DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits of application 18/491,026. Claims 1-21 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 12 recites the limitations “a chassis” in line 2 and “one or more vertical columns” in line 4 and also claims dependency to claim 1. Claim 1 already recites limitations for a chassis and one or more vertical columns. It is unclear if claim 12 is referring to the same chassis and one or more vertical columns claimed in claim 1, or if these are new limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 8951000 B2 (McIntosh et al.).
Regarding claim 1, McIntosh et al. disclose:
A lift device (410) for lifting an information processing device (“electronic components” line 2, abstract) relative to a chassis (400), comprising:
a body (530);
a drive unit comprising an actuator (700) and one or more output gears (“sprocket” col. 4, line 45) operably coupled to the body, the actuator operably coupled to drive rotation of the one or more output gears (“drive shaft 700 that controls the sprockets” col. 4, line 51); and
one or more bearing structures (“roller bearings” col. 4, line 45) attached to the body adjacent the one or more output gears;
wherein the lift device has an attached state in which the lift device is removably attached to and translatable vertically (figure 7) along one or more vertical columns (520) that are integral with or removably attached to the chassis and a detached state in which the lift device is detached from the one or more vertical columns (figure 5),
wherein in the attached state, each of the one or more output gears is engaged with a linear gear (“a series of notches can also be incorporated to work in concert with “Lift Shelf” sprockets.” Col. 4, lines 63-64, the notches constitute a linear gear) of one of the vertical columns (200) and each of the bearing structures movably bears against one of the vertical columns, such that:
the one or more vertical columns support the lift device via the one or more output gears and the one or more bearing structures (figure 7); and
rotation of the one or more output gears (sprockets) drives vertical translation of the lift device relative to the chassis.
Regarding claim 2, McIntosh et al. further disclose:
the body comprising:
a bottom surface (annotated figure 7) adjacent to the one or more bearing structures;
a top surface (annotated figure 7) spaced from and opposite the bottom surface;
a support surface (annotated figure 7) extending between the bottom surface and the top surface; and
a rear surface (annotated figure 7) spaced from and opposite the support surface and extending between the bottom surface and the top surface;
wherein the support surface is vertical and parallel to a vertical axis of the chassis in the detached state (in the detached state the support surface can be positioned such that the support surface is vertical) and is horizontal and perpendicular to the vertical axis in the attached state; and
wherein the support surface is configured to receive and support one or more information processing devices (electronic components) for installation into the chassis (400) or removal from the chassis when the lift device is in the attached state (state shown in figure 7).
Figure 7 of McIntosh et al., annotated by the Examiner
Regarding claim 8, McIntosh et al. further disclose:
wherein each of the one or more vertical columns (520) comprises:
a linear gear (notches) on a first side (annotated figure 7) of the vertical column to engage with the one or more output gears in the attached state, and
a bearing surface (flat, vertical surface of the second side) on a second side (annotated figure 7) of the vertical column to engage with the one or more bearing structures in the attached state, the first side spaced from and opposite the second side.
Regarding claim 9, McIntosh et al. further disclose:
the one or more vertical columns comprising a first vertical column (left 520, figure 7) and a second vertical column (right 520, figure 7);
the one or more output gears comprising a first group of output gears (on left side of 530, figure 7, sprockets within channels of vertical columns 520 and not shown) spaced from and opposite a second group of output gears (on right side of 530); and the one or more bearing structures comprising a first group of bearing structures (on left side of 530) spaced from and opposite a second group of bearing structures (on right side of 530);
wherein the first group of bearing structures is adjacent the first group of output gears and the second group of bearing structures is adjacent the second group of output gears;
wherein the first group of output gears and the first group of bearing structures respectively engage the linear gear and the bearing surface of the first vertical column in the attached state (left side sprocket and roller bearings engage the linear gear and bearing surface of the left vertical column); and
wherein the second group of output gears and the second group of bearing structures respectively engage the linear gear and the bearing surface of the second vertical column in the attached state (right side sprocket and roller bearings engage the linear gear and bearing surface of the right vertical column.
Regarding claim 10, McIntosh et al. further disclose:
A system for lifting an information processing device relative to a chassis (400), comprising:
the lift device of claim 1; and
the one or more vertical columns (520), wherein the one or more vertical columns are configured to be removably attached to the chassis (figure 5).
Regarding claim 11, McIntosh et al. further disclose:
wherein the one or more vertical columns are collapsible (“Each lift rail 520 may either be a single unit that spans the entire height of the rack, or can alternatively be broken up into multiple interlocking segments which are smaller and easier to store and handle.” Col. 4, lines 22-25).
Regarding claim 12, McIntosh et al. further disclose:
A chassis system, comprising:
a chassis (400) configured to receive a plurality of information processing devices in a vertically stacked arrangement (“rack 400 can be a conventional rack or the multipurpose rack as was discussed in FIGS. 1 through 3.” Col. 3, lines 63-64, a conventional rack houses information processing devices in a vertically stacked arrangement); one or more vertical columns (520) which are part of, or removably attached to, the chassis; and
the lift device of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, McIntosh et al. further disclose:
wherein the one or more vertical columns are integral with the chassis (title, “Enhanced Computer Rack Having An Integrated Lift Rail And/or Tool Design”).
Regarding claim 14, McIntosh et al. further disclose:
wherein the one or more vertical columns are removably attached to the chassis (“The mounting of the lift rail to the rack is accomplished by a variety of methods as known to those skilled in the art that can include its mounting via fasteners at the top, mid point and bottom of the lift rail.” col. 4, lines 29-32).
Regarding claim 15, McIntosh et al. disclose:
A method for installation or removal of an information processing device (“electronic components” line 2, abstract) from a chassis (400) configured to house multiple information processing devices, the method comprising:
providing a lift device (530) comprising a body (640), a drive unit (650) comprising an actuator (700) and one or more output gears (“sprocket” col. 4, line 45) operably coupled to the body, the actuator operably coupled to drive rotation of the one or more output gears (“drive shaft 700 that controls the sprockets” col. 4, line 51); and
one or more bearing structures (“roller bearings” col. 4, line 45) attached to the body adjacent the one or more output gears (“The lift mechanism 650 can be further comprised of a sprocket and roller bearings on each side of the lift shelf,” col. 4, lines 44-45);
transporting the lift device to a position adjacent a chassis with one or more vertical columns (520) that are part of or removably attached to the chassis, each of the one or more vertical columns comprising a linear gear (“a series of notches can also be incorporated to work in concert with “Lift Shelf” sprockets.” Col. 4, lines 63-64, the notches constitute a linear gear) on a first side (annotated figure 7) of the vertical column and a bearing surface on a second side (annotated figure 7) of the vertical column;
attaching the lift device to the one or more vertical columns by engaging each of the one or more output gears (sprockets) with the one or more linear gears (notches) of the one or more vertical columns and positioning each of the one or more bearing structures to movably bear against the bearing surface of the one or more vertical columns (attached position with the sprockets and roller bearings connecting with vertical columns shown in figure 7);
translating the lift device vertically (lifting motion) along the one or more vertical columns by driving rotation of the one or more output gears (via drive shaft 700), wherein during the translation the one or more vertical columns support the lift device via the one or more output gears and bearing structures; and
detaching the lift device from the chassis (figure 5).
Regarding claim 16, McIntosh et al. further disclose:
prior to attaching the lift device to the one or more vertical columns, removably attaching the one or more vertical columns to the chassis (“The mounting of the lift rail to the rack is accomplished by a variety of methods as known to those skilled in the art” col. 4, lines 29-31).
Regarding claim 17, McIntosh et al. further disclose:
wherein the one or more vertical columns are integral with the chassis (title, “Enhanced Computer Rack Having An Integrated Lift Rail And/or Tool Design”).
Regarding claim 20, McIntosh et al. further disclose:
providing a given information processing device (“electronic component”);
loading the given information processing device onto the lift device in a first position (on support surface of lift device 530 at lower end of lift rails 520);
translating the lift device vertically to a second position corresponding to an installation location for the given information processing device in the chassis, the second position being higher than the first position (“for lifting objects” claim 1, line 9); and
installing the given information processing device into the installation location in the chassis by horizontally translating the information processing device off the lift device (“sliding them into said rack.” Claim 1, lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 21, McIntosh et al. further disclose:
translating the lift device (530) vertically to a third position corresponding to an installation position at which a given information processing device is installed in the chassis;
removing the given information processing device from the chassis (“It can also be used as a removal tool when appropriate and as needed.” Col. 4, lines 6-7) and horizontally translating the given information processing device onto the lift device (“The lift platform can be comprised of a low friction material to allow for heavy objects to be easily transferred on and off the platform.” Col. 4, lines 36-37);
translating the lift device vertically to a first position that is lower than the third position; and unloading the given information processing device from the lift device (lowering and unloading are part of the removal process).
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 7281607 B1 (Kiraly).
Regarding claim 1, Kiraly discloses:
A lift device (50) for lifting an information processing device (the lift is capable of lifting an information processing device) relative to a chassis (900), comprising:
a body (610);
a drive unit comprising an actuator (620) and one or more output gears (500, 520) operably coupled to the body, the actuator operably coupled to drive rotation of the one or more output gears; and
one or more bearing structures (300) attached to the body adjacent the one or more output gears;
wherein the lift device has an attached state in which the lift device is removably attached to and translatable vertically (figure 5B) along one or more vertical columns (200) that are integral with or removably attached to the chassis (col. 3, lines 20-21, “elevating device 50 is able to be either temporarily or permanently mounted to an independent or desired surface of an object or structure.”) and a detached state in which the lift device is detached from the one or more vertical columns,
wherein in the attached state, each of the one or more output gears is engaged with a linear gear (257) of one of the vertical columns (200) and each of the bearing structures movably bears against one of the vertical columns, such that:
the one or more vertical columns support the lift device via the one or more output gears and the one or more bearing structures (610 is supported on 200 by 500 and 300); and
rotation of the one or more output gears (500, 520) drives vertical translation of the lift device relative to the chassis.
Regarding claim 3, Kiraly further discloses:
the drive unit comprising a worm drive (col. 5, lines 11-12, “gear 500 is a combination of a worm gear and a planetary gear”) including a worm screw (worm gear) operably coupled to the actuator (620) and a worm wheel (planetary gear) engaged with the worm screw, the worm wheel being one of the one or more output gears.
Regarding claim 4, Kiraly further discloses:
wherein the actuator comprises an electrically powered actuator (620 is an electric motor) and the lift device further comprises a power source (635) to power the electrically powered actuator.
Regarding claim 5, Kiraly further discloses:
the power source comprising a rechargeable battery that is removably attached to the lift device (col. 5, line 46, “635 is a battery pack” the battery pack is removably attached to the body 610).
Regarding claim 6, Kiraly further discloses:
wherein the one or more bearing structures comprise wheels, rollers, and/or skids (300 comprises slide bars, i.e. skids, 360, 370).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious all of the limitations of the claim. McIntosh et al. teach a lift device for lifting an information processing device relative to a chassis including all of the limitations of independent claim 1. The bearing structures of McIntosh et al. are not positioned on the body to bear against a ground surface to support and facilitate movement of the lift device about the ground surface in the detached state. Movement of the lift device body in the detached state is not discussed in McIntosh et al., and the handles shown on the sides of the body indicate that the body is intended to be carried or otherwise manually manipulated by a user and not supported for movement on the ground surface by the bearing structures. The lift device of Kiraly is similarly not intended to be supported for movement in the detached state about a ground surface while supported by the bearing structures.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious all of the limitations of the claim. McIntosh et al. teach the method of claim 15m however, McIntosh et al. are silent to the method of attaching the lift device to the chassis. The method claimed in claim 18 includes steps detailing the position and movement of the bearing structures relative to the vertical columns that are not reasonably taught by the prior art. Claim 19 depends from claim 18 and would likewise be allowable if rewritten in independent form.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-3945510-A, US-6065821-A, US-6524052-B1, WO-02059020-A1, WO-2025077145-A1, US-20230303370-A1, CN-217217125-U, and CN-218998542-U are cited to show racks with lifting capabilities. US-4265583-A, US-4269285-A, US-7090457-B2, US-20080131241-A1, and CN-116462132-A are cited to show methods for lifting electronic components into racks or chassis. US-9796395-B2 is cited to show lifting mechanism with gears and a worm gear. US-11806582-B1 is cited to show a detachable lifting system
/M.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654