DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 10/15/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claimed features are not mutually exclusive since the features “could co-exist in a single embodiment”. This is not found persuasive because while this may be true in the specification, this is not how they are claimed. These features are claimed separately which means that some claims require the features of one Species but do not require features of another Species and vice versa.
Applicant also argues that there is not a serious burden to searching different structural implementations within this narrow field. The examiner cannot agree. The field of OIS assemblies is extremely vast. The examiner has already shown that there is burden on page 3 of the election requirement mailed 8/15/2025 according to MPEP 808.02.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 20-24, 31-34, 36-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang (US 2021/0116673 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses
A lens driving apparatus comprising:
a lens holder (133; fig. 2) having a central opening so as to accommodate a lens (111; fig. 1);
a carrier (134; fig. 2) configured to accommodate the lens holder;
an optical image stabilization (OIS) driving magnet holder (132; fig. 2) having an OIS driving magnet (135a-135d; fig. 2) mounted thereon, supported by the carrier, coupled to the lens holder, and configured to be driven in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (X and Y direction; [0034]); and
an OIS driving coil (144a-144d; fig. 1) facing the OIS driving magnet at an interval, in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis and to a direction in which the OIS driving magnet is driven.
Regarding claim 2, Hwang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Hwang discloses, further comprising an auto focus (AF) driving part comprising an AF driving magnet (136; figs. 1-2) mounted on the carrier (134; fig. 2) and an AF driving coil (145; fig. 1) positioned to face the AF driving magnet, and configured to drive the lens holder in the optical axis direction ([0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Hwang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Hwang discloses, wherein the OIS driving magnet holder (132; fig. 2) comprises a first OIS driving magnet holder (Side of first carrier 132 where magnets 135c and 135d are mounted; fig. 2A) extending in a first direction (Y direction; fig. 2A) perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second OIS driving magnet holder (Side of first carrier 132 where magnets 135a and 135b are mounted; fig. 2A) extending in a second direction (X direction; fig. 2A) perpendicular to the optical axis direction and the first direction.
Regarding claim 20, Hwang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Hwang discloses, wherein an interval between the OIS driving magnet and the OIS driving coil is configured to be maintained uniformly when the OIS driving magnet holder is driven ([0032]; Guide grooves 132d, 133a, 133b, and 134e restrict the first carrier from moving in a direction other than the specified direction. This would inherently result in the gap between the coils and magnets being maintained throughout driving.).
Regarding claim 21, Hwang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Hwang discloses,
A portable electronic device (901; fig. 9; [0073]) comprising: a camera module (980; fig. 9) comprising the lens driving apparatus (130; fig. 1) of claim 1, a lens barrel (112; fig. 1) comprising the lens (111; fig. 1) disposed in the central opening of the lens holder, an image sensor (152; fig. 1) configured to convert light incident through the lens barrel into an electrical signal, and a housing (140; fig. 1) configured to accommodate the lens barrel and the lens driving apparatus.
Regarding claim 22, Hwang discloses
A camera module comprising:
a lens barrel (112; fig. 1) comprising a lens (111; fig. 1);
a lens holder (133; fig. 2) having a central opening in which the lens barrel is accommodated;
a carrier (134; fig. 2) configured to accommodate the lens holder;
an optical image stabilization (OIS) driving magnet holder (132; fig. 2) having an OIS driving magnet (135a-135d; fig. 2) mounted thereon, supported by the carrier, coupled to the lens holder, and configured to be driven in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (X and Y direction; [0034]); and
a housing (140; fig. 1) configured to accommodate the carrier and comprising an OIS driving coil (144a-144d; fig. 1; [0031]) facing the OIS driving magnet at an interval, in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis and to a direction in which the OIS driving magnet is driven.
Regarding claim 23, it recites similar limitations to claim 2 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 2).
Regarding claim 24, it recites similar limitations to claim 3 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 3).
Regarding claim 31, Hwang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 22), in addition, Hwang discloses,
A portable electronic device (901; fig. 9; [0073]) comprising: the camera module (980; fig. 9) of claim 22; and
an image sensor (152; fig. 1) configured to convert light incident through the lens barrel into an electrical signal,
wherein the image sensor is disposed below the housing of the camera module (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 32, Hwang discloses
A lens driving apparatus comprising: a lens holder (133; fig. 2) having a central opening to accommodate a lens (111; fig. 1);
a carrier (134; fig. 2) configured to accommodate the lens holder; and
an optical image stabilization (OIS) driver (Magnets 135a-135d and coils 144a-144d; figs. 1-2) configured to drive the lens holder in a first direction (Y direction; [0034]) perpendicular to the optical axis,
wherein the OIS driver comprises:
an OIS driving magnet (135c; fig. 2) disposed on the carrier and spaced apart from an OIS driving coil (144c; fig. 1) in a second direction (X direction) perpendicular to the optical axis by a gap, and
wherein the gap is maintained uniformly when the lens holder is driven in the first direction ([0032]; Guide grooves 132d, 133a, 133b, and 134e restrict the first carrier from moving in a direction other than the specified direction. This would inherently result in the gap between the coils and magnets being maintained throughout driving.).
Regarding claim 33, Hwang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 32), in addition, Hwang discloses, wherein the OIS driving magnet (135c; fig. 2) is disposed in an OIS driving magnet holder (132; fig. 2) supported by the carrier (134; fig. 2), coupled to the lens holder (Via cover 131; fig. 1; [0028]), and slide-driven in a third direction (Y direction; [0034]) relative to the carrier by interaction between the OIS driving magnet and the OIS driving coil.
Regarding claim 34, Hwang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 33), in addition, Hwang discloses, wherein the second direction (X direction) is the same as or different than the first direction (Y direction), the third direction (Y direction) is the same as or different than the first direction, and the third direction is perpendicular to the second direction (figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 36, Hwang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 32), in addition, Hwang discloses, wherein the OIS driver further comprises a second OIS driving magnet (135d; fig. 2) disposed on the carrier (134; fig. 2) and spaced apart from a second OIS driving coil (144d; fig. 1) in a third direction (X direction; figs. 1-2) perpendicular to the second direction by a second gap, and wherein the second gap is maintained uniformly when the lens holder is driven in the first direction ([0032]; Guide grooves 132d, 133a, 133b, and 134e restrict the first carrier from moving in a direction other than the specified direction. This would inherently result in the gap between the coils and magnets being maintained throughout driving.).
Regarding claim 37, Hwang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 32), in addition, Hwang discloses, further comprising an auto focus (AF) driving magnet (135; figs. 1-2) disposed on the carrier (134; fig. 2) and configured to be driven in the optical axis direction ([0034]).
Regarding claim 38, Hwang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 32), in addition, Hwang discloses, A portable electronic device (901; fig. 9; [0073]) comprising: a camera module (980; fig. 9) comprising the lens driving apparatus of claim 32, a lens barrel (112; fig. 1) comprising the lens (111; fig. 1) disposed in the central opening of the lens holder, an image sensor (152; fig. 1) configured to convert light incident through the lens barrel into an electrical signal, and a housing (140; fig. 1) configured to accommodate the lens barrel and the lens driving apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-12, 25-26, and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4, 25, and 35 the prior art of record fails to disclose the lens holder comprises a coupling groove extending in one direction, and the OIS driving magnet holder comprises a coupling arm inserted in the coupling groove.
Regarding claims 5-9, they depend from one of claim 4, claim 25, or claim 35 and therefore contain allowable subject matter for the same reasons as stated above (see claims 4, 25, and 35).
Regarding claims 10 and 26, the prior art of record fails to disclose that the OIS driving magnet holder comprises a coupling groove extending in one direction, and the lens holder comprises a coupling arm inserted in the coupling groove.
Regarding claims 11-12 they depend from one of claim 10 or claim 26 and therefore contain allowable subject matter for the same reasons as stated above (see claims 10 and 26).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Im et al. (US 2024/0223898 A1) teaches magnets (244a, 245a; fig. 3) shaped with a groove (2441a; fig. 3) which is coupled with an arm (1451a; fig. 3) of the lens holder (142; fig. 3), but fails to disclose that the magnets are mounted on a magnet holder which provides the arm/groove which couples with a corresponding arm/groove.
Lee et al. (WO 2016/137083 A1) teaches magnets (20; fig. 1) mounted with magnet holders (Yokes 26; fig. 1). However, the magnet holders do not have an arm/groove which couples with a corresponding arm/groove in the lens holder.
PAUL M. BERARDESCA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/PAUL M BERARDESCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 1/24/2026