DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, line 7, “the uplink BWPS” should be changed to “the plurality of uplink BWPs”.
Claim 16, line 9, “, ,” should be changed to “,”. Lines 9-10, “the initial uplink BWP” should be changed to “the deactivated initial uplink BWP”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-13, 14-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the source cell" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the source cell" and “the PCell” in lines 2 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the transmitting the at least one signal" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the deactivated initial uplink BWP" in lines 2 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the starting PRB" and “the deactivated initial uplink BWP” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the source cell" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the source cell" and “the PCell” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the PCell" in line 10 and 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the configuration parameters" and “the candidate cell” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 is similarly rejected as claim 12 as it depends from claim 12 and includes all the limitations of claim 12
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the candidate cell" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the source cell" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the starting PRB" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11, 14-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230199571 A1 to Babaei (hereinafter “Babaei”).
As per claim 1, Babaei discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising configuration parameters of a candidate cell for a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) procedure (Babaei [0104] FIG. 12B shows an example of a contention-free random access (CFRA) process. Msg 1 (random access preamble) and Msg 2 (random access response) in FIG. 12B for CFRA may be analogous to Msg 1 and Msg 2 in FIG. 12A for CBRA. In an example, the CFRA procedure may be initiated in response to a PDCCH order from a base station. The PDCCH order for initiating the CFRA procedure by the wireless device may be based on a DCI having a first format (e.g., format 1_0). The DCI for the PDCCH order may comprise a random access preamble index, an UL/SUL indicator indicating an uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., normal uplink carrier or supplementary uplink carrier) for transmission of the random access preamble, a SS/PBCH index indicating the SS/PBCH that may be used to determine a RACH occasion for PRACH transmission, a PRACH mask index indicating the RACH occasion associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for PRACH transmission, etc. In an example, the CFRA process may be started in response to a beam failure recovery process. The wireless device may start the CFRA for the beam failure recovery without a command (e.g., PDCCH order) from the base station and by using the wireless device dedicated resources. [0139] Example embodiments may enable mechanism and procedures of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility, for example for mobility latency reduction. In example embodiments, multiple candidate cells may be configured/pre-configured and the configurations of the multiple candidate cells may be maintained to allow fast application of configurations for candidate cells in response to L1/L2 signaling. In example embodiments, dynamic switch/mobility (e.g., mobility, e.g., inter-cell mobility) mechanisms among candidate serving cells (including SpCell and SCell) based on L1/L2 signaling may be enabled. See also [0102]), wherein the configuration parameters indicate a frequency resource associated with an early uplink synchronization procedure of the candidate cell (Babaei [0104] FIG. 12B shows an example of a contention-free random access (CFRA) process. Msg 1 (random access preamble) and Msg 2 (random access response) in FIG. 12B for CFRA may be analogous to Msg 1 and Msg 2 in FIG. 12A for CBRA. In an example, the CFRA procedure may be initiated in response to a PDCCH order from a base station. The PDCCH order for initiating the CFRA procedure by the wireless device may be based on a DCI having a first format (e.g., format 1_0). The DCI for the PDCCH order may comprise a random access preamble index, an UL/SUL indicator indicating an uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., normal uplink carrier or supplementary uplink carrier) for transmission of the random access preamble, a SS/PBCH index indicating the SS/PBCH that may be used to determine a RACH occasion for PRACH transmission, a PRACH mask index indicating the RACH occasion associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for PRACH transmission, etc. In an example, the CFRA process may be started in response to a beam failure recovery process. The wireless device may start the CFRA for the beam failure recovery without a command (e.g., PDCCH order) from the base station and by using the wireless device dedicated resources. [0139] Example embodiments may enable mechanism and procedures of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility, for example for mobility latency reduction. In example embodiments, multiple candidate cells may be configured/pre-configured and the configurations of the multiple candidate cells may be maintained to allow fast application of configurations for candidate cells in response to L1/L2 signaling. In example embodiments, dynamic switch/mobility (e.g., mobility, e.g., inter-cell mobility) mechanisms among candidate serving cells (including SpCell and SCell) based on L1/L2 signaling may be enabled. See also [0102]); receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order indicating a transmission of a preamble via the candidate cell for the early uplink synchronization procedure (Babaei [0104] FIG. 12B shows an example of a contention-free random access (CFRA) process. Msg 1 (random access preamble) and Msg 2 (random access response) in FIG. 12B for CFRA may be analogous to Msg 1 and Msg 2 in FIG. 12A for CBRA. In an example, the CFRA procedure may be initiated in response to a PDCCH order from a base station. The PDCCH order for initiating the CFRA procedure by the wireless device may be based on a DCI having a first format (e.g., format 1_0). The DCI for the PDCCH order may comprise a random access preamble index, an UL/SUL indicator indicating an uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., normal uplink carrier or supplementary uplink carrier) for transmission of the random access preamble, a SS/PBCH index indicating the SS/PBCH that may be used to determine a RACH occasion for PRACH transmission, a PRACH mask index indicating the RACH occasion associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for PRACH transmission, etc. In an example, the CFRA process may be started in response to a beam failure recovery process. The wireless device may start the CFRA for the beam failure recovery without a command (e.g., PDCCH order) from the base station and by using the wireless device dedicated resources. [0139] Example embodiments may enable mechanism and procedures of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility, for example for mobility latency reduction. In example embodiments, multiple candidate cells may be configured/pre-configured and the configurations of the multiple candidate cells may be maintained to allow fast application of configurations for candidate cells in response to L1/L2 signaling. In example embodiments, dynamic switch/mobility (e.g., mobility, e.g., inter-cell mobility) mechanisms among candidate serving cells (including SpCell and SCell) based on L1/L2 signaling may be enabled. See also [0102]); transmitting, via the frequency resource of the candidate cell, the preamble (Babaei [0104] FIG. 12B shows an example of a contention-free random access (CFRA) process. Msg 1 (random access preamble) and Msg 2 (random access response) in FIG. 12B for CFRA may be analogous to Msg 1 and Msg 2 in FIG. 12A for CBRA. In an example, the CFRA procedure may be initiated in response to a PDCCH order from a base station. The PDCCH order for initiating the CFRA procedure by the wireless device may be based on a DCI having a first format (e.g., format 1_0). The DCI for the PDCCH order may comprise a random access preamble index, an UL/SUL indicator indicating an uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., normal uplink carrier or supplementary uplink carrier) for transmission of the random access preamble, a SS/PBCH index indicating the SS/PBCH that may be used to determine a RACH occasion for PRACH transmission, a PRACH mask index indicating the RACH occasion associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for PRACH transmission, etc. In an example, the CFRA process may be started in response to a beam failure recovery process. The wireless device may start the CFRA for the beam failure recovery without a command (e.g., PDCCH order) from the base station and by using the wireless device dedicated resources. [0139] Example embodiments may enable mechanism and procedures of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility, for example for mobility latency reduction. In example embodiments, multiple candidate cells may be configured/pre-configured and the configurations of the multiple candidate cells may be maintained to allow fast application of configurations for candidate cells in response to L1/L2 signaling. In example embodiments, dynamic switch/mobility (e.g., mobility, e.g., inter-cell mobility) mechanisms among candidate serving cells (including SpCell and SCell) based on L1/L2 signaling may be enabled. See also [0101-0104]); and receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating switching from the source cell to the candidate cell for the LTM procedure (Babaei [0193-0194]).
As per claim 2, Babaei disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration parameters indicate an initial uplink bandwidth part of the candidate cell (Babaei [0094,0145]).
As per claim 3, Babaei discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: activating, based on switching from the source cell to the candidate cell as the PCell, the initial uplink BWP of the candidate cell (Babaei [0091-094,0139,0176,0241]); and transmitting at least one signal via the activated initial uplink BWP of the PCell (Babaei [0091-094,0139,0176,0241]).
As per claim 4, Babaei discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the MAC CE further indicates a time alignment command (TAC) for the candidate cell, and wherein the transmitting the at least one signal is based on the TAC (Babaei [0157-0159,0164,0193]).
As per claim 7, Babaei discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the PDCCH order comprises a cell indication indicating the candidate cell (Babaei [0104,0239]).
As per claim 8, Babaei discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the PDCCH order comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) index indicating a SSB of a plurality of SSBs of the candidate cell (Babaei [0104,0239]).
As per claim 9, Babaei discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the source cell and the candidate cell are in different time alignment groups (TAGs) (Babaei [0156-0160]).
As per claim 11, Babaei discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, configuration parameters of a plurality of cells comprising a first cell and a second cell (Babaei [0104] FIG. 12B shows an example of a contention-free random access (CFRA) process. Msg 1 (random access preamble) and Msg 2 (random access response) in FIG. 12B for CFRA may be analogous to Msg 1 and Msg 2 in FIG. 12A for CBRA. In an example, the CFRA procedure may be initiated in response to a PDCCH order from a base station. The PDCCH order for initiating the CFRA procedure by the wireless device may be based on a DCI having a first format (e.g., format 1_0). The DCI for the PDCCH order may comprise a random access preamble index, an UL/SUL indicator indicating an uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., normal uplink carrier or supplementary uplink carrier) for transmission of the random access preamble, a SS/PBCH index indicating the SS/PBCH that may be used to determine a RACH occasion for PRACH transmission, a PRACH mask index indicating the RACH occasion associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for PRACH transmission, etc. In an example, the CFRA process may be started in response to a beam failure recovery process. The wireless device may start the CFRA for the beam failure recovery without a command (e.g., PDCCH order) from the base station and by using the wireless device dedicated resources. [0139] Example embodiments may enable mechanism and procedures of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility, for example for mobility latency reduction. In example embodiments, multiple candidate cells may be configured/pre-configured and the configurations of the multiple candidate cells may be maintained to allow fast application of configurations for candidate cells in response to L1/L2 signaling. In example embodiments, dynamic switch/mobility (e.g., mobility, e.g., inter-cell mobility) mechanisms among candidate serving cells (including SpCell and SCell) based on L1/L2 signaling may be enabled. See also [0102]), wherein the second cell comprises a plurality of uplink bandwidth parts (BWPs) comprising an initial uplink BWP (Babaei [0094,0145]); receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order indicating a transmission of a preamble via the second cell (Babaei [0104] FIG. 12B shows an example of a contention-free random access (CFRA) process. Msg 1 (random access preamble) and Msg 2 (random access response) in FIG. 12B for CFRA may be analogous to Msg 1 and Msg 2 in FIG. 12A for CBRA. In an example, the CFRA procedure may be initiated in response to a PDCCH order from a base station. The PDCCH order for initiating the CFRA procedure by the wireless device may be based on a DCI having a first format (e.g., format 1_0). The DCI for the PDCCH order may comprise a random access preamble index, an UL/SUL indicator indicating an uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., normal uplink carrier or supplementary uplink carrier) for transmission of the random access preamble, a SS/PBCH index indicating the SS/PBCH that may be used to determine a RACH occasion for PRACH transmission, a PRACH mask index indicating the RACH occasion associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for PRACH transmission, etc. In an example, the CFRA process may be started in response to a beam failure recovery process. The wireless device may start the CFRA for the beam failure recovery without a command (e.g., PDCCH order) from the base station and by using the wireless device dedicated resources. [0139] Example embodiments may enable mechanism and procedures of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility, for example for mobility latency reduction. In example embodiments, multiple candidate cells may be configured/pre-configured and the configurations of the multiple candidate cells may be maintained to allow fast application of configurations for candidate cells in response to L1/L2 signaling. In example embodiments, dynamic switch/mobility (e.g., mobility, e.g., inter-cell mobility) mechanisms among candidate serving cells (including SpCell and SCell) based on L1/L2 signaling may be enabled. See also [0102]); transmitting the preamble via the initial uplink BWP of the uplink BWPs, wherein the initial uplink BWP is deactivated(Babaei [0091-094,0097-0098,0139,0176,0241]); receiving, via the first cell, a control element indicating: switching the PCell from the first cell to the second cell (Babaei [0193-0194]); and a time alignment command (TAC) for the second cell (Babaei [0157-0159,0164,0193]); and switching the PCell to the second cell, wherein the switching comprises: activating the initial uplink BWP (Babaei [0091-094,0139,0176,0193-0194,0241]); and transmitting, based on the TAC, at least one signal via the initial uplink BWP (Babaei [0157-0159,0164,0193]).
As per claim 14, Babaei discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the PDCCH order comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) index indicating a SSB of a plurality of SSBs of the candidate cell (Babaei [0104,0239]).
As per claim 15, Babaei discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the source cell and the candidate cell are in different time alignment groups (TAGs) (Babaei [0156-0160]).
As per claim 16, Babaei discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order indicating a transmission of a preamble via a candidate cell for a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) procedure (Babaei [0104] FIG. 12B shows an example of a contention-free random access (CFRA) process. Msg 1 (random access preamble) and Msg 2 (random access response) in FIG. 12B for CFRA may be analogous to Msg 1 and Msg 2 in FIG. 12A for CBRA. In an example, the CFRA procedure may be initiated in response to a PDCCH order from a base station. The PDCCH order for initiating the CFRA procedure by the wireless device may be based on a DCI having a first format (e.g., format 1_0). The DCI for the PDCCH order may comprise a random access preamble index, an UL/SUL indicator indicating an uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., normal uplink carrier or supplementary uplink carrier) for transmission of the random access preamble, a SS/PBCH index indicating the SS/PBCH that may be used to determine a RACH occasion for PRACH transmission, a PRACH mask index indicating the RACH occasion associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for PRACH transmission, etc. In an example, the CFRA process may be started in response to a beam failure recovery process. The wireless device may start the CFRA for the beam failure recovery without a command (e.g., PDCCH order) from the base station and by using the wireless device dedicated resources. [0139] Example embodiments may enable mechanism and procedures of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility, for example for mobility latency reduction. In example embodiments, multiple candidate cells may be configured/pre-configured and the configurations of the multiple candidate cells may be maintained to allow fast application of configurations for candidate cells in response to L1/L2 signaling. In example embodiments, dynamic switch/mobility (e.g., mobility, e.g., inter-cell mobility) mechanisms among candidate serving cells (including SpCell and SCell) based on L1/L2 signaling may be enabled. See also [0102]); transmitting, based on the PDCCH order, the preamble via a deactivated initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) of a plurality of uplink BWPs of the candidate cell (Babaei [0104] FIG. 12B shows an example of a contention-free random access (CFRA) process. Msg 1 (random access preamble) and Msg 2 (random access response) in FIG. 12B for CFRA may be analogous to Msg 1 and Msg 2 in FIG. 12A for CBRA. In an example, the CFRA procedure may be initiated in response to a PDCCH order from a base station. The PDCCH order for initiating the CFRA procedure by the wireless device may be based on a DCI having a first format (e.g., format 1_0). The DCI for the PDCCH order may comprise a random access preamble index, an UL/SUL indicator indicating an uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., normal uplink carrier or supplementary uplink carrier) for transmission of the random access preamble, a SS/PBCH index indicating the SS/PBCH that may be used to determine a RACH occasion for PRACH transmission, a PRACH mask index indicating the RACH occasion associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for PRACH transmission, etc. In an example, the CFRA process may be started in response to a beam failure recovery process. The wireless device may start the CFRA for the beam failure recovery without a command (e.g., PDCCH order) from the base station and by using the wireless device dedicated resources. [0139] Example embodiments may enable mechanism and procedures of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility, for example for mobility latency reduction. In example embodiments, multiple candidate cells may be configured/pre-configured and the configurations of the multiple candidate cells may be maintained to allow fast application of configurations for candidate cells in response to L1/L2 signaling. In example embodiments, dynamic switch/mobility (e.g., mobility, e.g., inter-cell mobility) mechanisms among candidate serving cells (including SpCell and SCell) based on L1/L2 signaling may be enabled. See also [0102, 0094,0145, 0091-094,0097-0098,0139,0176,0241]); receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating switching from a source cell to the candidate cell as a primary cell (PCell) for the LTM procedure (Babaei [0193-0194]); activating, based on switching from the source cell to the candidate cell as the PCell, the initial uplink BWP of the candidate cell (Babaei [0091-094,0139,0176,0241]); and transmitting at least one signal via the activated initial uplink BWP (Babaei [0104] FIG. 12B shows an example of a contention-free random access (CFRA) process. Msg 1 (random access preamble) and Msg 2 (random access response) in FIG. 12B for CFRA may be analogous to Msg 1 and Msg 2 in FIG. 12A for CBRA. In an example, the CFRA procedure may be initiated in response to a PDCCH order from a base station. The PDCCH order for initiating the CFRA procedure by the wireless device may be based on a DCI having a first format (e.g., format 1_0). The DCI for the PDCCH order may comprise a random access preamble index, an UL/SUL indicator indicating an uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., normal uplink carrier or supplementary uplink carrier) for transmission of the random access preamble, a SS/PBCH index indicating the SS/PBCH that may be used to determine a RACH occasion for PRACH transmission, a PRACH mask index indicating the RACH occasion associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by the SS/PBCH index for PRACH transmission, etc. In an example, the CFRA process may be started in response to a beam failure recovery process. The wireless device may start the CFRA for the beam failure recovery without a command (e.g., PDCCH order) from the base station and by using the wireless device dedicated resources. [0139] Example embodiments may enable mechanism and procedures of L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility, for example for mobility latency reduction. In example embodiments, multiple candidate cells may be configured/pre-configured and the configurations of the multiple candidate cells may be maintained to allow fast application of configurations for candidate cells in response to L1/L2 signaling. In example embodiments, dynamic switch/mobility (e.g., mobility, e.g., inter-cell mobility) mechanisms among candidate serving cells (including SpCell and SCell) based on L1/L2 signaling may be enabled. See also [0101-0104,0193-0194]).
As per claim 17, Babaei discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the MAC CE further indicates a time alignment command (TAC) for the candidate cell, and wherein the transmitting the at least one signal is based on the TAC (Babaei [0157-0159,0164,0193]).
As per claim 19, Babaei discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the PDCCH order comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) index indicating a SSB of a plurality of SSBs of the candidate cell (Babaei [0104,0239]).
As per claim 20, Babaei discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the source cell and the candidate cell are in different time alignment groups (TAGs).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 10, 12-13, and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476