DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the recitations:
“the maximum amount of the charging current for each of the accumulators is determined before the charging start by supplying a current of different amount alternately to each of the accumulator-powered devices, while simultaneously measuring the voltage for each of the current amount at each of the devices of the wired security system, and subsequently determining the maximum current amount for charging the accumulators that corresponds to a permissible voltage drop amount on the bus of the wired security system” of claim 1;
the recitations of claims 3-4; and
“save data including a maximum amount of a charging current for each of the accumulators and a series of charge levels of the accumulators and/or charging time of the accumulators” of claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains phrases which can be implied, e.g., “The invention relates to”, “The invention provides”, “the invention discloses”, and “according to the described method”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 3, “the bus” should be changed to --the at least one bus--.
In claim 1, line 5, “the charge” should be changed to --the charge level--.
In claim 1, line 6, the claim should read --a lowest charge level--.
In claim 1, line 7, the claim should read --a greatest charge level--.
In claim 1, line 10, “the maximum current” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 1, line 17, “the maximum amount of the charging current” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 1, line 18, “the charging start” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 1, line 19, “the voltage” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 1, line 21, “the maximum current amount” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 4, line 3, it is not clear if or how the “maximum permissible voltage drop” is related to the “permissible voltage drop amount” as recited in claim 1.
In claim 5, line 14, “the charge” should be changed to --the charge level--.
In claim 7, line 2, “a signal” should be changed to --the signal--.
In claim 9, lines 3-4, it is not clear if or how the “maximum permissible voltage drop” is related to the “permissible voltage drop amount” as recited in claim 8.
The above mentioned claim objections are not a complete and thorough listing. Applicant is required to revise all of the claims completely, and not just correct the language mentioned.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “up to a charge level of an accumulator that is a closest one in the charging queue from a series of predetermined charge levels” should be revised for clarity, as it is not clear if the charging is performed with respect to “a charge level of an accumulator” or “a series of predetermined charge levels”. For examination purposes, the recitation is interpreted as charging up to a predetermined charge level from a series of predetermined charge levels.
Claims 2-4 are dependent from claim 1 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claim 1.
Regarding claims 5 and 10, the recitation “to the charge level of the accumulator that is a closest one in the charging queue from a series of predetermined charge levels” should be revised for clarity, as it is not clear if the charging is performed with respect to “the charge level of the accumulator” or “a series of predetermined charge levels”. For examination purposes, the recitation is interpreted as charging up to a predetermined charge level from a series of predetermined charge levels.
Claims 6-9 and 11-14 are dependent from claim 5 or 10 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claim 5 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BARRIEAU (US Pub. No. 2017/0092114) in view of FRIEDRICH (EP3035488A1; English machine translation is included with office action) and VILHAUER (US Pub. No. 2012/0249084).
Regarding claim 1, BARRIEAU discloses a method for charging accumulators (32, Figs. 2A, 3, and 4; ¶ 0043: the power switch 30 charges the supplemental power unit 32 (i.e., replenish its power capacity) by directing current to the supplemental power unit 32 via a charging line 40) of devices (the devices are labeled ‘A’, ‘C’, and ‘D’ in Figures 1-4) in a wired security system (¶ 0037: FIG. 1 depicts a fire alarm system 10; ¶ 0039: the fire alarm system 10 can include other devices such as auxiliary devices. The auxiliary devices can be door control devices, air handling unit control devices (exhaust fire floor, floor above fire, and floor below fire for example), devices for supplying extinguishing agent, and the like; ¶ 0076: supplemental power unit 32 can be used to provide additional current for powering wireless devices. For example, a wireless device is connected to the system lines 18, 20 mainly for reliable power. The wireless device may or may not have a battery. In the case of no battery, the system lines 18, 20 provide supervision, through the low-bandwidth system lines 18, 20. Specifically, a wireless camera can stream HD video over wireless links (e.g., WiFi) while being powered from the low-bandwidth system lines 18, 20. The system lines 18, 20 are used for powering normal supervision of the camera and of the field of view. Power for the wireless communication or other data transmission would come from the supplemental power unit 32 (e.g., storage battery or supercapacitor)….The wireless camera can be used for optical detection of an intruder and provide a recording which is streamed to a server or provide a platform for video recognition of fires), the system comprising at least one bus (14, Fig. 1) with accumulator-powered devices (the devices are labeled ‘A’, ‘C’, and ‘D’ in Figures 1-4) and bus-powered devices (¶ 0076: see above) connected to the bus, the method comprising:
measuring a charge level of each of the accumulators (¶ 0044: the device controller 66 monitors a state of charge of the supplemental power unit 32 via connection 60 and: 1) directs the power switch 30 to terminate charging of the supplemental power unit 32 when it is fully charged; and 2) directs the power switch 30 to restart charging of the supplemental power unit 32 when the device controller 66 determines that the supplemental power unit 32 should be recharged).
BARRIEAU fails to disclose a charging queue for the accumulators as recited.
FRIEDRICH discloses establishing, if the charge of at least one of the accumulators (batteries 18 as shown in Fig. 2) is decreased, a charging queue for the accumulators starting from an accumulator having the lowest charge level to an accumulator having the greatest charge level (¶ 0015: the battery with the lowest state of charge is preferably charged; ¶ 0016: Prioritizing charging of batteries with the lowest charge level prevents them from falling into an unfavorable voltage range; ¶ 0057: After the cycle time has elapsed, the charging current is switched on to the next battery 18b to 18f, preferably to the battery that has the lowest charge status);
charging a first accumulator (e.g., one of the batteries 18 as shown in Fig. 2) in the queue by a maximum charging current up to a charge level of an accumulator that is a closest one in the charging queue from a series of predetermined charge levels (this recitation is recited in the alternative, and FRIEDRICH discloses the other alternative) or charging by the maximum current (¶ 0047: A charging current provided by the charger 6 can be switched to a connected battery 18, for example as shown in FIG 2, via the charging distributor 1 in order to charge it; the “maximum current” is not specifically defined, and therefore the disclosed charging current may read on a “maximum current”) during a predetermined charging time (¶ 0047: After a predetermined charging cycle, the charging distributor 1 can switch the charging current of the charger 6 to another connected battery 18. For example, such a charging cycle can last one hour, but also one or more days; ¶ 0057: During this charging cycle, the other connected batteries will not be charged);
then charging a next accumulator in the queue by the maximum charging current up to the charge level of the accumulator from the series of predetermined charge levels or charging by the maximum current during the predetermined charging time (¶ 0047, 0057: see above); and
repeating the charging of the accumulators from the queue until a full charge level of all the accumulators is reached, and the accumulator that is first in the queue is next after the accumulator that is last in the queue (¶ 0016: If all batteries are within an optimal voltage range for the charging process, the charging distributor can cyclically switch the charging current on. This cycle can be a predetermined time, for example 12 hours. However, it is also possible, when the battery is fully charged, to switch the charging current to the next battery prematurely).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the charging queue as recited in order to provide sequential charging without requiring user input and without requiring a charger with increased output (FRIEDRICH, ¶ 0003-0004).
BARRIEAU fails to disclose the maximum amount of the charging current for each of the accumulators is determined before the charging start by supplying a current of different amount alternately to each of the accumulator-powered devices, while simultaneously measuring the voltage for each of the current amount at each of the devices of the wired security system, and subsequently determining the maximum current amount for charging the accumulators that corresponds to a permissible voltage drop amount on the bus of the wired security system.
VILHAUER discloses the maximum amount of the charging current for [the accumulator] (110, Fig. 1) is determined before the charging start by supplying a current of different amount alternately to [the accumulator-powered device] (10, Fig. 1), while simultaneously measuring the voltage for each of the current amount at [the device] (at 108, Fig. 1; ¶ 0035: If VBUS_LOW signal is not detected at block 310, this indicates that the amount of sinking current is insufficient to produce a voltage droop on a VBUS INPUT line, thereby signaling that the charging current capacity of the charger may not have been exceeded. The process then moves to block 314; ¶ 0036; At block 314, the charging current setting is increased; ¶ 0038: At block 318, a determination is made as to whether the previous adjustment (either block 312 or 314) is a final iteration in adjustments to be made to the I.sub.CC value. If the previous adjustment in I.sub.CC value is not the final iteration, the process returns to block 310, after which further adjustments to the I.sub.CC value are made), and subsequently determining the maximum current amount for charging the [accumulator] that corresponds to a permissible voltage drop amount on the bus (¶ 0033: At block 310, it is determined whether a VBUS_LOW signal has been received. If a VBUS_LOW signal is detected, this indicates that the amount of sinking current is sufficient to produce a voltage droop on a VBUS INPUT line, thereby signaling that the charging current capacity of the charger may have been exceeded. This determination triggers the process to move to block 312; ¶ 0034: At block 312, the charging current (ICC) setting is lowered; ¶ 0051: stored IAVAILABLE value may be used by a hardware state machine to set the current limit value to be applied to a battery charger of the PMIC in order for the charger to perform properly when coupled to the charging current source. In the above example, when the system is reconnected to the VBUS signal from the 1460 mA current charging source, the battery charger may limit current to 1450 mA. Thus, no voltage droop should be expected since the PMIC should not draw current in excess of the capability of the current charging source. Moreover, battery charging can be performed in an efficient manner, since the charging current output by the battery charger (1450 mA) is very close to the maximum available current from the external charging current source). Applying the teachings of VILHAUER of determining a maximum amount of charging current for an accumulator of an accumulator-power device, for each of the accumulator-powered devices of the wired security system of BARRIEAU, teaches the recitations “the maximum amount of the charging current for each of the accumulators is determined before the charging start by supplying a current of different amount alternately to each of the accumulator-powered devices, while simultaneously measuring the voltage for each of the current amount at each of the devices of the wired security system, and subsequently determining the maximum current amount for charging the accumulators that corresponds to a permissible voltage drop amount on the bus of the wired security system”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining the maximum amount of charging current for each of the accumulator-power devices as recited in order to prevent voltage droop and therefore avoiding potential harm to the accumulator or other negative impacts on the devices (VILHAUER, ¶ 0017).
Regarding claim 2, BARRIEAU discloses the charge level of the accumulators is also measured during charging of the accumulators (¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 3, BARRIEAU as modified by FRIEDRICH and VILHAUER teaches the first accumulator and each next accumulator in the queue are charged by the maximum charging current up to the charge level that is selected from the series of predetermined charge levels, but that is not less than the charge level of the next accumulator in the queue (this recitation was recited in the alternative in claim 1, and FRIEDRICH discloses the other alternative as described above).
Regarding claim 4, BARRIEAU as modified by FRIEDRICH and VILHAUER teaches the maximum charging current for each of the accumulators is determined by supplying currents of three different amounts alternately to each of the devices of the system and by measuring a maximum permissible voltage drop on all the devices (VILHAUER, ¶ 0025, 0051-0054).
Regarding claim 5, BARRIEAU discloses a wired security system (¶ 0037: FIG. 1 depicts a fire alarm system 10; ¶ 0039: the fire alarm system 10 can include other devices such as auxiliary devices. The auxiliary devices can be door control devices, air handling unit control devices (exhaust fire floor, floor above fire, and floor below fire for example), devices for supplying extinguishing agent, and the like; ¶ 0076: supplemental power unit 32 can be used to provide additional current for powering wireless devices. For example, a wireless device is connected to the system lines 18, 20 mainly for reliable power. The wireless device may or may not have a battery. In the case of no battery, the system lines 18, 20 provide supervision, through the low-bandwidth system lines 18, 20. Specifically, a wireless camera can stream HD video over wireless links (e.g., WiFi) while being powered from the low-bandwidth system lines 18, 20. The system lines 18, 20 are used for powering normal supervision of the camera and of the field of view. Power for the wireless communication or other data transmission would come from the supplemental power unit 32 (e.g., storage battery or supercapacitor)….The wireless camera can be used for optical detection of an intruder and provide a recording which is streamed to a server or provide a platform for video recognition of fires) comprising:
at least one bus (14, Fig. 1) with at least two accumulator-powered devices connected to the bus (the devices are labeled ‘A’, ‘C’, and ‘D’ in Figures 1-4) and at least one bus-powered device connected to the bus (¶ 0076: see above);
at least one power supply unit (17, Fig. 2A) that is connected, by means of the bus, to the bus-powered devices and to the accumulators of the accumulator-powered devices (¶ 0049: system controller 12 uses the power source 17 to provide the system power on the system lines 18, 20. The power source 17 can be a DC power unit that also includes battery back-up. The DC power unit supplies power at a fixed voltage and is limited to providing a maximum current; ¶ 0073: the system controller 12 would switch the power source 17 to a power supply mode and would provide 3 Amps or more of DC current); and
a control unit that is connected to said devices and to the power supply unit (part of 12, Figs. 1 & 2A; ¶ 0038: system controller 12, the notification appliance devices A, and the initiation devices (detector devices D and notification/detector combination devices C) are connected to one another via a system network 14; ¶ 0049: see above),
wherein the bus is configured to provide signal exchange between the control unit and said devices (¶ 0038: system controller 12 provides system power to and communicates with the devices A, D, C via the system lines 18, 20),
and the control unit is programmed to:
receive measurement data of the charge level of the accumulators (¶ 0044: the device controller 66 monitors a state of charge of the supplemental power unit 32 via connection 60 and: 1) directs the power switch 30 to terminate charging of the supplemental power unit 32 when it is fully charged; and 2) directs the power switch 30 to restart charging of the supplemental power unit 32 when the device controller 66 determines that the supplemental power unit 32 should be recharged; ¶ 0053: system controller 12 initiates the charging mode by sending a charging synchronization signal to the notification appliance device A via the system lines 18, 20. In response, the device controller 66 of the notification appliance device A directs the power switch 30 to shift to a closed position between the supplemental power unit 32 and the power bus line 28. As a result, the power switch 30 charges the supplemental power unit 32 via the charging line 40; it is implied that control unit 12 receives “measurement data’ in order to initiate the charging mode) and transmitting, via the bus, a signal about charging to one accumulator during a predetermined charging time (¶ 0053: see above; ¶ 0071: FIG. 8A illustrates a time domain for a communication time period. The communication time period is represented by T which is split into two phases: a polling phase and a charging phase (i.e., time division multiplexing)…The charging phase is initiated when the system controller 12 sends the charging synchronization signal 136).
BARRIEAU fails to disclose the control unit comprises at least one microcontroller.
Official notice is taken that microcontrollers were an old and known expedient in the art at the time of the invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the control unit comprises at least one microcontroller in order to utilize the known characteristics of microcontrollers, such as, e.g., high integration and/or low power consumption.
BARRIEAU fails to disclose the control unit is programmed to:
save data including a series of charge levels of the accumulators and/or charging time of the accumulators, and
receive measurement data of the charge level of the accumulators and establish a charging queue for the accumulators, if the charge of at least one of the accumulators is decreased, starting from an accumulator having a lowest charge level to an accumulator having a greatest charge level, followed by alternate transmitting, via the bus, the signal about charging to one accumulator from the established charging queue, to the charge level of the accumulator that is a closest one in the charging queue from a series of predetermined charge levels or during a predetermined charging time.
FRIEDRICH discloses the control unit (12, Fig. 2) is programmed to:
save data including a series of charge levels of the accumulators and/or charging time of the accumulators (¶ 0016: If all batteries are within an optimal voltage range for the charging process, the charging distributor can cyclically switch the charging current on. This cycle can be a predetermined time, for example 12 hours. However, it is also possible, when the battery is fully charged, to switch the charging current to the next battery prematurely; ¶ 0047: After a predetermined charging cycle, the charging distributor 1 can switch the charging current of the charger 6 to another connected battery 18. For example, such a charging cycle can last one hour, but also one or more days; ¶ 0057: During this charging cycle, the other connected batteries will not be charged), and
receive measurement data of the charge level of the accumulators and establish a charging queue for the accumulators, if the charge of at least one of the accumulators is decreased, starting from an accumulator having a lowest charge level to an accumulator having a greatest charge level (¶ 0015: the battery with the lowest state of charge is preferably charged; ¶ 0016: Prioritizing charging of batteries with the lowest charge level prevents them from falling into an unfavorable voltage range; ¶ 0057: After the cycle time has elapsed, the charging current is switched on to the next battery 18b to 18f, preferably to the battery that has the lowest charge status), followed by charging one accumulator from the established charging queue, to the charge level of the accumulator that is a closest one in the charging queue from a series of predetermined charge levels (this recitation is recited in the alternative, and FRIEDRICH discloses the other alternative) or during a predetermined charging time (¶ 0047: After a predetermined charging cycle, the charging distributor 1 can switch the charging current of the charger 6 to another connected battery 18. For example, such a charging cycle can last one hour, but also one or more days; ¶ 0057: During this charging cycle, the other connected batteries will not be charged). Including the charging queue of FRIEDRICH in the wired security system of BARRIEAU, which discloses transmitting signals about charging to the accumulators, teaches the recitation “followed by alternate transmitting, via the bus, the signal about charging to one accumulator from the established charging queue”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the charging queue as recited in order to provide sequential charging without requiring user input and without requiring a charger with increased output (FRIEDRICH, ¶ 0003-0004).
BARRIEAU fails to disclose the control unit is programmed to: save data including a maximum amount of a charging current for each of the accumulators.
VILHAUER discloses the control unit (100, Fig. 1) is programmed to: save data including a maximum amount of a charging current for [the accumulator] (¶ 0051: stored IAVAILABLE value may be used by a hardware state machine to set the current limit value to be applied to a battery charger of the PMIC in order for the charger to perform properly when coupled to the charging current source. In the above example, when the system is reconnected to the VBUS signal from the 1460 mA current charging source, the battery charger may limit current to 1450 mA. Thus, no voltage droop should be expected since the PMIC should not draw current in excess of the capability of the current charging source. Moreover, battery charging can be performed in an efficient manner, since the charging current output by the battery charger (1450 mA) is very close to the maximum available current from the external charging current source). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the maximum amount of charging current as disclosed in VILHAUER for each of the accumulators of BARRIEAU.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the data including the maximum amount of charging current as recited in order to prevent voltage droop and therefore avoiding potential harm to the accumulator or other negative impacts on the devices (VILHAUER, ¶ 0017).
Regarding claim 6, BARRIEAU discloses the microcontroller is programmed to receive the measurement data of the charge level of the accumulators also during the charging of the accumulators (¶ 0044, 0053).
Regarding claim 7, BARRIEAU as modified by FRIEDRICH and VILHAUER teaches the microcontroller is programmed to alternately transmit, via the bus, a signal about charging to one accumulator from the established charging queue, to the charge level of the accumulator that is the closest one in the charging queue from the series of predetermined charge levels, but that is not less than the charge level of the next accumulator in the queue (this recitation was recited in the alternative in claim 5, and FRIEDRICH discloses the other alternative as described above).
Regarding claim 8, BARRIEAU as modified by FRIEDRICH and VILHAUER teaches the wired security system as applied to claim 5 but fails to teach the microcontroller is programmed to determine the maximum amount of the charging current for each of the accumulators by supplying currents of different amounts to each of the accumulator-equipped devices, connected to the bus, while at the same time measuring a voltage for each of the amounts of the current at each of the devices, followed by determining a greatest amount of the current for charging the accumulators that corresponds to a permissible voltage drop amount on the bus.
VILHAUER further discloses the microcontroller is programmed to determine the maximum amount of the charging current for each of the accumulators by supplying currents of different amounts to each of the accumulator-equipped devices, connected to the bus, while at the same time measuring a voltage for each of the amounts of the current at each of the devices, followed by determining a greatest amount of the current for charging the accumulators that corresponds to a permissible voltage drop amount on the bus (¶ 0025, 0033-0035, 0051-0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining the maximum amount of charging current for each of the accumulators as recited in order to prevent voltage droop and therefore avoiding potential harm to the accumulator or other negative impacts on the devices (VILHAUER, ¶ 0017).
Regarding claim 9, BARRIEAU as modified by FRIEDRICH and VILHAUER teaches the microcontroller is programmed to determine the maximum amount of the charging current for each of the accumulators by supplying currents of three different amounts and by measuring a maximum permissible voltage drop on all the devices (VILHAUER, ¶ 0025, 0033-0035, 0051-0054).
Regarding claim 10, BARRIEAU discloses a control unit (12, Figs. 1 & 2A) of a wired security system (¶ 0037: FIG. 1 depicts a fire alarm system 10; ¶ 0039: the fire alarm system 10 can include other devices such as auxiliary devices. The auxiliary devices can be door control devices, air handling unit control devices (exhaust fire floor, floor above fire, and floor below fire for example), devices for supplying extinguishing agent, and the like; ¶ 0076: supplemental power unit 32 can be used to provide additional current for powering wireless devices. For example, a wireless device is connected to the system lines 18, 20 mainly for reliable power. The wireless device may or may not have a battery. In the case of no battery, the system lines 18, 20 provide supervision, through the low-bandwidth system lines 18, 20. Specifically, a wireless camera can stream HD video over wireless links (e.g., WiFi) while being powered from the low-bandwidth system lines 18, 20. The system lines 18, 20 are used for powering normal supervision of the camera and of the field of view. Power for the wireless communication or other data transmission would come from the supplemental power unit 32 (e.g., storage battery or supercapacitor)….The wireless camera can be used for optical detection of an intruder and provide a recording which is streamed to a server or provide a platform for video recognition of fires), the control unit comprising:
a power supply unit (17, Fig. 2A) and/or an input for connecting the power supply unit (¶ 0049: system controller 12 uses the power source 17 to provide the system power on the system lines 18, 20. The power source 17 can be a DC power unit that also includes battery back-up. The DC power unit supplies power at a fixed voltage and is limited to providing a maximum current; ¶ 0073: the system controller 12 would switch the power source 17 to a power supply mode and would provide 3 Amps or more of DC current); an input for connecting at least one bus (14, Fig. 1) that is connected to at least two accumulator-powered devices (the devices are labeled ‘A’, ‘C’, and ‘D’ in Figures 1-4) and to at least one power supply unit-powered device (¶ 0076: see above); and a controller (part of 12, Fig. 1) that is electrically connected to the power supply unit and to the bus of the wired security system (¶ 0038: system controller 12, the notification appliance devices A, and the initiation devices (detector devices D and notification/detector combination devices C) are connected to one another via a system network 14; ¶ 0049: see above), wherein the controller is programmed to:
receive measurement data of the charge level of the accumulators (¶ 0044: the device controller 66 monitors a state of charge of the supplemental power unit 32 via connection 60 and: 1) directs the power switch 30 to terminate charging of the supplemental power unit 32 when it is fully charged; and 2) directs the power switch 30 to restart charging of the supplemental power unit 32 when the device controller 66 determines that the supplemental power unit 32 should be recharged; ¶ 0053: system controller 12 initiates the charging mode by sending a charging synchronization signal to the notification appliance device A via the system lines 18, 20. In response, the device controller 66 of the notification appliance device A directs the power switch 30 to shift to a closed position between the supplemental power unit 32 and the power bus line 28. As a result, the power switch 30 charges the supplemental power unit 32 via the charging line 40; it is implied that control unit 12 receives “measurement data’ in order to initiate the charging mode) and transmitting, via the bus, a signal about charging to one accumulator during a predetermined charging time (¶ 0053: see above; ¶ 0071: FIG. 8A illustrates a time domain for a communication time period. The communication time period is represented by T which is split into two phases: a polling phase and a charging phase (i.e., time division multiplexing)…The charging phase is initiated when the system controller 12 sends the charging synchronization signal 136).
BARRIEAU fails to disclose the controller is a microcontroller.
Official notice is taken that microcontrollers were an old and known expedient in the art at the time of the invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the controller is a microcontroller in order to utilize the known characteristics of microcontrollers, such as, e.g., high integration and/or low power consumption.
BARRIEAU fails to disclose the controller is programmed to:
save data including a series of charge levels of the accumulators and/or charging time of the accumulators, and
receive measurement data of the charge level of the accumulators and establish a charging queue for the accumulators, if the charge of at least one of the accumulators is decreased, starting from an accumulator having a lowest charge level to an accumulator having a greatest charge level, followed by alternate transmitting, via the bus, a signal about charging to one accumulator from the established charging queue, to the charge level of the accumulator that is a closest one in the charging queue from a series of predetermined charge levels or during a predetermined charging time.
FRIEDRICH discloses the controller (12, Fig. 2) is programmed to:
save data including a series of charge levels of the accumulators and/or charging time of the accumulators (¶ 0016: If all batteries are within an optimal voltage range for the charging process, the charging distributor can cyclically switch the charging current on. This cycle can be a predetermined time, for example 12 hours. However, it is also possible, when the battery is fully charged, to switch the charging current to the next battery prematurely; ¶ 0047: After a predetermined charging cycle, the charging distributor 1 can switch the charging current of the charger 6 to another connected battery 18. For example, such a charging cycle can last one hour, but also one or more days; ¶ 0057: During this charging cycle, the other connected batteries will not be charged), and
receive measurement data of the charge level of the accumulators and establish a charging queue for the accumulators, if the charge of at least one of the accumulators is decreased, starting from an accumulator having a lowest charge level to an accumulator having a greatest charge level (¶ 0015: the battery with the lowest state of charge is preferably charged; ¶ 0016: Prioritizing charging of batteries with the lowest charge level prevents them from falling into an unfavorable voltage range; ¶ 0057: After the cycle time has elapsed, the charging current is switched on to the next battery 18b to 18f, preferably to the battery that has the lowest charge status), followed by charging one accumulator from the established charging queue, to the charge level of the accumulator that is a closest one in the charging queue from a series of predetermined charge levels (this recitation is recited in the alternative, and FRIEDRICH discloses the other alternative) or during a predetermined charging time (¶ 0047: After a predetermined charging cycle, the charging distributor 1 can switch the charging current of the charger 6 to another connected battery 18. For example, such a charging cycle can last one hour, but also one or more days; ¶ 0057: During this charging cycle, the other connected batteries will not be charged). Including the charging queue of FRIEDRICH in the control unit of the wired security system of BARRIEAU, which discloses transmitting signals about charging to the accumulators, teaches the recitation “followed by alternate transmitting, via the bus, a signal about charging to one accumulator from the established charging queue”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the charging queue as recited in order to provide sequential charging without requiring user input and without requiring a charger with increased output (FRIEDRICH, ¶ 0003-0004).
BARRIEAU fails to disclose the controller is programmed to: save data including a maximum amount of a charging current for each of the accumulators.
VILHAUER discloses the controller (100, Fig. 1) is programmed to: save data including a maximum amount of a charging current for [the accumulator] (¶ 0051: stored IAVAILABLE value may be used by a hardware state machine to set the current limit value to be applied to a battery charger of the PMIC in order for the charger to perform properly when coupled to the charging current source. In the above example, when the system is reconnected to the VBUS signal from the 1460 mA current charging source, the battery charger may limit current to 1450 mA. Thus, no voltage droop should be expected since the PMIC should not draw current in excess of the capability of the current charging source. Moreover, battery charging can be performed in an efficient manner, since the charging current output by the battery charger (1450 mA) is very close to the maximum available current from the external charging current source). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the maximum amount of charging current as disclosed in VILHAUER for each of the accumulators of BARRIEAU.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the data including the maximum amount of charging current as recited in order to prevent voltage droop and therefore avoiding potential harm to the accumulator or other negative impacts on the devices (VILHAUER, ¶ 0017).
Regarding claim 11, BARRIEAU discloses the microcontroller is programmed to receive the measurement data of the charge level of the accumulators also during the charging of the accumulators (¶ 0044, 0053).
Regarding claim 12, BARRIEAU as modified by FRIEDRICH and VILHAUER teaches the microcontroller is programmed to alternately transmit, via the bus, a signal about charging to one accumulator from the established charging queue, to the charge level of the accumulator that is the closest one in the charging queue from the series of predetermined charge levels, but that is not less than the charge level of the next accumulator in the queue (this recitation was recited in the alternative in claim 10, and FRIEDRICH discloses the other alternative as described above).
Regarding claim 13, BARRIEAU as modified by FRIEDRICH and VILHAUER teaches the control unit of the wired security system as applied to claim 10, but fails to teach the microcontroller is programmed to determine the maximum amount of the charging current for each of the accumulators by supplying currents of different amounts to each of the accumulator-equipped devices, connected to the bus, while at the same time measuring a voltage for each of the amounts of the current at each of the devices followed by determining a greatest amount of the current for charging the accumulators that corresponds to a permissible voltage drop amount on the bus.
VILHAUER further discloses the microcontroller is programmed to determine the maximum amount of the charging current for each of the accumulators by supplying currents of different amounts to each of the accumulator-equipped devices, connected to the bus, while at the same time measuring a voltage for each of the amounts of the current at each of the devices followed by determining a greatest amount of the current for charging the accumulators that corresponds to a permissible voltage drop amount on the bus (¶ 0025, 0033-0035, 0051-0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining the maximum amount of charging current for each of the accumulators as recited in order to prevent voltage droop and therefore avoiding potential harm to the accumulator or other negative impacts on the devices (VILHAUER, ¶ 0017).
Regarding claim 14, BARRIEAU as modified by FRIEDRICH and VILHAUER teaches the control unit of the wired security system as applied to claim 10, but fails to teach the microcontroller is programmed to determine the maximum amount of the charging current for each of the accumulators by supplying currents of three different amounts and by measuring a maximum permissible voltage drop on all the devices.
VILHAUER further discloses the microcontroller is programmed to determine the maximum amount of the charging current for each of the accumulators by supplying currents of three different amounts and by measuring a maximum permissible voltage drop on all the devices (¶ 0025, 0033-0035, 0051-0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include determining the maximum amount of charging current for each of the accumulators as recited in order to prevent voltage droop and therefore avoiding potential harm to the accumulator or other negative impacts on the devices (VILHAUER, ¶ 0017).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 6/22/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859