recover the punctured scheduled physical downlink shared channel data” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 8, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “ wherein the operations further comprise determining a repetition pattern associated with the transmitting of the slot data that is able to be
used to increase a likelihood that the user equipment receives sufficient data according to a defined sufficiency criterion, and wherein the repetition pattern corresponds to the transmitting of the slot, to recover the punctured scheduled physical downlink shared channel data” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 11, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “ wherein the overwriting of the specified control resource set comprises overwriting a first subgroup of a larger group of locations in the predefined control resource set, and not overwriting a second subgroup, of the larger group of locations in a specified symbol, that comprises a portion of the scheduled physical downlink shared channel data.” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 15, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “ scheduling, by the system, second physical downlink shared channel data within the slot, comprising mapping the second physical downlink shared channel data for a second user equipment to second symbol locations within the slot, the second symbol locations comprising the specified control resource set symbol location reserved for physical downlink control channel information; and overwriting, by the system, the second physical downlink shared channel data with second physical downlink control channel data, resulting in second physical downlink shared channel data punctured with second physical downlink control channel data that maps the second user equipment to the second symbol locations within the slot, wherein the transmitting of the slot comprises transmitting the slot to the first user equipment and to the second user equipment, with the redundancy pattern via which the first user equipment is able to recover the first physical downlink shared channel data that was punctured with the first physical downlink control channel data, and via which the second user equipment is able to recover the second physical downlink shared channel data that was punctured with the second physical downlink control channel data.” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 17, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “determining a coding rate usable to increase a likelihood that the first user equipment receives sufficient data, corresponding to the transmitting of the slot, to recover the first punctured scheduled physical downlink shared channel data” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 18, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “wherein the operations further comprise determining a repetition pattern associated with the transmitting of the slot usable to increase a likelihood that the first user equipment receives sufficient data, corresponding to the transmitting of the slot, to recover the punctured scheduled physical downlink shared channel data” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-2, 4, 9, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (WO 2018/082387, hereinafter Chen) in view of Kalhan (WO 2018/075472, hereinafter Kalhan).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a network equipment (page 40; last para; base station), comprising:
a processor (page 40; last para; a processor); and
a memory (page 40; last para; memory) that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
overwriting physical downlink shared channel data (page 39; para 02; page 49; last para; when the first resource status indication information indicates that the resource occupied by the downlink data scheduled by the physical downlink control channel is a resource in a puncturing mode, if the second terminal uses the second scheduling unit to perform puncturing transmission on the downlink part of the first scheduling unit, overwrites downlink data in a predetermined position in the first scheduling unit, and sends punctured location information to the first a terminal), scheduled within a defined control resource set within slot data (page 13; para 01; the downlink data of the eMBB terminal is scheduled in the resource area Xa of the slot 1 and the slot 2), resulting in punctured physical downlink shared channel data (page 13; last para; The downlink data is punctured); and transmitting the slot data to the user equipment (page 33; last para and page 34; para 02; transmitting the downlink data - transmitting the punch position information to the eMBB terminal at a predetermined position), , and recover the punctured scheduled physical downlink shared channel data as part of a user equipment decoding operation (page 34; last para; page 42; para 02; and page 64; last para; when decoding the downlink data, these positions and the predetermined information for transmitting the punch position will be removed. Data in the corresponding area of the location is decoded).
Chen does not explicitly disclose that the channel data is scheduled with physical downlink control channel information specific to a user equipment; and in the slot data, the user equipment is configured to locate the physical downlink control channel information specific to the user equipment within the defined control resource set of the slot data.
In an analogous art, Kalhan discloses that the channel data is scheduled with physical downlink control channel information specific to a user equipment (para 0017- 0018; UE specific control information to recover the UE data) and in the slot data, the user equipment is configured to locate the physical downlink control channel information specific to the user equipment within the defined control resource set of the slot data (para 0017- 0018; 0020; 0023; 0026; the control subcarriers also convey device specific control information applying to recovery of the UE data from UE data subcarriers and MTC data from the MTC data subcarriers. The device specific control information identifies time- frequency resources conveying the UE data and the time-frequency resources conveying the MTC data; devices receive and decode the EPDCCH to recover device specific control information). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s method/system by having Kalhan’s disclosure in order to provide efficient wireless services.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses wherein the defined downlink control
information control resource set comprises an entire symbol of the slot data.
(page 33; para 03; page 0034; para 02; page 35; para 02; The predetermined position is located on the last or last two OFDM symbols of the downlink part of the first scheduling unit in the time domain).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses wherein the operations further comprise, prior
to the overwriting of the defined control resource set, scheduling the physical downlink control channel information within the defined symbol of the slot data (page 39; para 02; when the first resource status indication information indicates that the resource occupied by the downlink data scheduled by the physical downlink control channel is a resource in a puncturing mode, if the second terminal uses the second scheduling unit to perform puncturing transmission on the downlink part of the first scheduling unit, overwrites downlink data in a predetermined position in the first scheduling unit, and sends punctured location information to the first a terminal; if the second terminal does not use the second scheduling unit to perform puncturing transmission in a downlink portion of the first scheduling unit, transmitting downlink data at the predetermined location).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the user equipment is a first user equipment
(page 12; para 04; The eMBB terminal (UE, User Equipment) has a first scheduling interval, that is, the eMBB terminal is the first terminal in the control information transmission method), wherein the overwriting of the physical downlink shared channel data comprises overwriting with first physical downlink control channel information for the first user equipment (page 39; para 02; page 49; last para; when the first resource status indication information indicates that the resource occupied by the downlink data scheduled by the physical downlink control channel is a resource in a puncturing mode, if the second terminal uses the second scheduling unit to perform puncturing transmission on the downlink part of the first scheduling unit, overwrites downlink data in a predetermined position in the first scheduling unit, and sends punctured location information to the first a terminal), and overwriting with second physical downlink control channel information for a second user equipment (page 49; para 03; The second terminal uses the second scheduling unit to perform puncturing transmission on the downlink part of the first scheduling unit, overwrites downlink data in a predetermined position in the first scheduling unit), and wherein
the transmitting of the slot data comprises transmitting the slot data to the first user equipment and to the second user equipment (page 59; para 01; page 61; para 02 – downlink data for first and second terminals).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that (page 40; last para; a memory storing processor executable instructions), when executed by a processor (page 40; last para; processing unit), facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
overwriting first physical downlink shared channel data (page 39; para 02; page 49; last para; when the first resource status indication information indicates that the resource occupied by the downlink data scheduled by the physical downlink control channel is a resource in a puncturing mode, if the second terminal uses the second scheduling unit to perform puncturing transmission on the downlink part of the first scheduling unit, overwrites downlink data in a predetermined position in the first scheduling unit, and sends punctured location information to the first a terminal), scheduled within a predefined symbol within a slot (page 13; para 01; the downlink data of the eMBB terminal is scheduled in the resource area Xa of the slot 1 and the slot 2; page 24; last para; a predetermined set of the first scheduling unit within one symbol after the puncturing position), resulting in first punctured physical downlink shared channel data (page 13; last para; The downlink data is punctured); and
overwriting second physical downlink shared channel data, scheduled within the predefined symbol within a slot, with second physical downlink control channel information, resulting in second punctured physical downlink shared channel data (page 49; last para; when the first resource status indication information indicates that the resource occupied by the downlink data scheduled by the physical downlink control channel is a resource in a puncturing mode, if the second terminal uses the second scheduling unit to perform puncturing transmission on the downlink part of the first scheduling unit, overwrites downlink data in a predetermined position in the first scheduling unit); and transmitting the slot data to a first user equipment and a second user equipment (page 33; last para and page 34; para 02; page 52; para 01; transmitting the downlink data to first and second terminals).
Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the first user equipment is configured to locate the first physical downlink control channel information specific to the first user equipment within the predefined symbol, and recover the first punctured scheduled physical downlink shared channel data, and wherein the second user equipment is configured to locate the second physical downlink control channel information specific to the second user equipment within the predefined symbol, and recover the second punctured scheduled physical downlink shared channel data.
In an analogous art, Kalhan discloses wherein the first user equipment is configured to locate the first physical downlink control channel information specific to the first user equipment within the predefined symbol (para 0017- 0018; 0021 and 0032; UE specific control information to recover the UE data; the MTC data may be in a predetermined format that is known to the MTC device. As a result, the MTC data layer control information may include only limited information formation. In one example, the MTC data layer control information includes only MTC data present indicator indicating that the MTC data is present in the preassigned communication. The MTC control information, therefore, may include a one-bit flag that indicates whether there is MTC data), and recover the first punctured scheduled physical downlink shared channel data (para 0017- 0018; 0020; 0023; 0026; the control subcarriers also convey device specific control information applying to recovery of the UE data from UE data subcarriers and MTC data from the MTC data subcarriers. The device specific control information identifies time- frequency resources conveying the UE data and the time-frequency resources conveying the MTC data; devices receive and decode the EPDCCH to recover device specific control information), and wherein the second user equipment is configured to locate the second physical downlink control channel information specific to the second user equipment within the predefined symbol (para 0017-0018; The device specific control information includes additional control information for each device that that allows the associated UE device to recover the data directed to that UE device and may include information such as identification of the time-frequency resources used for data), and recover the second punctured scheduled physical downlink shared channel data (para 0020; 0022; device specific control information applying to recovery of the UE data from UE data subcarriers and MTC data from the MTC data subcarriers). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s method/system by having Kalhan’s disclosure in order to provide efficient wireless services.
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses wherein the operations further comprise, prior to the overwriting of the predefined control resource set, scheduling the first physical downlink control channel information within the predefined symbol of the slot (page 39; para 02; when the first resource status indication information indicates that the resource occupied by the downlink data scheduled by the physical downlink control channel is a resource in a puncturing mode, if the second terminal uses the second scheduling unit to perform puncturing transmission on the downlink part of the first scheduling unit, overwrites downlink data in a predetermined position in the first scheduling unit, and sends punctured location information to the first terminal), and scheduling the second physical downlink control channel information within the predefined symbol of the slot (page 39; para 02; transmitting downlink data at the predetermined location).
4. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen/Kalhan in view of Papasakellariou (US 2018/0167932, hereinafter Papa).
Regarding claim 3, Chen/Kalhan does not explicitly disclose wherein the defined downlink control information control resource set is within a first symbol of the slot data.
In an analogous art, Papa discloses wherein the defined downlink control information control resource set is within a first symbol of the slot data (para 0092; A first slot symbol can be used by the gNB to transmit DCI). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s method/system by having Kalhan’s disclosure in order to improve resource allocation of a communication system.
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen/Kalhan in view of Shimezawa et al. (US 2016/0028521, hereinafter Shimezawa).
Regarding claim 5, Chen/Kalhan does not explicitly disclose wherein the overwriting of the physical downlink shared channel data is performed by a gNodeB.
In an analogous art, Shimezawa discloses wherein the overwriting of the physical downlink shared channel data is performed by a gNodeB (para 0290; the base station maps (overwrites the physical signal in the PDSCH or the EPDCCH and then maps) the physical signal onto the resources (resource elements) onto which the physical signal is to be mapped).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen/Kalhan’s method/system by having Shimezawa’s disclosure in order to improve transmission efficiency of the communication system.
6. Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Wirth (CN 110663206, hereinafter Wirth).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses a method (page 57; last para), comprising:
Scheduling (page 51; para 01; scheduling), by a system comprising a processor (page 51; para 02; a processor), physical downlink shared channel data within a slot (page 12; last para; and page 13; para 01; when the downlink data of the eMBB terminal is scheduled in the resource area Xa of the slot 1 and the slot 2), comprising mapping the physical downlink shared channel data for a user
equipment to symbol locations within the slot (page 32; para 01; page 40; para 03; page 45; para 03; The puncturing position information in the predetermined position is repeatedly transmitted on each layer to which the downlink data of the highest modulation coding scheme is mapped), the symbol locations comprising a specified control resource set symbol location reserved for physical downlink control channel information (page 04; para 01; page 34; para 02; The base station will transmit the punctured location information to the eMBB UE1 at a predetermined location on the last symbol in the resource region allocated to the eMBB UE1, similarly, the base station will also be on the last symbol in the resource region allocated to the eMBB UE2);
overwriting, by the system, the physical downlink shared channel data within the
specified control resource set location (page 39; para 02; when the first resource status indication information indicates that the resource occupied by the downlink data scheduled by the physical downlink control channel is a resource in a puncturing mode, if the second terminal uses the second scheduling unit to perform puncturing transmission on the downlink part of the first scheduling unit, overwrites downlink data in a predetermined position in the first scheduling unit, and sends punctured location information to the first a terminal), with physical downlink control channel data, resulting in physical downlink shared channel data punctured with physical downlink control channel data (page 45; para 03; the physical downlink data channel used for downlink data transmission in the downlink part, the number of layers is greater than 1, and for the downlink data transmission in the downlink part. When the physical downlink data channel is spatially multiplexed, the puncturing position information is received on each layer to which the downlink data of the highest modulation coding scheme is mapped within the predetermined location) that maps the user equipment to the symbol locations within the slot (page 40; para 01; the predetermined location may be notified to the first terminal by one or more combinations of: configuring, by the RRC message, the first terminal; by physical downlink control located in the sixth scheduling unit the first terminal is notified by the DCI in the channel, and the sixth scheduling unit is a scheduling unit having a first scheduling interval; the first terminal obtains the predetermined location by a predefined rule); and
transmitting, by the system, the slot to the user equipment via
which the user equipment is able to recover the physical downlink shared channel data that was punctured with the physical downlink control channel data
(page 05; para 02; The first terminal receives the first resource status indication information that is sent by the base station by using the physical downlink control channel, and decodes the downlink data scheduled by the physical downlink control channel according to the first resource status indication information, where the physical downlink control is performed; page 10; para 03; When the downlink data is sent to the first terminal by using the resources in the puncturing mode and the resources in the normal mode, the first terminal has different behaviors, that is, if the resource used for data transmission is a resource in the puncturing mode, the first terminal selects the decoding in the puncturing mode).
Chen does not explicitly disclose that the slot is transmitted to the user equipment with a redundancy pattern.
In an analogous art, Wirth discloses that the slot is transmitted to the user equipment with a redundancy pattern (page 53; para 01; receiver needs to successfully decode at least, for example, part of the link to be able to recover the whole code word. each layer can carry other redundancy version, and the UE needs to know which redundancy version carried by which link. UE may receive explicit signaling of the redundancy version, or may use a fixed pattern).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s method/system by having Wirth’s disclosure in order to improve the reliability of the communication system by reducing the data loss.
7. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen/Wirth in view of Sun et al. (US 2020/0186306, hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 12, Chen/Wirth does not explicitly disclose determining, by the system, a coding rate corresponding to the redundancy pattern.
In an analogous art, Sun discloses determining, by the system, a coding rate corresponding to the redundancy pattern (para 0050; code rate corresponding to RV pattern). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen/Wirth’s method/system by having Sun’s disclosure in order to reduce latency in real time monitoring applications.
8. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen/Wirth in view of Chin et al. (US 2023/0379092, hereinafter Chin).
Regarding claim 13, Chen/Wirth does not explicitly disclose determining, by the system, a repetition pattern corresponding to the redundancy pattern.
In an analogous art, Chin discloses determining, by the system, a repetition pattern corresponding to the redundancy pattern (para 0230; 0291; 0337; RV defines the redundancy version pattern to be applied to the repetitions). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen/Wirth’s method/system by having Chin’s disclosure in order to provide flexibility and configurability to optimize the network services and types.
9. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen/Wirth in view of
Shimezawa et al. (US 2016/0028521, hereinafter Shimezawa).
Regarding claim 14, Chen/Wirth does not explicitly disclose
wherein the overwriting of the physical downlink shared channel data within the specified control resource set location is performed by gNodeB equipment.
In an analogous art, Shimezawa discloses wherein the overwriting of the physical downlink shared channel data within the specified control resource set location is performed by gNodeB equipment (para 0290; the base station maps (overwrites the physical signal in the PDSCH or the EPDCCH and then maps) the physical signal onto the resources (resource elements) onto which the physical signal is to be mapped). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen/Wirth’s method/system by having Shimezawa’s disclosure in order to improve transmission efficiency of the communication system.
10. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen/Kalhan in view of Suzuki (WO 2015020127, hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding claim 20, Chen/Kalhan does not explicitly disclose wherein the overwriting of the first physical downlink control channel information comprises inserting a first
radio network temporary identifier associated with the first user equipment into the first physical downlink control channel information, and inserting a second radio network temporary identifier associated with the second user equipment into the second physical downlink control channel information.
In an analogous art, Suzuki discloses wherein the overwriting of the first physical downlink control channel information comprises inserting a first radio network temporary identifier associated with the first user equipment into the first physical downlink control channel information (page 60; last para; when the cyclic redundancy check parity bit added to the DCI scrambled by a firts RNTI), and inserting a second radio network temporary identifier associated with the second user equipment into the second physical downlink control channel information (page 61; para 01; When the cyclic redundancy check parity bit added to the downlink control information is scrambled by the second RNTI). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen/Wirth’s method/system by having Suzuki’s disclosure in order to improve transmission efficiency of the communication system.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMINA F CHOUDHRY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462