DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Royale et al. (US 2020/0178749 A1) hereinafter Royale.
Regarding claim 1, Royale teaches an accessory tool (142) for an extraction cleaner (10) having an accessory hose (28, 128) with a wand (144), a fluid delivery system (12), and a fluid recovery system (14) (Figs. 1-8; paras. (0030—0037) the accessory tool comprising:
a lens (164) (Fig. 8, paras. 0062-0063);
a tool body (160) connectable to said fluid delivery system and said fluid recovery system via said accessory hose (Figs. 1 and 8; para. 0062-0063) wherein the lens (164) is coupled with the tool body (160) to form a suction nozzle volume (150) (Fig. 7) between the lens and a rear tool wall (166), and wherein the rear tool wall at least partially defines a fluid channel opposite the lens and in fluid communication with the suction nozzle volume (Fig. 8, para. 0063)
a spray tip (178) (Fig. 9, para. 0065) configured to dispense a cleaning fluid from said fluid delivery system onto a surface during a spray mode of said extraction cleaner (para. 0037; Figs. 1 and 8); and
a cleanout assembly (formed by elements 194, 190, 180) coupled to the tool body and configured to selectively divert the cleaning fluid from the spray tip and into the fluid channel during a clean out mode of said extraction cleaner to thereby clean the lens and the accessory hose (Figs. 8-11; paras. 0066-0071).
Regarding claim 2, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Royale further teaches the rear tool wall (166) is positioned opposite the lens, and wherein the fluid channel is arranged parallel to and adjacent to a nozzle opening to the suction nozzle volume (Fig. 8, para. 0063).
Regarding claim 3, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Royale further teaches a tool actuator (234) operably coupled to the tool body (Figs. 8-7; para. 0075), wherein a spray actuator (240) (Figs. 7-8; paras. 0078-0079) of said wand is configured to dispense the cleaning fluid from said fluid delivery system to the spray tip during the spray mode, and wherein the tool actuator is configured to selectively divert the cleaning fluid from the spray tip during the clean out mode (paras 0075-0078; Figs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 4, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 3. Royale further teaches the cleanout assembly includes a diverter sleeve (236) (connected to the tool actuator and configured to translate over the spray tip in response to an actuating force imparted by the tool actuator (Fig. 8; para. 0075).
Regarding claim 5, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 4. Royale further teaches the tool actuator includes a lever feature (234) operably coupled to the tool body (Figs. 8-7; para. 0075).
Regarding claim 6, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Royale further teaches the cleanout assembly includes a rinse tip (180) configured to conduct the cleaning fluid toward and into the fluid channel during the clean out mode (para. 006; Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Royale further teaches the rinse tip defines a fluid passage that intersects the fluid channel and directs the cleaning fluid into the fluid channel (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Royale further teaches the fluid channel is configured to create low-pressure zones adjacent to the suction nozzle volume to thereby distribute the cleaning fluid across a width of the tool body when a suction force is applied to the suction nozzle volume (Fig. 8, paras. 0063 and 0080).
Regarding claim 9, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 8. Royale further teaches the fluid channel includes one or more depressions in an airflow pathway of the suction nozzle volume (Fig. 8, para. 0066).
Regarding claim 10, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Royale further teaches the fluid channel includes a radiused channel portion and a sloped wall (170) that is contiguous with the radiused channel portion (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Royale teaches an accessory tool (142) for an extraction cleaner (10) having an accessory hose (28, 128) with a wand (144) including a spray actuator (240), a fluid delivery system (12), and a fluid recovery system (14) (Figs. 1-8; paras. (0030—0037) the accessory tool comprising:
a lens (164) (Fig. 8, paras. 0062-0063);
a tool body (160) connectable to said fluid delivery system and said fluid recovery system via said accessory hose (Figs. 1 and 8; para. 0062-0063) wherein the lens (164) is coupled with the tool body (160) to form a suction nozzle volume (150) therebetween
a spray tip (178) configured to dispense a cleaning fluid from said fluid delivery system in response to actuation of said spray actuator (240) (Fig. 8, para. 0066); a cleanout assembly (formed by elements 194, 190, 180) configured to selectively divert the cleaning fluid from the spray tip and into the suction nozzle volume (150) to thereby clean the lens and the accessory hose (Figs. 8-11; paras. 0066-0071),
the cleanout assembly includes:
a diverter sleeve (236) slidable between a spray position and a clean out position (para. 0075; Fig. 8), wherein the cleaning fluid is dispensed from the spray tip to a surface when the diverter sleeve is in the spray position, and wherein the cleaning fluid is diverted from the spray tip into the suction nozzle volume when the diverter sleeve is in the clean out position (Fig. 8-11; paras. 0075-0076); and
a rinse tip (180) (Fig. 8, para. 0065-0067) wherein the rinse tip is configured to conduct the cleaning fluid into the suction nozzle volume when the diverter sleeve is in the clean out position (Fig. 8, para. 0065-0067); and
a tool actuator (234) operably coupled to the tool body (Fig. 8), wherein the tool actuator is operably coupled to the diverter sleeve and configured to move the diverter sleeve between the spray position and the clean out position (paras 0075-0076).
Regarding claim 12, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 11. Royale further teaches the tool actuator includes a slidable lever operably coupled to the tool body (Fig. 8; para. 0075).
Regarding claim 13, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 11. Royale further teaches the tool body includes a rear tool wall (166) that at least partially defines a fluid channel (168), and wherein the rinse tip defines a fluid passage (Fig. 8) that intersects the fluid channel (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 13. Royale further teaches the fluid channel is configured to create low-pressure zones adjacent to the suction nozzle volume to distribute the cleaning fluid across a width of the tool body when a suction force is applied to the suction nozzle volume (para. 0066; Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 15, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 14. Royale further teaches the fluid channel includes depressions in an airflow pathway of the suction nozzle volume (Fig. 8, para. 0066).
Regarding claim 16, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 14. Royale further teaches the fluid channel includes a radiused channel portion and a sloped wall (170) that is contiguous with the radiused channel portion (Fig. 8; paras. 0063 and 0066).
Regarding claim 17, Royale teaches an extraction cleaner (10), comprising:
an accessory hose (28) Figs. 1 and 8; para. 0034)
a fluid delivery system (12) (Fig. 1; paras. 0030-0031);
a fluid recovery system (14) (Fig. 1; paras. 0030-0031); and an accessory tool comprising:
a lens (164) (Fig. 8; para. 0063)
a tool body (142) connectable to the fluid delivery system (12) and the fluid recovery system (14) via the accessory hose (28), wherein the lens couples to the tool body to form a suction nozzle volume (150) therebetween (Fig. 7, para. 0061) the tool body comprises a rear wall (166) (Fig. 8, para. 0063) that defines a transverse fluid channel (168) (Fig. 8, para. 0063), and wherein the transverse fluid channel is arranged parallel to and adjacent to a nozzle opening of the suction nozzle volume (Figs. 7-8);
a spray tip (178) (Fig. 9, para. 0065) configured to dispense a cleaning fluid from the fluid delivery system onto a surface during a spray mode of said extraction cleaner; and;
a cleanout assembly (formed by elements 194, 190, 180) configured to selectively divert the cleaning fluid from the spray tip and into the suction nozzle (150) via the transverse fluid channel during a clean out mode of said extraction cleaner to thereby clean the lens and the accessory hose (Figs. 8-11; paras. 0066-0071).
Regarding claim 18, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 17. Royale further teaches a wand (144) coupled to the accessory hose and including a first actuator (234); and a second actuator (240) operably coupled to the tool body (Fig. 8; paras. 0075 and 0078), wherein the first actuator is configured to conduct the cleaning fluid from the fluid delivery system to the spray tip during the spray mode (para. 0076), wherein the second actuator is configured to selectively divert the cleaning fluid from the spray tip during the clean out mode, and wherein the cleanout assembly includes a diverter sleeve connected to the second actuator that is configured to translate over the spray tip in response to an actuating force from the second actuator (para. 0079).
Regarding claim 19, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 17. Royale further teaches the cleanout assembly includes a rinse tip (180) configured to conduct the cleaning fluid toward and into the transverse fluid channel during the clean out mode, and wherein the rinse tip defines a fluid passage (Fig. 8) that intersects the transverse fluid channel (para. 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 20, Royale teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 17. Royale further teaches the transverse fluid channel is configured to create low-pressure zones adjacent to the suction nozzle volume to distribute the cleaning fluid across a width of the tool body when a suction force is applied to the suction nozzle volume (Fig. 8, para. 0063), and wherein the transverse fluid channel includes a radiused channel (at 166) portion and a sloped wall (at 170) that is contiguous with the radiused channel portion (Fig. 8, para. 0063).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10,188,252 B2 substantially discloses the features of clams 1, 11 and 17.
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745